Official New Sony S370/S470 Owners Thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sony BDP-S470 Wireless Networking Question

Hey guys, thanks for reading. I tried reading up as much as I could about my question here on the forums before posting but I need help still so I appreciate it in advance.

My dad has a Sony BDP-S470 which does not have built in wireless capability, and he doesn't want a long cable running through the house so he's been using my PS3 to watch Netflix (that's all he uses it for).

I've been looking at Bridges/Gaming Adapters per some suggestions I've read on older threads on AVS, but unfortunately these devices are really hard to come by in 2014. I'm looking at an auction for the one that was recommended on eBay that ends in a few days if all else fails.

In the mean time, I have another idea that I need advice to know if it will work. I found my local computer store sells this nifty looking USB adapter by D-Link:
amazon.ca/D-Link-Wireless-Adapter-Cradle-DWA-160/dp/B00127OVHI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1412952527&sr=8-3&keywords=d-link+n600

The front of my BDP-S470 has a USB port and the specs on that adapter seem to agree with the research I did on my router (it's a NetGear R6250)
futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/netgear-netgear-wireless-n-dual-band-smart-wifi-router-r6250-r6250/10257123.aspx

TL;DR I've got
  • SONY BDP-S470
  • NETGEAR R6250 DUAL-BAND ROUTER
  • D-LINK N600 WIRELESS DUAL-BAND USB ADAPTER
Will it give my blu ray player wireless network connectivity to watch Netflix?


If not, should I continue trying to buy a Linksys Cisco WGA600N Gaming Adapter or what do you suggest?
JakeCee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeCee View Post
Hey guys, thanks for reading. I tried reading up as much as I could about my question here on the forums before posting but I need help still so I appreciate it in advance.

My dad has a Sony BDP-S470 which does not have built in wireless capability, and he doesn't want a long cable running through the house so he's been using my PS3 to watch Netflix (that's all he uses it for).

I've been looking at Bridges/Gaming Adapters per some suggestions I've read on older threads on AVS, but unfortunately these devices are really hard to come by in 2014. I'm looking at an auction for the one that was recommended on eBay that ends in a few days if all else fails.

In the mean time, I have another idea that I need advice to know if it will work. I found my local computer store sells this nifty looking USB adapter by D-Link:
amazon.ca/D-Link-Wireless-Adapter-Cradle-DWA-160/dp/B00127OVHI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1412952527&sr=8-3&keywords=d-link+n600

The front of my BDP-S470 has a USB port and the specs on that adapter seem to agree with the research I did on my router (it's a NetGear R6250)
futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/netgear-netgear-wireless-n-dual-band-smart-wifi-router-r6250-r6250/10257123.aspx

TL;DR I've got
  • SONY BDP-S470
  • NETGEAR R6250 DUAL-BAND ROUTER
  • D-LINK N600 WIRELESS DUAL-BAND USB ADAPTER
Will it give my blu ray player wireless network connectivity to watch Netflix?


If not, should I continue trying to buy a Linksys Cisco WGA600N Gaming Adapter or what do you suggest?
The manual for the BDP-S470 suggests only the proper Sony wireless LAN adapter will work. However, you should be able to pick up a fairly inexpensive wireless router that can be set up in "access point" mode. You would set up this "access point" near the player and connect it with a short network wire. The access point can then be programmed to communicate with your main wireless router wirelessly. In this way the player is operating in wired mode, and the access point handles the wireless chores. I've used Netgear products for this purpose (WG602, 606). Also ZyXel (NBG-419N). If there are other devices in the home theater, they should also be able to communicate wirelessly using the access point (probably up to 4 network connections on the box).

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #2853 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
The manual for the BDP-S470 suggests only the proper Sony wireless LAN adapter will work. However, you should be able to pick up a fairly inexpensive wireless router that can be set up in "access point" mode. You would set up this "access point" near the player and connect it with a short network wire. The access point can then be programmed to communicate with your main wireless router wirelessly. In this way the player is operating in wired mode, and the access point handles the wireless chores. I've used Netgear products for this purpose (WG602, 606). Also ZyXel (NBG-419N). If there are other devices in the home theater, they should also be able to communicate wirelessly using the access point (probably up to 4 network connections on the box).
I have a Linksys SRX200 router lying around. Will this work?

I'm researching Access Point setup right now since I've never done anything like that before but how exactly will it work?
JakeCee is offline  
post #2854 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 11:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,365
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeCee View Post
I have a Linksys SRX200 router lying around. Will this work?

I'm researching Access Point setup right now since I've never done anything like that before but how exactly will it work?
Only if it's on the DD-WRT or Tomato list, and you have a degree in computer science.

Honestly, it's much easier to just buy a cheap access point on amazon or a new player, like THIS. You can also get a used player with wifi for about $40 which will perform better than your 470, like the 3100.
mdavej is offline  
post #2855 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Only if it's on the DD-WRT or Tomato list, and you have a degree in computer science.

Honestly, it's much easier to just buy a cheap access point on amazon or a new player, like You can also get a used player with wifi for about $40 which will perform better than your 470, like the 3100.
You're damn right about it being easier. Thanks for the recommendation. I found a 3100 on eBay Canada for under 40 with all the shipping included.

Cheers.
JakeCee is offline  
post #2856 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeCee View Post
You're damn right about it being easier. Thanks for the recommendation. I found a 3100 on eBay Canada for under 40 with all the shipping included.

Cheers.
Well, if you do not care about a front display, and do not need any analog audio or video connections, and do not mind having cinavia running in the firmware, then it should serve your purpose.
The manual for the 3100 is here, in case you need one.

https://ws.sel.sony.com/PIPWebServic...L-asset-361522

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #2857 of 2859 Unread 10-10-2014, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
Well, if you do not care about a front display, and do not need any analog audio or video connections, and do not mind having cinavia running in the firmware, then it should serve your purpose.
The manual for the 3100 is here, in case you need one.
Honestly man, I really don't. As long as my dad gets his Netflix and I get my PS3 back for video games, then everybody wins. I appreciate your help and your time writing out your comments. Thanks for the manual!
JakeCee is offline  
post #2858 of 2859 Unread Today, 04:45 PM
Newbie
 
topher2041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need some help on an issue I am having. I am guessing it has to do with an recent update to the 470. Not sure though.

Recently (3 months) purchase a new Vizio E480i to replace an older TV. The setup I have is Directv Genie and the Sony Blu-Ray S470 connecting (HDMI) to a Denon AVR-2307ci receiver then HDMI to the TV. When I set it up and tested everything worked (at least I am 99% I tested the Blu-Ray). Everything on the TV and receiver has been working fine up to now. Recently tried the Blu-Ray and I got a scrambled screen on the TV (Green and Pink). You could make out the screen. It would also change to resolution not right or no signal on TV. Checked cables and everything. I know the receiver did not update so the only change I can think of is a Blu-ray update. If it has the option it I have it set to auto update.

To test things here is what I have tried. I plugged the Bluray into another tv and it worked fine. I plugged the Bluray directly into the tv. It worked fine. I plugged the Bluray into the cable that runs from the tv to the receiver it works fine. The Directv still works through the receiver. I tried swapping the hdmi port on the receiver for the bluray player and Directv. No luck. The Bluray will no longer work through the receiver to the TV even though the Directv will. The cables are fine. The only device that can update or change is the Bluray.

When I did get it working plugged in direct it popped up with an update. I tried it to see if it would fix anything. No luck. It told me I was at M04.R.788 and I updated to M04.R.789.

So any thoughts on what I can try? I am thinking the receiver is getting old and an update to the BluRay is causing the issue. I do not want to upgrade the receiver if it is not necessary. What have been the updates to the Sony BluRay lately.
topher2041 is online now  
post #2859 of 2859 Unread Today, 04:45 PM
Newbie
 
topher2041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need some help on an issue I am having. I am guessing it has to do with an recent update to the 470. Not sure though.

Recently (3 months) purchase a new Vizio E480i to replace an older TV. The setup I have is Directv Genie and the Sony Blu-Ray S470 connecting (HDMI) to a Denon AVR-2307ci receiver then HDMI to the TV. When I set it up and tested everything worked (at least I am 99% I tested the Blu-Ray). Everything on the TV and receiver has been working fine up to now. Recently tried the Blu-Ray and I got a scrambled screen on the TV (Green and Pink). You could make out the screen. It would also change to resolution not right or no signal on TV. Checked cables and everything. I know the receiver did not update so the only change I can think of is a Blu-ray update. If it has the option it I have it set to auto update.

To test things here is what I have tried. I plugged the Bluray into another tv and it worked fine. I plugged the Bluray directly into the tv. It worked fine. I plugged the Bluray into the cable that runs from the tv to the receiver it works fine. The Directv still works through the receiver. I tried swapping the hdmi port on the receiver for the bluray player and Directv. No luck. The Bluray will no longer work through the receiver to the TV even though the Directv will. The cables are fine. The only device that can update or change is the Bluray.

When I did get it working plugged in direct it popped up with an update. I tried it to see if it would fix anything. No luck. It told me I was at M04.R.788 and I updated to M04.R.789.

So any thoughts on what I can try? I am thinking the receiver is getting old and an update to the BluRay is causing the issue. I do not want to upgrade the receiver if it is not necessary. What have been the updates to the Sony BluRay lately.

Last edited by topher2041; Today at 04:52 PM.
topher2041 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off