Panasonic DMP-BD65 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 1874 Old 03-18-2010, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
Groz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my BD65 about a week ago. The only movie I've been able to watch so far is "Office Space". The player seems to be slow in loading the disk and also in navigating the menu, but other than that, there are no issues.

My question is regarding the "Black Level Control" setting. What does it do? There is no explanation in the manual other than "Select lighter or darker for adjusting the black level control to the desired setting for picture enhancement."
Groz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 1874 Old 03-18-2010, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry this question is so elementary but I was watching War of the worlds on a 58 samsung plasma and the picture showed a lot of grain. Am I doing something wrong?

Also can someone help me out with "easy sync" I like to listen to music on this dvd player but the darn tv keeps turning on every time I do so.
jacbri is offline  
post #123 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacbri View Post

Sorry this question is so elementary but I was watching War of the worlds on a 58 samsung plasma and the picture showed a lot of grain. Am I doing something wrong?

Also can someone help me out with "easy sync" I like to listen to music on this dvd player but the darn tv keeps turning on every time I do so.

There should be some sort of INFO or STATUS screen you can bring up on the TV that informs you of the received signal(480i, 480p, 1080p, etc.).
This will help determine if the player is upconverting and you are basically seeing the proper amount of grain, which is normal on most movies.
If you don't like grain on movies, you can turn up the DNR(Digital Noise Reduction) on the TV to smooth out the picture.
Also make sure your Brightness control is not cranked up on the TV as that will also amiplify the presence/appearance of grain.

As for easy sync, you should be able to turn it off in the player menu.
It's a protocol for CE to communicate with each other.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #124 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Do not use 'Prohibit' setting for BD Live. If you don't like BDLive, you have to unplug the network. Otherwise, you will be forced to see popup messages all over the place. This has been this way since BD60. Personally, I don't see any reason why Panasonic both to put in such setting in there if you can't disable and tell it to shut up.

Those with the BD85 should enjoy this with their wireless connection. Wonder how they will get around it.

btw:
It seems the movie 9 must ping the BD Live/network port periodically(phone home ) during the movie since I've watched The Boondock Saints II & Iron Man and they only display the message once then never again with the network cable connected and the setting on Prohibit.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #125 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Reappeared last night - disc - lovely and amazing - light changes are repeatable on my 65, but not on my LG 390 or Pioneer 320.

Commonality seems to be lowly lit brown-yellow-green hues (think poorly lit bedroom walls or the alike) that cause a hesitation that causes a darkening, then lightening, then back to constant color. Strangest thing.
winston9332 is offline  
post #126 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Reappeared last night - disc - lovely and amazing - light changes are repeatable on my 65, but not on my LG 390 or Pioneer 320.

Commonality seems to be lowly lit brown-yellow-green hues (think poorly lit bedroom walls or the alike) that cause a hesitation that causes a darkening, then lightening, then back to constant color. Strangest thing.

Winston did you try the BD85 it if has the same light changes as the BD65?. I think that the BD85 has a superior version of the same video processor as the BD65.
Kage is offline  
post #127 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Those with the BD85 should enjoy this with their wireless connection. Wonder how they will get around it.

If you have network connection, leave BDLive enabled. That's it. Most of the BDLive useless features require you to access it manually in the menu.

However, occasionally some titles require BDLive storage in order for the movie to play. If BD65/85 is the same as BD60/80, you will need a SD card inserted.

Overall, BDLive is nothing but unnecessary trouble for us.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #128 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

I think that the BD85 has a superior version of the same video processor as the BD65.

I highly doubt that.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #129 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I highly doubt that.

According to their literature... first the BD65 then the BD85...

PHL Reference Chroma Processor Plus
The Finer Details and Nuance of Blu-ray Disc

PHL Reference Chroma Processor Plus is a high quality image-processing technology developed to precisely process each pixel of the Blu-ray Disc video signal in the vertical direction. It reproduces color data with twice the accuracy of conventional systems to keep colors faithful and sharp.


Adaptive High Precision 4:4:4
More Vibrant, Smooth and Truthful Color Reproduction

The DMP-BD85 reproduces the color signals in horizontal directions with higher resolution. Not only Full-HD movies in 1080p, but concert and documentary films saved in 1080i are now reproduced with greater details than ever before.
Charles R is offline  
post #130 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Consider that last year's BD60 already has the similar stuff you mentioned, I highly doubt they will drop something for BD65. Most of those things are marketing stuff anyway.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #131 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
billoddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my BDP-BD65K last night from BB and I like it so far, except that I'm having overscan issues.

When I load up the AVCHD calibration disk and go to the 'overscan / sharpness' test pattern, I'm seeing that about 4% of the picture is missing on all sides. The image is clearly stretched because I can see banding in the sharpness grids. I'm really surprised that an HD player would distort the image like this.

I didn't have this problem on my old Sony N460 or with my computer as a source. I/P scaling is turned off in my Denon receiver. I've tried all the settings on the BD65 that could afffect this, including screen size (16:9 and 16:9 FULL), display mode (normal, zoom, stretch), resolution (1080P). No matter what I do I can't get the extra 4% to appear...

Anyone else seeing this, or know of a solution?
billoddie is offline  
post #132 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
thegoldenhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just got this player last night. while the BR playback is fine... i am not happy with the PQ for regular dvd upconversion. my old toshiba hd-dvd a3 blows this player away in terms of upconversion. do you guys know of any other budget BR player out there with pretty good upconvert capability?
thegoldenhand is offline  
post #133 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by billoddie View Post

I got my BDP-BD65K last night from BB and I like it so far, except that I'm having overscan issues.

When I load up the AVCHD calibration disk and go to the 'overscan / sharpness' test pattern, I'm seeing that about 4% of the picture is missing on all sides. The image is clearly stretched because I can see banding in the sharpness grids. I'm really surprised that an HD player would distort the image like this.

I didn't have this problem on my old Sony N460 or with my computer as a source. I/P scaling is turned off in my Denon receiver. I've tried all the settings on the BD65 that could afffect this, including screen size (16:9 and 16:9 FULL), display mode (normal, zoom, stretch), resolution (1080P). No matter what I do I can't get the extra 4% to appear...

Anyone else seeing this, or know of a solution?

Try bypassing the receiver and go from player to TV.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #134 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegoldenhand View Post

i just got this player last night. while the BR playback is fine... i am not happy with the PQ for regular dvd upconversion. my old toshiba hd-dvd a3 blows this player away in terms of upconversion. do you guys know of any other budget BR player out there with pretty good upconvert capability?

pioneer 320 exceeds the old abt chip in your a30/a3. please keep in mind you're going to be splitting hairs if your display is small (less than 46")
winston9332 is offline  
post #135 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Try bypassing the receiver and go from player to TV.

I was having similar problems, ill try this tonight
jacbri is offline  
post #136 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegoldenhand View Post

i just got this player last night. while the BR playback is fine... i am not happy with the PQ for regular dvd upconversion. my old toshiba hd-dvd a3 blows this player away in terms of upconversion. do you guys know of any other budget BR player out there with pretty good upconvert capability?

That's hard to believe. Something must be set wrong on the BD65.
Jim McC is offline  
post #137 of 1874 Old 03-19-2010, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
billoddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Try bypassing the receiver and go from player to TV.

I gave this a try but it made no difference.

You can see pictures of what I'm experiencing below. Notice the dotted banding in the sharpness image - that's real banding, not a camera artifact.

http://picasaweb.google.com/matthewl...00320DMPBD65K#







billoddie is offline  
post #138 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 12:38 AM
Newbie
 
billoddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is not restricted to the AVCHD disk - I'm seeing the same overscan on regular Blurays, and I double checked by comparing scenes against PowerDVD. About 3-4% of the image is missing around all the edges. This player isn't a keeper!
billoddie is offline  
post #139 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Beastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try changing your TV aspect from "16:9 Full" to "16:9".
Beastus is online now  
post #140 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastus View Post

Try changing your TV aspect from "16:9 Full" to "16:9".

same prob with "war of the worlds" going to change aspect and see if this helps

rerouting the hdmi directly to the tv made no difference. Also on this player I do not see any on screen display of what is being output (480, 720, 1080). My tv is set to hdmi auto.

In the panasonic menu I do see options for normal,soft, cinema, user adjustment etc.
jacbri is offline  
post #141 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
16:9 no different, lots of grain.
jacbri is offline  
post #142 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacbri View Post

Sorry this question is so elementary but I was watching War of the worlds on a 58 samsung plasma and the picture showed a lot of grain. Am I doing something wrong?

For your original question, the film is notorious for grain. I found it grainy on an Oppo DV-983H as well as the Panny.

From here: http://www.allaboutmovies.net/dvdrev...ftheworlds.htm

TECHNICAL REVIEW: You'll notice when watching this film that there is extensive film grain running throughout the picture. This actually isn't a transfer problem but intended by the filmmakers. If this bothers you you might think there's a problem with your disc but the transfer itself cannot be faulted. The audio is absolutely spectacular; the opening sequence where the tripods come out of the ground is one to test your home theatre on. Overall, an excellent transfer.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #143 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

For your original question, the film is notorious for grain. I found it grainy on an Oppo DV-983H as well as the Panny.

From here: http://www.allaboutmovies.net/dvdrev...ftheworlds.htm

TECHNICAL REVIEW: You'll notice when watching this film that there is extensive film grain running throughout the picture. This actually isn't a transfer problem but intended by the filmmakers. If this bothers you you might think there's a problem with your disc but the transfer itself cannot be faulted. The audio is absolutely spectacular; the opening sequence where the tripods come out of the ground is one to test your home theatre on. Overall, an excellent transfer.

ok, thanks
jacbri is offline  
post #144 of 1874 Old 03-20-2010, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
billoddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastus View Post

Try changing your TV aspect from "16:9 Full" to "16:9".

I've tried 16:9 also, the results are identical. In fact I've tried every setting I can find on the player. There seems to be just no way to turn off the overscan. Very disappointing.

Curiously, the Viera Cast section has a 'screen size' setting that ranges from 1 to about 8. The default is 8 and shows the horrendous overscan. If I turn it down to 6, everything is perfect, no overscan at all - but the setting only applies to Viera Cast, not to Bluray content.

Also disappointing is that there seems to be no surround sound when watching 'Amazon HD' content. I rented Where the Wild Things Are last night and my receiver is getting only stereo 2-channel audio over HDMI. I would always get 5.1 with the Sony N460.

Another disappointment is the poor remote control UI of Viera Cast. For example, if you press the Pause button during streamed videos, nothing happens. You have to press the OK button to get it to pause, which is rather counter-intuitive.

All in all a rather unpolished product - I'm going to have to exchange this player for one of the new Sony players I think, probably the S470.
billoddie is offline  
post #145 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tried a sd dvd from redbox last night, image was good. Not blue ray, but decent enough not to worry. I believe the problems with war of the worlds as well was that it was a full screen edition stretching the image even more.
jacbri is offline  
post #146 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Reappeared last night - disc - lovely and amazing - light changes are repeatable on my 65, but not on my LG 390 or Pioneer 320.

Commonality seems to be lowly lit brown-yellow-green hues (think poorly lit bedroom walls or the alike) that cause a hesitation that causes a darkening, then lightening, then back to constant color. Strangest thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

Winston did you try the BD85 it if has the same light changes as the BD65?. I think that the BD85 has a superior version of the same video processor as the BD65.

I have noticed this with my 65 playing Resident Evil BR, I am returning it for a 85 model tonight. I will let you know what happens.
Dean333 is offline  
post #147 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

I have noticed this with my 65 playing Resident Evil BR, I am returning it for a 85 model tonight. I will let you know what happens.

i tried two panasonic 65s and noticed that the light fluctuating was present in both. something about either the video processing seems to bring out light level fluctuations in scenes with what i would call green, yellow or brown low level light hues.

I have not tried the 85.
winston9332 is offline  
post #148 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

i tried two panasonic 65s and noticed that the light fluctuating was present in both. something about either the video processing seems to bring out light level fluctuations in scenes with what i would call green, yellow or brown low level light hues.

I have not tried the 85.

I just got home with my 85, give me some time with it and I will report back.
Dean333 is offline  
post #149 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Dean333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

I just got home with my 85, give me some time with it and I will report back.

I just wanted make a quick statement on BD65 vs BD85. The BD85 plays Divx and as of right now the BD85 is a hands down winner for me, this was a oversight on my behalf when choosing between the BD65 and BD85.

Winston: I checked quickly and found the BD85 has the same light fluctuations as my previous BD65, I will be checking some other movies since I have only noticed this with one movie so far.
Dean333 is offline  
post #150 of 1874 Old 03-22-2010, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean333 View Post

I just wanted make a quick statement on BD65 vs BD85. The BD85 plays Divx and as of right now the BD85 is a hands down winner for me, this was a oversight on my behalf when choosing between the BD65 and BD85.

Winston: I checked quickly and found the BD85 has the same light fluctuations as my previous BD65, I will be checking some other movies since I have only noticed this with one movie so far.

thanks. they share the same latest iteration of the uniphier chip and it does not surprise me that both get tripped up with this light issue.

i called panasonic and they said they would transfer my case to an engineer and i have not heard back in a week.
winston9332 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd65 Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic Dmp Bd85k Wifi Enabled Blu Ray Disc Player Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off