Panasonic DMP-BD65 - Page 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 1874 Old 01-12-2012, 10:15 AM
Member
 
curly-95519's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post

I just bought the wireless adapter on amazon for a decent price (to me). Is the WL 10 the best/only option for wireless ? Router is at the other end of the house.

You can use any game adapter, also known as a wireless bridge.
curly-95519 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 1874 Old 01-13-2012, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curly-95519 View Post

You can use any game adapter, also known as a wireless bridge.

Thanks. I tried a NetGear N600 usb adapter and it actually works on my Panny 42 inch LED in another room but no go on the 65 (even called tech support for Net Gear and they confirmed it ). What the freak...works on Panny tv but not Panny blu ray player ??????? Ended up just ordering the Panny adapter on ebay.

Actually streaming Netflix thru the Wii but pic and sound is not too good. Can I get 5.1 thru Wii ? assuming no. Guessing the Panny adapter will allow Netflix in 5.1.
Avgguy is offline  
post #1773 of 1874 Old 01-13-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post

...Guessing the Panny adapter will allow Netflix in 5.1.

Depends on what model player you have. Right now only the 110/210/310 do that whether you use an adapter or not (the 210/310 have wireless built in). Since you're in the 65 thread, I assume you have a 65. If that's the case, then you will not get Netflix in 5.1.

It's much cheaper at the moment to buy a 210 for $130 and sell the Avatar disc you get for $100, making your net cost $30, which is probably about what you paid for the wireless adapter. Plus with the 210 you get Netflix in 5.1 and subtitles, DLNA, network shares, more streaming apps, free iPad/iPhone base remote app, better interface with Netflix search capability and categories, etc. But if you go that route, you better hurry, because the deal ends in 6 weeks, about the amount of time it takes to receive your disc.

When the other poster said any gaming adapter or wireless bridge will work, that doesn't include any USB adapters, just things called "gaming adapter" or "wireless bridge". Since those connect to your device via an ethernet cable, they will indeed work with any player, including yours.
mdavej is offline  
post #1774 of 1874 Old 01-14-2012, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Depends on what model player you have. Right now only the 110/210/310 do that whether you use an adapter or not (the 210/310 have wireless built in). Since you're in the 65 thread, I assume you have a 65. If that's the case, then you will not get Netflix in 5.1.

It's much cheaper at the moment to buy a 210 for $130 and sell the Avatar disc you get for $100, making your net cost $30, which is probably about what you paid for the wireless adapter. Plus with the 210 you get Netflix in 5.1 and subtitles, DLNA, network shares, more streaming apps, free iPad/iPhone base remote app, better interface with Netflix search capability and categories, etc. But if you go that route, you better hurry, because the deal ends in 6 weeks, about the amount of time it takes to receive your disc.

When the other poster said any gaming adapter or wireless bridge will work, that doesn't include any USB adapters, just things called "gaming adapter" or "wireless bridge". Since those connect to your device via an ethernet cable, they will indeed work with any player, including yours.

Thank you for clearing up the picture for me. I don't have a 3D tv though, if I understand the deal you mentioned right. I may not have.

So, if I understand this right, the Panny usb adapter will not stream Netflix in 5.1 thru the BD65 ? ... dang.
Avgguy is offline  
post #1775 of 1874 Old 01-14-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post


Thank you for clearing up the picture for me. I don't have a 3D tv though, if I understand the deal you mentioned right. I may not have.

So, if I understand this right, the Panny usb adapter will not stream Netflix in 5.1 thru the BD65 ? ... dang.

Even if you had a wired ethernet connection you will not get Netflix in 5.1 - it's a limitation of the 65, not the USB adapter. You don't need a 3D TV for the 3D Blu-ray player to work. It plays regualr 2D Blu-rays as well as DVD's.
moxie1617 is online now  
post #1776 of 1874 Old 01-14-2012, 04:22 PM
Member
 
curly-95519's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post

Thanks. I tried a NetGear N600 usb adapter and it actually works on my Panny 42 inch LED in another room but no go on the 65 (even called tech support for Net Gear and they confirmed it ). What the freak...works on Panny tv but not Panny blu ray player ??????? Ended up just ordering the Panny adapter on ebay.

I am sorry, you misunderstood because I didn't make myself clear.
You have to use an Ethernet bridge and connect it to your Ethernet port. Such as:
For N WIFI, and back word compatible with g & b here

or if the WIFI won't make it that distance use a power line to Ethernet bridge here

and you won't have a dongle sticking out the front of the player.

I use power line to Ethernet bridge, the sending end is in my neighbor's house, it goes through the line transformer then to my house. It works quite well.

Edited to add:
The Panasonic DY-WL10 Wireless LAN Adapter selling on ebay BIN price $49 is a good price. Depending if you a have good enough wifi connection at the other end of your house should work well.
curly-95519 is offline  
post #1777 of 1874 Old 01-17-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by curly-95519 View Post

I use power line to Ethernet bridge, the sending end is in my neighbor's house, it goes through the line transformer then to my house. It works quite well.

That is a slick way of sharing internet. What kind of speed do you get? Is it better than using a wireless bridge?
pixelation is offline  
post #1778 of 1874 Old 01-17-2012, 12:02 PM
Member
 
curly-95519's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

Is it better than using a wireless bridge?

I installed a wireless router in their attic and have a directional antenna/wireless bridge pointed at it from that I use for my computer in addition to the power line bridge for the BD65. I think the speed of the power line/bridge is faster and has less packet drops. I am using a Western Digital livewire . Homeplug specs are rated for are 200 Mbs, I think I ping between the two units is 60 Mbs. You have to plug into the wall socket, not a power strip.
curly-95519 is offline  
post #1779 of 1874 Old 01-17-2012, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curly-95519 View Post

I am sorry, you misunderstood because I didn't make myself clear.
You have to use an Ethernet bridge and connect it to your Ethernet port. Such as:
For N WIFI, and back word compatible with g & b here

or if the WIFI won't make it that distance use a power line to Ethernet bridge here

and you won't have a dongle sticking out the front of the player.

I use power line to Ethernet bridge, the sending end is in my neighbor's house, it goes through the line transformer then to my house. It works quite well.

Edited to add:
The Panasonic DY-WL10 Wireless LAN Adapter selling on ebay BIN price $49 is a good price. Depending if you a have good enough wifi connection at the other end of your house should work well.

Moxie and Curly, thanks to both of you for your info.
Avgguy is offline  
post #1780 of 1874 Old 01-18-2012, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Depends on what model player you have. Right now only the 110/210/310 do that whether you use an adapter or not (the 210/310 have wireless built in). Since you're in the 65 thread, I assume you have a 65. If that's the case, then you will not get Netflix in 5.1.

It's much cheaper at the moment to buy a 210 for $130 and sell the Avatar disc you get for $100, making your net cost $30, which is probably about what you paid for the wireless adapter. Plus with the 210 you get Netflix in 5.1 and subtitles, DLNA, network shares, more streaming apps, free iPad/iPhone base remote app, better interface with Netflix search capability and categories, etc. But if you go that route, you better hurry, because the deal ends in 6 weeks, about the amount of time it takes to receive your disc.

When the other poster said any gaming adapter or wireless bridge will work, that doesn't include any USB adapters, just things called "gaming adapter" or "wireless bridge". Since those connect to your device via an ethernet cable, they will indeed work with any player, including yours.

Was thinking about this..... but maybe it's too late. Even if I get it before the Avatar 3D goes retail people will stop paying $100 just before the public release. May have missed out. Can you purchase off Amazon and still get the movie ?
Avgguy is offline  
post #1781 of 1874 Old 01-20-2012, 11:55 AM
Member
 
johnmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a couple of months since I've been able to stream a Netflix movie in HD during primetime on my DMP-BD65. Up until about 5 pm it's perfect, but throughout the evening it stalls, bumps me down to lower res, etc. (Amazon and Vudu work fine; only Netflix has this problem.) This used to happen occasionally, especially on Fridays and Saturdays, but now it's all the time.

I assumed the culprit was either Netflix or my ISP (TimeWarner). But I just had my ISP service boosted up to 30 mbps, and Netflix is still bad. I noticed in another forum that people with Sony Blu-ray players had the same problems, but no problems with their Wii; they concluded that it was the Sony server (which Netflix has to go through to get to the Sony player) that was the culprit. So...is my problem neither Netflix nor TimeWarner but Panasonic--the server that Panasonic uses to stream Netflix to the BD65?? I really like Panasonic features, though--would I get better Netflix reception if I bought the newer DMP-BDT110? I'd love to hear some thoughts about this; I'm on the verge of canceling my Netflix streaming, and yet I do use it during the daytime...
johnmn is offline  
post #1782 of 1874 Old 01-20-2012, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Do you guys use 24p when playing DVD's? Is there a benefit to this? Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1783 of 1874 Old 02-12-2012, 07:24 AM
Member
 
tenashus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new news as to the 1.60 firmware update? Is it safe to install at this point, or should I just hang on to 1.56?
tenashus1 is offline  
post #1784 of 1874 Old 02-12-2012, 10:08 AM
Member
 
tenashus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took a deep breath, after reading about the troubles with updating the firmware to 1.60, and updated from 1.56, and it works flawlessly. Unless Panasonic fixed the issue, what was all the hub bub about? This was beginning to eat my lunch for a while. I'm glad I took the "risk" and did the update. Can't live in fear.
tenashus1 is offline  
post #1785 of 1874 Old 02-16-2012, 12:32 PM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a IOGEAR GWU627 Universal Wifi Adapter on sale for $24.(free Shipping)
Had it hooked up and working on my DMP-BD65 in less than 5 minutes.
No need to spend big bucks for the Panasonic dongle.
This gizmo receives your wireless signal from your router and connects to your ethernet port on your device.
Easy setup and connection with my linksys router.
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #1786 of 1874 Old 02-16-2012, 03:20 PM
Member
 
Fiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Sparky View Post

I just purchased a IOGEAR GWU627 Universal Wifi Adapter on sale for $24.(free Shipping)
Had it hooked up and working on my DMP-BD65 in less than 5 minutes.
No need to spend big bucks for the Panasonic dongle.
This gizmo receives your wireless signal from your router and connects to your ethernet port on your device.
Easy setup and connection with my linksys router.

Where did you buy it?
Fiend is offline  
post #1787 of 1874 Old 02-16-2012, 05:43 PM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got it from NEWEGG on a one day sale.

They're available many places on the internet. Just Google it.

NEWEGG will put it on sale again, but that may take 4 - 6 weeks.
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #1788 of 1874 Old 02-20-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Is anyone else having this problem? After watching a movie on Netflix, and I click on "OK" to rate the movie, the player loses the signal and powers off. Is this a BD65 problem or a Netflix problem? It's happened 3 or 4 times in the last couple months. Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1789 of 1874 Old 02-21-2012, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Is anyone else having this problem? After watching a movie on Netflix, and I click on "OK" to rate the movie, the player loses the signal and powers off. Is this a BD65 problem or a Netflix problem? It's happened 3 or 4 times in the last couple months. Thanks.

Anyone ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #1790 of 1874 Old 02-21-2012, 07:27 PM
Member
 
lionorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe it's panasonic's less than stellar servers. I switched to Apple TV for Netflix, and I don't get the throttling down of resolution anymore, or problems w/ ratings. Plus, I can add movies to my que on the spot!

Us early adopters, sometimes pay the piper...
lionorion is online now  
post #1791 of 1874 Old 02-22-2012, 11:27 PM
Member
 
BiggNewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone confirm that this player is still Cinavia free?
BiggNewt is offline  
post #1792 of 1874 Old 02-28-2012, 04:17 PM
Member
 
The Octoberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Panasonic DMP BD655. It is connected to my Panasonic P60ST30 via HDMI. And I also have a panasonic externeal sound bar+ sub hooked up to the TV via HDMI 1(Arc).

when I turn on the sound bar watching TV from my DVR, I only need to turn the volume up to about 35-40 to hear it perfectly fine. When I switch to a bluray, I usually have to turn it up to about 70-80 to hear anything and it still doesnt seem that loud.

Im not exactly sure what my Audio settings need to be on the bluray player but I know that it should be much louder (since watching normal TV, it is)

What should the settings be at? Here is the link to my BR players manual:
http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPER...MPBD45-MUL.PDF
The Octoberist is offline  
post #1793 of 1874 Old 02-28-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
You need turn on dynamic range compression on your player if you prefer always loud.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1794 of 1874 Old 02-28-2012, 04:34 PM
Member
 
The Octoberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

You need turn on dynamic range compression on your player if you prefer always loud.

What about PMC settings? And bitstream and all that hoo haa in there? I believe it was on and I tried turning it off to see if that would change anything and it didnt.
The Octoberist is offline  
post #1795 of 1874 Old 02-29-2012, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Octoberist View Post

What about PMC settings? And bitstream and all that hoo haa in there? I believe it was on and I tried turning it off to see if that would change anything and it didnt.

Dynamic range is the only thing matters. Blu Ray and DVDs inherently have greater dynamic range than your other sources. That means you have have wisper quiet dialogs and explosively loud sound effects. That's how you hear it in movie theatres. I'd suggest simply turn up the volume instead of comrpess the dynamic range unless your sound bar can't handle it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1796 of 1874 Old 03-04-2012, 10:52 AM
Member
 
captnem0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The people with the internet connection issues and 1.60... are you having problems with the wired connection or problems with wifi connections (using an adapter)? My player keeps reminding me to update (using 1.56) and a wired connection. Just wondering.
captnem0 is offline  
post #1797 of 1874 Old 03-30-2012, 07:53 AM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Sparky View Post

I just purchased a IOGEAR GWU627 Universal Wifi Adapter on sale for $24.(free Shipping)
Had it hooked up and working on my DMP-BD65 in less than 5 minutes.
No need to spend big bucks for the Panasonic dongle.
This gizmo receives your wireless signal from your router and connects to your ethernet port on your device.
Easy setup and connection with my linksys router.


This item is again on sale at newegg 'today only' (3/30/12).
It's a 'shell shocker deal' available from 1 PM - 2:59PM Pacific time.
Price 24.99
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #1798 of 1874 Old 03-30-2012, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Sparky View Post


This item is again on sale at newegg 'today only' (3/30/12).
It's a 'shell shocker deal' available from 1 PM - 2:59PM Pacific time.
Price 24.99

tks, got it.
moxie1617 is online now  
post #1799 of 1874 Old 04-02-2012, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arlington TN
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the panny bd 65 and am hearing impaired. not able to get subtitles or captions on Netflix. Does this player support those? Could not find answer and many searches. Thanks

Memphis Home Builder
rjhseven is offline  
post #1800 of 1874 Old 04-02-2012, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post

I have the panny bd 65 and am hearing impaired. not able to get subtitles or captions on Netflix. Does this player support those? Could not find answer and many searches. Thanks

The BD65 does not support subtitles. That's one of the reasons I upgraded mine to the new Pan. 220, a great player. Also, the 1080p streaming is excellent.
Jim McC is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd65 Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic Dmp Bd85k Wifi Enabled Blu Ray Disc Player Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off