Panasonic DMP-BD65 - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1881 Old 07-11-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Has anyone's BD65 stopped streaming Netflix? All of a sudden 2 days ago, mine won't stream Netflix. Netflix had me run a bunch of troubleshooting, but nothing worked. They said my speed is fluctuating between 1-8 Mbps. Then I called my ISP and they found no such thing. A speed test showed 13 Mbps. I hooked up my 220 to the same TV, and it works fine. Tonight I will hook up the BD65 to another set and see if it works. Just wondering if other people's BD65 has gone bad(with Netflix). Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1881 Old 08-08-2013, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arlington TN
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not updated firmware in over a year. Have to set suntitles each time i switch discs or turn on Blu ray player (watching 24 series). Think update would help?

Memphis Home Builder
rjhseven is offline  
post #1863 of 1881 Old 08-09-2013, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post

I have not updated firmware in over a year. Have to set suntitles each time i switch discs or turn on Blu ray player (watching 24 series). Think update would help?
The latest firmware was April of 2012 (v. 1.76), so you probably already have it. None of the firmwares have changed the subtitle functionality. I don't know of any players that will keep subtitles on after switching discs. So you'll just have to live with that.
rjhseven likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #1864 of 1881 Old 08-09-2013, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Has anyone's BD65 stopped streaming Netflix? All of a sudden 2 days ago, mine won't stream Netflix. Netflix had me run a bunch of troubleshooting, but nothing worked. Just wondering if other people's BD65 has gone bad(with Netflix). Thanks.

It will stream You Tube, but not Netflix. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1865 of 1881 Old 08-09-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

It will stream You Tube, but not Netflix. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
My guess is when Netflix rolled out its new profiles feature it broke Panny's old app. The new feature also broke other older Netflix apps, like the one in Windows Media Center, which was subsequently fixed by Netflix. Someone's going to have to report it to Netflix and Panasonic to have any hope of getting it fixed. Most likely Netflix will fix it on their end. I doubt Panny will ever update that old app of theirs again.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #1866 of 1881 Old 08-09-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Poor performance with Netflix on my 65 drove me to the Roku. It's a much more stable experience.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1867 of 1881 Old 08-09-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Poor performance with Netflix on my 65 drove me to the Roku. It's a much more stable experience.
And I don't think the 65 even does Netflix in 1080p either, nor does it do DD+ or subtitles. If you're still watching Netflix on a 65, you're really missing out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #1868 of 1881 Old 08-10-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

And I don't think the 65 even does Netflix in 1080p either, nor does it do DD+ or subtitles. If you're still watching Netflix on a 65, you're really missing out.

I know it doesn't do 1080p. I replaced it with a 230, and gave it to my daughter. I was hoping to get Netflix streaming again on it, so she can stream.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1869 of 1881 Old 08-10-2013, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

I know it doesn't do 1080p. I replaced it with a 230, and gave it to my daughter. I was hoping to get Netflix streaming again on it, so she can stream.
If profiles is really what broke it, then deleting them all might work. That was a work-around that worked for WMC users. If you have only one profile already, then I'm out of ideas. Time to get Netflix and/or Panny on the phone.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #1870 of 1881 Old 08-12-2013, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
galaftps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
right,think so,Guess they still have to many BD60s they are trying to dispose of first.thanks mysm
galaftps is offline  
post #1871 of 1881 Old 09-07-2013, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
cluster_flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

My guess is when Netflix rolled out its new profiles feature it broke Panny's old app. The new feature also broke other older Netflix apps, like the one in Windows Media Center, which was subsequently fixed by Netflix. Someone's going to have to report it to Netflix and Panasonic to have any hope of getting it fixed. Most likely Netflix will fix it on their end. I doubt Panny will ever update that old app of theirs again.

Netflix rep blew smoke and played with mirrors for an hour. First he said my ISP was jamming up then stated my player was bad. During prime time hours netflix chokes @ 500-756kbs. I ran a speakeasy benchmark through same network while netflix was fumbling their service that showed 11Mbps. Running netflix off prime time hours and I get 4-10 Mbps. Netflix will not admit it's on their side. It was fun while it lasted, but screw them if they can not meet their commitment and pin the blame on everybody else with FUD BS.
cluster_flux is offline  
post #1872 of 1881 Old 10-25-2013, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Is it possible to change profiles on this DMP-BD65? I have the latest FW, and I deactivated my account to re-add my account in order for it to give me the Profile page to select the correct profile but it just instantly goes to the owners profile. How do I select the proper user profile?

Thanks
Rod

EDIT: Did I really just say all that? LOL, completely failed to look at the last few pages of complaints. However, it is streaming 1080p for me just fine, but it only shows the owners profile and not the profile I created for it. Amazing how they find ways to get us to buy more hardware.

EDIT2: Ok, well we have given up on this player and going to get a Samsung now with the new 2013 SmartHUB. Seems to have the very latest version of Netflix and Plex app.
SkOrPn is offline  
post #1873 of 1881 Old 11-07-2013, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Tokapeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the firmwate and now my BD65 just goes into a boot loop. It will eventually boot, but it can take up to 10 minutes. I tried reupdating, but it won't let me. Is there any way to force it to reupdate?

Andy
Tokapeba is offline  
post #1874 of 1881 Old 11-15-2013, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Jpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

We've had our DVD player for a couple of years now with no issues. The other night, we had a power failure while watching tv, not a dvd. The next day, I went to play a dvd for my son and could not get any sound. I have checked all the settings and everything seems okay. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this or is someone knows what the issue could be?

 

Thanks :)

Jpepper is offline  
post #1875 of 1881 Old 08-31-2014, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
treefrog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Home Video Burned DVD won't play in Panasonic Blu-ray DMP-BD655

Hi all,

I have home movies of my family taken from a Canon camcorder that records in .mts files (AVCHD). My intention is to burn blu-ray discs, but I have blank Memorex DVD-R dvds at the moment so I thought I would test out my new Pavtube imedia converter (for mac) and Pavtube DVD Creator Software.

I converted the .mts files to vob files (NTSC 16:9 format) using the imedia converter and then burned a dvd using the DVD Creator software. I did one trial at medium quality and another at low quality.

Both dvd could be played on my macbook and pc, but could not be played in the Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD player (DMP BD655). This blu-ray player has not had a problem playing home video dvd's that were created using a VHS to DVD Recorder (large component, table-top equipment).

Clearly there is "something" amiss in the software, the process I am following or the burner from the macbook.

Any ideas? I'd really like to view a dvd on the Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD player.

Thanks.
treefrog1 is offline  
post #1876 of 1881 Old 09-01-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,782
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 351
My authoring software had the option to burn the AVCHD structure directly to DVD which played fine on my Panny. No conversion required.
mdavej is offline  
post #1877 of 1881 Old 09-15-2014, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Manchester, MA USA
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dmp-bd655 remote issues

When watching streaming from amazon on my dmp-bd655, the pause/ff/rewind buttons on my remote don't work. I've searched the web and can't find any reference to this issue.

Any thoughts?
Dave T is offline  
post #1878 of 1881 Old 09-15-2014, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave T View Post
When watching streaming from amazon on my dmp-bd655, the pause/ff/rewind buttons on my remote don't work. I've searched the web and can't find any reference to this issue.

Any thoughts?
It's the way the app is designed. Use the "ok" button to pause/play. Use > and < buttons to ff and rewind. It's clunky but functional.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - 2001:ASO
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1879 of 1881 Old 09-15-2014, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Manchester, MA USA
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post
It's the way the app is designed. Use the "ok" button to pause/play. Use > and < buttons to ff and rewind. It's clunky but functional.
Thanks! That's it. Definitely clunky though - I agree. Strange that they couldn't design it so that the regular buttons on the remote would work, but at least I know now how to pause, etc.
Dave T is offline  
post #1880 of 1881 Old Yesterday, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My BD65 is having a lot of issue playing back less than perfect disc. Mostly Blu-rays from library. Yes, I see some scratches and fingerprints on the disc and I always try to clean it off before playing. But the BD65 simply chokes when playing some of the discs. It is increasingly frustrating.

I have another player, Panasonic BDT210, which plays the same disc without problem.

The BD65 is reasonably fast. Has analog output that BDT210 does not have. And it form factor fits nicely in my setup. So I wish I could fix it. Any owners can share some thoughts? I already tried cleaning following the instruction below:

Panasonic DMP-BD65

It didn't seem to help much. Did it reached end of life? Or is it a known issue that BD65 had trouble with less-than-perfect disc?

Last edited by pixelation; Yesterday at 12:39 PM.
pixelation is offline  
post #1881 of 1881 Old Yesterday, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post
My BD65 is having a lot of issue playing back less than perfect disc.
Have you tried running one of those lens cleaning discs through it? I don't know if it will solve your problem but they're inexpensive and probably worth a shot. Something like this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I bought it because I thought I could use it on my HDDVD player, which unfortunately didn't work for that. It worked in my BD65, though I wasn't having any problems with it thus far.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - 2001:ASO
DocCasualty is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic Dmp Bd65 Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd85k Wifi Enabled Blu Ray Disc Player Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off