Panasonic DMP-BD65 - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1887 Old 07-11-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Has anyone's BD65 stopped streaming Netflix? All of a sudden 2 days ago, mine won't stream Netflix. Netflix had me run a bunch of troubleshooting, but nothing worked. They said my speed is fluctuating between 1-8 Mbps. Then I called my ISP and they found no such thing. A speed test showed 13 Mbps. I hooked up my 220 to the same TV, and it works fine. Tonight I will hook up the BD65 to another set and see if it works. Just wondering if other people's BD65 has gone bad(with Netflix). Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1887 Old 08-08-2013, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arlington TN
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not updated firmware in over a year. Have to set suntitles each time i switch discs or turn on Blu ray player (watching 24 series). Think update would help?

Memphis Home Builder
rjhseven is offline  
post #1863 of 1887 Old 08-09-2013, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,259
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post

I have not updated firmware in over a year. Have to set suntitles each time i switch discs or turn on Blu ray player (watching 24 series). Think update would help?
The latest firmware was April of 2012 (v. 1.76), so you probably already have it. None of the firmwares have changed the subtitle functionality. I don't know of any players that will keep subtitles on after switching discs. So you'll just have to live with that.
rjhseven likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1864 of 1887 Old 08-09-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Has anyone's BD65 stopped streaming Netflix? All of a sudden 2 days ago, mine won't stream Netflix. Netflix had me run a bunch of troubleshooting, but nothing worked. Just wondering if other people's BD65 has gone bad(with Netflix). Thanks.

It will stream You Tube, but not Netflix. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1865 of 1887 Old 08-09-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,259
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

It will stream You Tube, but not Netflix. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
My guess is when Netflix rolled out its new profiles feature it broke Panny's old app. The new feature also broke other older Netflix apps, like the one in Windows Media Center, which was subsequently fixed by Netflix. Someone's going to have to report it to Netflix and Panasonic to have any hope of getting it fixed. Most likely Netflix will fix it on their end. I doubt Panny will ever update that old app of theirs again.
mdavej is offline  
post #1866 of 1887 Old 08-09-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Poor performance with Netflix on my 65 drove me to the Roku. It's a much more stable experience.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1867 of 1887 Old 08-09-2013, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,259
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Poor performance with Netflix on my 65 drove me to the Roku. It's a much more stable experience.
And I don't think the 65 even does Netflix in 1080p either, nor does it do DD+ or subtitles. If you're still watching Netflix on a 65, you're really missing out.
mdavej is offline  
post #1868 of 1887 Old 08-10-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

And I don't think the 65 even does Netflix in 1080p either, nor does it do DD+ or subtitles. If you're still watching Netflix on a 65, you're really missing out.

I know it doesn't do 1080p. I replaced it with a 230, and gave it to my daughter. I was hoping to get Netflix streaming again on it, so she can stream.
Jim McC is offline  
post #1869 of 1887 Old 08-10-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,259
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

I know it doesn't do 1080p. I replaced it with a 230, and gave it to my daughter. I was hoping to get Netflix streaming again on it, so she can stream.
If profiles is really what broke it, then deleting them all might work. That was a work-around that worked for WMC users. If you have only one profile already, then I'm out of ideas. Time to get Netflix and/or Panny on the phone.
mdavej is offline  
post #1870 of 1887 Old 09-07-2013, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
cluster_flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

My guess is when Netflix rolled out its new profiles feature it broke Panny's old app. The new feature also broke other older Netflix apps, like the one in Windows Media Center, which was subsequently fixed by Netflix. Someone's going to have to report it to Netflix and Panasonic to have any hope of getting it fixed. Most likely Netflix will fix it on their end. I doubt Panny will ever update that old app of theirs again.

Netflix rep blew smoke and played with mirrors for an hour. First he said my ISP was jamming up then stated my player was bad. During prime time hours netflix chokes @ 500-756kbs. I ran a speakeasy benchmark through same network while netflix was fumbling their service that showed 11Mbps. Running netflix off prime time hours and I get 4-10 Mbps. Netflix will not admit it's on their side. It was fun while it lasted, but screw them if they can not meet their commitment and pin the blame on everybody else with FUD BS.
cluster_flux is offline  
post #1871 of 1887 Old 10-25-2013, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Is it possible to change profiles on this DMP-BD65? I have the latest FW, and I deactivated my account to re-add my account in order for it to give me the Profile page to select the correct profile but it just instantly goes to the owners profile. How do I select the proper user profile?

Thanks
Rod

EDIT: Did I really just say all that? LOL, completely failed to look at the last few pages of complaints. However, it is streaming 1080p for me just fine, but it only shows the owners profile and not the profile I created for it. Amazing how they find ways to get us to buy more hardware.

EDIT2: Ok, well we have given up on this player and going to get a Samsung now with the new 2013 SmartHUB. Seems to have the very latest version of Netflix and Plex app.
SkOrPn is online now  
post #1872 of 1887 Old 11-07-2013, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Tokapeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the firmwate and now my BD65 just goes into a boot loop. It will eventually boot, but it can take up to 10 minutes. I tried reupdating, but it won't let me. Is there any way to force it to reupdate?

Andy
Tokapeba is offline  
post #1873 of 1887 Old 11-15-2013, 09:03 PM
Newbie
 
Jpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

We've had our DVD player for a couple of years now with no issues. The other night, we had a power failure while watching tv, not a dvd. The next day, I went to play a dvd for my son and could not get any sound. I have checked all the settings and everything seems okay. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this or is someone knows what the issue could be?

 

Thanks :)

Jpepper is offline  
post #1874 of 1887 Old 08-31-2014, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
treefrog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Home Video Burned DVD won't play in Panasonic Blu-ray DMP-BD655

Hi all,

I have home movies of my family taken from a Canon camcorder that records in .mts files (AVCHD). My intention is to burn blu-ray discs, but I have blank Memorex DVD-R dvds at the moment so I thought I would test out my new Pavtube imedia converter (for mac) and Pavtube DVD Creator Software.

I converted the .mts files to vob files (NTSC 16:9 format) using the imedia converter and then burned a dvd using the DVD Creator software. I did one trial at medium quality and another at low quality.

Both dvd could be played on my macbook and pc, but could not be played in the Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD player (DMP BD655). This blu-ray player has not had a problem playing home video dvd's that were created using a VHS to DVD Recorder (large component, table-top equipment).

Clearly there is "something" amiss in the software, the process I am following or the burner from the macbook.

Any ideas? I'd really like to view a dvd on the Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD player.

Thanks.
treefrog1 is offline  
post #1875 of 1887 Old 09-01-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,259
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 436
My authoring software had the option to burn the AVCHD structure directly to DVD which played fine on my Panny. No conversion required.
mdavej is offline  
post #1876 of 1887 Old 09-15-2014, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Manchester, MA USA
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dmp-bd655 remote issues

When watching streaming from amazon on my dmp-bd655, the pause/ff/rewind buttons on my remote don't work. I've searched the web and can't find any reference to this issue.

Any thoughts?
Dave T is offline  
post #1877 of 1887 Old 09-15-2014, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave T View Post
When watching streaming from amazon on my dmp-bd655, the pause/ff/rewind buttons on my remote don't work. I've searched the web and can't find any reference to this issue.

Any thoughts?
It's the way the app is designed. Use the "ok" button to pause/play. Use > and < buttons to ff and rewind. It's clunky but functional.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - HAL 9000
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1878 of 1887 Old 09-15-2014, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Manchester, MA USA
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post
It's the way the app is designed. Use the "ok" button to pause/play. Use > and < buttons to ff and rewind. It's clunky but functional.
Thanks! That's it. Definitely clunky though - I agree. Strange that they couldn't design it so that the regular buttons on the remote would work, but at least I know now how to pause, etc.
Dave T is offline  
post #1879 of 1887 Old 09-16-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My BD65 is having a lot of issue playing back less than perfect disc. Mostly Blu-rays from library. Yes, I see some scratches and fingerprints on the disc and I always try to clean it off before playing. But the BD65 simply chokes when playing some of the discs. It is increasingly frustrating.

I have another player, Panasonic BDT210, which plays the same disc without problem.

The BD65 is reasonably fast. Has analog output that BDT210 does not have. And it form factor fits nicely in my setup. So I wish I could fix it. Any owners can share some thoughts? I already tried cleaning following the instruction below:

Panasonic DMP-BD65

It didn't seem to help much. Did it reached end of life? Or is it a known issue that BD65 had trouble with less-than-perfect disc?

Last edited by pixelation; 09-16-2014 at 01:39 PM.
pixelation is offline  
post #1880 of 1887 Old 09-16-2014, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post
My BD65 is having a lot of issue playing back less than perfect disc.
Have you tried running one of those lens cleaning discs through it? I don't know if it will solve your problem but they're inexpensive and probably worth a shot. Something like this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I bought it because I thought I could use it on my HDDVD player, which unfortunately didn't work for that. It worked in my BD65, though I wasn't having any problems with it thus far.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - HAL 9000
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1881 of 1887 Old 09-17-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I haven't and most likely won't invest on a cleaning disc. I figure if I have to go that route, I might as well open the drive again and rub the laser head with a lens cloth.
pixelation is offline  
post #1882 of 1887 Old 11-15-2014, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
dasher123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I still have this player, and hope someone can help me with some questions:

I just bought a new 2014 Panny AS680U 240Hz LCD TV to replace the old Samsung LN-550A series TV (60 hz) from 2008 or so.

BD65 is set to 1080p and 24 fps, and new Panny TV is set to "True HD 4:4:4" ON. (which the BD65 also supports)

Since then I have noticed following issues when playing BR discs with the BD65:


- "just scan" aspect ratio on Samsung TV was the aspect ratio I had it on, and it was perfect. When selecting "just scan" setting on the new Panny, faces seem to get more oval shaped (skinny); when I select 16:9 it's perfect. How could this be?
- I notice some motion judder/jitter on BR discs, more than it did with the Samsung. (I have the "motion picture" setting to OFF on TV, as I don't want Soap Opera effect. But even with it off, shouldn't this be not a problem? ) - also, IDK i am imagining stuff or what, but as the BR disc plays for while, this problem seems to get less and less...i know that sounds weird.
-is my old BD65 having trouble handling a 240Hz tv ??
PQ is great though, no issue with that. But motion is less smooth than with the old TV. (ALL other sources work great with new TV, laptop and Roku; NO motion artifacts; this is ONLY with the BD-65)
- The HDMI cable (monoprice premium) IS about 5 yrs old but i don't think that should be a problem... or can it?

To help, here are full specs for the BD65:

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model...s&support#tabs

I am reluctant to upgrade due to newer BR players not having any analog 2-ch audio outs, which I prefer to use with my home amp, which is a 2-ch amp.

Anyone has any idea what these issues mean? or how I can correct them?
dasher123 is offline  
post #1883 of 1887 Old 11-15-2014, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
dasher123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Exclamation Old-ish BR player with New LCD... a few concerns...

I just bought a new 55" 2014 Panny AS680U 240Hz LCD TV to replace the old 40" Samsung LN-550A series TV (60 hz) from 2008 or so.

FYI:
BD65 is set to 1080p and 24 fps ON, and new Panny TV is set to "True/Pure HD 4:4:4" ON. (which the BD65 also supports)


Since then I have noticed following issues when playing BR discs with the BD65:


- "Just scan" aspect ratio on Samsung TV was the Aspect Ratio I had it on, and it was perfect with the BD65. When selecting "just scan" AR setting on the new Panny, faces seem to get more "oval shaped" (skinny); when I select 16:9 it's perfect. How could this be?
- I notice some motion blur on BR discs, more than it did with the Samsung. (I have the "motion picture" setting to OFF on TV, as I don't want Soap Opera effect. But even with it off, shouldn't this be not a problem? ) - also, IDK i am imagining stuff or what, but as the BR disc plays for while, this problem seems to get less and less...i know that sounds weird.
-is my old BD65 having trouble handling a 240Hz tv ??
PQ is great though, no issue with that. But motion is less smooth than with the old TV.
(ALL other sources work great with new TV, laptop and Roku; NO motion blur; this is ONLY with the BD-65
)
- The HDMI cable (monoprice premium) IS about 5 yrs old but i don't think that should be a problem... or can it?

To help, here are full specs for the BD65:

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model...s&support#tabs

I am reluctant to upgrade due to newer BR players not having any analog 2-ch audio outs, which I prefer to use with my home amp, which is a 2-ch amp.

Anyone has any idea what these issues mean? or how I can correct them?
dasher123 is offline  
post #1884 of 1887 Old 11-15-2014, 11:26 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 157
It would be the opposite. You might try the thread for your TV to see what settings people are using. For BD, try changing the settings for HDMI output between Auto and 4:2:2.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself

Last edited by teachsac; 11-15-2014 at 11:30 AM.
teachsac is offline  
post #1885 of 1887 Old 11-15-2014, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
dasher123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks! Will try that, and I already posted on the TV thread too, but it's hard to find that exact TV/BDP combo, so that's why I posted here.
What did you mean by "it would be the opposite"?
dasher123 is offline  
post #1886 of 1887 Old 11-15-2014, 11:41 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 157
The only thing that will change the ratio in the BD player is the Zoom. That works mostly with DVD scaling. It sounds like the Panasonic has different overscan settings between the two modes. My Sony does, also.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself

Last edited by teachsac; 11-15-2014 at 12:20 PM.
teachsac is offline  
post #1887 of 1887 Unread Today, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by kezug 

I am able to get to Amazon instant video from my BD65 player, however, is there a way to get 5.1 sound from the HD content? I only tried one HD movie and it was MI:3 and the audio was only in Stereo. Is this possible through some sort of Firmware upgrade?

No. Older model players do not support 5.1 audio with Amazon. The current Sonys do as does the Roku.

S~
Well not sure if this has been updated on this thread, but Amazon updated their App for the BD 65 so it does now indeed stream 5.1! Not sure, but the video quality appears to be better as, well. The GUI on an over haul too. Nice surprise on an ol' Blu model.
C*Tedesco is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic Dmp Bd65 Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd85k Wifi Enabled Blu Ray Disc Player Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off