Official LG BD550/BD560/BD570/BD590 Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 6388 Old 05-09-2010, 09:20 PM
Member
 
poster72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wow. so i bought a BD570 after all the reviews and thought, no this will work out im sure of it. hooking it up to a 46LD550 LG LCD. have comcast box also hooked through HDMI.

default it was set to output 1080i. changed to 1080p and left 60fps, now the video/audio cuts in and out every 15 seconds or so. unbelievable. just wont play 1080p steady, even connected straight to the tv with HDMI.

furthermore the DHCP wont work, has to be set manually. upgraded software from H80503/BD.8.31.56.C to H 80586/BD.8.31.211.C but no help. DHCP still doesnt work, video/audio still drops out every once in a while.

Seems this is a LG bluray ->LG TV issue. at any rate mine is already boxed and waiting to go back tomorrow.

whats the similar model for sony or samsung? netflix is most important, the home media streamer is nice (especially ISO), wired lan necessary, from there its bonus.
poster72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 6388 Old 05-09-2010, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
shd17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevepierce1 View Post


Don't know what the other icons "blue background monitor and black tower" are using to stream but it takes you to a "CIFS Sign In" screen that asks for an "ID" and "Password". Can't figure out what it is asking for since I don't even use passwords on the network.

Steve

I have this issue with CIFS log in too. Can anyone help? What ID and password are we suppose to use? Any special config in Windows 7?
shd17 is offline  
post #903 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 02:04 PM
Member
 
rpjones68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poster72 View Post

wow. so i bought a BD570 after all the reviews and thought, no this will work out im sure of it. hooking it up to a 46LD550 LG LCD. have comcast box also hooked through HDMI.

default it was set to output 1080i. changed to 1080p and left 60fps, now the video/audio cuts in and out every 15 seconds or so. unbelievable. just wont play 1080p steady, even connected straight to the tv with HDMI.

furthermore the DHCP wont work, has to be set manually. upgraded software from H80503/BD.8.31.56.C to H 80586/BD.8.31.211.C but no help. DHCP still doesnt work, video/audio still drops out every once in a while.

Seems this is a LG bluray ->LG TV issue. at any rate mine is already boxed and waiting to go back tomorrow.

whats the similar model for sony or samsung? netflix is most important, the home media streamer is nice (especially ISO), wired lan necessary, from there its bonus.

Sony would be a BDP570
rpjones68 is offline  
post #904 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 02:16 PM
Member
 
poster72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks. i went with the samsung BDC5500 i think it was. hopefully it works better!
poster72 is offline  
post #905 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
pyedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpjones68 View Post

Sony would be a BDP570

DLNA mostly works on the LG - the Sony says it will be available as a download in June (maybe).
pyedog is offline  
post #906 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 02:46 PM
Member
 
poster72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thats what kept me from buying the sony honestly. samsung has "allshare" which i assume is just dlna disguised in a different name, or something similar anyway
poster72 is offline  
post #907 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
ilovehs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spat72 View Post

I bought the BD550 and can not find any DLNA servers on my network. I have both Playon and Windows7 streaming to a WDTV Live. But this LG only shows the built in apps.

Further research on LG's knowledge base shows I should have a section called "Home Link" in the main menu. That is not the case though. I ran the latest update but I still lack the Home Link section in the main menu.

Anyone succeeded in DLNA usage with the BD550. Not just the built in apps but connecting to a local DLNA server? I was considering a Samsung untile I read somewhere it only worked with their propriotery software. Hope it is not the case with LG, that defeats the purpose of DLNA in my opinion!

no homelink function in bd550, you shoud buy 570 or 590 for homelink(dlna)
ilovehs2 is offline  
post #908 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone verify whether or not the bd570 read ntfs external hd or flash drive? That is read an mkv file larger than 4 gig?
silvereyes is offline  
post #909 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 06:33 PM
Member
 
poster72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well, apparently my issue may be more linked to my new yamaha receiver than anything. it drops video/audio every 5 seconds or so when streaming 1080p/60fps. if i drop it to 24fps or hook straight to tv everything is fine.

yamaha was of no help whatsoever, very dissapointed and will be returning for something else.

the thing is, the LG 570 also hiccuped when connected straight to the tv, but not as bad as when going through receiver.

i mean, r u kidding, wtf are they selling? it seems as if everything is half assed
poster72 is offline  
post #910 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 06:34 PM
Member
 
AndyInWpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shd17 View Post

I have this issue with CIFS log in too. Can anyone help? What ID and password are we suppose to use? Any special config in Windows 7?

It wants the router's name (SSID) and security key (WPA or other).
AndyInWpg is offline  
post #911 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
shd17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyInWpg View Post

It wants the router's name (SSID) and security key (WPA or other).

I have it connected via wired LAN. Does it still require WAP/WEP key?
shd17 is offline  
post #912 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 08:58 PM
Newbie
 
TwillT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poster72 View Post

wow. so i bought a BD570 after all the reviews and thought, no this will work out im sure of it. hooking it up to a 46LD550 LG LCD. have comcast box also hooked through HDMI.

default it was set to output 1080i. changed to 1080p and left 60fps, now the video/audio cuts in and out every 15 seconds or so. unbelievable. just wont play 1080p steady, even connected straight to the tv with HDMI.

furthermore the DHCP wont work, has to be set manually. upgraded software from H80503/BD.8.31.56.C to H 80586/BD.8.31.211.C but no help. DHCP still doesnt work, video/audio still drops out every once in a while.

Seems this is a LG bluray ->LG TV issue. at any rate mine is already boxed and waiting to go back tomorrow.

whats the similar model for sony or samsung? netflix is most important, the home media streamer is nice (especially ISO), wired lan necessary, from there its bonus.

Same problems here still, and I've discovered it's not just related to DVD playback. Any HDMI signal that my BD570 blu-ray player tries to send my 47LE5500 TV cuts out periodically. This includes, DVD, blu-ray, Netflix, etc.

The audio often comes back with static after the first cutout, at which point I have to re-seat the HDMI cable to fix it. I'm at the point where I'd take both the POSs back, except, like an idiot, I threw the boxes away when I thought things were working fine.

If anyone finds a fix for this, please let me know. In the meantime I'm going to wrestle with LG support - they must know this is a legit problem by now.
TwillT is offline  
post #913 of 6388 Old 05-10-2010, 09:04 PM
Member
 
poster72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that sucks. im certain the lg had issues, even though ive really located my issues down to a receiver at 1080p/60fps. at 24fps its fine.

but that lg still hiccuped when straight to my tv through hdmi at 60fps.

the sucky part of the receiver issue is just what you noted twillt, everything the player does other than blu ray discs still runs at 1080p/60 even when set to 24 for blu rays.

so my picture still hiccups on everything but blu rays, all the time!
poster72 is offline  
post #914 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
minabird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvereyes View Post

can anyone verify whether or not the bd570 read ntfs external hd or flash drive? That is read an mkv file larger than 4 gig?

yes it dose up to 4 external hard drives ntfs
i tried 3 0ne trybit drives and one 2 trybit drive through usb hub worked good
minabird is offline  
post #915 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 01:46 AM
Member
 
AndyInWpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shd17 View Post

I have it connected via wired LAN. Does it still require WAP/WEP key?

It didn't ask me for a password when wired. Only for wireless.

Just realized you were asking about CIFS login. That's to sign into your computer in Home Link. You need the user name and password that you sign in to you computer with.
AndyInWpg is offline  
post #916 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
pyedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shd17 View Post

I have this issue with CIFS log in too. Can anyone help? What ID and password are we suppose to use?

If you select the machine, you'll get the CIFS login. You shouldn't need to do this.

If you share folders with read privileges set to All, you should be able to select the folder and see the contents w/o having to enter anything. At least it works for me using Vista, Windows 7, and my external driver connected to my router.
pyedog is offline  
post #917 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 08:57 AM
Member
 
cohenfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are there individual file size limits for dlna access? i understand the 570 can't read a raw image file, but i'm also having some problems with jpegs and am wondering if the issues are the size of the file. in theory can it handle a large jpeg image of, say 5-6 mb? this is the only issue i'm having with connectivity so far...i guess i can downsize my jpegs if i have to, but that is a step i'd rather not have to make. i'm pretty pleased with the 570 overall.
cohenfive is offline  
post #918 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
spat72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovehs2 View Post

no homelink function in bd550, you shoud buy 570 or 590 for homelink(dlna)

Yeah that bits! I just got a reply back from LG. They said it is not DLNA. So why the &$#$ do they list it as such on their site? Many of them are doing crap like this..........

My third one so far!

Anyone have a reccomendation for a blue ray that knowingly works well with playon?
spat72 is offline  
post #919 of 6388 Old 05-11-2010, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
The 590 works well with playon but I think tversity works better.
bori is online now  
post #920 of 6388 Old 05-12-2010, 07:50 AM
Member
 
bugs_bunny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cohenfive, i had no problem reading the near 5mb picture files from my canon,
regarding video i have seen movies of around 22gb without a problem, i am using a wired connection through 2 routers

i just woudlnt mind having access to pandora, netflix and vudu :'( sniff
bugs_bunny01 is offline  
post #921 of 6388 Old 05-12-2010, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

The 590 works well with playon but I think tversity works better.

I agree Tversity works the best. I want to upgrade to the pro version but I want to make sure hulu works with my 570.
kenvt is offline  
post #922 of 6388 Old 05-12-2010, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I tried Daybreakers BD and on the main movies menu I get the temp and time. The only thing the time and temp are incorrect. Is there anyway to correct the time and location. I tried to look and there was no options to change this. It was called LG gadgets.
bori is online now  
post #923 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 04:35 AM
Member
 
papawupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Haverhill, Mass.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by papawupa View Post

Purchased the 570 recently and find that it gives me an error when trying to play a avchd dvd+r (4.7gb). The player appears to read the disc as "blueray" which of course it is not. Using the same movie files and burning to a dvd+rw, the player displays "avchd" and plays correctly. Burning software is Imgburn. I have the latest updates for the player (211). Any heilp or direction would be appreciated.

BUMP: I posted this without response. I have since posted this problem on other boards. I have also contacted LG. Their tech staff have said that the bd570 does not read/play AVCHD DVD+r discs. The BD570 also does not read/play AVCHD DVD+rw. The advertising and the users manual says that it will play these discs. I have tried various manufacturers media (Memorex, Verbatim, HP...). All fail to play the same authored movie. I have also used more than one burning engine. All of the discs read/play on my second blue Ray player by another manufacturer. Has anyone else had this problem? I am in contact with customer service and hope to have a resolution soon. The current firmware/software that is on my machine is 211c, which I believe is the latest version for my area (USA).
papawupa is offline  
post #924 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
gus91326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I apologize as I am sure this has been asked before, but a search turned up fruitless.

Is anyone aware of how to add services (like NPR) to the players? I'm guessing that LG is tightly controlling this, but is anyone aware what's on the horizon?
gus91326 is offline  
post #925 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by papawupa View Post

BUMP: I posted this without response. I have since posted this problem on other boards. I have also contacted LG. Their tech staff have said that the bd570 does not read/play AVCHD DVD+r discs. The BD570 also does not read/play AVCHD DVD+rw. The advertising and the users manual says that it will play these discs. I have tried various manufacturers media (Memorex, Verbatim, HP...). All fail to play the same authored movie. I have also used more than one burning engine. All of the discs read/play on my second blue Ray player by another manufacturer. Has anyone else had this problem? I am in contact with customer service and hope to have a resolution soon. The current firmware/software that is on my machine is 211c, which I believe is the latest version for my area (USA).

That's funny my 590 plays avchd just fine.
bori is online now  
post #926 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 12:47 PM
Member
 
papawupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Haverhill, Mass.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

That's funny my 590 plays avchd just fine.

The bd570 and the 590 are supposed to be the same machine with the hard drive the big difference. Either there is a difference or the bd570 is not functioning as advertised. It's good that you are not experiencing this problem. Hopefully someone with a 570 can confirm my issue or better yet, confirm that the problem is just my unit.
papawupa is offline  
post #927 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mamasboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stuck in Michigan
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best price on the 590 I have seen so far is around $320 with free 2 day prime shipping at amazon. Ohhh the temptation. Must...hold...off (at least in to summer rerun season starts and I start watching more movies).

"It's not a lie if you believe it's the truth" --- George Costanza
Mamasboy is offline  
post #928 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasboy View Post

Best price on the 590 I have seen so far is around $320 with free 2 day prime shipping at amazon. Ohhh the temptation. Must...hold...off (at least in to summer rerun season starts and I start watching more movies).

I believe the 590 is on sale at Bestbuy this week as well.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #929 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasboy View Post

Best price on the 590 I have seen so far is around $320 with free 2 day prime shipping at amazon. Ohhh the temptation. Must...hold...off (at least in to summer rerun season starts and I start watching more movies).

I couldn't. Since LG fixed all the bugs I just re-bought it.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #930 of 6388 Old 05-13-2010, 07:57 PM
Member
 
phillyeagles2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvereyes View Post

Can anyone verify whether or not the bd570 read ntfs external hd or flash drive? That is read an mkv file larger than 4 gig?

yes works fine with NTFS formatted HDD's but my experience with flash drives are that you need to format to exFAT to hold mkv's larger than 4gigs but the BD570 doesn't support exFAT right now but I called LG and requested a firmware update to support it and they said they'll work on it..

I think its pretty cool that you can call with a request and if within reason they will promise to get it done...

*THANKS LG*
phillyeagles2008 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd550 Network Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd570 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg Bd590 250gb Hd Network Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off