Official LG BD550/BD560/BD570/BD590 Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2010, 10:45 AM
Member
 
gordita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just a fyi for folks having bought the BD570 player from bestbuy or wish to do so next week, BB will have a special price of $250 starting this sunday....

enjoy!
gordita is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2010, 12:06 PM
Member
 
doodabides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. M View Post

Lots of strange problems. Wont read several BluRay Discs. Ratatouille, Transformers, I am Legend among others..

Anyone else have these discs to give a spin?
doodabides is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
mrlouie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

First off this thread had great info, thanks.

Ok so I got a BD 590 last night to replace the Insignia WBRDVD I have that is being returned because the thing keeps freezing up on start up, cheap price but cheap unit.

I really just need a wifi unit that streams Netflix to the TV and will play mpeg4 files off the USB input, the blue ray disc is secondary for me, yeah i know but i can live with basic dvds.

Anways got the BD 590 home last night hooked it up, got the wifi working no problem(apple airport extreme older version), did the software upgrade... restarted...got Netflix setup again with new player..the images of the covers on Netflix are sharper and netflix itself loads & streams better, especially the FF/RR then the Insigna player did.

I got the DNLA to work with my mac mini, I was only streaming mpeg4 video files but it seemed fine. I copied some files over the wifi to the internal hard drive to test it out, not the fastest thing but it worked no problem, which was cool.

Now here's my only problem, the BD 590 will only see my sandisk USB flash drive when the unit is powered on with the drive already inserted, it shows up fine. If the unit is already on and I insert the usb drive it doesn't see it at all??? I can see the drive flashing a little but it doesn't get recognized by the player.

The Insignia would see the USB drive any time I would insert it.

Anyone else have this problem? Can someone with a 590 and a litttle flash drive check this out on their unit?

I tried both my 8g & 16g sandisk same results.

When the 590 did see the flash drive in the usb port, it played the mpeg4 movie files fine, copying from the usb to internal drive was fast, worked great.

Playing from the internal drive works great, I renamed a folder no problem.

Cons about 590...

stupid front cover that hides usb slot.
hard drive noise, it's noticeable.

A 570 would be fine for what I need if the usb port was in the back of the unit or just not hidden under the front cover so i could keep a small HD attached all the time. The 590 and 570 loses alot of its nice look with that front cover half way down or fully down to give access to usb, plus it also loses the dust protection if its down all the time.

I watched a couple of Blue rays for the first time on the Insignia and wasn't that amazed, hopefully when i see them on the LG it'll be better, I dont have any other reference since these are my first players.

oh so heres my set little set up, its basic but that's all i need

Samsung 540, LG 590, one 3ft monoprice HDMI cable, 20meg internet connection.

So whats a really great looking Blue Ray Disc to check out ??

thanks again for all the info

louie
mrlouie73 is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 06:45 PM
 
expresso712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpags View Post

I just checked and yes you can also copy files/folders from the internal hard drive to a USB drive/device.

thanks - sorry if i am driving you crazy

i was wondering if i rip all my music on my computer to my external 1 Tera hard drive with my computer -
i would put all the music on the external drive with the computer - then disconnect it from the computer and plug it in the DVD player - would i be able to play music from that external HD i just plugged in and have all my music i ripped there from the computer on it ?

also is there a display that tells me what i am listening to ? is the front panel of the dvd player do that or does it display it on the TV ?

this is new to me - sounds pretty simple - but i dont know how it works exactly -

thanks
expresso712 is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Alcoholic247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordita View Post

just a fyi for folks having bought the BD570 player from bestbuy or wish to do so next week, BB will have a special price of $250 starting this sunday....

enjoy!

I'd rather get it from amazon for $249 free ship than paying $25 in taxes. Free 2 day ship with prime (free 30 day trial for new users)
Alcoholic247 is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
h0mi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 590 hard drive upgradeable?
h0mi is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 12:40 PM
Member
 
ben12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 390 and when steaming large mkv files (over 7 gb) it stutters due to the size. Smaller files work fine. I have it set up as wireless.
On the 590 can you stream movie files from your PC and copy them to the hard drive and then play them back. If so I would assume there would be no stutter or freezing problems with mkv files as they would be playing from the hard drive rather than streaming wirelessly.
ben12345 is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 02:16 PM
Member
 
HTPC4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where the Sun does not shine
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alcoholic247 View Post

I'd rather get it from amazon for $249 free ship than paying $25 in taxes. Free 2 day ship with prime (free 30 day trial for new users)

I'd stay away from prime...

Do the free shipping... they claim 5 to 6 day but in each case I've used it, I've had my items arrive within three days.

When I used prime, I cancelled but they still charge me... I eventually had it taken off my cc. Not good.
HTPC4Ever is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
CochiseGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochise County, Arizona
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alcoholic247 View Post

I'd rather get it from amazon for $249 free ship than paying $25 in taxes. Free 2 day ship with prime (free 30 day trial for new users)

You might hold off ordering until next week. Amazon had the 570 for $234.57 for a day or so last week, and that's when I placed my order. They might well lower the price again when the BB deal goes live.
CochiseGuy is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CochiseGuy View Post

You might hold off ordering until next week. Amazon had the 570 for $234.57 for a day or so last week, and that's when I placed my order. They might well lower the price again when the BB deal goes live.

]

Audioholics has the BD570 for $229 with free ship, I honestly don't know how reputable they are.

http://store.audioholics.com/product.php/2899/0
kenvt is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
elbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

]

Audioholics has the BD570 for $229 with free ship, I honestly don't know how reputable they are.

http://store.audioholics.com/product.php/2899/0

They have a pretty good rating at rellerratings.com
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Audioholics
elbig is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok So I understand the BD590 has the built in hard drive. But I mean if you already had a larger external USB hard drive why not just get the 570? Its more than 100 dollars cheaper. I'm currently debating which one to get... excuse my ignorance as I'm not a AV guru.
rekrul is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the 570 only adds wifi over the 550? Might as well get the 550 I guess.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Stravos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

So the 570 only adds wifi over the 550? Might as well get the 550 I guess.

I don't think the 550 has DLNA ("Home Link"). Seems weird they would force WiFi on you if you want DLNA, though.
Stravos is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Ok So I understand the BD590 has the built in hard drive. But I mean if you already had a larger external USB hard drive why not just get the 570? Its more than 100 dollars cheaper. I'm currently debating which one to get... excuse my ignorance as I'm not a AV guru.

Any input on using an external HD vs forking over the extra money for the 590?
rekrul is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekrul View Post

Any input on using an external HD vs forking over the extra money for the 590?

Read the thread. It's been discussed.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
spiritrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

So the 570 only adds wifi over the 550? Might as well get the 550 I guess.

Here is what the 570 has that the 550 doesn't (Differences from the LG website)

Wi-Fi Connectivity
802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz band only)

Video Content Format
DivX®/DivX HD, MKV

Home Link Playable Content Format
DivX®/DivX HD, MPEG2 TS/PS, MPEG1
SS, XVID, MKV, AVI, WMA, MP3, AC3,
AAC, JPEG, PNG

DLNA

Digital Out (Optical)

Nero® MediaHome Bundle Disc

Slightly different sizes
570 16.9 x 1.7 x 8.0
550 16.9 x 1.8 x 7.9
spiritrider is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
CochiseGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochise County, Arizona
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stravos View Post

I don't think the 550 has DLNA ("Home Link"). Seems weird they would force WiFi on you if you want DLNA, though.

As discussed, there are several other features the 550 lacks. But they don't "force" wireless on you - both the 570 & 590 have a wired LAN port, in addition to wireless.
CochiseGuy is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
Stravos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CochiseGuy View Post

As discussed, there are several other features the 550 lacks. But they don't "force" wireless on you - both the 570 & 590 have a wired LAN port, in addition to wireless.

Well, they force you to pay for it. I prefer using a single wireless bridge with all my networked HT stuff.

I'm just bitter because I want this player, but don't want to pay that price premium
Stravos is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
CochiseGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochise County, Arizona
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stravos View Post

Well, they force you to pay for it. I prefer using a single wireless bridge with all my networked HT stuff.

I'm just bitter because I want this player, but don't want to pay that price premium

Well, that Audioholics link in post #190 for $229 w/ free shipping is the best price I've seen for it. I checked, and they have the 550 for $179, so the 570 is a $50 premium for the wireless & additional file handling capability. They also have the 590 for $379, a price premium of $150. Think of the $150 you're saving by not getting an internal hard drive to trick your mind into forgetting about the $50.
CochiseGuy is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
Luyseyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a BD570. I've tried to record two different plain audio CDs, but neither one works. The only options on the menu are "Buy info." and "Close". I have the latest firmware. Anyone else experiencing this issue?
Luyseyal is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luyseyal View Post

I have a BD570. I've tried to record two different plain audio CDs, but neither one works. The only options on the menu are "Buy info." and "Close". I have the latest firmware. Anyone else experiencing this issue?

You said "record", did you mean play ? As far as I know the BD570 doesn't record anything.

-Ken
kenvt is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
Luyseyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

You said "record", did you mean play ? As far as I know the BD570 doesn't record anything.

Actually, if you have a USB drive connected to the BD570 the instructions tell you that you can rip audio CDs. See page 47 of the manual.

Hrm.. I have a very large NTFS device connected. Maybe I should try it with a big USB key and see if the problem is FAT32 vs NTFS...

-l
Luyseyal is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 03:38 PM
Member
 
cohenfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's a good price for the 570. it does everything i want it to do (dlna, pandora, picasa, netflix, even bluray!)...and right now lg is the only one with all of this functionality. sony won't have dlna until july, and you have to go overseas to get dlna in a panny.
cohenfive is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Magicspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luyseyal View Post

Actually, if you have a USB drive connected to the BD570 the instructions tell you that you can rip audio CDs. See page 47 of the manual.

Hrm.. I have a very large NTFS device connected. Maybe I should try it with a big USB key and see if the problem is FAT32 vs NTFS...

-l

According to page 26 of the BD570 manual:

This player supports USB flash drive/external
HDD formatted in FAT16, FAT32 and NTFS when
accessing files (music, photo, movie). However,
for BD-LIVE and Audio CD recording, only FAT16
and FAT32 formats are supported. Use the USB
flash drive/external HDD formatted in either
FAT16 or FAT32 when using BD-LIVE and Audio
CD recording.

Too bad they didn't put that statement in the section describing the audio recording function, lol.
Magicspell is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Magicspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to how I am reading page 86 of the BD570 manual it appears that output resolutions are limited to 480p when using component cables and playing "copy protected" media (no HDMI connected). Can anyone confirm this?

I'm assuming this would be playing back a commercial blu-ray or any of the streaming options (Vudu, Netflix, etc)???

I just want to know if I'm required to connect this via HDMI to experience full 1080 resolutions.

Thanks!
Magicspell is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:02 PM
Member
 
rpjones68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magicspell View Post

According to how I am reading page 86 of the BD570 manual it appears that output resolutions are limited to 480p when using component cables and playing "copy protected" media (no HDMI connected). Can anyone confirm this?

I'm assuming this would be playing back a commercial blu-ray or any of the streaming options (Vudu, Netflix, etc)???

I just want to know if I'm required to connect this via HDMI to experience full 1080 resolutions.

Thanks!

Just DVD's. You will still get 1080i from Vudu and Netflix on HD Instant. Well, I think Netflix is in 720, but it upcoverts . Regardless, I've tested several streams via component and it is as good to my eyes as 1080i....You can tell the artifacts in the "non-hd" instant streams to compare
rpjones68 is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
spyfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Corvette City USA
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there any way to tell if Netflix is playing the HD stream or not? On the XBOX 360 it tells you it's in HD when you start playing it. On the 570 I have no way of knowing if it's actually playing the HD version when available or not.
spyfy is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:22 PM
Member
 
dave7zombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in Fry's today, and they had stacks of BD590's for $199.99
dave7zombie is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:37 PM
Member
 
bigtim2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave7zombie View Post

I was in Fry's today, and they had stacks of BD590's for $199.99

don't you bd390's? that would be a steal for a $399 blu-ray play to be half at introduction
bigtim2000 is offline  
 

Tags
Lg Bd550 Network Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd570 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg Bd590 250gb Hd Network Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off