Official Sony BDP-S570 Owners Thread - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_m10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have the BDP-BX57 and I am getting a message that the YouTube app is going away. Will there be an update for this or do I have to upgrade to a new player?


Thanks Bob
bob_m10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob_m10 View Post
I have the BDP-BX57 and I am getting a message that the YouTube app is going away. Will there be an update for this or do I have to upgrade to a new player?


Thanks Bob
Upgrade. Older Sony televisions have same message. I forget why. I have the S6200, but waiting for the S6500.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4023 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_m10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Upgrade. Older Sony televisions have same message. I forget why. I have the S6200, but waiting for the S6500.

Are you getting that message on the 6200? I noticed I can get that at a good discount now. Thanks
bob_m10 is offline  
post #4024 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 08:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,204
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2009 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob_m10 View Post
Are you getting that message on the 6200? I noticed I can get that at a good discount now. Thanks
Only the 90 series and earlier are affected. And even those have a second working Youtube app. So the 590, 5100, 6200, 5500 (and their cousins) are all fine. Have you considered just adding a $40 Roku for streaming and keeping your 570 for discs? The Roku has much better and far more streaming apps than any Sony player, past or present.
mdavej is offline  
post #4025 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob_m10 View Post
Are you getting that message on the 6200? I noticed I can get that at a good discount now. Thanks
Addition to what mdavej said, the S570 started making noise so it had to go. The S6200 has better audio support and doesn't have the YouTube message. I also bought a Roku 3 for Pandora and streaming (in the future) and it does fit on top of the S6200. The latest models are the S1500 to S5500 and they have their own thread too. I need SACD support so I'm waiting for the S6500. Also, the newest stuff is small. I use the S6200 for BD since it's the only function that turns off the front panel display. http://store.sony.com/streaming-blu-...ay-DVD-Players
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4026 of 4045 Old 05-01-2015, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
bob_m10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Addition to what mdavej said, the S570 started making noise so it had to go. The S6200 has better audio support and doesn't have the YouTube message. I also bought a Roku 3 for Pandora and streaming (in the future) and it does fit on top of the S6200. The latest models are the S1500 to S5500 and they have their own thread too. I need SACD support so I'm waiting for the S6500. Also, the newest stuff is small. I use the S6200 for BD since it's the only function that turns off the front panel display. http://store.sony.com/streaming-blu-...ay-DVD-Players

Good tips, I like the one device and so far my Sony does everything I want it to do in terms of streaming. Perhaps there is something on Roku I would enjoy if I bought one I don't know. I have Squeeze Box which I use for audio including Pandora. thanks Bob
bob_m10 is offline  
post #4027 of 4045 Old 08-31-2015, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
PhilMor74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a BDP-BX57 that's still chugging along. It's connected to a Sony STR-DH740 receiver via HDMI.

Trying to play (Hybrid) SACD's on the BX57, and I know the DH740 does not accept DSD via HDMI, but the PCM playback sounds quite good.

Last week, the SACD playback registered on the receiver as PCM @ 176.4KHZ, but 2 days ago I tried again and it is only registering as 2ch PCM @ 44.1KHZ.

Is there some setting I may (must) have inadvertently switched on one or the other device that would prevent it from playing back at the full 176.4?

I double checked the BX57 and it's set to play the SACD layer of the hybrid discs. Can't think of anything else that may have changed.
PhilMor74 is offline  
post #4028 of 4045 Old 09-01-2015, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Let's see. Under Audio Settings. Digital Audio Output = ON, DSD Output Mode = ON, BD Audio Mix Setting - OFF. Music Settings. Super Audio Playback Channel = DSD Multi. That all I can think of, but I'm using my S6200. My S570 died last year. Good luck.
PhilMor74 likes this.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4029 of 4045 Old 09-01-2015, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
PhilMor74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Let's see. Under Audio Settings. Digital Audio Output = ON, DSD Output Mode = ON, BD Audio Mix Setting - OFF. Music Settings. Super Audio Playback Channel = DSD Multi. That all I can think of, but I'm using my S6200. My S570 died last year. Good luck.
Been thinking about moving to the s6500 and retiring this one to a bedroom (awfully tempting with it on sale at Best Buy and Amazon right now), but will try this and see if I can squeeze some more life out of it.

Thanks for the reply!
PhilMor74 is offline  
post #4030 of 4045 Old 09-01-2015, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilMor74 View Post
Been thinking about moving to the s6500 and retiring this one to a bedroom (awfully tempting with it on sale at Best Buy and Amazon right now), but will try this and see if I can squeeze some more life out of it.

Thanks for the reply!
S6500 is nice. I have one also. Much slower setup menu, but pretty front end. My S570 got too noisy so I put it to sleep about a year ago. Streaming is not as good with the S6200/S6500 (IMO), but you may find them OK. The S6500 does have 1080/p24 from Amazon Prime. The new Sony site has details. Better CODEC support with the new models. I get (over DNLA) 13Mbps on a .wav music file, and .flac up to 7.7Mbps.
PhilMor74 likes this.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4031 of 4045 Old 09-14-2015, 05:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 13,393
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2741 Post(s)
Liked: 1887
Coming very late to the party I just picked up a very good condition used BDP-S570. It seems like a pretty solid player for discs. The SACD playback is nice too. I was a bit surprised by just how awful the DVD upscaling is though.

Last edited by Stereodude; 09-14-2015 at 05:50 PM.
Stereodude is online now  
post #4032 of 4045 Old 09-14-2015, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Coming very late to the party I just picked up a very good condition used BDP-S570. It seems like a pretty solid player. The SACD playback is nice too. I was a bit surprised by just how awful the DVD upscaling is though.
It is a fine machine. The king of the line is the S790. Everything goes downhill from there. The S6500 is pretty nice, but I think the older interface is good. I also have a Roku 3. But for SACD, the whole Sony line is pretty good. The 2014-2015 models went to only 2.4Ghz for wireless. But for streaming Amazon, I use the TiVo.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4033 of 4045 Old 09-15-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I was a bit surprised by just how awful the DVD upscaling is though.

Shouldn't be "awful". Are you using HDMI or Component video?
GLBright likes this.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #4034 of 4045 Old 09-15-2015, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 13,393
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2741 Post(s)
Liked: 1887
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Shouldn't be "awful". Are you using HDMI or Component video?
HDMI, and IMHO it's poor. My HTPC using MPC-HC MadVR (NNEDI3 + Jinc3AR) runs circles around it. Comparing it to another standalone BD player I own, a Panasonic BDT270 is also significantly better. The Panasonic falls short of my HTPC with some ringing being the most obvious difference, but it is still well ahead of the S570. I didn't buy the S570 for DVD playback so I'm not concerned or upset, I was just surprised as how not good it is.
Stereodude is online now  
post #4035 of 4045 Old 09-20-2015, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official Sony BDP-S570 Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
HDMI, and IMHO it's poor. My HTPC using MPC-HC MadVR (NNEDI3 + Jinc3AR) runs circles around it. Comparing it to another standalone BD player I own, a Panasonic BDT270 is also significantly better. The Panasonic falls short of my HTPC with some ringing being the most obvious difference, but it is still well ahead of the S570. I didn't buy the S570 for DVD playback so I'm not concerned or upset, I was just surprised as how not good it is.

Thanks for your input. I have a 770 and had assumed it was the same as the 570 in terms of video processing. It's no Oppo or Toshiba but it ain't bad.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #4036 of 4045 Old 10-16-2015, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sony Blu-Ray Player Service Menu Access Help

Hello,

I have the BDP S470, S560, S570

Does anyone know how to access the service menu? I searched around and found a few key combos but had no luck.

The one I tried was Turn on from stand by with Open/Close, Play, Stop buttons pressed. Nothing happened.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Visuall is offline  
post #4037 of 4045 Old 12-05-2015, 06:25 PM
Member
 
PeterDoubt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,
Just bought an Epson 2045 projector and when I try to plat a 3d bluRay the S570 says it doesn't recognize a 3d capable display. The projector displays 3d on internet and converts 2d to 3d fine. Tried different cables - any suggestions?

Thanks to one and all
PeterDoubt is offline  
post #4038 of 4045 Old 12-05-2015, 06:25 PM
Member
 
PeterDoubt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,
Just bought an Epson 2045 projector and when I try to plat a 3d bluRay the S570 says it doesn't recognize a 3d capable display. The projector displays 3d on internet and converts 2d to 3d fine. Tried different cables - any suggestions?

Thanks to one and all
PeterDoubt is offline  
post #4039 of 4045 Old 12-05-2015, 07:11 PM
Member
 
whscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there is a setting in the settings menu to enable 3d
whscott is offline  
post #4040 of 4045 Old 12-05-2015, 07:27 PM
Member
 
PeterDoubt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterDoubt View Post
Hi,
Just bought an Epson 2045 projector and when I try to plat a 3d bluRay the S570 says it doesn't recognize a 3d capable display. The projector displays 3d on internet and converts 2d to 3d fine. Tried different cables - any suggestions?

Thanks to one and all
I finally found the ansqwer on the Sony Community in an answer for the s580:


Thank you for the message. We would need to further adjust the following options under the screen setting menu of the Sony BDPS580:



1. 3D Output Setting to AUTO

2. TV Screen Size Setting for 3D to 55.

3. TV Type to 16:9.

4. Output Video Format to HDMI > 1080P.

5. BD/DVD-ROM 1080/24p Output to OFF.

6. HDMI Deep Color Output to OFF .

I think the main settings are 24p to off and deep color off.
In any case it works. Hopw it helps someone else!

Thanks
PeterDoubt is offline  
post #4041 of 4045 Old 12-19-2015, 06:45 AM
Member
 
AlexBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Arlington Heights, Illinois, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Freeze issues

I have a 570.

I only use it for Blu Ray, or occasionally I guess for some old dvd.

Not sure how old it is. Got very little use at first. Recently replaced broken PRE/Pro with a Marantze 8801. Using HDMI cable to that input, and the Marantz feeds an HDMI cable to a DVI Converting plug which is at my old Samsung overhead PJ. 720p usually.

The bdp has played flawlessly for a while. On a new set of the Star Wars BR disks, all six in a box, it is suddenly freezing. Image stays on the screen, no sound, and the unit is unresponsive to any FF, Rwd, chapter skip etc..... Have to start movie over. Second go Round, when I search to nearest chapter, it runs right through the ppoint where it had frozen, effortlessly.

Weird.

I have not done firmware upgrades, so much of that seems to be related to streaming or other uses.

Is it likely to help if I do firmware upgrades, or, just bring on new issues?
AlexBen is offline  
post #4042 of 4045 Old 12-19-2015, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
red71rum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexBen View Post
I have a 570.

I only use it for Blu Ray, or occasionally I guess for some old dvd.

Not sure how old it is. Got very little use at first. Recently replaced broken PRE/Pro with a Marantze 8801. Using HDMI cable to that input, and the Marantz feeds an HDMI cable to a DVI Converting plug which is at my old Samsung overhead PJ. 720p usually.

The bdp has played flawlessly for a while. On a new set of the Star Wars BR disks, all six in a box, it is suddenly freezing. Image stays on the screen, no sound, and the unit is unresponsive to any FF, Rwd, chapter skip etc..... Have to start movie over. Second go Round, when I search to nearest chapter, it runs right through the ppoint where it had frozen, effortlessly.

Weird.

I have not done firmware upgrades, so much of that seems to be related to streaming or other uses.

Is it likely to help if I do firmware upgrades, or, just bring on new issues?
I thought some of the firmware updates dealt with Blu Ray playback at some point. I always updated the firmware, and have the Star Wars movies on Blu Ray, never had a problem. Is your player near another component that creates heat? I know one time I mistakenly had my 570 player on a Xbox 360 and the player froze, it had gotten extremely hot from the 360 pushing out hot air.

Xbox LIVE gamertag: red71rum
red71rum is offline  
post #4043 of 4045 Old 12-19-2015, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexBen View Post
I have a 570.

I only use it for Blu Ray, or occasionally I guess for some old dvd.

Not sure how old it is. Got very little use at first. Recently replaced broken PRE/Pro with a Marantze 8801. Using HDMI cable to that input, and the Marantz feeds an HDMI cable to a DVI Converting plug which is at my old Samsung overhead PJ. 720p usually.

The bdp has played flawlessly for a while. On a new set of the Star Wars BR disks, all six in a box, it is suddenly freezing. Image stays on the screen, no sound, and the unit is unresponsive to any FF, Rwd, chapter skip etc..... Have to start movie over. Second go Round, when I search to nearest chapter, it runs right through the ppoint where it had frozen, effortlessly.

Weird.

I have not done firmware upgrades, so much of that seems to be related to streaming or other uses.

Is it likely to help if I do firmware upgrades, or, just bring on new issues?
First do the firmware updates. I did all of them. Then, when it doesn't help, buy an S6500. It will be about 1/2 what you paid for the 570. I kept my 570 until it started making noise. The S6500 is much smaller too. I have no clue if there will be an issue with the DVI cable, but there is a thread. This is a good time to buy new stuff. DVD conversion is very good. I use mine connected to a Sony 40W600B and love the quality. I also have an S6200, but I would skip that.

Sony S1500/ S3500 / S4500 / S5500 / S6500 Blu-ray players
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4044 of 4045 Old 12-19-2015, 09:06 AM
Member
 
AlexBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Arlington Heights, Illinois, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thank you both for prompt reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by red71rum View Post
I thought some of the firmware updates dealt with Blu Ray playback at some point. I always updated the firmware, and have the Star Wars movies on Blu Ray, never had a problem. Is your player near another component that creates heat? I know one time I mistakenly had my 570 player on a Xbox 360 and the player froze, it had gotten extremely hot from the 360 pushing out hot air.
The player is on its own wooden shelf, with 3 inches air above to next shelf. Nothing on either shelf above and below. I do not think heat is an issue, unless for some odd reason, these are not designed to sit on a shelf on their own stock pads without overheating. (unlikely)

Great to know that with upgrades your copies of SW in Blu Ray play well. That bodes well, and I will do the firmware upgrades.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
First do the firmware updates. I did all of them. Then, when it doesn't help, buy an S6500. It will be about 1/2 what you paid for the 570.
Is it fair to assume you meant "IF it doesn't help, buy an S6500"? I mean, doing the firmware MIGHT fix it? Otherwise, not much point in trying the firmware upgrade, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I kept my 570 until it started making noise. The S6500 is much smaller too. I have no clue if there will be an issue with the DVI cable, but there is a thread. This is a good time to buy new stuff. DVD conversion is very good. I use mine connected to a Sony 40W600B and love the quality. I also have an S6200, but I would skip that.
I've been very pleased with this unit, though, due to burnt out bulbs in the PJ, my old Lexicon 8B dying, and other issues, it has seen limited use since purchase.

I've never done firmware upgrades. If you could humor me, is it a reasonable thing to do over the wifi, or, is it worth bringing home a large roll of cable, and making a temporary LAN cable from player to modem to do the upgrade? It would be a pretty long cable. I have the equipment and supplies to crimp connectors to make a CAT5 cable if its risky to do over the wifi.
AlexBen is offline  
post #4045 of 4045 Old 12-19-2015, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexBen View Post
Thank you both for prompt reply.



The player is on its own wooden shelf, with 3 inches air above to next shelf. Nothing on either shelf above and below. I do not think heat is an issue, unless for some odd reason, these are not designed to sit on a shelf on their own stock pads without overheating. (unlikely)

Great to know that with upgrades your copies of SW in Blu Ray play well. That bodes well, and I will do the firmware upgrades.



Is it fair to assume you meant "IF it doesn't help, buy an S6500"? I mean, doing the firmware MIGHT fix it? Otherwise, not much point in trying the firmware upgrade, right?



I've been very pleased with this unit, though, due to burnt out bulbs in the PJ, my old Lexicon 8B dying, and other issues, it has seen limited use since purchase.

I've never done firmware upgrades. If you could humor me, is it a reasonable thing to do over the wifi, or, is it worth bringing home a large roll of cable, and making a temporary LAN cable from player to modem to do the upgrade? It would be a pretty long cable. I have the equipment and supplies to crimp connectors to make a CAT5 cable if its risky to do over the wifi.
I'm sorry, my humor was misplaced. And I don't know it won't fix it since there have been a lot of changes. I use WiFi for everything. Note that the S570 can use the 5GHz band, but current models are 2.4GHz only even though Sony now calls that Super WiFi. My S6500 feeds a Netgear EX7000 extender. I don't stream with it except to test things. They don't have updates very often anymore. I have no problems with updates over WiFi.
JoeKustra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , service menu , Sony Bdp N460 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S370 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S570 3d Blu Ray Disc Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off