Official Sony BDP-S570 Owners Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 3951 Old 08-16-2010, 05:28 PM
 
aeproberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeroux View Post

Per email I received from Sony Support, the player currently only supports MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 for streaming video from a server via DNLA functionality. Of course, they told me to keep an eye on the website for news of further firmware updates that may add additional file support.

I have not yet tried encoding to MPEG-2 and streaming, but I may just decide to limit my frustration with the player by using it just for DVD, BD and internet streaming for now, and get a dedicated network media player for DLNA streaming. If the DLNA support expands to more formats in the future, great, but I won't be holding my breath waiting for the next firmware.

That is what I was afraid of....the stupid thing is that .avi files are supported in Canada (according to the manual) so it is just a matter of BS politics.

Anyone know if we can somehow unlock that functionality here in the states?
aeproberts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 3951 Old 08-16-2010, 05:32 PM
 
aeproberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who care....here is the official list of formats that will work over DLNA currently. Supposedly this page will be updated as file formats are added.

http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/d...nalId=C1017936
aeproberts is offline  
post #993 of 3951 Old 08-16-2010, 07:26 PM
Member
 
guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, no. It's NTFS, but if FAT32 would work, I'd go to the trouble to convert it.

Has anyone tried this??
guthrie is offline  
post #994 of 3951 Old 08-16-2010, 07:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by guthrie View Post

Well, no. It's NTFS, but if FAT32 would work, I'd go to the trouble to convert it.

Has anyone tried this??

Keep in mind that FAT32 has a 4G max file size.
htwaits is offline  
post #995 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Athlon646464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeproberts View Post

For those who care....here is the official list of formats that will work over DLNA currently. Supposedly this page will be updated as file formats are added.

http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/d...nalId=C1017936

The products listed on that page are TVs, not Blue-Ray players.

Dave

Uxbridge, MA.

Athlon646464 is offline  
post #996 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 03:48 PM
Member
 
PeterDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guthrie View Post

Well, no. It's NTFS, but if FAT32 would work, I'd go to the trouble to convert it.

Has anyone tried this??

I've used an old HD that I reformatted to FAT32 with the old 32g limit (an 80g split into 3), and a 500g FAT32 that I had formatted in a mac.
works fine for the file types- I've done mkv files directly from the HD
PeterDragon is offline  
post #997 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 05:09 PM
Member
 
guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a rather long forum for a single "topic", and in fact is many (many..) threads, all on different topics, and many with a single conclusion only in the last few messages. Since the forum tool used does not provide any threading, the only way to find about any single issue is to read through possible hundreds of posts.
It would be nice if this were condensed into a more concise and organized format, for example a Wiki page, and each thread and its conclusion could be condensed into a much simpler topic and conclusion.
My last STB system (Set Top Box server, an NMT/PCH A110) did this with (a set of) Wiki pages in a very nice way. See this example at:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wi....php/Main_Page
guthrie is offline  
post #998 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 05:41 PM
Member
 
guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was very excited about getting this player, especially with all of its DLNA and file access capabilities and formats supported. But although all the user reviews I read at purchase and tech sites were good, I now see that the issues in this forum indicate a lot more underlying complexity and issues.

Initially my problems with it are:
  1. The support for USB disk really means only USB memory stick.
  1. The file formats supported are much more limited for DLNA than for local disk or USB.
  1. Basic DVD/BD playback functions - my older Sony DVD player would remember up to 5 disks, and would restart a partial playback from any of them.
    SO far this unit doesn't remember even one even though the manual says it should.
  1. reliability; I selected options during a disk playback, to see if it had bookmarks to remedy the lack of restart, it didn't, and in fact froze in the options menu, and would not go back to playing. [My last Panasonic BD player did, and did a nice job of saving and showing them.]
  1. DLNA: I have two local Windows-7 servers, and they can both see each other, and the unit nicely recognized them both and would play files (of limited video formats!). Then today, it showed the same two servers grayed out - and could not access them (although it had their MAC addresses.)
    I tried resetting (Search for servers), no result. And then removed all servers and tried to search anew - no results.
    It is doing fine on the network, they are all on a common segment, and everyone can see the internet fine, and the two W7's see the BDP player.
    The Player can show YouTube, and all other network services, just now refuses to see the same two servers it previously liked.
    -- any hints??
SO, as someone else noted earlier - my hopes for a great STB are waning, and it may revert to just a nice BD player, or get replaced by an LG or other unit. I do like its fast start-up and load times!
I realities I am a new user, so perhaps I am missing some easy solutions to these issues - I hope!

[Sorry I got the list numbering wrong - new to this tool!]
guthrie is offline  
post #999 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
perfectstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a USB thumb drive attached to the front of my 570. I have about 40 CD's loaded on it. Any way to set up the 570 to continuous play from that drive rather than me having to turn on the Sony LCD to select another CD to play?
perfectstorm is offline  
post #1000 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vipper IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone remember the days where we simply wanted a BD player that didn't take 5 years to boot up? Who even thought extra features like Netflix and DLNA support were in the deck of cards? It was so much easier "back then."
Vipper IV is offline  
post #1001 of 3951 Old 08-17-2010, 07:53 PM
Member
 
guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, (yeah!?), now after a few hours, it reinstated one server on its own, and after a "re-search servers" found the other one, all seems to work again, Yeah.
(Except for the unreliability..!)
guthrie is offline  
post #1002 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Diehardfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hanover Park, Illinois
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im looking into upgrading my BluRay player with the thought in mind that getting a player thats 3D Ready will save money down the line a year or so when I get a new HDTV that does 3D. Is there some sort of compatibilty chart for these players? If I pick up the 570 and I get an LG, Panasonic or Samsung 3D TV, will the 3D work or do I have to buy a Sony TV? Thanks
Diehardfan is offline  
post #1003 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Sony has a new firmware update available. It appears to add quite a few features. A word of caution for those that like to play Blu-ray backups, in case Sony has decided to include Cinavia detection with this update.
slimm is offline  
post #1004 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
theblackkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diehardfan View Post

Im looking into upgrading my BluRay player with the thought in mind that getting a player thats 3D Ready will save money down the line a year or so when I get a new HDTV that does 3D. Is there some sort of compatibilty chart for these players? If I pick up the 570 and I get an LG, Panasonic or Samsung 3D TV, will the 3D work or do I have to buy a Sony TV? Thanks

Any 3D Blu Ray player will work.
theblackkeys is offline  
post #1005 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post

Looks like Sony has a new firmware update available. It appears to add quite a few features. A word of caution for those that like to play Blu-ray backups, in case Sony has decided to include Cinavia detection with this update.



How did you get to this page ? I tried the Sony Support, firmware download entering BDP-S570 and there is no update available. It's not available online, which is strange since they are normally online before Sony posts in their website. Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1006 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

How did you get to this page ? I tried the Sony Support, firmware download entering BDP-S570 and there is no update available. It's not available online, which is strange since they are normally online before Sony posts in their website. Thanks.

I went here first.
slimm is offline  
post #1007 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post

I went here first.

That's where I went. Just did it again and got "There are no files currently posted for the selected operating system" . I tried Windows Vista and Windows 7.

I had problems playing Universal BD titles and hope this firmware fix it. I will wait for it to become available online, though.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1008 of 3951 Old 08-18-2010, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's listed under "Hot Topics". It could take Sony several days to update it under the drivers and software section. This usually happens when they post a firmware update.
slimm is offline  
post #1009 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post

It's listed under "Hot Topics". It could take Sony several days to update it under the drivers and software section. This usually happens when they post a firmware update.

I just tried the posted link and it failed to find the file when I accepted the s/w agreement. My network update says I'm current running R04.R.624 so maybe the server is real busy?

Just noticed that when you enter the support site from the 'select OS' method, the update displays as quite small (1 byte). Guess I'll wait for the on-line update to work too.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1010 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, looks like it's all screwed up. Typical Sony.
slimm is offline  
post #1011 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope the new firmware adds support for a few more file types.
swak is offline  
post #1012 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had an online chat with support and as usual, no one knows what going on. According to him, It's due to "network dissruptions" and those wanting to download should wait a "few hours", which means keep trying until it works.
slimm is offline  
post #1013 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post

Just had an online chat with support and as usual, no one knows what going on. According to him, It's due to "network dissruptions" and those wanting to download should wait a "few hours", which means keep trying until it works.

And if that doesn't work, wait longer. You gotta love it.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1014 of 3951 Old 08-19-2010, 08:40 PM
Member
 
guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a bunch of iso files, DVD disk images that I play on my computer, and was streaming and playing with my former STB.

What do I need to do to play these on the Sony?
Clearly it plays iso images from disks, why not from files?!

I suppose one simple answer would be to try to convert them all to one of their listed formats - but that is a lot of work, and seems silly! A DVD player should play a DVD image. Not that Sony asked me about it...
guthrie is offline  
post #1015 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 03:17 AM
Newbie
 
dlittlewood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chaps, I have searched through this thread but cant see an answer to my problem. Apologies if I have missed it.

The problem I am having is that I can only stream MKV files from a machine running Windows Media Player 11 and when it does stream the quality is terrible, very jerky.

I am using wired Ethernet.

I was hoping that I would be able to stream from my Popcorn Hour or Media Smart server but as mentioned on Media Player 11 will do it.

Does anybody have any experience or suggestions on how to best stream HD MKV files to this player?

Thanks a lot.
dlittlewood is offline  
post #1016 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 03:27 AM
Member
 
Fingolfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I'm willing to upgrade my Sony BDP-350 with the 570 but I can't find it anywhere here in Italy. They only have the 470 model so I'm wondering if it's the same machine lacking only wifi connection and the 1GB BD Live storage. I just need to know that video and audio wise is the same quality as the 570.

Thank you!
Fingolfin is offline  
post #1017 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Athlon646464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingolfin View Post

Hello,
I'm willing to upgrade my Sony BDP-350 with the 570 but I can't find it anywhere here in Italy. They only have the 470 model so I'm wondering if it's the same machine lacking only wifi connection and the 1GB BD Live storage. I just need to know that video and audio wise is the same quality as the 570.

Thank you!

Video & audio are exactly the same.

Dave

Uxbridge, MA.

Athlon646464 is offline  
post #1018 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 03:56 AM
Member
 
Fingolfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great to know, thanks!
I'll go with the 470 then!

Bye!
Fingolfin is offline  
post #1019 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
jenniferc79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, I saw the firmware online yesterday, and now it is gone! I hope it is still being released soon. I just bought my BDP-S570 and it is nice, but I hope they eventually give support for watching many other movie formats, and more options on Netflix.
jenniferc79 is offline  
post #1020 of 3951 Old 08-20-2010, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenniferc79 View Post

Hmm, I saw the firmware online yesterday, and now it is gone! I hope it is still being released soon. I just bought my BDP-S570 and it is nice, but I hope they eventually give support for watching many other movie formats, and more options on Netflix.

Being optimistic, I hope they pulled it because a bug was found and they are fixing it. There is still that 1 byte update hanging around. Strange that the web site would have an update first. Usually it's a direct download before being posted. Anyhow: patience.
JoeKustra is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S570 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S370 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp N460 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off