Official Sony BDP-S570 Owners Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 3951 Old 08-28-2010, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

?? First time I hear this. Can you give us an example ?

It would be hard for me to give a personal example as i've never come across it. But from what I understand, such a disc will not play unless the player is connected to the display device via hdmi. or the main feature will not play. I think I heard it mentioned on HD Nation actually but i forget which episode. if you'd like to look through them www.revision3.com/hdnation
MacinMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 3951 Old 08-28-2010, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Satterlee View Post

Hmm, I was also looking at the Panasonic DMP-BD85K and it seemed from the user manual and from some AVS posts that it supports 480p but not 480i on component. Now I can't locate the posts that I had seen, and I wouldn't trust the user manual unless it had a screen capture of the menu (and it doesn't). Do you have that player? Does it definitely have a 480i option for component? If they all have this option then that's great. Based on my experience with the Oppo player I'm still a bit wary of the quality of analog outputs, especially on a 106" screen. What kind of testing did you do?

Thanks for your reply. I haven't been on this forum for years, but I knew it was the place to come for this kind of help.


I have both the BD 85k and an older BD 601k and both default to 480i for component. No worries there.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1083 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

I have both the BD 85k and an older BD 601k and both default to 480i for component. No worries there.

How do you like the S570 compared to your BD85k for picture and sound quality (for BDs).
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #1084 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
impalaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had trouble trying to play "Diary of a Whimpy Kid"?
I rented 2 different copies from a local video store and in both cases the BDP-S570 recognized the movie and would play the 7-second graphic that says something like "This disc was manufactured to the highest quality...". But then the disc stops and just sits there. I can't get it to play at all. I have done a firmware update and my player plays other Blurays without any problem.
Ideas?
impalaboy is offline  
post #1085 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
sawyer1370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning on getting the 570 this week. I need to get a new N router. Does anyone have recommendations for a good one that isn't too pricey?
sawyer1370 is offline  
post #1086 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vipper IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawyer1370 View Post

I'm planning on getting the 570 this week. I need to get a new N router. Does anyone have recommendations for a good one that isn't too pricey?

Netgear WNR2000.
Vipper IV is offline  
post #1087 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Chimera99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with my new s570. When playing a disk, as soon as I leave the selection/menu screens, the movie is constantly interupted with a sort of pink/purple screen. This occurs with both standard and BD. Also, the firmware is updated. The connection is through a Pioneer Elite VSX-82 via HDMI.

This doesn't occur with my PS3 or my older standard DVD player, using the same HDMI cable/connection.

The s570 works fine streaming Netflix through my reciever, so it is specific to the BD/DVD player part of the s570.

I plugged the s570 directly into my TV (again same HDMI cable) and it worked, so it seems to be specific to teh interface between the VSX-82 and the s570.

I swapped it for another unit and got the same problem, so the issue was not just a specific machine.

Any ideas? I'm stumped.
Chimera99 is offline  
post #1088 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera99 View Post

I am having a problem with my new s570. When playing a disk, as soon as I leave the selection/menu screens, the movie is constantly interupted with a sort of pink/purple screen. This occurs with both standard and BD. Also, the firmware is updated. The connection is through a Pioneer Elite VSX-82 via HDMI.

This doesn't occur with my PS3 or my older standard DVD player, using the same HDMI cable/connection.

The s570 works fine streaming Netflix through my reciever, so it is specific to the BD/DVD player part of the s570.

I plugged the s570 directly into my TV (again same HDMI cable) and it worked, so it seems to be specific to teh interface between the VSX-82 and the s570.

I swapped it for another unit and got the same problem, so the issue was not just a specific machine.

Any ideas? I'm stumped.

Try turning off the 24P playback. It's possible your TV doesn't support it.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1089 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Try turning off the 24P playback. It's possible your TV doesn't support it.

It sounds like an AVR incompatibility to me, They said they connected the player directly to the TV and it worked. It's possible there is a setting on the AVR the S570 isn't compatible with, or incorrectly set for this particular unit.

If the TV doesn't support 24P, the player shouldn't switch even in auto mode, the player should remain in 60P for non 24p compatible TVs, at least with my experience.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1090 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

It sounds like an AVR incompatibility to me, They said they connected the player directly to the TV and it worked. It's possible there is a setting on the AVR the S570 isn't compatible with, or incorrectly set for this particular unit.

If the TV doesn't support 24P, the player shouldn't switch even in auto mode, the player should remain in 60P for non 24p compatible TVs, at least with my experience.

Yes, but I don't know if the Pio 82 pass through 24P or not. I have seen few problems with pink screen and 24P. It's also possible the player is not in AUTO and is forcing 24P.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1091 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 04:45 PM
Newbie
 
Chimera99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Samsung LN-T4671F which is supposed to accept 24p. I did find a thread that described my problem when passing video through the VSX-82, but again, as far as I could find, my TV accepts 24p.

Alright, I tried a homemade DVD and it worked, so this is a problem with passing the signal through my VSX-82.

Two questions:

1.) How do I turn off 24p? I have looked through the manual and the menu and haven't found it.

2.) If it is time to upgrade my VSX-82, can you suggest an ~equivelent reciever that will not have this problem?

Thanks again for the help.
Chimera99 is offline  
post #1092 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
Chimera99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I finally found the setting for 24p. I changed it from auto to off and the problem did go away. Good call!

Now the questions are can or can't the T-4761 accept 24p and will I be able to use the 24p "on" if I upgrade my reciever?

Thanks again!
Chimera99 is offline  
post #1093 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera99 View Post

Okay, I finally found the setting for 24p. I changed it from auto to off and the problem did go away. Good call!

Now the questions are can or can't the T-4761 accept 24p and will I be able to use the 24p "on" if I upgrade my reciever?

Thanks again!

Yes, but I wouldn't do that. Why ? Most people can't see the difference , specially on a 46" screen. The pioneer 82 sounds good, although there are reports of HDMI handshaking glitches. Take a look at this post :



http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post12549243

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1094 of 3951 Old 08-29-2010, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Gianny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La La Land
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Everyone.... Just got this player a couple of weeks ago and I am having a few issues.

Last night I tried to play the movie Sherlock Holme's DVD and nothing. The timer would start on the player, the previews also but I couldn't fast forward to the Movie's main menu. Also If I just let it go ON with the previews the image would dissapear and say "Searching for Signal, No Signal Detected" I was hearing audio that the movie was playing...skipping the menu.

Connected to Samsung LN52A750 - HDMI for video
Going to NAD 763 Receiver - Toslink

I tried going to the settings but nothing would appear. The player was totally unresponsive except for a few buttons. With my parents sitting already waiting for me, I was upset!!! I also had to leave for work so I stopped thinkering and play Avatar BD for them and it shows the menus and the A/V work wonderfully.


What is going on? Pls assist me. Also how do you reset the player? Now I get the Message, "MODE NOT SUPPORTED" All I am trying to do is access the menu for settings. Screen is completely black.
Gianny is offline  
post #1095 of 3951 Old 08-30-2010, 05:12 AM
Member
 
gmacted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by impalaboy View Post

Has anyone had trouble trying to play "Diary of a Whimpy Kid"?
I rented 2 different copies from a local video store and in both cases the BDP-S570 recognized the movie and would play the 7-second graphic that says something like "This disc was manufactured to the highest quality...". But then the disc stops and just sits there. I can't get it to play at all. I have done a firmware update and my player plays other Blurays without any problem.
Ideas?

I have watched "Diary of a Whimpy Kid". I had the same problem as you did. To get it to play, I changed the following settings:

BD Internet Connection --> Do Not Allow

Gracenote settings --> Manual

I can't remember exactly, but I think you only need to change the "BD Internet Connection" setting to get it to play. If just changing that setting doesn't work, change the "Gracenote" setting too.
gmacted is online now  
post #1096 of 3951 Old 08-30-2010, 03:59 PM
Newbie
 
Chimera99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again for the advice. You all saved me a lot of time and potentially money. I'll stick with my present setup and have a lot of fun with my new streaming capability.
Chimera99 is offline  
post #1097 of 3951 Old 08-30-2010, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
impalaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks gmacted!
impalaboy is offline  
post #1098 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
is there a separate thread for costco version?
zoro is online now  
post #1099 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
sawyer1370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of getting the Linksys E3000 router for my home network, so my S570 blu-ray will connect to it, and the bandwidth and range won't be a problem. I don't have a new receiver that has networking (a 5 year old Pioneer Elite receiver). If I get that router and hook up my external hard drive, will the blu-ray recognize it and play my videos from there? Will the blu-ray also play my playlists from there, or is that what I need a new receiver for?
sawyer1370 is offline  
post #1100 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

is there a separate thread for costco version?

Why ? It's the same player , only difference is the included HDMI cable.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1101 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Why ? It's the same player , only difference is the included HDMI cable.

Thanks! As I was going to set my harmony remote so had to pick name

Btw I was watching a bluray as netflix stream with this player , pq looked crystal clear and said multi channel 7.1 sound on my receiverI thought it was only 2 channels??
zoro is online now  
post #1102 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Thanks! As I was going to set my harmony remote so had to pick name

Btw I was watching a bluray as netflix stream with this player , pq looked crystal clear and said multi channel 7.1 sound on my receiverI thought it was only 2 channels??

As far as I know, all Netflix streamings are 2 ch. Can you tell us which title ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1103 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 09:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

As far as I know, all Netflix streamings are 2 ch. Can you tell us which title ?

It is a HINDI BOLLYWOOD BLURAY..RAJNEETI!

I was shocked and happy! HDMI connection, Denon AVR 3808CI receiver, just upgraded FW on Costco version player.

My receiver show 7.1 both right and left and calls is multi channel 7.1

Please check and report!
zoro is online now  
post #1104 of 3951 Old 08-31-2010, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

It is a HINDI BOLLYWOOD BLURAY..RAJNEETI!

I was shocked and happy! HDMI connection, Denon AVR 3808CI receiver, just upgraded FW on Costco version player.

My receiver show 7.1 both right and left and calls is multi channel 7.1

Please check and report!

Sorry, it's just stereo. You have DTS NEO 6 turned to "cinema" or "music" , that's why you see 7.1 on your receiver. Turn it to "off" to get the "real deal" . DTS NEO 6 is pre-processing the original stereo signal and sending a matrix 7.1.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #1105 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Backup69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BDP-S570 and BDPS470 upgrade from M03R491 to M04R680 now available (36,7MB) in Support site
Online upgrade not started in my player and i made CD and successfully upgraded from M04.R.624 > M04.R.680
I dont see any improvement in DLNA like mkv, mp4 files and DVD menu playback.
Even i cant find where i can start music with slaidshow:
"Enhanced photo slideshow: New visual effects and music to add to your photos when displayed on a TV."
Backup69 is offline  
post #1106 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 06:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backup69 View Post

BDP-S570 and BDPS470 upgrade from M03R491 to M04R680 now available (36,7MB) in Support site
Online upgrade not started in my player and i made CD and successfully upgraded from M04.R.624 > M04.R.680
I dont see any improvement in DLNA like mkv, mp4 files and DVD menu playback.
Even i cant find where i can start music with slaidshow:
"Enhanced photo slideshow: New visual effects and music to add to your photos when displayed on a TV."

Is this for Europe or USA?
zoro is online now  
post #1107 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know how to unlock this player to play DVDs or Bluray Discs from all regions?

I recently received as a gift a DVD that was originally purchased in London, but it wont play.

thanks.
rman66 is offline  
post #1108 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Sorry, it's just stereo. You have DTS NEO 6 turned to "cinema" or "music" , that's why you see 7.1 on your receiver. Turn it to "off" to get the "real deal" . DTS NEO 6 is pre-processing the original stereo signal and sending a matrix 7.1.

I see! That is possibly a good way to watch these stereo affairs! Btw is it 386MB/SEC signal only or 128?
zoro is online now  
post #1109 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Is this for Europe or USA?

The link specifies UK only.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1110 of 3951 Old 09-01-2010, 03:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post


The link specifies UK only.

So I assume we US ones should stay away?
zoro is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S570 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S370 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp N460 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off