Official Sony BDP-S570 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Mods, feel free to merge this thread with the Sony 370/470. I already asked twice before starting a new one.

OK , got my S570 and tested everything I could. This is not a professional review since I'm not a pro.

-UNPACKING AND INSTALLING:

The box is very small, half the size of the 460 box. The player is also much smaller than the 460. The installation was a breeze because I basically removed my 460 and replaced it with the 570. I don't need the wireless, just hooket it to my Ethernet switch and set a fixed IP address like I do on any device I have.
The eject button on the player is almost impossible to find. Bring the remote.

The activation of both Netflix and Amazon can be a real pain and I had to register both again.

I changed the following settings from the default:
.Audio Mix to OFF
.Gracenote to AUTO
.Network settings to manual IP address.
.SACD to DSD
.IP Noise Reduction to zero

As soon as I turned the player on, a firmware update came up and its now version 315.

-BLURAY/DVD PICTURE QUALITY

Nothing new here. Bluray is great as it is with any other player and DVD is OK, nothing to brag about but decent. Professional reviews will give more info about cadence and other things, I spend my time watching movies not calibration disks.
Only thing new is the Gracenote that gives some info on the title but will interrupt playback and return the movie to start position.

-AMAZON/NETFLIX

If you know the 460, the interface is the same (very basic) but with an interesting difference on the audio side. With the 460 I can get DD 5.1 from Amazon and only get audio from Netflix if I set HDMI AUDIO to PCM. With the 570, all the streaming comes in PCM even if HDMI AUDIO is set to AUTO. I think it's a bug with the 460 that happens only with few receivers (no audio unless PCM is set) that is now fixed with the 570. I know, a little confusing.
There is an IP video noise reduction that defaults to 2. I set it to zero because I hate any kind of NR. Picture gets softer in most cases.
Picture quality with Amazon is good and so-so with Netflix but nothing that can be blamed on the player. BTW, my Internet connection is good, 18 Mbps hard-wired.
Gracenote doesn't work with Netflix or Amazon, but you don't need it.

-OTHER WEB SERVICES

There are 1 or 2 services not present on the 460 and few "coming soon". The most important is the Qriosity, from Sony, that promises to rival Netflix/Amazon. There is a Qriosity icon as a placeholder on the menu axis. More info here: http://www.engadget.com/2010/01/11/s...february-2010/

-DLNA

Doesn't exist. Firmware upgrade ? Shame on you Sony.

UPDATE: DLNA was implemented June 2010, well, sort of. The file support is very basic and the player can only play very few types of video. I could only play .mpg standard definition, that's all. Most servers, like Tversity, PS3 Media Server and others don't work or work with limit functions with the S570. There are reports that Playon is now working fine with the player.

-USB DISK AND FILES SUPPORTED.

I used a pendrive to test quite a few file formats. Here is the result:

.M2TS Both movies recorded from my Canon Camcorder and the Hauppauge HD-PVR played perfectly. Great !
.MPG No problems, as expected.
.WMV Played without a glitch.
.MKV The video recorded with Makemkv didn't play at all (msg about corrupted file). The video recorded with Handbrake played but with a lot of pixelation.
.M4V Same as above. Also created by Handbrake.
.ISO Not recognized at all. Didn't show up on the playlist.
.MOV Same as above.
.AVI Same as above.

I think the only good news so far is the flawless playback of the 2 M2TS files.

UPDTATE: MKV is now playing fine from the pendrive. The player supports FAT32 only, very limited if you plan to use it for large files. NTFS HDD is NOT supported.


-SACD

This is the Grand Finale: Absolutely fantastic . My Pioneer 94 can take DSD direct (no PCM conversion) and the sound is great. I set the receiver to "pure direct" and the sound was warm, tube like, beautiful. Obviously the receiver plays the big role here but the 570 did everything you could expect.

MY SETUP:

.Panasonic P65V10
.Pioneer 64 receiver
.Sony BDP S570 player
.U-Verse 18 Mbps Internet Service
.Everything through HDMI links.

I hope I gave you some highlights on the 570. Overall it's a great deal and a bargain considering what it can do.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Only thing new is the Gracenote that gives some info on the title but will interrupt playback and return the movie to start position.

slimoli,

Can this feature be turned off?


Respectfully,
Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #3 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

slimoli,

Can this feature be turned off?


Respectfully,
Willie

Yes, you can select auto or manual but even in auto you need to request the information using "options". On auto mode, the movie cover will appear on the menu, instead of "BD/ROM" . IT doesn't work well, Bluray movies normally don't keep the "stop point" and go back to start.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #4 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 07:47 PM
Member
 
cohenfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the review....wtf, no dlna support when it's in every writeup i've seen on the player--including the description right on the sonystyle site....i think i may have to wait for a bit until everyone has gotten all the functionality they are advertising onto their machines....
cohenfive is offline  
post #5 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sergiohm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have one as well, one thing you did not mention it is very fast for a BD player.

I thought the SACD ok but it is too flimsy to qualify as a good transport, the cd loader is quite noisy too (when it first reads the SACD).

It has the same bug as the OPPO, it clicks when changing tracks, very noticeable in classical music.

It reads the CD-Text info (usually present on SACD) but only displays in the "Home"! It should show artist, track name on the screen while it is playing (like the OPPO) but it shows blank for this info. I think another bug.

The image is fantastic! I was very impressed although it lacks the SBM (Super Bit Mapping) and HD Reality Enhancer from the more expensive units.

I agree on the unit buttons, very hard to find, as a matter of fact I could not turn it on!!! Only using the remote.

No DLNA, as a matter of fact I saw no mention of it in the user manual!
sergiohm is offline  
post #6 of 3951 Old 02-25-2010, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiohm View Post

No DLNA, as a matter of fact I saw no mention of it in the user manual!

It's not mentioned in the manual but it is twice in the "features" and "specifications" on the Sonystyle website. I also tried to plug a HDD on the USB but got an error msg. DLNA and HDD support should come with an upgrade. I forgot to mention another difference berween the 570 and the 460: The display now shows the progress and duration in minutes/seconds for BD,DVD and streaming. I always found annoying on the 460 the lack of the total runtime when pressing display.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #7 of 3951 Old 02-26-2010, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Slimoli,

As the first review I have read of the 570, it has been very helpful. The DVD upconversion may be the biggest reason for me to keep my LG 390. It sounds like this one is mediocre plus I have a Sony Megachanger CX series which is probably very similar in upconversion. I use the LG 390 to stream content and slip in rentals or new BDs before officially storing them. Lip sync issues with TrueHD has forced me to look for another single disc player but I can solve the lip sync by decoding in the player and not streaming to my receiver. Thanks!
Rach is offline  
post #8 of 3951 Old 02-26-2010, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I saw a new Sony LCD review at Cnet and it clearly shows DLNA is active at the crossbar. Perhaps the Sx70s will get it soon.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #9 of 3951 Old 02-27-2010, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
alpinadvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may sound like a stupid question... but I just received a Sony BDP-N460 2 days ago...

Should I just return this and buy an S570 instead?
alpinadvl is offline  
post #10 of 3951 Old 02-27-2010, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpinadvl View Post

This may sound like a stupid question... but I just received a Sony BDP-N460 2 days ago...

Should I just return this and buy an S570 instead?

For almost the same price you paid on the 460, you can get the 470 if you don't need wireless. The 470/570 are much smaller,play SACD and will be upgraded to playback 3D movies in July. I personally don't care about 3D but have few SACD disks that sound great on my 570.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #11 of 3951 Old 02-27-2010, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
alpinadvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks,

packaging it this week to send back.

any good deals on the net / recommendations of where to buy?

tia
alpinadvl is offline  
post #12 of 3951 Old 02-27-2010, 09:36 PM
 
hdblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sound like a great unit and also nice to see SACD in a Sony Blu-ray player for once.
hdblu is offline  
post #13 of 3951 Old 02-27-2010, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

For almost the same price you paid on the 460, you can get the 470 if you don't need wireless. The 470/570 are much smaller,play SACD and will be upgraded to playback 3D movies in July. I personally don't care about 3D but have few SACD disks that sound great on my 570.

slimoli:

do you have any other SACD players for comparison. I am curous to know how the transport compares to say some earlier ES models or other brands that output SACD via HDMI-> DSD compatible processors/receivers.

Thanks

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #14 of 3951 Old 02-28-2010, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldithomaso View Post

slimoli:

do you have any other SACD players for comparison. I am curous to know how the transport compares to say some earlier ES models or other brands that output SACD via HDMI-> DSD compatible processors/receivers.

Thanks

Yes, I have an old ES model but I was using it with the 5.1 analog out to my receiver (it has no HDMI). The S570 is my first experience with a digital to digital SACD interface and I would say the S570 linked to my Pioneer VSX-94 receiver sounds much better. There is also a huge difference when I set the Pioneer to "pure direct" and there is no PCM conversion at all: It sounds clean,loud,perfect to my ears. When I do this, "SACD DIRECT" shows up on the receiver display and the PCM light is off.
I found the "new' SACD experience so good that I am ordering few SACD disks today, after 5 years without buying one.
I have Monitor Audio speakers on a 7.1 configuration. Sub is Sunfire.
The S570 has an option to convert DSD to PCM , in case the receiver doesn't accept DSD direct.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #15 of 3951 Old 02-28-2010, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
beantown111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the BDP s570. So far it is great.

However, I cannot find Pandora in the content library. I also was wondering if anyone knew if Sony was going to including Acuweather in future content?
beantown111 is offline  
post #16 of 3951 Old 02-28-2010, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Good and bad news on DLNA (or the lack of):

It will come, but only in July. Sony updated the footnote on their site that now reads:

"Requires home network with an 802.11 access point and DLNA enabled device (such as a PC). Firmware update required for DLNA functionality (available July 2010) "

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #17 of 3951 Old 02-28-2010, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beantown111 View Post

Just bought the BDP s570. So far it is great.

However, I cannot find Pandora in the content library. I also was wondering if anyone knew if Sony was going to including Acuweather in future content?

Pretty sure Sony has said Pandora is coming in a firmware update and it's not available out of the box.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #18 of 3951 Old 02-28-2010, 09:43 PM
Newbie
 
alpinadvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the S570 today from BB.

To follow along with slimoli's "review"....

Compared to the N460 the new unit is 2/3 the height....and a bit shorter on the rear.

Wifi connection works flawlessly.

Menus are a bit different.... also...coloring/style is all white (as opposed to the yellowish/colorful N460. (My Tv is a XBR8...and the N460 is the same menu style as that.... but it is not a good thing, bc it takes a second to figure out whether i am in the TV menu screen...or the BDP menu screen)

Loads BluRays fast. (same/similar as the N460)

If you have an N460...there really is no reason to get this unit. I had just gotten an N460 3 days ago....before I realized this was available...so I figured I may as well "upgrade"

ps: One more thing.... the remote has an "Eject" button (which replaces the location of the "Theater" button on the N460)... more importantly... this same remote works with the N460 !
alpinadvl is offline  
post #19 of 3951 Old 03-01-2010, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Yes, I have an old ES model but I was using it with the 5.1 analog out to my receiver (it has no HDMI). The S570 is my first experience with a digital to digital SACD interface and I would say the S570 linked to my Pioneer VSX-94 receiver sounds much better. There is also a huge difference when I set the Pioneer to "pure direct" and there is no PCM conversion at all: It sounds clean,loud,perfect to my ears. When I do this, "SACD DIRECT" shows up on the receiver display and the PCM light is off.
I found the "new' SACD experience so good that I am ordering few SACD disks today, after 5 years without buying one.
I have Monitor Audio speakers on a 7.1 configuration. Sub is Sunfire.
The S570 has an option to convert DSD to PCM , in case the receiver doesn't accept DSD direct.

Slimoli:

Can you compare a two channel hybrid SACD (CD layer) via your ES model (TOSLINK) vs your new x70? I am looking for transport differences too. What is your older ES player's model number?

The analog to digital comparison you have with your change of cables is now using the reciver's DACS so it's not really a fair comparison.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #20 of 3951 Old 03-01-2010, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldithomaso View Post

Slimoli:

Can you compare a two channel hybrid SACD (CD layer) via your ES model (TOSLINK) vs your new x70? I am looking for transport differences too. What is your older ES player's model number?

The analog to digital comparison you have with your change of cables is now using the reciver's DACS so it's not really a fair comparison.

Sorry, the ES is gone.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #21 of 3951 Old 03-01-2010, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
gogos7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

-USB DISK AND FILES SUPPORTED.

I used a pendrive to test quite a few file formats. Here is the result:

.M2TS Both movies recorded from my Canon Camcorder and the Hauppauge HD-PVR played perfectly. Great !
.MPG No problems, as expected.
.WMV Played without a glitch.
.MKV The video recorded with Makemkv didn't play at all (msg about corrupted file). The video recorded with Handbrake played but with a lot of pixelation.

Hey there!

USB disk must be FAT32 formatted?? Or NTFS can play as well?
gogos7 is offline  
post #22 of 3951 Old 03-01-2010, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogos7 View Post

Hey there!

USB disk must be FAT32 formatted?? Or NTFS can play as well?

FAT32 only but there will be a firmware upgrade in near future to support HDD and I have no idea if NTFS will come together.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #23 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this player and watched a netflix streamed movie tonight...Chaos (different movie). I noticed a couple things:

The colors were extremely bland...I don't remember seeing anything non grey / white / black durin the whole movie.

The movie was very choppy and juttery.

I do not ever have this experience usin regular blu ray (I watched Couples Retreat right after and it was flawless).

I am sure it is a cause of my bandwidth, but I wanted to know my options...

I only have 1.5mg down from Qwest (and I don't think I can upgrade to anyone else in the area, which really sucks). If I could upgrade this bandwidth, would this help?

I am only using a G wireless network currently, would upgrading to N help the streaming since it has an N connector on it?
dzirkelb is offline  
post #24 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzirkelb View Post

I just got this player and watched a netflix streamed movie tonight...Chaos (different movie). I noticed a couple things:

The colors were extremely bland...I don't remember seeing anything non grey / white / black durin the whole movie.

The movie was very choppy and juttery.

I do not ever have this experience usin regular blu ray (I watched Couples Retreat right after and it was flawless).

I am sure it is a cause of my bandwidth, but I wanted to know my options...

I only have 1.5mg down from Qwest (and I don't think I can upgrade to anyone else in the area, which really sucks). If I could upgrade this bandwidth, would this help?

I am only using a G wireless network currently, would upgrading to N help the streaming since it has an N connector on it?

Few things to consider:

-1.5 Mbps is too low. You need at least 6 Mbps to get anything "decent". Sony recommends 10 Mbps minimum for HD but I haven't seen anything on Netflix higher than 6 Mbps bitrate.
-Before changing from G to N, upgrade your Internet speed. If it's still bad, go for the N.
-Netflix always "adjust" the video quality according to your speed. You are watching something worse than VHS quality at this speed. Keep in mind that 1.5 is your maximum speed but the average can be much lower than this, depending on traffic and othet things.

The best Netflix movie will still look much worse than a Bluray . You can't match the 20-40 Mbps bitrate of a BD disk.

Amazon VOD is better than Netflix, generally speaking and requires the same bandwidth. Amazon has few movies/shows in 5.1, Netflix is still 2 channel only.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #25 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Mr. M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after a bad experience with LG's brand new 570 player, I decided to give this Sony a shot. So far I have been very pleased.

Great start up and boot times-
Excellent Image Quality
Simple Set Up and menu
No Wifi Drop outs like I experienced from the LG
Very quick response time to button presses.

I haven't had a lot of time to look at the streaming capabilities yet. I will give it some more time tonight and report back.
Mr. M is offline  
post #26 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Few things to consider:

-1.5 Mbps is too low. You need at least 6 Mbps to get anything "decent". Sony recommends 10 Mbps minimum for HD but I haven't seen anything on Netflix higher than 6 Mbps bitrate.
-Before changing from G to N, upgrade your Internet speed. If it's still bad, go for the N.
-Netflix always "adjust" the video quality according to your speed. You are watching something worse than VHS quality at this speed. Keep in mind that 1.5 is your maximum speed but the average can be much lower than this, depending on traffic and othet things.

The best Netflix movie will still look much worse than a Bluray . You can't match the 20-40 Mbps bitrate of a BD disk.

Amazon VOD is better than Netflix, generally speaking and requires the same bandwidth. Amazon has few movies/shows in 5.1, Netflix is still 2 channel only.

I was afraid of the 1.5 being too low...I have looked around and there is nothing else in my area for higher speed, but, one company....and all I hear is horor stories about them. I'll have to consider this...

So, in a nuthsell, giong to N won't solve my problems, but may help a little bit?
dzirkelb is offline  
post #27 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzirkelb View Post

I

So, in a nuthsell, giong to N won't solve my problems, but may help a little bit?

As I said, it won't help. You probably are already getting the maximum internet speed with your G network . If the G can't handle 1.5 Mbps , most likely you can't get any internet access at all.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #28 of 3951 Old 03-04-2010, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
mdimbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking into this player right now. Has anyone successfully played .vob archived DVD files using the usb connection?

UPDATE: I was able to play around with this model in my local Best Buy. It played the .vob files from my LaCie Key Drive just fine. Also played mp4, m2ts and wmv files. I will be purchasing it soon, and will update with more info as I play with it.
mdimbler is offline  
post #29 of 3951 Old 03-05-2010, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Alcoholic247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
debating if i should get the sony bdp-s570 or the lg bd570.

So far the only difference I can think of is that Sony does not support DLNA but supports 3d via a firmware upgrade and vice versa for LG.
Alcoholic247 is offline  
post #30 of 3951 Old 03-05-2010, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
dzirkelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

As I said, it won't help. You probably are already getting the maximum internet speed with your G network . If the G can't handle 1.5 Mbps , most likely you can't get any internet access at all.

I have 12mg being isntalled on Wednesday, and I'll order a wireless N network also, thanks!
dzirkelb is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S570 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S370 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp N460 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - S570 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off