Official Samsung BD-C5500 master owner's thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Rogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BritInVA View Post

Just had following dialog with Samsung.



Now I know the reps are not always accurate so I guess will find out when I purchase it...... not a big deal as got a 2Gb USB left over from my previous BD-P1500.

Especially since mostly what they do is read what they are given. I doubt any of them have even touched one. BDLive would not work until I attached a 1Gb flash drive to the unit. Since I'm wired I just used the rear USB and leave it there. It's out of the way.

Just as a side note, I haven't found BDLive to be of much interest or added value.
Rogus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 10:43 AM
Member
 
erzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has some internal storage for the internet apps, but unless you plug in a thumbdrive, you can't do BDlive. The rep is wrong. They told me the same thing though.

On another topic, I found it odd that when streaming video from my PC, I can only stream avi files, not mkv files. In fact, mkv files don't even show up in the list when I browse my shared PC folder from the 5500.
erzak is offline  
post #33 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Agree BDLive I've rarely used and plugging a USB drive in back no big deal.

Anyone know if Digital Downloads from iTunes work with AllShare? They have .m4v extention. They are not listed in spec but would think they should be available.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #34 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 12:08 PM
Newbie
 
massmanjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the LG BD 390 and recently replaced it with the BD-C5500. The LG BD 390 had a nice icon/option to view trailers on VUDU. Trailers could be viewed in HDX (1080p). I've gone through the VUDU menu on the BD-C5500 and can only seem to be able to watch trailers in SD 480p. Has anyone had any luck viewing trailers on the BD-C5500, via VUDU, at 1080p?
massmanjr is offline  
post #35 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Netrunner2250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I still havent resolved the problem of my C5500 not being able to access my Windows PC at all but at least I have a clue.....

The problem appears to be something on the Linksys Router I'm using.... after some advice I found a few ports that the Samsung Software uses so I added them to the Port Forwarding section of the router and pointed them to my Windows 7 PC and suddenly the BD Player is now showing in the list of devices in the Samsung PC Share Software!

I accepted the connection but still didn't receive any prompts on the Player itself nor could I find any of the shared media but at least it's a step in the right direction. I'll play with this more when I get home from work to see if I can figure out which ports are associated with all this stuff and see if I can get my Router to play nice.... Very complicated but slowly getting there....
Netrunner2250 is offline  
post #36 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got back from Costco's with the BD-C5500C......was a steal considering I paid $388 for the BD-P1500 2 years ago (and recently got a full refund )

Hopefully play with it tonight...... if does not suit needs it will either go back to Costco's or end up in one of the Kids Bedrooms.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #37 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK so I started playing a little sooner

- Initial setup was very straight forward. Initially did not get an IP but after reboot it was fine.

- Tried Netfix, again setup very straight forward. Of the few clips I watched (one HD and another SD) I thought quality was excellent (my PJ is 720P with circa 92" screen so not get full potential of 1080P yet). Be good when 5.1 sound is available. Was not expecting that..... so good surprise.

- Tried Allshare too. Easy setup. Played some MP4 OK, would not play my Digital downloads (M4V) and also would not play some WMV's I tried.

Still to try an actual Blu-ray.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #38 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
boardinutah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the Costco version over the weekend. It recognized my TVersity server and also my D-Link NAS as attached devices. Bringing up the NAS, it can "see" that there are mkv files, but it won't play them (format not supported). It also recognizes my m2ts files and plays them, but they stutter severely.

I attached a USB HD which also has mkv and m2ts files. Here, the mkv files played fine. The m2ts files also played, but they still stuttered.
boardinutah is offline  
post #39 of 1614 Old 03-23-2010, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A little more playing.

- Ripped a DVD and converted to MKV with Handbrake. Played from PC via Allshare and audio & video quality seemed fine but didn't watch a lot.

- Tried a Digital Download in WMV format. That does not work like the iTunes version. That sucks you would think you could stream your own 'valid' copy.

- Played a few Blu-ray clips.... all looked & sounded great. Don't think will get around to watching a full movie until Friday or Saturday thou.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #40 of 1614 Old 03-24-2010, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK I'm really new to this streaming malarky.

I started a thread in the Digital Meadia Servers & Content Streamers for us to discuss Samsung AllShare & Internet@TV so we don't bog the player thread with streaming talk.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #41 of 1614 Old 03-25-2010, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
jus10mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a Samsung c5500 yesterday and tried multiple mp4s through the usb port and received an error stating the audio codec wasn't supported. The audio codec used is AAC and manual states that it is supported. The only thing I can come up with is the fact that I am using AAC 6 channel and maybe the player only supports 2 channel. Anyone else having an issue similar to this?

BTW, I updated the firmware to the 3/23/2010 release.
jus10mh is offline  
post #42 of 1614 Old 03-25-2010, 10:50 AM
Member
 
erzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried reading in other threads about the various audio stream options, but haven't figured out what's best for my setup.

I have the HDMI from my 5500 going to my TV. The TV is used for audio probably 90% of the time, since my wife and kids don't care about 5.1 sound, and it annoys my wife if when you adjust the volume, you don't see feedback indicated on the TV screen. The TV is a Vizio SV420XVT.

I have the optical output from the 5500 going to my ancient Yamaha RX-V540 receiver, it handles DTS and that's about it.

From the chart in the manual, it looks like the only way I can get 5.1 using the optical output to my receiver is if I set the 5500 to Bitstream(re-encode). Is there any disadvantage to doing this, in terms of what is going to the TV when watching it without the AV receiver? I don't see anything in the TV manual about decoding DTS, though I get sound from the TV speakers.

Ideally I'd upgrade my AVR to something more modern with HDMI and run everything thru it. Would be sweet if using HDMI passthru would display the volume setting on the TV screen, are there any AVR's that do that?

Thanks,
Eric
erzak is offline  
post #43 of 1614 Old 03-25-2010, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
jus10mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to update everyone. I also tried MP4 container with AAC 2 channel audio and was still unable to get sound.
jus10mh is offline  
post #44 of 1614 Old 03-26-2010, 04:42 AM
Member
 
game007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you use NTFS usb drives on the c5500??? or not???
how is DVD upscalling!!!
is this palyer Lowd or silent in playing Bluray or dvd???

is heard the c5500 is it play mp3 or avi form usb, you can not browse the usb..
you must first stop than you can browse and so! is this right!!??

Has this player zoom out & in for DVD/BLUray/AVI or so???

thanks for helping i want to buy me my first blu ray player but have prblems to diside with !! the samsumg c5500 or sony bdp-s370/s470 or
LG bd 560 or LG bx 580!!!!
game007 is offline  
post #45 of 1614 Old 03-26-2010, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Highside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else willing to share their Internet@TV speed test results? I'm not at my BD player right now but it's under the settings of course.

I'm getting 2.4Mbps.

I just "chatted" with a Samsung tech and they said I needed a minimum of 5.0Mbps to be able to stream HD.

I have a 7MB DSL connection through Qwest and that should be more than enough.

Anyone else?

Is there any way to improve that speed? I have a gigabit modem/router, a gigabit switch and am hardwired throughout my house.

Thanks,
Rob

ÂThe sheriff and his buddies with their samurai swords.....Â
Highside is offline  
post #46 of 1614 Old 03-26-2010, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The speedtest is under Internet@TV --> Settings --> Properties

I don't trust it............ says I'm getting 1.34Mbps

I have FiOS with a 25mbps/15Mbps plan and just tested at 26.88Mbps/13.93Mbps.

The player is plugged directlu into the FiOS hub.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #47 of 1614 Old 03-26-2010, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
silverfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Same here I'm getting mid 1 mb/s through the player's test. I have FIOS & played Netflix HD just fine last night.
silverfx is online now  
post #48 of 1614 Old 03-26-2010, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
GAFFN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have to use the Samsung wireless adapter to stream wireless or can any LAN dongle be used? Thanks for the advise!!!
GAFFN1 is offline  
post #49 of 1614 Old 03-27-2010, 03:51 AM
Member
 
game007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello in the german borad "HIFI forum" they say that the player judders in the beginning of playing MKV (the first minutes) is this right?? will thier be a firmware update for it?
game007 is offline  
post #50 of 1614 Old 03-27-2010, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by game007 View Post

hello in the german borad "HIFI forum" they say that the player judders in the beginning of playing MKV (the first minutes) is this right?? will thier be a firmware update for it?

Can't say I have noticed it when using PCSM

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #51 of 1614 Old 03-27-2010, 10:22 AM
Member
 
enigma9o7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
game:
So far no jitters for on mkv's from disc or PCSM unless it has multiple audio tracks, in which case it's not just the first few minutes...

Highside,
I did a speed test and got 1.17Mbps. This seems somewhat reasonable, I pay for an "up to" 1.5 Mbps DSL connection, and usually get 150-160kb/sec when I download files from my computer.
enigma9o7 is online now  
post #52 of 1614 Old 03-27-2010, 10:33 AM
Member
 
game007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and USB HD/STICK????
how is the noise of the c5500 when playing dvd or Blur ray ? is it lowed or less niose?????
and how is the dvd upscaling????
game007 is offline  
post #53 of 1614 Old 03-27-2010, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
darkass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10mh View Post

I purchased a Samsung c5500 yesterday and tried multiple mp4s through the usb port and received an error stating the audio codec wasn't supported. The audio codec used is AAC and manual states that it is supported. The only thing I can come up with is the fact that I am using AAC 6 channel and maybe the player only supports 2 channel. Anyone else having an issue similar to this?

BTW, I updated the firmware to the 3/23/2010 release.


I tested a few MP4 files and they all worked before I did the firmware update. Now i get the Not Supported Audio Codec message. Its a firmware issue. I have several MP4 one with 6 channels and one with 2, but the same result. Since I bought this last week, I'm seriously debating on returning and picking up another one with the old firmware.
darkass is offline  
post #54 of 1614 Old 03-28-2010, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Watched my first full length Blu-ray last night (Amelia) on the C5500C- pleased to report absolutly no freezing/stuttering...... which I was getting a lot of with my previous BD-P1500.

Be watching Quantum of Solace tonight

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #55 of 1614 Old 03-28-2010, 11:37 AM
rdn
Advanced Member
 
rdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If any moderators are watching, perhaps this thread could be merged into the BC-C6500 thread, since it was started earlier and the two players have all but a few features in common.

Bob
rdn is offline  
post #56 of 1614 Old 03-29-2010, 11:39 AM
Member
 
nu.klear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by game007 View Post

can you use NTFS usb drives on the c5500??? or not???

absolutely! verified with 640GB seagate 2.5" external USB drive pre-formatted with NTFS... worked flawlessly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by game007 View Post

how is the noise of the c5500 when playing dvd or Blur ray ?

i have nothing to compare to in terms of BluRay disks playing since i've never had a BluRay player before but in comparison to my philips dvp-3982 DVD player it's somewhat noisy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highside View Post

Is anyone else willing to share their Internet@TV speed test results? I'm not at my BD player right now but it's under the settings of course.

I'm getting 2.4Mbps.

I just "chatted" with a Samsung tech and they said I needed a minimum of 5.0Mbps to be able to stream HD.

i've got about 1.8Mbps... watched Surrogates from vudu with no problem... i have to tell you though that i used HD not HDX format in vudu... i suppose HD is 720 whereas HDX is 1080. but again with HD it was absolutely OK. btw, if anyone is interested, i'm connected to local network through netgear powerline adaptor....
nu.klear is offline  
post #57 of 1614 Old 03-29-2010, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
jus10mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkass View Post

I tested a few MP4 files and they all worked before I did the firmware update. Now i get the Not Supported Audio Codec message. Its a firmware issue. I have several MP4 one with 6 channels and one with 2, but the same result. Since I bought this last week, I'm seriously debating on returning and picking up another one with the old firmware.

I actually bought the 5500 and then updated it before trying any mp4s. However, I have the exact same issue as you. Audio codec not supported on 2 and 6 channel AAC.

Anyone else experiencing this?
jus10mh is offline  
post #58 of 1614 Old 03-29-2010, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 161
I picked up a 5500 the other day and it updated the firmware that night. Some MP4 with AAC will play audio and others will not. Of two files both have 44K sampling but different bitrates and different encoders used. So I'm wondering if it may be picky about encoders or bitrates. I'll have to try some more. It plays my Aiptek AHD 1080p files okay remuxed to an MPG container. I wonder why they just don't support QuickTime or does Apple make a fuss about that? There isn't much difference between a QT contrainer and an MP4. Since Samsung sells camcorders with AVCHD which have AAC audio they would want to support those in their players.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #59 of 1614 Old 03-29-2010, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
jus10mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post

I picked up a 5500 the other day and it updated the firmware that night. Some MP4 with AAC will play audio and others will not. Of two files both have 44K sampling but different bitrates and different encoders used. So I'm wondering if it may be picky about encoders or bitrates. I'll have to try some more. It plays my Aiptek AHD 1080p files okay remuxed to an MPG container. I wonder why they just don't support QuickTime or does Apple make a fuss about that? There isn't much difference between a QT contrainer and an MP4. Since Samsung sells camcorders with AVCHD which have AAC audio they would want to support those in their players.

Odd. I'm going to pick up a new 5500 and see if my mp4s play before running the update. I looked through the support section on samsung's website and had not seen anyone mention this. Hopefully, they are are aware of the issue.
jus10mh is offline  
post #60 of 1614 Old 03-30-2010, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
jus10mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up a fresh c5500 and tried multiple mp4s without updating the firmware. Video and audio on all worked flawlessly. Guess I'm going to hold off on updating until this issue gets sorted out.
jus10mh is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd C5500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - C5500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off