Official Panasonic DMP-BDT300/350 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 932 Old 08-08-2010, 08:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by vader100 View Post

The salesman was wrong. Only the TV's do a conversion. The Panasonic VT20 doesn't convert at all, the Samsungs do a good job with some material and reports say the Sonys are poor.

I have one burning problem with this player now. I cannot get it to play back from where it left off. It always starts the disc off from scratch. Gets incredibly annoying, a very big backwards step unless I have missed a setting somewhere.

As with all BD players, it is not a problem with the player. All BD players operate this way. Discs must be authored to resume playback. Some are, most are not, especially movies that have heavy BD-J authoring. A few studios have been doing a better job with resume playback function. Some you need to use the bookmark feature, if available.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 932 Old 08-09-2010, 01:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadennis View Post

Default settings for Chroma, Detail Carity and Super Resolution

Anyone know the default values for this on the Panasonic DMP-BDT350? Doing factory reset default from the setup does not reset these settings. I was messing with them while watching a movie and now don't know what the default was. Thanks to anyone who responds

To reset the player to factory defaults (ALL SETTINGS)

1) With the player off press OK on the remote at the same time press "B" & "Y"

2) "00 RET" should be displayed on the front panel.

3) Use the right arrow key on the remote until you see "08 FIN" on the display panel.

Press and hold [OK] for 3 secs.

This will return your player to out of the box settings.

pg 34 ITM.
Nimo is offline  
post #273 of 932 Old 08-09-2010, 04:51 AM
Member
 
vader100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

As with all BD players, it is not a problem with the player. All BD players operate this way. Discs must be authored to resume playback. Some are, most are not, especially movies that have heavy BD-J authoring. A few studios have been doing a better job with resume playback function. Some you need to use the bookmark feature, if available.

S~

Thing is it is doing it with DVDs as well. Not a single disc I have stopped has ever started back at the point it was stopped. My PS3 is faultless at it.
vader100 is offline  
post #274 of 932 Old 08-09-2010, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Playing back DVD's on my BDT300 starts and stops at the point you last watched. I'm playing Mr & Mrs Smith SD DVD the 4:3 version @ 24Hz going through an SC-07 to the 50VT25 with no last scene issues. As mentioned a lot BD titles don't do this depends on the encoding on weather or not they implemented it or not.

I also want to mention how good this player upconverts SD material by far the best player I've owned in a while and with the DVD playing right now I have the TV set on "just" to fill the screen and it looks super good. I mean it really looks good!
Nimo is offline  
post #275 of 932 Old 08-09-2010, 08:35 PM
Member
 
nolan1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello I just got my DMP-BDT300 today and I have a few questions..\\

1. I did not get a DEMO disk, should I have got one? If so should I contact Panny?

2. Why does the model # on the box say DMP-BDT300PP? why is there a "PP" at the end?

Thanks
Bruce
nolan1123 is offline  
post #276 of 932 Old 08-10-2010, 09:01 AM
Member
 
KenJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

As with all BD players, it is not a problem with the player. All BD players operate this way. Discs must be authored to resume playback. Some are, most are not, especially movies that have heavy BD-J authoring. A few studios have been doing a better job with resume playback function. Some you need to use the bookmark feature, if available.

S~

Aggravatingly, when fine tuning the BDT300 and its associated system you must use 'setup'. To use 'setup' you must press 'stop'. That's not unusual - same with my Oppo Blu-ray player. But on my OPPO (other good players too), part of the feature set is: If you press 'stop' once you can restart where you left off .. Press stop twice to restart from the beginning.
KenJr is offline  
post #277 of 932 Old 08-10-2010, 10:54 AM
Member
 
vader100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenJr View Post

Aggravatingly, when fine tuning the BDT300 and its associated system you must use 'setup'. To use 'setup' you must press 'stop'. That's not unusual - same with my Oppo Blu-ray player. But on my OPPO (other good players too), part of the feature set is: If you press 'stop' once you can restart where you left off .. Press stop twice to restart from the beginning.

The restart from where you left works fine as long as you leave the disc in the machine. Take it out and it loses all memory and just starts from the disc start.
vader100 is offline  
post #278 of 932 Old 08-10-2010, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolan1123 View Post

Hello I just got my DMP-BDT300 today and I have a few questions..\\

1. I did not get a DEMO disk, should I have got one? If so should I contact Panny?

2. Why does the model # on the box say DMP-BDT300PP? why is there a "PP" at the end?

Thanks
Bruce

I got one with my 300 but I got it when they first came out so I don't know if they ran out?

lujan
718 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #279 of 932 Old 08-12-2010, 01:56 AM
Newbie
 
John de Highden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

I think Onkyo may need a fw update for this issue. The Pioneers don't seem to be affected by this, along with the Denon and Yamaha's.

The Yamaha RXV-765 receiver, Panasonic THP-54VT20 and Panasonic DMP-BDT300 combination definately have the problem of "V.off" reset, despite saving the setting on the player. I have read the work arounds but I want a software fix for the issue. The whole point of the Panasonic DMP-BDT300 was to enable a legacy receiver to be compatiable with Panasonic 3D through the sub hdmi. Even though I may remember the work around sequence, the rest of the family may not. What is Panasonic doing to fix the issue? So far, the response from Panasonic Australia is: "Should have bought a Panasonic receiver". Follow up by Panasonic Australia: "the issue will be probably fixed on the replacement model for the DMP-BDT300". Panasonic Australia state they do not care what a few people say on this forum, facebook or tweeter. They are not going to spend money on fixing this issue. Not good enough!
John de Highden is offline  
post #280 of 932 Old 08-12-2010, 07:04 AM
Member
 
mikethomasson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the difference between the BDT300 vs the BDT350. Thanks for your input
mikethomasson is offline  
post #281 of 932 Old 08-12-2010, 07:28 AM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 350 has DLNA. The 300 does not. The 300 is a bit less expensive.
NashvilleMark is offline  
post #282 of 932 Old 08-12-2010, 03:56 PM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethomasson View Post

what is the difference between the BDT300 vs the BDT350. Thanks for your input

Also depends where you are located. in Europe there is no 350 version. but the 300 has the same features(DLNA) as the 350
sonter is offline  
post #283 of 932 Old 08-12-2010, 10:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
JediFonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i have the HD66 and want to get the 300 to play 3-D. can the posters from the last few pages who just got it w/the ZD101 glasses confirm 3-D playback from this player?

to the edge of eternity and depth of infinity, stupidity knows no bound.
JediFonger is offline  
post #284 of 932 Old 08-15-2010, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
QuadESL63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noob 3D question: can I use this player on a 3D Samsung plasma (e.g. PN50C8000) for 3D movies?
QuadESL63 is offline  
post #285 of 932 Old 08-15-2010, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via AIM to Dominus
Yes

Cheers!
Dominus is offline  
post #286 of 932 Old 08-20-2010, 09:46 AM
Member
 
jtmcalpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Hello I just got my DMP-BDT300 today and I have a few questions..\\

1. I did not get a DEMO disk, should I have got one? If so should I contact Panny?

2. Why does the model # on the box say DMP-BDT300PP? why is there a "PP" at the end?

Thanks
Bruce

I have the same question. I just bought the BDT-300 and did not receive the DEMO disk. I bought the player last week.

Has anyone else recently bought this player and received this disk? I really want the disk. Should i go back to where I bought the player or contact panasonic?

Thanks in advance
jtmcalpin is offline  
post #287 of 932 Old 08-20-2010, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
pizzaaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

To reset the player to factory defaults (ALL SETTINGS)

1) With the player off press OK on the remote at the same time press "B" & "Y"

2) "00 RET" should be displayed on the front panel.

3) Use the right arrow key on the remote until you see "08 FIN" on the display panel.

Press and hold [OK] for 3 secs.

This will return your player to out of the box settings.

pg 34 ITM.


tried everything to reset my player and still same
(i cannot output any sound or video via the hdmi main port)

help please
pizzaaman is offline  
post #288 of 932 Old 08-20-2010, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
mick16a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone please tell me if the DMP-BDT350 can playback files from a usb powered hard drive?
mick16a is offline  
post #289 of 932 Old 08-21-2010, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just purchased the 300 last week and I did not receive the Demo, I called Panasonic and the rep said it was not part of the package. I may try calling again........

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmcalpin View Post

I have the same question. I just bought the BDT-300 and did not receive the DEMO disk. I bought the player last week.

Has anyone else recently bought this player and received this disk? I really want the disk. Should i go back to where I bought the player or contact panasonic?

Thanks in advance

007james is offline  
post #290 of 932 Old 08-21-2010, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007james View Post

I just purchased the 300 last week and I did not receive the Demo, I called Panasonic and the rep said it was not part of the package. I may try calling again........

Could it be that the demo disk was provided by the retailer? I bought mine very soon after it came out from BB and it had the demo disk. Could it be that only those purchased by BB got the 3D demo disk?

lujan
718 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #291 of 932 Old 08-21-2010, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
pizzaaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any 1 else help me reset my 300 blu ray
as no matter what i try it wont reset
and i getting no signal from hdmi main port
pizzaaman is offline  
post #292 of 932 Old 08-22-2010, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,108
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Could it be that the demo disk was provided by the retailer? I bought mine very soon after it came out from BB and it had the demo disk. Could it be that only those purchased by BB got the 3D demo disk?

No. Mine is a 350 purchased through Amazon and it came with the demo disk.

Buzz

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #293 of 932 Old 08-23-2010, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Elladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John de Highden View Post

(snip)
So far, the response from Panasonic Australia is: "Should have bought a Panasonic receiver". Follow up by Panasonic Australia: "the issue will be probably fixed on the replacement model for the DMP-BDT300". Panasonic Australia state they do not care what a few people say on this forum, facebook or tweeter. They are not going to spend money on fixing this issue. Not good enough!


I have a Panasonic SA-BX500 receiver and the problem exists on this combination as well. I disabled VieraLink on all devices to see if that would fix it (that receiver, BDT300 and P50VT25) but the problem persists. A case has been opened with Panasonic tech support.
Elladan is offline  
post #294 of 932 Old 08-24-2010, 01:30 PM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what the latest firmware update fixes ?

*edit

Well I updated and surprisingly It retained v.off setting when I restarted. I Might just have been lucky, but It has never done that before, regardless if I had my tv or onkyo reciever on or off
sonter is offline  
post #295 of 932 Old 08-25-2010, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Elladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that yesterday's firmware update fixed the V.Off setting. I played a BR disc, changed the setting, played it some more, turned everything off, watched some TV, put in a different BR disc, started playing that, and the setting was still enabled.
Good stuff. Now if I can only get my BA-SX500 to show that I'm getting TruHD sound (even though I know I am).
Elladan is offline  
post #296 of 932 Old 08-25-2010, 07:43 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and I even got it to be DVD region free by buying a small remote for 5 $ off ebay..Things are really looking up for this player
sonter is offline  
post #297 of 932 Old 08-25-2010, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Razvanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonter View Post

and I even got it to be DVD region free by buying a small remote for 5 $ off ebay..Things are really looking up for this player

Oh, DVD region free? PM sent
Razvanel is offline  
post #298 of 932 Old 08-26-2010, 01:15 AM
Member
 
stelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nicosia CYPRUS
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vader100 View Post

The restart from where you left works fine as long as you leave the disc in the machine. Take it out and it loses all memory and just starts from the disc start.

That's not true with my BDT300 (Europe version).Even when I take the disc out, it still restarts from where you left!
stelch is offline  
post #299 of 932 Old 08-27-2010, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
mick16a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stelch have you been able to playback files from a usb hard drive on your BDT300? I tried a couple of drives that don't require a seperate power but had no luck.
Has anyone used any type of usb hard drive with success?
mick16a is offline  
post #300 of 932 Old 08-27-2010, 10:18 AM
Member
 
jtmcalpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Stelch have you been able to playback files from a usb hard drive on your BDT300? I tried a couple of drives that don't require a seperate power but had no luck. Has anyone used any type of usb hard drive with success?

I have been able to play back files fine from my USB flash drive. I know it is not a hardrive but it works great for movies (.avi) and pictures (.jpg)
jtmcalpin is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt310 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt350 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt300 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt310 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off