Official Panasonic DMP-BDT300/350 Owners Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 932 Old 12-15-2010, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does anyone know if there are notes related to the new firmware, and what changes are made in this version?

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 932 Old 12-15-2010, 07:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 137
According to the number it looks like the same update from November that was available over the network which enabled VUDU. It's just now able to be downloaded to disc.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #543 of 932 Old 12-15-2010, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
According to the number it looks like the same update from November that was available over the network which enabled VUDU. It's just now able to be downloaded to disc.

S~
crap

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #544 of 932 Old 12-15-2010, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
According to the number it looks like the same update from November that was available over the network which enabled VUDU. It's just now able to be downloaded to disc.

S~
Yes, it must be the same update because when I tried updating the player said I already had the latest update.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #545 of 932 Old 12-15-2010, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
tvbrainsmyate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is one of those problems that probably has a simple solution, but reading (and rereading) the manuals hasn't helped me any, nor has my favorite cure-all, Mashing Random Buttons...

So I have the Panasonic BDT300 Blu-Ray player. I love using Viera Cast for amazon.com streaming, for netflix, etc etc. But for some reason, when watching tv shows that were not originally aired in HD (old episodes of Futurama, for example) the show doesn't take up the entirety of the screen. OK, that's fine, it was probably aired in 4:3 anyway. But the 4:3 image is off-center. I have a 50" Panasonic plasma and the image is almost entirely on the right side of the screen. Nothing is cut off, it's just like someone took the image and shoved it 15-20 inches to the right. I can use the *TV* to resize the image so that it covers more of the screen, but that's not really what I'm trying to do--it's the bluray player that's responsible. HD tv shows and bluray discs aren't affected, but that's probably because they take up the whole screen anyway. Does anyone know what's going on? This occurs both with amazon AND netflix; I have HD and non-HD material available on both. HD takes up the whole screen and is on-center, non-HD/older stuff is 4:3 and shoved to the right. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
tvbrainsmyate is offline  
post #546 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Tyrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a lil off topic, but I wonder which version of Avatar 3D is being sold with new Panasonic TVs? Theatrical version or Extended version? I hope when Avatar 3D becomes availble to us peons, it'll be the extended version.

Kinda pized me off when Lord of The Rings came out on BluRay it was the lame theatrical version.
Tyrod is offline  
post #547 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Tyrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Mashing Random Buttons...

Once you're done MASHING buttons, are they still useable?

I know when my Mama is done mashing potatoes, you'd hardly recognise what they looked like to begin with.

You must be from the south. I'd guess north or south Carolina.
Tyrod is offline  
post #548 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrod View Post

This is a lil off topic, but I wonder which version of Avatar 3D is being sold with new Panasonic TVs? Theatrical version or Extended version? I hope when Avatar 3D becomes availble to us peons, it'll be the extended version.

Kinda pized me off when Lord of The Rings came out on BluRay it was the lame theatrical version.

I think it's the Theatrical version but not sure. You know they have to keep changing the versions so that they can make as much $$$$ as possible. Now I'm hearing that we'll have to wait until February or March of 2012 before the rest of us will be able to get the 3D version unless we buy a Panasonic selected item.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #549 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 07:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Theatrical Version.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #550 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
barmalei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the 350 can be set to HDMI output the native resolution of the source Blu-Ray or DVD material it is playing?
Now I have a much better 1080 upscaler in my new AV receiver so I would like the 350 to just output the native resolution and the receiver do the upscaling.
Earlier today I went through the setup menus of the player but I didn't see such option. Help ...
barmalei is offline  
post #551 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mike-tee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Island that's Long
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmalei View Post

Does anyone know if the 350 can be set to HDMI output the native resolution of the source Blu-Ray or DVD material it is playing?
Now I have a much better 1080 upscaler in my new AV receiver so I would like the 350 to just output the native resolution and the receiver do the upscaling.
Earlier today I went through the setup menus of the player but I didn't see such option. Help ...

The 350 does not have a "source direct" option. Actually, the 350's processor does a pretty good job at deinterlacing and upscaling to 1080P. However, you could try setting your 350 to 1080i, allowing your receiver to deinterlace to 1080P.

Try it both ways and see if you have a preference either way, especially for DVD.

Mike T

My BDP-05FD, still going strong and still my favorite player!

mike-tee is offline  
post #552 of 932 Old 12-16-2010, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmalei View Post

Does anyone know if the 350 can be set to HDMI output the native resolution of the source Blu-Ray or DVD material it is playing?
Now I have a much better 1080 upscaler in my new AV receiver so I would like the 350 to just output the native resolution and the receiver do the upscaling.
Earlier today I went through the setup menus of the player but I didn't see such option. Help ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike-tee View Post

The 350 does not have a "source direct" option. Actually, the 350's processor does a pretty good job at deinterlacing and upscaling to 1080P. However, you could try setting your 350 to 1080i, allowing your receiver to deinterlace to 1080P.

Try it both ways and see if you have a preference either way, especially for DVD.

Mike T

Actually, if it is anything like the BD-80 (and I assume it is) is it should have a sort of pseudo source direct mode for Blu-ray playback. When the player's 24p Mode is set to On and HDMI Output Resolution is set to 1080i, The 300/350 should output the native resolution encoded on any Blu-ray Disc (i.e. 1080i/60 as 1080i/60 and 1080p/24 as 1080p/24). Unfortunately, it will not output DVDs at their native 480i.

But as mike-tee says, the 350 does a good job, more than pretty good, actually, de-interlacing 1080i and upscaling. It scores perfectly on the HQV 2.0 test suites when I run them, FWIW.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #553 of 932 Old 12-17-2010, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
tvbrainsmyate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good guess on the mashing--North Carolina, as a matter of fact...living in the South for 20-odd years done tore my language up good...I'm keeping "mash" though, I like it too much. Seriously though, is there a way to re-center the image?
tvbrainsmyate is offline  
post #554 of 932 Old 12-17-2010, 10:50 PM
Member
 
nescosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I been looking for a 300 or 350 all over the web and I can not find one for a decent price.
I know that the 350 is gone but what ever is left of the 300 they want 400 dollars plus shipping.
Do you guys know of a place where they selling it for under 400.
I been over the BB to see if they have open box and they are none. Only the 107; and that has one hdmi.
nescosmo is offline  
post #555 of 932 Old 12-19-2010, 11:48 AM
Member
 
buster6070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nescosmo View Post

I been looking for a 300 or 350 all over the web and I can not find one for a decent price.
I know that the 350 is gone but what ever is left of the 300 they want 400 dollars plus shipping.
Do you guys know of a place where they selling it for under 400.
I been over the BB to see if they have open box and they are none. Only the 107; and that has one hdmi.

Where do you live? There's 1 best buy near me that still has the 300 in stock. And the price advertised online is incorrect. The 300 is DC and a clearanced item now at best buy. I purchase one about 3 weeks ago 120 less than list price. I'd hit up the Best Buy website and try and find a store that has the 300 in stock near you by zipcode as you can no longer purchase it online.
buster6070 is offline  
post #556 of 932 Old 12-20-2010, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Elvis Is Alive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Is the 300/350 the only dual HDMI output 3D bluray player that outputs checkerboard format?

I did a bit of research and found the Sammy 7900 and Oppo 93 that have dual HDMI but dont support checkerboard. TIA
Elvis Is Alive is offline  
post #557 of 932 Old 12-20-2010, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re "Is the 300/350 the only dual HDMI output 3D bluray player that outputs checkerboard format?"

That's my understanding, yes. I surmise you have either a pre-2010 Mitsu DLP or a DLP from some other manuf besides Mitsu? Reason I ask is because if you have a 2010 Mitsu, a recent firmware upgrade (12.06) enables the set to internally convert various 3D formats to checkerboard with no external adapter (and no need to have a BD player that outputs checkerboard).
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #558 of 932 Old 12-20-2010, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrod View Post

This is a lil off topic, but I wonder which version of Avatar 3D is being sold with new Panasonic TVs? Theatrical version or Extended version? I hope when Avatar 3D becomes availble to us peons, it'll be the extended version.

Kinda pized me off when Lord of The Rings came out on BluRay it was the lame theatrical version.

I'll let you know when I get home to the package sitting on my porch!

...of course (as stated earlier) it is the Theatrical release, which is fine. I'm a 3D whore and will purchase it again if/when the ultimate edition (with extended version/s) is released in 3D whenever that happens. For now, Panasonic has an exclusive until Feb or March of 2012. I was able to obtain a Panasonic 3D Starter Kit, with Avatar 3D and two sets of Panasonic 3D glasses for $280. I'll be listing both of the glasses for sale, up on eBay and hope to get enough to get my outlay for the movie down to under $50.

Still expensive, I know, but... WOW! It's was 3D and big screen TVs were made for!!!

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #559 of 932 Old 12-20-2010, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Elvis Is Alive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post

Re "Is the 300/350 the only dual HDMI output 3D bluray player that outputs checkerboard format?"

That's my understanding, yes. I surmise you have either a pre-2010 Mitsu DLP or a DLP from some other manuf besides Mitsu? Reason I ask is because if you have a 2010 Mitsu, a recent firmware upgrade (12.06) enables the set to internally convert various 3D formats to checkerboard with no external adapter (and no need to have a BD player that outputs checkerboard).

Yes I have a 2008 Samsung LED DLP 67A750. I have the Tru3D adapter (Gefen + 3da-1) and am using a HDMI 1.3 AVR (Onkyo 875). My 3D sources currently are the PS3 and DirecTV. I really dont want to buy a HDMI 1.4 switcher to switch between D* and PS3 so I was considering a checkerboard outputting player. I was hoping a newer 2010-2011 model would have this feature also but I guess there isnt one.

I also like the fact I can get lossless audio with this player unlike the PS3.
Elvis Is Alive is offline  
post #560 of 932 Old 12-21-2010, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Elvis Is Alive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
After much searching, I found a 300 in a bestbuy store about an hour away from me. Had no luck online, other than a few overpriced ebay auctions.
Elvis Is Alive is offline  
post #561 of 932 Old 12-21-2010, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was the Best Buy site of any reliable help in identifying the store that had the player or did you serendipitously find it upon visiting that store without the site having said there was a 300 there?

(P.S. - I guess "no luck online" answers my question?)
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #562 of 932 Old 12-21-2010, 08:47 AM
Member
 
buster6070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post

Was the Best Buy site of any reliable help in identifying the store that had the player or did you serendipitously find it upon visiting that store without the site having said there was a 300 there?

(P.S. - I guess "no luck online" answers my question?)

When I bought mine a few weeks ago I used their website to locate the closest store. It seems they keep it updated pretty well. The list of stores that have the 300 in stock in the Houston Area has slowly dwindled down to 1 from about 12. You could always use the website and then call to confirm.
buster6070 is offline  
post #563 of 932 Old 12-21-2010, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Elvis Is Alive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post

Was the Best Buy site of any reliable help in identifying the store that had the player or did you serendipitously find it upon visiting that store without the site having said there was a 300 there?

(P.S. - I guess "no luck online" answers my question?)

No, I used the store locator for the player to find one from Best Buy's website.

I was hoping to find one somewhere else as I have issues with BB.
Elvis Is Alive is offline  
post #564 of 932 Old 12-21-2010, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Is Alive View Post

No, I used the store locator for the player to find one from Best Buy's website.

I was hoping to find one somewhere else as I have issues with BB.

You're not the only one, I avoid BB like the plague.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #565 of 932 Old 12-22-2010, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ay221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have found this player online for a good price. If you do a search you can find one.
ay221 is offline  
post #566 of 932 Old 12-23-2010, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
Kohoki_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First post, what are your favorite settings for your panny 300. Does anyone use tube amplifier sound 3 and high clarity sound for CD's. I use both features and I am wondering if these feature moves over to blu ray content.
Kohoki_Z is offline  
post #567 of 932 Old 12-23-2010, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Elvis Is Alive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Got around to unboxing my 300. I am waiting to test this out until I order a few pairs of DLP link 3D glasses after Christmas. I am looking forward to trying out this player. It is perfect for my needs. Outputs checkerboard to my DLP and let's me extend the use of my Onkyo 875 HDMI 1.3 AVR if I upgrade my display to a new a 3D Plasma/LCD in the future.

Not the prettiest BD player IMO, kinda reminda me of an old 8-track player my father STILL owns lol, but I'm not concerned with asthetics.
Elvis Is Alive is offline  
post #568 of 932 Old 12-25-2010, 08:13 PM
Member
 
nescosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kohoki_Z View Post

First post, what are your favorite settings for your panny 300. Does anyone use tube amplifier sound 3 and high clarity sound for CD's. I use both features and I am wondering if these feature moves over to blu ray content.


I just found the 300 at BB for $239.00. I search the website and found them on an store that didnt' show one on the web. it was about an hour away from me.
About the tube sound; If you use the hdmi for CD it will have to be on DVD it will play it great but you have to use it on stereo to know the greatness of the sound. But when you use the DVD you have to just change the settings. What I did was to use on my AV the CD section and then use the sound on optical. So when I use the DVD, I change it to the DVD section and use the setting of the DVD.
nescosmo is offline  
post #569 of 932 Old 12-26-2010, 01:43 AM
Senior Member
 
avsscientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Is Alive View Post

Yes I have a 2008 Samsung LED DLP 67A750. I have the Tru3D adapter (Gefen + 3da-1) and am using a HDMI 1.3 AVR (Onkyo 875). My 3D sources currently are the PS3 and DirecTV. I really dont want to buy a HDMI 1.4 switcher to switch between D* and PS3 so I was considering a checkerboard outputting player. I was hoping a newer 2010-2011 model would have this feature also but I guess there isnt one.

Elvis, like you, I also have the same Samsung LED DLP but unfortunately even the latest Oppo doesn't support checkboard, so I wonder what you have decided to do:

1. wait for CES 2011 to see if there are new models that will support checkboard?

2. wait for Samsung or third party to come out with a multiple 3D sources to checkboard converting firmware?

3. Why is that Mitsu could come out with this kind of firmware but Samsung can't/won't? Should we just give up for Sammy's further development on this TV?
avsscientist is offline  
post #570 of 932 Old 12-26-2010, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I didn't find anything come up in a search, but I was wondering if anyone else is having trouble playing back LOTR: The Fellowship of the Rings (from the box set) in the 350? My copy just keeps skipping to the end of the disc when I try to play it, even if I try selecting the opening scene from the menu. I had to resort to playing it back in the PS3 the first time I played it (months ago) and a new Denon 3D player I have in for review yesterday. It played well in the PS3, but even in the Denon it froze up in a few places. The disc itself doesn't seem damaged or anything, so I'm thinking it must be an authoring/BD-J issue?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt310 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt350 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt300 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt310 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off