Official Panasonic DMP-BDT300/350 Owners Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 931 Old 04-06-2011, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The ps3 plays 5.1 sacds as 5.1 PCM at 176.4 kHz through hdmi. It sounds quiet good except I have never owned another player. I want a BD player with either two hdmi outputs or 7.1 analog or both. My receiver does not pass through 1080p. I don't have 3d.

300 works. 85 works but I had a problem with one movie. 210 did not work for audio through a hdmi splitter. 93 should work. 310 should work. I also don't care about all the streaming stuff since my iMac is hooked up to my projector and receiver right now and I am hoping to get a dedicated Mac mini when the next version comes out.

I could just stay with the ps3 and be content or get/keep one of the players I listed above. Sometimes I overcomplicate things. My wife is getting annoyed
bommai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 931 Old 04-06-2011, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just finished watching Green Zone in Bluray on the 300. No glitches. Good movie. I had not seen it before. I watched the entire movie using 5.1 channel analog out to my HK AVR 745. After the movie ended, I changed to the HDMI (using the second HDMI output to send 5.1 PCM to my HK AVR 745). I had to increase the volume by about 8-9 dB to level it with the analog. I watched the first few minutes of the movie. I feel that HDMI is doing a better job than the analog. When I had tested it before using concert Bluray and a few other movies, I did not find a difference, but I think HDMI is winning out. If that is the case with the BDT-300, then I might as well get BDT-310 since it will have a nicer GUI, faster load speeds and newer technology. However, I don't know if it will bring any glitches along with the dual HDMI output. I am wondering if that is what is keeping the 310 from getting released.

Still, if I get a good deal on my PS3 gen1, I might get the Oppo 93.
bommai is offline  
post #813 of 931 Old 04-07-2011, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone please confirm that the Avatar 3D BD (not the 2D) plays okay on fw 1.73 with either of these players?

[P.S. - Yeah, Bommai, Green Zone is terrific. I found the PBS docu Bush's War to be an excellent primer. Greengrass did an excellent job reconciling, on the one hand, adhering to the facts/representing the key players in that whole affair with, on the other, bringing some action picture conventions to the table. Matt D. solid per usual.]
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #814 of 931 Old 04-07-2011, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geaux Tigers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post

Can anyone please confirm that the Avatar 3D BD (not the 2D) plays okay on fw 1.73 with either of these players?

[P.S. - Yeah, Bommai, Green Zone is terrific. I found the PBS docu Bush's War to be an excellent primer. Greengrass did an excellent job reconciling, on the one hand, adhering to the facts/representing the key players in that whole affair with, on the other, bringing some action picture conventions to the table. Matt D. solid per usual.]

No problems playing avatar using my DMP-BDT300 and FW 1.73.
Geaux Tigers is offline  
post #815 of 931 Old 04-08-2011, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
LRS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geaux Tigers View Post

No problems playing avatar using my DMP-BDT300 and FW 1.73.

Same for me.
LRS3 is offline  
post #816 of 931 Old 04-09-2011, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #817 of 931 Old 04-10-2011, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just thought I would chime in I sold my oppo93 today and was looking to replace it mabey with a 95. I really wanted a panny 300 or 350 when I fount it too late could not find one at that time. Today I went out to search for a quick replacement and found the 350 floor samp works great so far with box remote manual everkything tor $350.00 off of list so that was too good topass up really wanted the 2 hdmi outputs. I plant to read the thread but could anyone in as few words as possable highlight the pros and cons would reall appreciate it
Thankd in advance
W

william06 is offline  
post #818 of 931 Old 04-10-2011, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
another question I have set HDMI main to PJ direct. and sub to tv HDMI to DVI when I switch to my PJ and go to the main I get no signal I am sure I am doing something wrong I mabey should have the PJ as sub. and can you bypass (go source direct fromthis player)

Never mind HDMI 1 became disconnected.

Did have another problem when I tried to jump a scene on Tron legacy pic blanked out got all kind of nonsence had to shut off and restart to get back other wise great pq. Is this a problem on these units handshake or what. I know it was a bargain for $150.00 but not if I bought a lot of issues.

william06 is offline  
post #819 of 931 Old 04-12-2011, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
turned out after 3 hrs on phone with tech my main hdmi port is bad. returned the unit and got a 210. Really like it so far. very good pq , easy set up works well with my system. first thin easy set up to wireless internet, firmwar update, and really like the newer netflix menu. much nicer than the 350 . more internet options also. Do not have a 2d tv or pj so can not try that yet. Like the top sensor. Would have liked the second HDMI port and if the 310 is out before my return is up might trade fot that. Shame none of these newer players have a source direct mode. I guess cannot have everything.

william06 is offline  
post #820 of 931 Old 04-16-2011, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

Just thought I would chime in I sold my oppo93 today and was looking to replace it mabey with a 95. I really wanted a panny 300 or 350 when I fount it too late could not find one at that time. ...
W


why did you sell the Oppo93?

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #821 of 931 Old 04-16-2011, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I wanted to let people know that I returned my bdt300 and bought the Sony s5000es for $350 free shipping from AVS store. If you only care about BD/DVD/cd playback and care about analog 7.1 and 2 ch audio, thus is awesome. Burr brown DACs. 22 lbs and no expense spared design. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I love the audio quality. It is not fast loading the disc but very reliable. 5 yr warranty too.
bommai is offline  
post #822 of 931 Old 04-25-2011, 11:08 AM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up the BDT350 for a sweet deal. I also was looking at the Sammy BDD6700. I need the dual HDMI outs and was wondering if anyone here had an experience with the two and which they prefer?

aod is offline  
post #823 of 931 Old 04-25-2011, 03:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Personally, I won't buy another Samsung.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #824 of 931 Old 04-25-2011, 03:53 PM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hear that a lot. I'm really impressed with Panasonic and am gonna stick with that one. Just wondering about the other dual HDMI unit out there.

aod is offline  
post #825 of 931 Old 04-25-2011, 04:22 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
In addition to the Panasonic, there's always Oppo. More expensive, but a very good player, especially if you need a universal player.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #826 of 931 Old 04-26-2011, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

In addition to the Panasonic, there's always Oppo. More expensive, but a very good player, especially if you need a universal player.
S~

I don't know why anyone would want to buy an Oppo and pay so much? With the technology changing as fast as it does, you most likely will need to buy another one at least every two - three years anyway. Why not get a cheaper one?

lujan
652 Blu-ray
21 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #827 of 931 Old 04-26-2011, 07:21 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I don't know why anyone would want to buy an Oppo and pay so much? With the technology changing as fast as it does, you most likely will need to buy another one at least every two - three years anyway. Why not get a cheaper one?

As I said, if you need an universal player, the Panasonics do not fit the bill. I love my 350, had it since it came out. Works great in my bedroom setup. I have a 110, great player and works great in my family room. I also have an Oppo93, needed for my HT room, DVD-As and SACDs.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #828 of 931 Old 04-27-2011, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disappointed/a little annoyed at the sluggish scrolling of the pop-up menu on the Scream 2 and Scream 3 BDs ("Play Movie," "Set Up," etc.). Slight improvement upon inserting USB drive (or maybe I'm imagining that). Other Lionsgate titles I have don't behave this way.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #829 of 931 Old 04-27-2011, 02:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I've always had something or another with Lionsgate titles, regardless of player. I've learned to accept it from them. Maybe one day they'll go to authoring school like the rest of the studios.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #830 of 931 Old 05-01-2011, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Interestingly, I spun Lionsgate's The Next Three Days (Russell Crowe; dir. Paul Haggis) Friday night (recommended BTW; featuring another noteworthily, appropriately quiet mix by AVSer "FilmMixer") and had no such issues.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #831 of 931 Old 05-01-2011, 02:19 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I think I played Next three days on the Oppo or 110. No issues. I always keep an SD card in players just for Lionsgate.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #832 of 931 Old 05-01-2011, 11:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Interesting...

Haven't had any issues with my OZ BDT300 Playing Lionsgate Titles thus far or any other
Blu-ray disk touch wood & dont use A SD Card in the Blu-player or connect to network;

While its more than likely the way some BD movies are Authored, I haven't played Screem/2 but not experienced sluggish scrolling of pop-up menus & never bother with BD Live.

Running the Enhanced firmware in this player...

Cheers..
cinema mad is offline  
post #833 of 931 Old 05-20-2011, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
audiopho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North of Big D
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can i purchase either the 300 or 350 new?
I was opting for Oppo 93 but it doesn't support checkerboard so I'm stuck with Pannie for now.
I also need 7.1 outs since my legacy sound processor doesn't support all the latest sound formats.

Gen Coupe 3.8 Track w/ bolts-on tune: SRI , CBE

audiopho is offline  
post #834 of 931 Old 05-20-2011, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiopho View Post

Where can i purchase either the 300 or 350 new?
I was opting for Oppo 93 but it doesn't support checkerboard so I'm stuck with Pannie for now.
I also need 7.1 outs since my legacy sound processor doesn't support all the latest sound formats.

If indeed you're in the DFW area, I'd check out the Conn's option I discussed herein back in March.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #835 of 931 Old 05-20-2011, 05:13 PM
Member
 
USRobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a 300 that I might sell. Send me a pm.
USRobo is offline  
post #836 of 931 Old 05-23-2011, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone successfully played the Starship Troopers BD? If so, what firmware are you on?
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #837 of 931 Old 05-23-2011, 03:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Do you have a memory card in the player? That is a known flaw with ST.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #838 of 931 Old 05-23-2011, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much for the speedy reply. No, I don't have a memory card in the player. Will try that. But I do have a (tiny, old 256MB) thumb drive inserted. I thought/assumed that memory cards and USB drives served the same purpose as far as BD player external memory is concerned: you just need one or the other for some BD-Live and (unfortunately) basic disc playback on some titles. But it appears that that is not the case. Or maybe I just need a larger capacity thumb drive?
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #839 of 931 Old 05-23-2011, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Btw Troopers didn't play on my Sony BDP-S470 with no thumb drive but does after inserting that little 256MB one.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #840 of 931 Old 05-24-2011, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I believe the manual says it has to be a SD card.
DenisG is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt310 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt350 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt300 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off