Official Panasonic DMP-BDT300/350 Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 932 Old 07-09-2010, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
anacletus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonter View Post

UPDATE:
Im able to play back the mkv file, if i put it on a usb device. however using the exact same mkv file, it will not play through network..so weird

In which way are you using the network? DLNA? or plain simple network shares?
anacletus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 932 Old 07-09-2010, 06:40 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anacletus View Post

In which way are you using the network? DLNA? or plain simple network shares?


its shared through windows media player library. is there any other way ?
sonter is offline  
post #183 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 03:53 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i´ve spent a day trying various dlna servers for this, and im sorry to say the DLNA certified feature the BPT300 comes with, is not worth the paper its printed on.
Ive tried with windows media player 12 as dlna..no luck playing mkv, although other files played fine. tveristy, wild media server, twonky and bascially all dlna servers on this list (http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-...-os-x-or-linux) have I also tested with, all with various result. however none of them let me playback mkv.

Then the final test was my netgear stora DLNA certified NAS, there it wouldnt even play back a simple jpeg
sonter is offline  
post #184 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 04:22 AM
Member
 
drseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have issues with sporadic audio dropouts when playing The Wolfman (extended version)? I have tried about 10 discs since getting my 350 a couple weeks ago, but this is the first one I have had any issues with. Checked my firmware and it says it is up to date.

Thanks,

---Dave

My HT/Music System can be found here:

http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...iew&1301304581
drseid is offline  
post #185 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 05:21 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonter View Post

well i´ve spent a day trying various dlna servers for this, and im sorry to say the DLNA certified feature the BPT300 comes with, is not worth the paper its printed on.
Ive tried with windows media player 12 as dlna..no luck playing mkv, although other files played fine. tveristy, wild media server, twonky and bascially all dlna servers on this list (http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-...-os-x-or-linux) have I also tested with, all with various result. however none of them let me playback mkv.

Then the final test was my netgear stora DLNA certified NAS, there it wouldnt even play back a simple jpeg

???? The 300 isn't DLNA certified, only the 350.

http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs...407589|407590|

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #186 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

???? The 300 isn't DLNA certified, only the 350.

http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs...407589|407590|

S~

That's why the 350 cost $30 more than the 300.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #187 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 05:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post

That's why the 350 cost $30 more than the 300.

Yeap.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #188 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 05:36 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

???? The 300 isn't DLNA certified, only the 350.

http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs...407589|407590|

S~

Im sorry, i should have been more specific..the european version of the 300 is DLNA certified. we also have totally different firmeware version on ours.

http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_G...trackInfo=true
sonter is offline  
post #189 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 06:23 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonter View Post

Im sorry, i should have been more specific..the european version of the 300 is DLNA certified. we also have totally different firmeware version on ours.

http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_G...trackInfo=true

Didn't know you were in Europe. Yes the 300 is in Europe.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #190 of 932 Old 07-10-2010, 06:46 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so the question remains, why a dlna certified player is not able to playback a mkv file from any kind of dlna server. Since I know the player is able to play it back using usb, it makes no sense
sonter is offline  
post #191 of 932 Old 07-13-2010, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
anacletus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonter View Post

so the question remains, why a dlna certified player is not able to playback a mkv file from any kind of dlna server. Since I know the player is able to play it back using usb, it makes no sense

It makes perfect sense, that's why i asked in which way you were using the LAN.. AFAIK DLNA just doesn't support MKVs.. altough UPNP should..

I don't own this player but i was thinking about buying it.. is it possible to just attach network shares to it? samba, nfs or something like that? In that case, since the player is actually capable of handling the MKVs that could be the only solution to play those files over the LAN atm.. apart from the USB method

EDIT: i've just read that DLNA will implement in the future --> Support for the AVC (MPEG-4) video coding standard.. don't know when but sooner or later DLNA certified media streamers and devices will support MKVs as well.. hopefully
anacletus is offline  
post #192 of 932 Old 07-13-2010, 06:41 AM
Member
 
sonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anacletus View Post

It makes perfect sense, that's why i asked in which way you were using the LAN.. AFAIK DLNA just doesn't support MKVs.. altough UPNP should..

I don't own this player but i was thinking about buying it.. is it possible to just attach network shares to it? samba, nfs or something like that? In that case, since the player is actually capable of handling the MKVs that could be the only solution to play those files over the LAN atm.. apart from the USB method

EDIT: i've just read that DLNA will implement in the future --> Support for the AVC (MPEG-4) video coding standard.. don't know when but sooner or later DLNA certified media streamers and devices will support MKVs as well.. hopefully

its getting a bit technical for me. The player wont see anything else than a DLNA media server. I Also tried simply sharing some folders from the computer, nothing came up.
sonter is offline  
post #193 of 932 Old 07-15-2010, 03:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local Best Buy only has the 300 in stock. Is there really any reason why I should wait for the 350 or order it online?
Av8tr is offline  
post #194 of 932 Old 07-15-2010, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8tr View Post

My local Best Buy only has the 300 in stock. Is there really any reason why I should wait for the 350 or order it online?

As has been stated before the only difference between the 300 and the 350 is the DLNA capability of the 350. It appears some users of the 350 are having problems getting the DLNA to work properly. Get the 300 if that's all they have and save $30 unless DLNA is important to you.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #195 of 932 Old 07-15-2010, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've heard of some people having issues getting audio out of the secondary HDMI on the 300/350 into in Integra pre/pro or Onkyo AVR. I'm wondering if anyone here has experienced any audio dropouts with a 350/Onkyo 805 combination?

I'm running the 350 into my Onkyo TX-SR805 AVR via the HDMI 1.3 out (video off) with the HDMI 1.4 going directly to a Samsung UN55C8000. For the most part everything has been playing back flawlessly, but then I started getting audio dropouts while watching Toy Story 2 BD and King Kong Extended Edition BD. I was bitstreaming both and decoding in the Onkyo.

Anyone else have that issue with that combination and those titles?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #196 of 932 Old 07-15-2010, 05:27 PM
FSD
Member
 
FSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I've heard of some people having issues getting audio out of the secondary HDMI on the 300/350 into in Integra pre/pro or Onkyo AVR. I'm wondering if anyone here has experienced any audio dropouts with a 350/Onkyo 805 combination?

I'm running the 350 into my Onkyo TX-SR805 AVR via the HDMI 1.3 out (video off) with the HDMI 1.4 going directly to a Samsung UN55C8000. For the most part everything has been playing back flawlessly, but then I started getting audio dropouts while watching Toy Story 2 BD and King Kong Extended Edition BD. I was bitstreaming both and decoding in the Onkyo.

Anyone else have that issue with that combination and those titles?

Well, I just hooked up a 300 on a Onkyo 806 like you did, but with a Panasonci 50vt20. I only watched about 30mins on it, but no problems. I'll try to watch a full bd tomorrow and I'll get back to you.

Now, here is my problem. I connect everything and got the 300 connected to the network (with provided wireless adapter). I then goto the network and it wants to download and install a firm update. So it starts the download and at about 30% it says download was stopped and to try again. I did this about 5 times. I went into the menu and it says that its connected. Any ideas?
FSD is offline  
post #197 of 932 Old 07-15-2010, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSD View Post

Well, I just hooked up a 300 on a Onkyo 806 like you did, but with a Panasonci 50vt20. I only watched about 30mins on it, but no problems. I'll try to watch a full bd tomorrow and I'll get back to you.

Now, here is my problem. I connect everything and got the 300 connected to the network (with provided wireless adapter). I then goto the network and it wants to download and install a firm update. So it starts the download and at about 30% it says download was stopped and to try again. I did this about 5 times. I went into the menu and it says that its connected. Any ideas?

Cool, thanks.

Don't know about the download issue. Are you sure it;s not your network? I haven't experienced any issues with the 350 and networking/downloading at all.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #198 of 932 Old 07-16-2010, 12:06 AM
FSD
Member
 
FSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Np. Well, it says that its connected, not sure what else I can do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

Cool, thanks.

Don't know about the download issue. Are you sure it;s not your network? I haven't experienced any issues with the 350 and networking/downloading at all.

FSD is offline  
post #199 of 932 Old 07-16-2010, 01:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSD View Post

Np. Well, it says that its connected, not sure what else I can do.

Hmm, odd. Have you tried connecting over Ethernet instead?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #200 of 932 Old 07-16-2010, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I happen to have a problem with my panasonic 85 with the network. try doing a connection test? see if that helps. my problem is that the connection doesn't stay connected and I have to do the connection test to do the bd live.
might want to give that a try.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #201 of 932 Old 07-16-2010, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

Cool, thanks.

Don't know about the download issue. Are you sure it;s not your network? I haven't experienced any issues with the 350 and networking/downloading at all.

Ditto, flawless local network and Internet activities on my 350.

Buzz

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #202 of 932 Old 07-19-2010, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
John de Highden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elladan View Post

No, this problem is still happening, I told my contact at Panasonic, and they'll see what's going on with that.

Originally Posted by Elladan View Post
I noticed an odd issue over the past couple of days. Since I ran an HDMI from my BDT300 to my AVR, using the HDMI-Sub port, I keep having to change the HMDI-Sub setting to V.oFF. It doesn't seem to persist through power cycles. Has anyone else noticed this?

Ditto: same problem with combination Panasonic THP50VT20A, DMP-BDT300 and Yamaha RXV-765 receiver.

There have been no further comments since 18th June 2010. Panasonic Australia has replied that we should have bought a Panasonic receiver and then there would be no problem.
Can anyone assist?
John de Highden is offline  
post #203 of 932 Old 07-19-2010, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Sammie2980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I looked in the few pages of this thread and also did a search and didn't see any comments regarding this, but wanted to know if anyone has been experiencing any flickering.

I have been getting a massive amount as of last when I was streaming netflix.

I had it occur when I hooked up the player when I first got it and I changed the HDMI cable and it seemed to clear up and now it did it again. I checked the cable and I have no idea what is going on with this unit, it has only happened 2 times so far, but it was pretty damn excessive.

LivingRoom: XBR-65X900B / Oppo BDP103D / Yamaha RX-A2040 / REL T7 / HDP2500 / Def Tech Mythos Ones x 4, Eight, 2x Gem XL / PS4 / Xbox One / Wii U
Bedroom: 65ZT60 / Oppo BDP93 / Apple TV / PS3
Office: KRP-500M / Xbox 360
Sammie2980 is offline  
post #204 of 932 Old 07-20-2010, 02:42 AM
Member
 
fayazaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Anybody running the BDT-300 via HDMI (video off) thru Onkyo SR-875 for sound ?? I have read somehwere that is has issues playing HD sound , will have to run it via optical ??

Can this be true as I have a 875?
fayazaga is offline  
post #205 of 932 Old 07-20-2010, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fayazaga View Post

Is Anybody running the BDT-300 via HDMI (video off) thru Onkyo SR-875 for sound ?? I have read somehwere that is has issues playing HD sound , will have to run it via optical ??

Can this be true as I have a 875?

I have a BDT350 bitstreaming into an Onkyo 805 (video off) and I've only had issues with some audio dropouts on Toy Story 2 and King Kong so far, that's about it.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #206 of 932 Old 07-20-2010, 09:07 AM
FSD
Member
 
FSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I've had a chance to watch a few movies and I've yet to have any sound problems (300 and onkyo 806) with the secondary hdmi audio out.

As for the network, it was connted and kept dropping during firmware update. I restarted the unit and I have not had any more problems.

I wonder if the 300 would take the 350 firmware, maybe let it do the dlna? Although, I'm not sure why I want the dlna feature...doubt I'd use it, but just wondering.
FSD is offline  
post #207 of 932 Old 07-20-2010, 07:59 PM
Member
 
mikeypas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me out regarding setting up a DLNA server on a MAC ?
I've tried various softwares, some of them mentioned above, and some of them see the Panasonic player, some don't. I've disabled firewalls on the mac and the router, but no help.

Anyone can recommend a software title or might have some suggestions how to get it to work? (The software iSedora was the closest, ie. it being able to detect the panasonic on the network)..

Thanks
mikeypas is offline  
post #208 of 932 Old 07-21-2010, 12:27 AM
Member
 
mikeypas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Replying to my own message, I got the DLNA server to work, however, is there a way to know what formats the BDT350PP can play?
I have used Isedora, Serviio, Eyeconnect etc.. it seems like the BDT350PP won't play any audio (mp4 - itunes, even if DRM free), and the video won't play anything (AVI, MOV, MPG, DIVX, etc....)

so i'm still at a loss. I thought that if a format isn't available, the software is supposed to transcode it?

Again, suggestions are appreciated!
mikeypas is offline  
post #209 of 932 Old 07-21-2010, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watch .ts files from my HD-Homerun with only one issue - FF and REW performance sucks.

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #210 of 932 Old 07-21-2010, 11:33 PM
Member
 
fayazaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I have a BDT350 bitstreaming into an Onkyo 805 (video off) and I've only had issues with some audio dropouts on Toy Story 2 and King Kong so far, that's about it.

These are the only movies you had issues with , Is it ??

what i am hearing its the Onkyo series ending with '5' having issues like 805, 875 etc.....but I may be wrong?

I am almost in the process of getting the whole set as in VT-20 and the BDT-300 ...dont wanna go wrong with the audio issue !!
fayazaga is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt310 Integrated Wi Fi 3d Blu Ray Dvd Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt350 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bdt300 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - Bdt310 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off