Problem playing "AVATAR" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marruska92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having problem playing Avatar on Pioneer BDP-320 player. It played with the old firmware but had problem with the picture having artifact on the screen then upgrade the firmware to 3.54 now will not play the movie at all. I'm getting the the warning sign that I need to update the firmware. Anybody having this problem with there player.
marruska92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I saw issues with the Pioneer 05/51 and 09! Looks, at this point, to be Pioneer only. This has been their history... Surprised to see the Samsungs not choking on it...

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #3 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marruska92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will test later today on older Samsung and Panasonic player see if they have any problem playing the movie.
marruska92 is offline  
post #4 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by marruska92 View Post

Having problem playing Avatar on Pioneer BDP-320 player. It played with the old firmware but had problem with the picture having artifact on the screen then upgrade the firmware to 3.54 now will not play the movie at all. I'm getting the the warning sign that I need to update the firmware. Anybody having this problem with there player.

I thought the Avatar release date was Thursday..??

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is offline  
post #5 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I pre-ordered Avatar from Best Buy. Best Buy sent me an e-mail yesterday saying that "This email is to inform you of a possible firmware update you may need in order to receive the best quality when viewing the blu-ray."

I also see that Sony issued updates for most of their BD players on April 9th. So I would doubt this is a Pioneer only problem.

Every time one of the major BD movies is released and causes this problem, I think of Warren Zevon and sing the chorus form his little song, "Send lawyers, guns, and money. The **** has hit the fan."


Edit: Version 3.65 for the BDP-320 is available here from the UK site: http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/content/...grade/BDP.html

For some reason, the US site is always a few days behind.
b curry is offline  
post #6 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here are the links for the firmware updates to play AVATAR on the 51/320. Note that these firmware work fine on US players and the firmware file is identical to US firmware - the region/etc is stored independently of the firmware. Process to update is also same as the US firmware.

Pioneer BDP-320/23FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...X52_Ver365.zip

Pioneer BDP-51FD/05FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...1FD_Ver165.zip

Pioneer BDP-09FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...X91_Ver265.zip

Enjoy!

Vote with your wallet. Don't buy Cinavia-infected Blu-ray Discs! Why pay a premium for pseudo-lossless audio damaged by an intrusive watermark in the audible spectrum?
Ruined is offline  
post #7 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

I also see that Sony issued updates for most of their BD players on April 9th. So I would doubt this is a Pioneer only problem.

I don't see no firmware update for my Sony BDP-S360. The last one was Version 007, which was released back in Oct 09.
MrHT is offline  
post #8 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

I don't see no firmware update for my Sony BDP-S360. The last one was Version 007, which was released back in Oct 09.

That would be "I don't see any firmware update...."

Well then you're either:

A. not in need of one.
B. out of luck.

Sorry, as I said, Sony issued updates for "most" of their BD players on April 9th. Perhaps I should have added, YMMV.
b curry is offline  
post #9 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

That would be "I don't see any firmware update...."

Yeah, I think we don't need no update for my Sony. It does not cause no problems for nobody.

It's the way my co-workers talk. So, I figured I'd run with it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

Well then you're either:

A. not in need of one.
B. or out of luck.

Sorry, as I said, Sony issued updates for "most" of their BD players on April 9th. Perhaps I should have added, YMMV.

Probably, A. This player doesn't seem to be problematic for people. It's the main reason why I bought it. If it has issues running Avatar, then this will be the first problem for this model.
MrHT is offline  
post #10 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marruska92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local video store had the copy last week for rent and and for sale. Thanks! Will download and try the firmware V365 tonight and hopefully will work.
marruska92 is offline  
post #11 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Here are the links for the firmware updates to play AVATAR on the 51/320. Note that these firmware work fine on US players and the firmware file is identical to US firmware - the region/etc is stored independently of the firmware. Process to update is also same as the US firmware.

Pioneer BDP-320/23FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...X52_Ver365.zip

Pioneer BDP-51FD/05FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...1FD_Ver165.zip

Pioneer BDP-09FD update for AVATAR
http://www.pioneer.de/files/support/...X91_Ver265.zip

Enjoy!

Thanks Ruined!

Saturn94 is offline  
post #12 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

I would imagine there will be more reports of woe and loathing for various machines in the next days. I wish you luck. I have to update firmware for three machines. This ritual of down loading, burning a disk, and praying for a successful update is getting a bit old.

Well, someone at blu-ray.com has confirmed that it plays fine on the Sony BDP-S360. It just takes a minute to load. Other than that, it works ok.

I knew Sony wouldn't let me down. Even if it did have issues, Sony would've released a firmware update for it already. They're usually prompt with stuff like that. But owners of a Samsung player should probably be a little worried.
MrHT is offline  
post #13 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

Well, someone at blu-ray.com has confirmed that it plays fine on the Sony BDP-S360. It just takes a minute to load. Other than that, it works ok.

I knew Sony wouldn't let me down. Even if it did have issues, Sony would've released a firmware update for it already. They're usually prompt with stuff like that. But owners of a Samsung player should probably be a little worried.

Good for you; wise choice!
b curry is offline  
post #14 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 11:49 AM
 
googlegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

Well, someone at blu-ray.com has confirmed that it plays fine on the Sony BDP-S360. It just takes a minute to load. Other than that, it works ok.

I knew Sony wouldn't let me down. Even if it did have issues, Sony would've released a firmware update for it already. They're usually prompt with stuff like that. But owners of a Samsung player should probably be a little worried.

Anything about the old sony 350 ?

I'll rent it for a buck, The last BR disc played was "Sherlock Holmes" no problems.
googlegod is offline  
post #15 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 12:01 PM
Member
 
bigcoupe2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I just spoke with someone from Pioneer regarding Avatar not working with any of the new Pioneer blu ray Players they are currently working on a new firmware that should be available next week to solve the problem so Avatar will play.
bigcoupe2003 is offline  
post #16 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 12:04 PM
Member
 
bigcoupe2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I just noticed someone put Pioneer euro updates up to play avatar I have a pioneer bdp-09FD does anyone have an update link from that or can pm me one also I am downloading off a mac osx
bigcoupe2003 is offline  
post #17 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcoupe2003 View Post

I just spoke with someone from Pioneer regarding Avatar not working with any of the new Pioneer blu ray Players they are currently working on a new firmware that should be available next week to solve the problem so Avatar will play.

Maybe you want to read the thread. It's available everywhere in the world, multiple sites, except the US Pioneer web site. You just have to click one of the links above in this thread, down load it and update your machine. One click, no waiting.

Edit: The link for the 09 is above too!
b curry is offline  
post #18 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcoupe2003 View Post

I just spoke with someone from Pioneer regarding Avatar not working with any of the new Pioneer blu ray Players they are currently working on a new firmware that should be available next week to solve the problem so Avatar will play.

Doesn't the EURO firmware RUINED posted fix Avatar???

Poor sucker Pioneer owners that don't read AVS. Who'd know what to do if not found out on websites like AVS??

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #19 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Doesn't the EURO firmware RUINED posted fix Avatar???

Poor sucker Pioneer owners that don't read AVS. Who'd know what to do if not found out on websites like AVS??

The FWs are confirmed to fix the issue. And yes, AVS rocks

Vote with your wallet. Don't buy Cinavia-infected Blu-ray Discs! Why pay a premium for pseudo-lossless audio damaged by an intrusive watermark in the audible spectrum?
Ruined is offline  
post #20 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have confirmation that Avatar will not (currently) play on the Samsung BD-UP5000. My friend receives a red screen with a message stating that the movie will not play without an update to the player, and then urges him to contact his player's manufacturer. He is concerned as he has never had this issue, and fears (given the discontinued status of his player) that Samsung will hang him out to dry.

SpenceJT

www.spenceplace.com

"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #21 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpenceJT View Post

I have confirmation that Avatar will not (currently) play on the Samsung BD-UP5000. My friend receives a red screen with a message stating that the movie will not play without an update to the player, and then urges him to contact his player's manufacturer. He is concerned as he has never had this issue, and fears (given the discontinued status of his player) that Samsung will hang him out to dry.

I'm presumably going to be in the same boat as I have a bd-up5000. However, I would assume Samsung will either release a firmware upgrade for all of none of their older players. The 5000 combo player has had a more recent firmware upgrade than their 1000 model, the first blu-ray player they released.

Click here for my home theater setup
Spanbauer is offline  
post #22 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The red screens people are getting on various players are indicative of a BD+ DRM error. They must have a new revision of BD+ launching with Avatar, which is not surprising.

Vote with your wallet. Don't buy Cinavia-infected Blu-ray Discs! Why pay a premium for pseudo-lossless audio damaged by an intrusive watermark in the audible spectrum?
Ruined is offline  
post #23 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanbauer View Post

I'm presumably going to be in the same boat as I have a bd-up5000. However, I would assume Samsung will either release a firmware upgrade for all of none of their older players. The 5000 combo player has had a more recent firmware upgrade than their 1000 model, the first blu-ray player they released.

I had one of the first 5K's in my area, but sold it off along with the 20 or so HD DVD titles that I had collected a number of months after the HD DVD format was killed off.

Here is the latest from my friend with the BD-UP5000

Note - this was his second contact with Samsung regarding the issue. His first attempt resulted in Samsung suggesting that he perform a reset, and re-apply the v1.04 firmware. He did, and of course the issue remained unchanged.

Quote:


Please wait for a Samsung Agent to respond.

You are now chatting with 'Pamela'

Visitor: Hi. I was wondering when a firmware update will be avaial for my Blu-ray player Bd-UP5000. I have the current release but yet Avatar says I need an update to play movie.
Pamela: What is the firmware version on your player?
Visitor: Version 1.4, which is the latest on your download center for my player.
Pamela: Yes it is the latest firmware version on your player
Visitor: Does that mean one is not in the works adn any other 20th Century movie I can't watch??
Pamela: Just to confirm, all the other discs works fine with no issues on your player?
Visitor: Correct, this is the first time I have ever encountered a red screen after loading saying that my player needs an update adn to check manufacter's website. I have been extremely please with thsi player until that night. ;-)
Pamela: I apologize for the inconvenience. It appears to be a firmware issue, we had similar issue and we forwarded the issue to product support department. New firmware will be releases as soon as possible.

Now then, don't you think that it would be prudent for the studios or companies mastering the release, to inform hardware manufacturers of an upcoming change to the DRM, and perhaps... oh, ...I don't know, provide them with a sample of material utilizing the new DRM for the purpose of testing, so that they may in some way have a firmware update ready to release? Call me crazy... SHEESH!!! SAMSUNG!

SpenceJT

www.spenceplace.com

"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #24 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpenceJT View Post

Now then, don't you think that it would be prudent for the studios or companies mastering the release, to inform hardware manufacturers of an upcoming change to the DRM, and perhaps... oh, ...I don't know, provide them with a sample of material utilizing the new DRM for the purpose of testing, so that they may in some way have a firmware update ready to release? Call me crazy... SHEESH!!! SAMSUNG!

No kidding. There's no good reason they couldn't have these updates ready to roll with the first title to use newer BD+5 hits the street, especially with such a massive title like Avatar.

I started contacting Samsung support about Avatar and the BD-UP5000 last night; I wonder if i was the "similar issue".

Click here for my home theater setup
Spanbauer is offline  
post #25 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 04:22 PM
Member
 
bigcoupe2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I attempted downloading the firmware several times for the BDP-09FD euro version it never seems to work every time I put it in the player it says DATA DISC is there anyone who can help me solve this problem so I too can watch AVATAR I have attempted on my mac osx and also on a windows based computer.
bigcoupe2003 is offline  
post #26 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 04:28 PM
Member
 
rbye05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
big you have to burn the firmware as an iso image.
rbye05 is offline  
post #27 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcoupe2003 View Post

I attempted downloading the firmware several times for the BDP-09FD euro version it never seems to work every time I put it in the player it says DATA DISC is there anyone who can help me solve this problem so I too can watch AVATAR I have attempted on my mac osx and also on a windows based computer.

Are you using imgburn or Windows Disc Image Burner to burn the .iso file? You have to actually burn the image as an image, you can't just copy the .iso file to a CD-R or it will give you the data disc error.

Vote with your wallet. Don't buy Cinavia-infected Blu-ray Discs! Why pay a premium for pseudo-lossless audio damaged by an intrusive watermark in the audible spectrum?
Ruined is offline  
post #28 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 06:26 PM
Member
 
bigcoupe2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
when I was using the windows i did just right click the file and extract it to a folder then had it written on the cd could you tell me the correct steps please cause I have gone through 6 CD's already and even what programs I would need if any and if they are freely downloadable
bigcoupe2003 is offline  
post #29 of 239 Old 04-20-2010, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
pal1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's also on the Denon... i have a Denon BDP-AIUDCI and i got the same red screen error... however the first time i put it in it played perfectly! It pixelated here and there i thought it was a bad disc so i buffed it and tried again got about 10 mins of good movie then it pixealted... finally switched the disc to another Avatar... and got the red screen... (i sell them LOL) i tried the original disc and i got the red screen telling me i needed updated software on that too... i checked and my software is the latest... called Denon and they said they will make a note of it.

Hope it's fixed ASAP... no fun watching it through my PS3!... Sucks that the PS3 works and the $4,500 Denon doesn't!

Middle Tennessee & S.W. Florida
www.premieracousticlifestyles.com
see it. hear it. feel it.
Brad Bossman
pal1982 is offline  
post #30 of 239 Old 04-21-2010, 07:51 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcoupe2003 View Post

when I was using the windows i did just right click the file and extract it to a folder then had it written on the cd could you tell me the correct steps please cause I have gone through 6 CD's already and even what programs I would need if any and if they are freely downloadable

I use Nero. All you have to do is download firmware to a folder on your desktop. Put a CD-R in. Open folder on your desktop, double click on firmware icon then double click on the next firmware icon and it will open Nero and be ready to Burn Image. Click the Burn button and that's it!
gce is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off