DBP2011 & DBP-1611 owner's thread. All questions and comments go here. - Page 34 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > DBP2011 & DBP-1611 owner's thread. All questions and comments go here.

Blu-ray Players

mogorf's Avatar mogorf
12:11 PM Liked: 128
post #991 of 1055
11-26-2012 | Posts: 4,488
Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzjas View Post

Hi just wondering if anyone would be able to help. I am having problems with my 1611. I recently just moved. About a week ago. Everything on the player was working just fine. However, now the remote control will not work. I have a harmony 770 remote. Tried updating the remote. Tried using the original remote and it is not working either. Not sure if i can do a factory restart to fix this, or if something got messed up. Any help please.

Just to clarify matters, is it the remotes that are not working or the 1611? Does the red LED on the original remote come up when you press a button? Does the 1611 work in itself?
benzjas's Avatar benzjas
01:08 PM Liked: 10
post #992 of 1055
11-26-2012 | Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2006
Sorry for being unclear. Yes the player works just fine. It just isnt receiving IR signal from either the orginal remote or the Harmony 700.
mogorf's Avatar mogorf
01:14 PM Liked: 128
post #993 of 1055
11-26-2012 | Posts: 4,488
Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzjas View Post

Sorry for being unclear. Yes the player works just fine. It just isnt receiving IR signal from either the orginal remote or the Harmony 700.

OK. Thanks. I'm not familiar with the Harmony, but does the red LED on the original remote light up when pressing any button?
benzjas's Avatar benzjas
03:45 PM Liked: 10
post #994 of 1055
11-26-2012 | Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2006
yes it does
Krutsch's Avatar Krutsch
05:32 PM Liked: 36
post #995 of 1055
11-26-2012 | Posts: 403
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzjas View Post

yes it does

Call Denon support... it sounds like the remote sensor on the 1611 has failed and you will need to send / drop it off for service.
T-smith's Avatar T-smith
06:17 PM Liked: 10
post #996 of 1055
12-19-2012 | Posts: 959
Joined: May 2006
Anyone else have audio dropouts with Total Recall 2012 and the 1611 when bitstreaming?

Normally I would think it was the denon receiver but I tried my PS3 Bitstream and was fine
gardear1's Avatar gardear1
05:53 PM Liked: 11
post #997 of 1055
12-23-2012 | Posts: 40
Joined: Dec 2009
I don't have the 1611..... But I found bitstream drop outs on both my Pioneer and Samsung players with Total Recall,
gardear1's Avatar gardear1
05:54 PM Liked: 11
post #998 of 1055
12-23-2012 | Posts: 40
Joined: Dec 2009
Forgot to add, with a 2310 receiver.
tron1974's Avatar tron1974
09:30 PM Liked: 10
post #999 of 1055
12-24-2012 | Posts: 93
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardear1 View Post

I don't have the 1611..... But I found bitstream drop outs on both my Pioneer and Samsung players with Total Recall,

I rented this from Redbox and it was dropping out randomly through out the movie with my 1611 and 4311 receiver. It was really annoying.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
10:46 AM Liked: 90
post #1000 of 1055
01-28-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auditor55 View Post

They should've had wireless capability for this player if they were going make it internet ready. Be that as it may, I still don't understand why Youtube and Netflix is needed on Blu Ray player, particular for a HT enthusiatic.

Is there an adaptor on the market that can plug into this unit to make it wifi capable?
batpig's Avatar batpig
11:06 AM Liked: 1602
post #1001 of 1055
01-28-2013 | Posts: 25,046
Joined: Feb 2007
There is no specific made-for-this-unit adapter (like a USB wifi dongle) but you can use any wireless bridge to add wired connectivity in your HT rack: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=wireless+bridge
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
01:00 PM Liked: 90
post #1002 of 1055
01-28-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Thanks! From what I've read, though, it sounds like I don't want any part of the updates and the online content available on some BluRay discs.
I got the player in June, 2012 and it came with the addendum to the owner's manual for 3D. It has been working perfectly in that regard and has
only frozen up a couple of times and needed the cord pulled out -- far less frequently than most previous DVD players I've used.
If I were to connect a wifi adaptor, what speed would be adequate? Some advertise 100 mbps and some are 450 mbps with some in between.
My Quattron 3D TV already has internet wifi capability, so I would probably only use it for updates and interactive BluRay features...
batpig's Avatar batpig
01:16 PM Liked: 1602
post #1003 of 1055
01-28-2013 | Posts: 25,046
Joined: Feb 2007
Honestly the interactive Blu-Ray features are garbage. If you aren't going to use the network streaming and just are concerned about firmware updates, just drag it over into the room with the router temporarily and do the update with a hard-wire connection, then throw it back in the rack and move on with your life. IMO.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
01:45 PM Liked: 90
post #1004 of 1055
01-28-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
That confirms what I've gathered from the comments.
It sounds like I don't need an update if everything is working ok.
If I were to update, though, would I be able to do that without onscreen instructions?
I can't drag the TV into the room with the router...
gardear1's Avatar gardear1
04:04 AM Liked: 11
post #1005 of 1055
01-29-2013 | Posts: 40
Joined: Dec 2009
Looking at a 1713 but can get a steal on the 1611 right now at bb. Does it do Netflix streaming with dd+?
tron1974's Avatar tron1974
01:40 PM Liked: 10
post #1006 of 1055
01-29-2013 | Posts: 93
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post

Thanks! From what I've read, though, it sounds like I don't want any part of the updates and the online content available on some BluRay discs.
I got the player in June, 2012 and it came with the addendum to the owner's manual for 3D. It has been working perfectly in that regard and has
only frozen up a couple of times and needed the cord pulled out -- far less frequently than most previous DVD players I've used.
If I were to connect a wifi adaptor, what speed would be adequate? Some advertise 100 mbps and some are 450 mbps with some in between.
My Quattron 3D TV already has internet wifi capability, so I would probably only use it for updates and interactive BluRay features...

I use this one. http://www.netgear.com/home/products/hometheater/networking-for-home-theater-and-gaming/WNCE2001.aspx

I connect it to a switch and connect my Denon 4311 receiver, Denon 1611 blu-ray and Xbox 360. Works like a champ. You are limited to whatever wireless N speeds you get though. I got mine for $30 online last year.

Eventually, I will hard wire everything in place, but it works for now.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
04:34 PM Liked: 90
post #1007 of 1055
01-29-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Thanks for the info! Looks like you got a bargain over the brick and mortar stores.
I'll check around -- maybe the same outfit where I got the 1611 for half the retail price!
Danen1973's Avatar Danen1973
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #1008 of 1055
02-05-2013 | Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2007
Can someone tell me if DBP-1611 works with Donon's free iPhone/iPad app?
Wildgift's Avatar Wildgift
01:54 PM Liked: 10
post #1009 of 1055
02-08-2013 | Posts: 73
Joined: Nov 2006
Picked up a new 1611 at BB on clearance for $149. Works great with my Marantz SR5006. Looking forward to some DVD-A discs arriving to try that out (Ordered "Tommy").

The BB website has a place to check for clearance. Some great deals to be had if you look store by store.

To confirm, this is bitstreaming even though the front panel says that a BR is DTS HD, right? I set it to bitstream over HDMI.

Thanks
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
05:36 AM Liked: 90
post #1010 of 1055
02-09-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Mine is connected to an older Yamaha receiver that predates HDMI by a couple of years.
It receives a DTS signal from BluRays and converts them internally. It downconverts BluRay to 96/24 maximum.
It has trouble with Dolby, though, by losing the center channel when trying to play the new standard.
DTS is backward-compatible with any DTS-capable receiver, but Dolby is not. I've since read this many places.
Some early BluRay discs were incorporating just the new Dolby sound and it sounds awful if you can't support it.
I end up listening to the soundtracks on the TV's speakers in order to hear the dialog tracks.
DTS is superb. Bitstream feeds the TV speakers with a stereo signal.
Too bad I like the Yamaha so much -- I'm really tempted to junk it for an HDMI receiver...
Old AV Buff's Avatar Old AV Buff
03:51 AM Liked: 10
post #1011 of 1055
02-16-2013 | Posts: 135
Joined: Feb 2008
I bought my Denon DBP-1611UD about a month ago. Love it, No problems until I put Sunshine BD in. The disc has a PIP that can play to show how they made a scene during the movie. I can not see how to turn off this feature. Any suggestions?
Old AV Buff's Avatar Old AV Buff
03:56 AM Liked: 10
post #1012 of 1055
02-16-2013 | Posts: 135
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfull View Post

Mine is connected to an older Yamaha receiver that predates HDMI by a couple of years.
It receives a DTS signal from BluRays and converts them internally. It downconverts BluRay to 96/24 maximum.
It has trouble with Dolby, though, by losing the center channel when trying to play the new standard.
DTS is backward-compatible with any DTS-capable receiver, but Dolby is not. I've since read this many places.
Some early BluRay discs were incorporating just the new Dolby sound and it sounds awful if you can't support it.
I end up listening to the soundtracks on the TV's speakers in order to hear the dialog tracks.
DTS is superb. Bitstream feeds the TV speakers with a stereo signal.
Too bad I like the Yamaha so much -- I'm really tempted to junk it for an HDMI receiver...

Seems back compatibility is now a second though with older receivers. I have a Onkyo SR706 receiver I love. I bought a Denon DBP-1611UD BD player & LG 3-D Smart TV but you have to have a newer receiver to pass the 3-D signal through HDMI, the Onkyo won't.
14U2NV's Avatar 14U2NV
12:50 PM Liked: 11
post #1013 of 1055
02-16-2013 | Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2006
Has anyone been successfull playing an MKV file with DTS HD Master audio on their DBP-1611 either over a network or from the USB port?

Before, the DBP would just lock up when I tried to play an MKV with DTS HD Master. With the latest updates, it now says that it's an unsupported audio format when I try.

I posted about this before, but nobody replied that tried an MKV with DTS HD Master at that time.



Old post below...

Has anyone been able to play .mkv files over their network with a DBP-1611UD?

It usually sees my PC, but rarely sees my dedicated server/NAS. On the rare ocasion it does see the server, it will disappear from the list if I try to play a mkv.

I've tried playing all types/sizes of mkv files and it only occasionally sees them (even the mkvs on my PC). If it does, it locks up when I try to play them. I've only been able to play small .avi files with it so far.

It also seems to lock up sometimes when I go to a folder that contains an mkv.

My entire home is fully hardwired gigabit with CAT6 and everything else works fine on the network. My AVR-4311ci, TV, PCs, and 5 WDTVs all work fine, see the server and play files fine. This must be an issue with the 1611.

BTW...The only reason I want to play them through the 1611 is because the WDTV Live+ does not pass DTS HD Master through and I was curious if the 1611 would...

John
matcartier's Avatar matcartier
12:35 PM Liked: 10
post #1014 of 1055
02-19-2013 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2013
I've been thumbing through this thread for a while trying to find an answer to my issue... can't find it so i'll get right to it:
I have a video stutter with netflix and it's killing me, everything else is great. Unit is brand new out of the box yesterday, hardwired to internet (cable) and hdmi connected to a Sony XBR6. Firmware is current, Xbox 360 shows no sign of the problem when connected with the same cables.
Has anyone had a problem like this? If so was it correctable? I bought the unit because of the great price BB had on it and the quality of sound and picture that I knew would come with it.
Any info would be helpful. I have already tried turning off the hdmi deep color option because i saw a thread somewhere that said to try it. I really don't want to return this thing because of a poor setup on my part.
Thanks
Mat
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
02:52 AM Liked: 90
post #1015 of 1055
02-20-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old AV Buff View Post

Seems back compatibility is now a second though with older receivers. I have a Onkyo SR706 receiver I love. I bought a Denon DBP-1611UD BD player & LG 3-D Smart TV but you have to have a newer receiver to pass the 3-D signal through HDMI, the Onkyo won't.

With my obsoleted Yamaha, I send the sound signal via coax or optical and send the video to the TV via HDMI.
Somehow, the BluRay player synchronizes the signals and there is rarely a lip synch issue -- happened just twice, with very old DVDs (not BluRay) discs of questionable authorship. Otherwise, the TV picture plays perfectly in synch with the Yamaha surround sound...
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
02:57 AM Liked: 90
post #1016 of 1055
02-20-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by matcartier View Post

I've been thumbing through this thread for a while trying to find an answer to my issue... can't find it so i'll get right to it:
I have a video stutter with netflix and it's killing me, everything else is great. Unit is brand new out of the box yesterday, hardwired to internet (cable) and hdmi connected to a Sony XBR6. Firmware is current, Xbox 360 shows no sign of the problem when connected with the same cables.
Has anyone had a problem like this? If so was it correctable? I bought the unit because of the great price BB had on it and the quality of sound and picture that I knew would come with it.
Any info would be helpful. I have already tried turning off the hdmi deep color option because i saw a thread somewhere that said to try it. I really don't want to return this thing because of a poor setup on my part.
Thanks
Mat

I had a stutter issue with mine just this week -- first time ever. Watching the second of the Sherlock Holmes BluRays, there were maybe a dozen times when the edited cut from
one scene to the next would make the player repeat a couple of frames -- usually when the cut was to an action scene already in progress. It was subtle, but disctracting and
I sat and counted the times and wondered if the disc would freeze or otherwise deteriorate further. The disc was shipped carelessly and was loose in its container when it
arrived, so it might have had scuffs or something. Otherwise, no stutters with this unit. Haven't connected it to the internet yet, though. TV does that for itself...
matcartier's Avatar matcartier
05:08 PM Liked: 10
post #1017 of 1055
02-21-2013 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2013
mine is constant, but only with streaming. BD looks awesome.
nismo604's Avatar nismo604
12:42 AM Liked: 17
post #1018 of 1055
02-22-2013 | Posts: 453
Joined: Feb 2007
Anyone having issues playing a 3D disc? I've had this player for over a year now and I have recently upgraded to a 3D display. The player shows the 3D image but makes a weird vibrating sound as if its over spinning the disc. After I ejected the disc it played fine with no vibration. I though it was just an anomaly but it's happened a couple times now.
Thom0pson's Avatar Thom0pson
12:50 AM Liked: 10
post #1019 of 1055
02-22-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013
The BDP-2011UDCI does not have DL4. You need to go up to the DBP-4010UDCI to get that.
johnfull's Avatar johnfull
05:00 AM Liked: 90
post #1020 of 1055
02-23-2013 | Posts: 1,334
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo604 View Post

Anyone having issues playing a 3D disc? I've had this player for over a year now and I have recently upgraded to a 3D display. The player shows the 3D image but makes a weird vibrating sound as if its over spinning the disc. After I ejected the disc it played fine with no vibration. I though it was just an anomaly but it's happened a couple times now.

Just once, and it was not a 3D disc -- just coincidence for you? We loaded a disc of the second Sherlock Holmes movie and it vibrated when it got to the main feature.
We ejected it and re-inserted it and it played fine. When it was shipped from Amazon, the disc came loose inside it's case and may have gotten scratched. More than
a dozen times during play, the movie would cut from one scene into a fast-action sequence and there would be a couple of frames that repeated, or stuttered. This is the
first and only time for a poorly-performing disc and may be the result of scratching. I was afraid it would freeze and ruin the movie experience, but it never did. Instead,
the worry ruined the experience for me, but not my fellow viewers who didn't notice or care about the anomalies...
Tags: Denon Dbp 1611ud Universal Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player Black , Blu Ray Players

Gear in this thread
Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3