AVS Marantz UD5005 Owner's Thread: All questions and discussions go here - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 120 Old 08-19-2012, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
HaaVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solved. Thanks to a guy on Dutch Marantz forum who had a comparable issue, only his UD-5005 skipped also without enabling pure direct.
Solution is to connect HDMI and analog cables to BR-input (I had the analog cables connected to the CD-input). Then switch between HDMI and Analog in the amp's input menu. rolleyes.gif
HaaVee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 120 Old 08-19-2012, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
davidbarrickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaaVee View Post

Solved. Thanks to a guy on Dutch Marantz forum who had a comparable issue, only his UD-5005 skipped also without enabling pure direct.
Solution is to connect HDMI and analog cables to BR-input (I had the analog cables connected to the CD-input). Then switch between HDMI and Analog in the amp's input menu. rolleyes.gif

Glad you were able to get your issue resolved. On the SR's remote look for a button near the top labelled "A/D"... this allows you switch between HDMI,
Digital (coax/opt) and analog inputs WITHOUT having to go all the way in to the amp's input menu.
This recommendation is based on my experience with the SR-7005, thinking that the remote for your SR
may have the same capability.
davidbarrickman is offline  
post #93 of 120 Old 08-20-2012, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
HaaVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank for the suggestion, but unfortunately the (European version of the) 5006 remote doesn't sport such a button. And since I don't want to fire up my TV jut for a mnu, there's a whole lot of learning-by-heart-blind-button-pushing going on here: (4 variants, from 'cold start' choosing HDMI or Analog, plus from 'warm situation' changing to/from the two options). I'd almost upgrade to a SR-7005 for this reason alone....mad.gif
HaaVee is offline  
post #94 of 120 Old 09-09-2012, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Noticed there's a new firmware update. Anyone have any idea what it's supposed to do? And has anyone applied it yet? Any problems?
DrOct is offline  
post #95 of 120 Old 09-10-2012, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Ive just ordered a Marantz 5007, do they actually have a site to keep up with updates or does the box just tell you when there is something new LOL?

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #96 of 120 Old 09-11-2012, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There may be a site where they describe the updates, but I'm not aware of where that site is...
DrOct is offline  
post #97 of 120 Old 09-11-2012, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
diego dela vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hallo to everyone! I'm trying to solve a problem regarding 24fps freezing MKV videos... May the region free hack get rid of this annoying issue? My Marantz UD5005 is Italian, and properly reads 25fps mkv files, while 24fps ones freeze every second. I also tried to have a look to the service menus (I spotted at least two of them) but they are difficult to understand.
diego dela vega is offline  
post #98 of 120 Old 10-28-2012, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Two things: 1)We just got another firmware update. I know it's probably futile to ask as Marantz doesn't generally give out too much info on these, but any idea what it did this time?

2) Region Free Hack? I must have missed something because I had no idea there was such an option for this player. I'd be very interested in that. I just came across a movie I'd love to get (Akira on Blu Ray), but they've apparently stopped making the Region 1 version, so the only version available at a reasonable price is the Region 2 version.
DrOct is offline  
post #99 of 120 Old 11-22-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was curious if there was a forum for the Marantz UD 7007 universal bluray player? I tried searching for it with no luck. I was looking for a player that excelled in 2-channel listening. The only other player I am looking at is the Oppo 103 or 105.
mt14942 is offline  
post #100 of 120 Old 11-28-2012, 10:36 PM
Member
 
badbad2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post

I was curious if there was a forum for the Marantz UD 7007 universal bluray player? I tried searching for it with no luck. I was looking for a player that excelled in 2-channel listening. The only other player I am looking at is the Oppo 103 or 105.

Me too, I just bought a UD7007 because it almost same price as Oppo 103 at my country.

Why not change this thread to UD5007/UD7007 ?
badbad2000 is offline  
post #101 of 120 Old 11-29-2012, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Because this thread is about the 5005. It doesnt' really make sense to change this thread's topic just because a new player has come out. Start up a new thread on the new players!
DrOct is offline  
post #102 of 120 Old 02-13-2013, 11:24 PM
Newbie
 
therobsclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have an open box player at best buy for 250. Good buy at that price? Works like a charm.
therobsclub is offline  
post #103 of 120 Old 02-14-2013, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Assuming it's in good condition that's a really great deal!
DrOct is offline  
post #104 of 120 Old 02-18-2013, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
SurfsUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Wages
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you check out your local Bestbuy Magnolia stores, these are on clearance.

I just got one from local BB Magnolia for $199.99, it was in very good condition and was a display unit.
Actually I got it for much less cause I had a digital rewards coupon for $75 off but the store manager could not get the coupon to enter and work.
So in the end, he just manually discounted my UD5005 for $124.99.
SurfsUP is offline  
post #105 of 120 Old 02-19-2013, 09:03 AM
Member
 
MartinDaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up one yesterday at the BB for $224.99. No box but otherwise in good condition. I found one issue, it's relatively quiet on all formats I tried, CD, SACD, DVD and Blu-Ray, but on the two 3-D Blu-Ray disks I own, the unit vibrates loudly.
MartinDaniels is offline  
post #106 of 120 Old 04-19-2013, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidbarrickman View Post


One annoying limitation of my 5005 has been with SD DVD and DVD-A...when I put the player in source direct mode and use my AVR's up-conversion to 1080p via HDMI the audio output from the 5005 is limited up to 48 kHz. Not an issue with most discs but with some YES...DTS 96/24 and DVD-As at 96 kHz are output at 48kHz when 5005 is in source direct. When I change this setting to 1080p(using the 5005's "non-Anchor Bay" up-conversion/ AVR video processing off) the higher resolution audio is output from the 5005!

So I was just playing around with the player and found that it's possible this issue has been resolved via one of the firmware updates we've gotten since this was posted. I had basically just left my player in 1080p mode all the time as per your suggestion above (my receiver doesn't have an upconverter in it and I haven't really found the one in my TV to be super amazing), but tonight I got to wondering if maybe this issue had been resolved. I was just playing around with this with a DVD-A that's encoded at 96khz. No matter what resolution mode I put the player in (I didn't try EVERY one but I did try Auto, Source Direct, 1080p, and even 480i) it happily played everything at 96khz, never once dropping down to 48khz. (Or at least my receiver, an SR-5006 was saying it was getting a 96khz signal, and I couldn't hear any difference in the sound after it made the switch, though there was a brief pause in the music whenever I switched).

If you've updated your firmware I'd be interested to hear your experiences Davidbarrickman. I wonder if the issue is actually with your (slightly) older receiver rather than the player? Didn't older HDMI things often have limitations like this because they wouldn't use the full bandwidth of the connection if they they weren't set to 1080p? I would think that your receiver would be new enough for that to not be an issue but maybe? Anyway if you see this, AND you've updated your Firmware, I'd love to hear if you still have the issue.

I'm happy to change my setting back to "Auto" and not worry about this all anymore!
DrOct is offline  
post #107 of 120 Old 04-20-2013, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
davidbarrickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am somewhat ashamed to admit this, but I am still unable to do firmware updates on my gear...and even though I still have the Marantz UD-5005, I have been mainly using 2 Denon DBP-A100s, one with a Denon AVR-4310 and the other with an AVR-4311. When I get a chance, I'll revisit this issue I noticed and posted about some months ago...I'll test my 5005 again with both the 4310 and 4311 with SD DVD w/DTS 96/24 and DVD-A w/96/24. Pretty sure it wasn't a limitation of the older AVR-4310, but I'll hook up the 5005 to both the 4310 and the newer 4311 to double check. Glad to hear that your 5005 is no longer limited to 48 kHz when set to Source Direct...I bet it was a bug in the player that was fixed with a firmware update. I remember when I first discovered this I thought it was rather odd and was convinced I had a setting wrong somewhere that was causing the issue (human error) but I never could figure it out...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrOct View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidbarrickman View Post


One annoying limitation of my 5005 has been with SD DVD and DVD-A...when I put the player in source direct mode and use my AVR's up-conversion to 1080p via HDMI the audio output from the 5005 is limited up to 48 kHz. Not an issue with most discs but with some YES...DTS 96/24 and DVD-As at 96 kHz are output at 48kHz when 5005 is in source direct. When I change this setting to 1080p(using the 5005's "non-Anchor Bay" up-conversion/ AVR video processing off) the higher resolution audio is output from the 5005!

So I was just playing around with the player and found that it's possible this issue has been resolved via one of the firmware updates we've gotten since this was posted. I had basically just left my player in 1080p mode all the time as per your suggestion above (my receiver doesn't have an upconverter in it and I haven't really found the one in my TV to be super amazing), but tonight I got to wondering if maybe this issue had been resolved. I was just playing around with this with a DVD-A that's encoded at 96khz. No matter what resolution mode I put the player in (I didn't try EVERY one but I did try Auto, Source Direct, 1080p, and even 480i) it happily played everything at 96khz, never once dropping down to 48khz. (Or at least my receiver, an SR-5006 was saying it was getting a 96khz signal, and I couldn't hear any difference in the sound after it made the switch, though there was a brief pause in the music whenever I switched).

If you've updated your firmware I'd be interested to hear your experiences Davidbarrickman. I wonder if the issue is actually with your (slightly) older receiver rather than the player? Didn't older HDMI things often have limitations like this because they wouldn't use the full bandwidth of the connection if they they weren't set to 1080p? I would think that your receiver would be new enough for that to not be an issue but maybe? Anyway if you see this, AND you've updated your Firmware, I'd love to hear if you still have the issue.

I'm happy to change my setting back to "Auto" and not worry about this all anymore!
davidbarrickman is offline  
post #108 of 120 Old 04-21-2013, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sure thing! No worries if you're not really using the player, I was just curious if this was working correctly for others or if I just got lucky or something!

Anyone else able to confirm that theirs is or is not working correctly?
DrOct is offline  
post #109 of 120 Old 04-21-2013, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
davidbarrickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
DrOct
I've kept this UD-5005 because it is a very decent universal player for shiny discs, I got it at a discounted price and it's nice to have a back up player around...the Denon DBP-A100 will occasionally refuse to load certain discs, and usually the UD-5005 will play what the Denon refuses. So I still use it some, glad to have it around. I'll report back, but it would be good to hear if anyone else noticed this 48kHz limit when using source direct instead of AUTO or 1080p for the HDMI resolution setting.
David
davidbarrickman is offline  
post #110 of 120 Old 04-22-2013, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
davidbarrickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Dr Oct
Well, I revisited this tonight for 2 hours with the owner's manual and all my settings are correct. "Down Sampling" is set to 192 kHz (the 4310 and 4311 both can handle it from discs) and "HD audio output" is selected (secondary mix off). So here's my findings...
When playing DVD-Audio disc with MLP 5.1 or 2.0 Advanced Resolution 96kHz audio options, my UD-5005 outputs the 96kHz audio to the AVR-4310 and 4311 ONLY if the player's resolution is set to 720p,1080i, 1080p or AUTO. If set to 480i, 480p, or most significantly "SOURCE DIRECT" the Denon clearly shows it is receiving 48 kHz 5.1 from the UD-5005. I've seen advice on these forums to use "Source Direct" so the intention of my original post was to give a heads up about listening to Hi-Res DVD-A on this player and avoiding "Source Direct" when doing so...
Now I must admit that part of my original post appears to be WRONG...using a Keith Jarrett SD DVD-video tonight with DTS 96/24 5.1, "Souce Direct" DID NOT cause the audio to be output at 48 kHz...I could have sworn I obseved this happen months ago but obviously I was wrong...perhaps it was another DVD-Video that was copy-protected to 48 kHz, or error on my part. Sorry for posting bad info...
But I stand by my statement regarding DVD-Audio and Source Direct on my player...so if yours isn't acting this way then I suppose Marantz DID fix this by firmware update. I am slowly trying to catch up with tech, computers, etc. so maybe someday I'll be able to do firmware updates...although I've read of people bricking their units when doing so and ignorance sometimes is bliss. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"...other than this "quirk" my 5005 has been rock solid.
davidbarrickman is offline  
post #111 of 120 Old 04-23-2013, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was testing with a DVD-Audio disc (Rush's Moving Pictures) when I was trying it out and my receiver was telling me it was getting 96khz while on Source Direct. So it may in fact be that they fixed it with a Firmware update (which is of course good news). I can totally understand your hesitance to "fix" what isn't broken though! You can always change from Source Direct whenever playing DVD-A discs!

It does occur to me that I didn't try any Blu-Rays or actually even any DVD-Video disks, I should give that a try. (I will say that I DID try out an SACD and was getting my usual 88.2khz PCM from those (since my receiver sadly does not decode DSD itself).
DrOct is offline  
post #112 of 120 Old 07-17-2013, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does anyone know why I would not be getting DSD from HDMI SACD ? UD5505

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #113 of 120 Old 07-19-2013, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

Does anyone know why I would not be getting DSD from HDMI SACD ? UD5505
There are a number of reasons that might not be happening. Do you have your UD5005 set to bitstream? or is it set to PCM? Can the receiver you're trying to send DSD to decode DSD? If not the player will fall back to sending PCM to it. For example, even though my player is set to bitstream DSD (well really everything) since my receiver doesn't actually have DSD capabilities the player sends it PCM instead. I assume at some point before hand they "talk" to one another and determine what capabilities they have.
DrOct is offline  
post #114 of 120 Old 07-19-2013, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have a Marantz AV8801 I just double checked the settings and it was set to PCM I changed it to bitstream and all is good thanks

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #115 of 120 Old 07-19-2013, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Then in theory that should leave you with just the settings on the UD5005 to check. If you go into settings and check audio, do you have HDMI set to "bitstream?" or "PCM?"
DrOct is offline  
post #116 of 120 Old 07-20-2013, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thats what I did changed the ud5005 from PCM to bitstream all my other players had DSD as a option Thanks for the help

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #117 of 120 Old 07-20-2013, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No problem! Glad setting it to bitstream worked!
DrOct is offline  
post #118 of 120 Old 09-16-2013, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So it looks like there's another software update for the player. Anyone know what this one does?
DrOct is offline  
post #119 of 120 Old 10-30-2013, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
charliw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had problems playing "Star Wars: The Clone Wars Season 5" on their UD5005? I have had 2 different copies with the same results: black screen after the animated spinning disk. The player will not respond to any controls from the remote or front panel.
charliw is offline  
post #120 of 120 Old 01-17-2014, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
SurfsUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Wages
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what's the latest firmware?
Also where I can download file to put onto a thumb drive so I don't have to connect a long ethernet cable to this player?
SurfsUP is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Marantz Ud5005 Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Denon Dbp 1611ud Universal Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player Black , Sony Bdp S360 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player Accessory Kit , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off