Official Samsung BD-C7900 3-D Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 136 Old 03-08-2011, 02:34 PM
Member
 
yippykiyaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did Samsung Anounce any new product for blu-ray at the CES this year?? I checked their web-site and latest is the 7900. I know that Panasonic announced 3 new models. Will be purchasing something with 2 HDMI outs and am looking for best available unit from any mfgr.
yippykiyaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 136 Old 03-09-2011, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yippykiyaa View Post

Did Samsung Anounce any new product for blu-ray at the CES this year?? I checked their web-site and latest is the 7900. I know that Panasonic announced 3 new models. Will be purchasing something with 2 HDMI outs and am looking for best available unit from any mfgr.

Good question.
I haven't seen a review of it, since it isn't out yet, but I'm looking at the Panny 310, which looks to be much less expensive than the 7900.
JayMan007 is offline  
post #123 of 136 Old 03-09-2011, 10:13 PM
Member
 
tino11215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, am thinking about purchasing the Samsung BD-C7900 or BD-C6900 to replace my old Samsung BD-UP5000 which plays HD-DVD & Blu-ray discs
Am looking towards the future if i decide to buy 3D TV
Since i primary use the BD5000 now for all blu-ray discs the load time & the poor performance is finally getting to me
Was told by Samsung 2nd level tech guy that either of these two players were good choices because of it's fast load speed & excellent performance
Does anyone know the load time for these machines, heard 15 seconds or less from disc in to FBI warning Logo ?
Advantage to 7900 because of 2 hdmi connections, but it costs a little more
Would the BD-C7900 be compatible with my Onkyo 805 receiver using 1.3 HDMI cable & of the two HDMI ports can i use 1.3 HDMI cable to my Onkyo 805 receiver
Was wondering if the upscaling for regular dvd’s on the BD-C6900 or BD-C57900 is as good as BD-UP50000
My equipment is as follows
Sony Bravia 52 "
Onkyo 805 receiver
was told i wouldn't have to change from 1.3 HDMI to 1.4 HDMI until i purchased 3D TV
Am retired and really am not into WiFi & internet stuff, just want excellent player that loads fast & plays just about all discs without problems
Will still use my BD-UP50000 for playing my HD DVD discs
Would greatly appreciate advice from someone who actually owns the BD-C6900
Marty
tino11215 is offline  
post #124 of 136 Old 03-19-2011, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
ninja279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I try to play any 3D movie my DVD player (BD C7900) states it cannot detect a 3D capable device. Has anyone else had this problem, and how do I fix it?
I am not using the HDMI 2 output and have a 1.4 cable between HDMI 1 and the TV.
I have set the C7900 screen size, and have tried both 3D on, and Auto.
Do I need the Mitsi 3D converter box inline? I spoke with Samsung before I purchaced the player and was informed that the unit output checkerboard.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
ninja279 is offline  
post #125 of 136 Old 03-21-2011, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
anyone have success getting this player to connect to their wireless network. I have had no luck what so ever. Its less than 30 feet from my router. I have tried wpa2, wpa etc and no luck what so ever.

thanks
Suzook is offline  
post #126 of 136 Old 03-28-2011, 06:22 AM
Member
 
msfaulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine connected first time, and I've had no problems with WPA2.
msfaulk is offline  
post #127 of 136 Old 03-28-2011, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

anyone have success getting this player to connect to their wireless network. I have had no luck what so ever. Its less than 30 feet from my router. I have tried wpa2, wpa etc and no luck what so ever.

thanks

I haven't had any issue until last night. Out of no where it wouldn't connect when trying to stream netflix last night. I unplugged it from the wall and plugged back in and it worked fine. Afterwards I shut the power off and turned back on to check it and sure enough no connection. Tried again this morning and no connection until I unplugged it from the wall in which case it connected until I turned the power off and back on and then nothing. Really frustrated because like I said it worked fine 2 nights ago but now nothing, for no good reason that I can think of. Anyone else experience this?
markmathers is offline  
post #128 of 136 Old 03-29-2011, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by tino11215 View Post

Hi, am thinking about purchasing the Samsung BD-C7900 or BD-C6900 to replace my old Samsung BD-UP5000 which plays HD-DVD & Blu-ray discs
Am looking towards the future if i decide to buy 3D TV
Since i primary use the BD5000 now for all blu-ray discs the load time & the poor performance is finally getting to me
Was told by Samsung 2nd level tech guy that either of these two players were good choices because of it's fast load speed & excellent performance
Does anyone know the load time for these machines, heard 15 seconds or less from disc in to FBI warning Logo ?
Advantage to 7900 because of 2 hdmi connections, but it costs a little more
Would the BD-C7900 be compatible with my Onkyo 805 receiver using 1.3 HDMI cable & of the two HDMI ports can i use 1.3 HDMI cable to my Onkyo 805 receiver
Was wondering if the upscaling for regular dvd's on the BD-C6900 or BD-C57900 is as good as BD-UP50000
My equipment is as follows
Sony Bravia 52 "
Onkyo 805 receiver
was told i wouldn't have to change from 1.3 HDMI to 1.4 HDMI until i purchased 3D TV
Am retired and really am not into WiFi & internet stuff, just want excellent player that loads fast & plays just about all discs without problems
Will still use my BD-UP50000 for playing my HD DVD discs
Would greatly appreciate advice from someone who actually owns the BD-C6900
Marty

I used to have the Samsung BD-up5000 player
Any of the Samsung players( from this year) will load considerably faster than what you have now
As for upscaling...thats a tough call. I have seen some say the 6900 and 7900 upscaled better than the lower end models

I would say that I don't think you are going to be disappointed with the upscaling performance of the 7900

If you buy the 7900 you have no reason to replace your Onkyo receiver and good receivers are lot more expensive than blu ray players

I have a similar set up to yours and it works great with the Samsung 7900
One HDMI output to the Tv and one to the Onkyo

As for cables...1.3 v. 1.4....I used the same cables I already had that were 1.3 capable and they worked fine for 3D


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is online now  
post #129 of 136 Old 03-31-2011, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone who hasn't been able to connect to a wireless network with this player, try updating the firmware on your router. I had to pay netgears technical support for that info and assistance last night. I'm sure this may have been obvious advice that a lot of people have tried/done already but after my player started acting stupid with the wifi the last couple nights I finally updated the firmware and it seems to be working now. Hope this helps a few people..
markmathers is offline  
post #130 of 136 Old 04-01-2011, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have a linksys E4200 with the very latest firmware and no matter what I do I cannot get the player to connect. On 1005 firmware
Suzook is offline  
post #131 of 136 Old 04-01-2011, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

I have a linksys E4200 with the very latest firmware and no matter what I do I cannot get the player to connect. On 1005 firmware

Damn, I'm sorry, this kind of thing is super frustrating. I got rid of my linksys router a year or so ago and went with the netgear router that puts out two different signals. Linksys wasn't working very well even wit my computers. This proly doesn't help you a whole lot but I have been really happy wit netgear except for the cost for tech support after 1 year...
markmathers is offline  
post #132 of 136 Old 06-18-2011, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
k_fassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all
i like to buy new blu - ray and i thinking in 7900 can you tell me are it is good one or i change to anther . are 7900 can convert from from 2D to 3D.
thanks
k_fassi is offline  
post #133 of 136 Old 10-09-2011, 09:44 PM
Newbie
 
190rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked this up open box with a samsung 43" plasma 3d ready tv at Best buy. It's a second tv setup for our bedroom (wife has been asking for years lol)

$50 for the 7900 bluray player (what a steal)
$375 for the tv, opened box but never unpacked, it's brand new.
$80 for the open box samsung soundbar subwoofer system.

I had no problems getting it set up, it has worked flawlessly. Got netflix and hulu going. I am really impressed. Thanks to this forum I did get the Best Buy 3 year performance guarantee for $15 on the player. Samsung service does not sound good.
190rev is offline  
post #134 of 136 Old 11-21-2011, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a one year old 7900. All of a sudden it will only load about 1 out of 10 BD discs. When I find a disc that will load.....it plays for about 1-2 chapters then goes to A/V drop outs. I have tried the following:

1.0 Clean DRx Laser lens cleaner
2.0 Power down and re-start
3.0 Update to latest firmware

None have cleared up the problem. It appears that the BD laser may be trying to read at incorrect depth? The discs that do start seems to be BD 25s. Is there a service utility
to re-set the laser read depth? The laser seems to be functional as when a disc does load, picture is perfect. No problem playing regular DVDs or CDs. All player functions work. Any suggestions?
Roger Mathus is offline  
post #135 of 136 Old 05-10-2012, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
BeemerBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this unit at BestBuy as an open box speciak for $69. With firmware 1010.2 (the latest as of march 2012) I was still able to play backups of cinavia protected movies so I assume this firmware is cinavia free.

I had to add a fan to the heat sink to prevent the unit from overheating. It will play BD-R DL just fine. Without the fan a BD-R DL would eject after about 50 minutes of playing with a warning that the disk was bad. The fan was easy to add as there was a 5 volt regulator about 4 inches from the heat sink. The regulator is enabled only when the unit is powered on.
BeemerBiker is offline  
post #136 of 136 Old 09-13-2013, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Lyons07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,

Is anybody having any problems playing the new Star Trek in 3d? I have the latest firmware and it starts to play and stops. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Jerry
Lyons07 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd C7900 1080p 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Samsung Bd C6900 1080p 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Samsung Bd Up5000 1080p Hd Dvd Blu Ray Disc Combo Player , Denon , Yamaha Ns Ap2600bl Home Theater 5 0 Speaker System , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread - C6900 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off