LG bd-530 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 436 Old 10-08-2010, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freezone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems LG is pre-selling it new blu ray player BD-530 at $80. Does anyone have any insight into this.

re.

FZ
freezone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
dthibode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sears has it for $67 with code xmaslist.
dthibode is offline  
post #3 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dmikester1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how this one compares in the Bluray Support Audio Comparison Chart? I don't see it listed there.
Thanks
Mike
dmikester1 is offline  
post #4 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Or more importantly doe sit have netflix?
winston9332 is offline  
post #5 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
bajaed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can't find any specs on LG's sight. Is this a new player? Is it more "bare bones" than the 550?
bajaed is offline  
post #6 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just ordered one from Sears. Looks like it will bitstream all codecs, but does not support Netflix.

Manual at LG.com
257Tony is offline  
post #7 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 09:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257Tony View Post

I just ordered one from Sears. Looks like it will bitstream all codecs, but does not support Netflix.

Manual at LG.com

That's disappointing, I wonder why, I thought all network-capable LG players supported Netflix?
Keenan is offline  
post #8 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 10:06 AM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257Tony View Post

I just ordered one from Sears. Looks like it will bitstream all codecs, but does not support Netflix.

Manual at LG.com

It does seem like bitstream is supported. Except on Page 66 of the manual under the *1 option where it says

"*1 The secondary and interactive audio may
not be included in the output bitstream if
[Digital Output (SPDIF)] or [HDMI] option
is set to [Primary Pass-Thru]. (Except
LPCM Codec : the output always include
interactive and secondary audio.)"

That is a bit confusing. It seems they are saying on pass through (bitstream) the secondary audio may not be included.

As another side note, based on the manual and the below linked product brochure, the player will internally decode DTS-HD MA but Dolby True HD is output as a 2 channel downmix. That is, if you do not select pass through and then let the player do its own internal decoding (PCM Multi Option).

http://www.proaudioinc.com/Dealer_Area/BD530.pdf

From the LG Website, these are the audio options (as it does really seem like bitstream is supported, except for that *1 above)

PCM Stereo can be selected when the Blu-ray player is connected to a device that can only output two-channel digital stereo decoder.

PCM Multi-Ch can be selected when you are connected to a device that has multi-channel digital decoder (HDMI only).

DTS Re-Encode can be selected when you are connected to the unit’s HDMI out or Digital Audio out to a device with the DTS decoder and the audio is transmitted through 5.1channel.

Primary Pass Thru can be selected if the LG Blu-ray is connected using digital audio out and HDMI out jack to a device with LPCM (Linear Pulse Code Modulation), Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, DTS and DTS-HD decoder.
uwkid is offline  
post #9 of 436 Old 11-11-2010, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 64
A friend who wanted a really low price player bought one. Very light and cheaply made. It is no Oppo but ok for the price. It does pass both Dolby True HD and DTS MA bitstream with no problem.
rwestley is online now  
post #10 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 05:09 AM
 
civilsavage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
A friend who wanted a really low price player bought one. Very light and cheaply made. It is no Oppo but ok for the price. It does pass both Dolby True HD and DTS MA bitstream with no problem.

has your friend mentioned anything about the remote? i'm so frustrated with the remote on this model that i'm thinking about taking it back.
civilsavage is offline  
post #11 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 06:09 AM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have this unit. What is the issue with the remote?
techowiz is offline  
post #12 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by civilsavage View Post

has your friend mentioned anything about the remote? i'm so frustrated with the remote on this model that i'm thinking about taking it back.

Get a Harmony

I can confirm that it does bitstream just fine, and it is lightweight. i don't really care if its cheaply built, it was cheap, it plays discs, it bitstreams Can't ask for any more at that price.
257Tony is offline  
post #13 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
prosper0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have this?

I bought it at Sears during the deal. Let me just say it's got some serious issues with NOISE.

Every Blu-ray I've tried, excessive sharpness and noise and no way I can figure out how to adjust it.

Terrible compression too, thinking about taking this thing back.
prosper0 is offline  
post #14 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 04:11 PM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu Rays seem to play fine. No noticeable noise or artifacts...Maybe your unit is defective.
techowiz is offline  
post #15 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
roytbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a LG BD530 and brought it home last night. I played an mkv file burned onto a DVD-RW which worked fine until about 15 minutes into playback, but then the disk would stop playing and would go back to the main menu. I didn't think much of it and just turned it off for the night. Today I put some divx and mkv files onto an old internal HD housed in an external case. This is the type that has an external power adapter; it is not powered by the USB port. I plugged the HD into the USB port and when I powered on the Blu Ray player it said Hello on the LCD panel but would not power on. It locked up and I had to unplug the player. I left it unplugged for a few seconds and plugged it back in and the "hello" was still displayed on the LCD panel but nothing on the TV. I unplugged it for over 30 seconds and plugged it back in and this time it wouldn't do anything; would not power on, nothing.

I called customer service and the lady I spoke with said she was not aware of any issues with external HD's and instructed me to do a hard reset by unplugging the player and holding the power button down for 30 seconds. I plugged it back in and still nothing. She told me then that the unit must be faulty and I could send it to them for repair or return it to the retail store for a replacement. I've seen several other cases on this forum where LB BD5xx models have fried hard drives, but none where the hard drive fried the player.

I would like to be able to use an external HD, but don't want to fry another player. Is it the type of external HD I'm using or just a faulty unit. Has anyone else had this experience?
roytbum is offline  
post #16 of 436 Old 11-13-2010, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bajaed View Post

Can't find any specs on LG's sight. Is this a new player? Is it more "bare bones" than the 550?

From what I can tell the BD550 DOESN'T play MKV files whereas the BD530 CAN.
The BD530 is said to be a 'holiday edition' bluray player. I guess LG tossed in the MKV ability in this model. I tested a few 720P MKVs burnt to DVD+R and they played back flawless on the BD530. I was hoping I could access a network share on my PC to play files like that, but I don't think there's an option. Maybe the more expensive models have that.
BenCJedi is offline  
post #17 of 436 Old 11-14-2010, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
prosper0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This model lacks Netflix and Pandora that the other models have.
prosper0 is offline  
post #18 of 436 Old 11-14-2010, 12:09 PM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On BF the Sony BDP-S370 will go for around $99.... Which is the better value the Sony or the LG BD530 ??
techowiz is offline  
post #19 of 436 Old 11-14-2010, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its pretty much a 1.1 player made to sell to the masses for Q4 who don't care about streaming.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #20 of 436 Old 11-14-2010, 04:04 PM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What player are you referring tio?
techowiz is offline  
post #21 of 436 Old 11-15-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Its pretty much a 1.1 player made to sell to the masses for Q4 who don't care about streaming.

I wonder if someone will hack it to do Netflix\\home media access. It appears very similar to the BD550. Not sure why the BD550 lacks MKV support though.
BenCJedi is offline  
post #22 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 05:05 AM
Member
 
hydran5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone PLEASE tell me exactly what the difference between the LG bd 530 and lg bd 550 is??

is it just the different of streaming media services? It still plays dvd and blu-ray and will upconvert to 1080p like the 550? It appears to have all the same connections. someone please confirm!
hydran5 is offline  
post #23 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 05:11 AM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydran5 View Post

Can someone PLEASE tell me exactly what the difference between the LG bd 530 and lg bd 550 is??

is it just the different of streaming media services? It still plays dvd and blu-ray and will upconvert to 1080p like the 550? It appears to have all the same connections. someone please confirm!

Believe it is ONLY the amount of NetCast (streaming apps). The 530 only has Youtube/Accuweather/Picassa. Everything else should be the same. Yes it upconverts DVD's etc. Believe it has same processor etc......Great deal for $65 at Walmart.
techowiz is offline  
post #24 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techowiz View Post

Believe it is ONLY the amount of NetCast (streaming apps). The 530 only has Youtube/Accuweather/Picassa. Everything else should be the same. Yes it upconverts DVD's etc. Believe it has same processor etc......Great deal for $65 at Walmart.

The BD550 cannot play MKV files! The BD530 is a better option if you are into these kind of things -->
BenCJedi is offline  
post #25 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 06:30 AM
Member
 
hydran5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah i know thats why im asking because i was about to get the lg bd550 but i saw the 530 deal from walmart. and i dont care about streaming because my tv can do it so as long as everything else is the same i'm going for it. thanks for your help!
hydran5 is offline  
post #26 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 07:00 AM
Member
 
hydran5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you guys know if the lg bd 530 supports audio out from the hdmi output?
hydran5 is offline  
post #27 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 07:29 AM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenCJedi View Post

The BD550 cannot play MKV files! The BD530 is a better option if you are into these kind of things -->

On BF, the Sony BDP-S370 igoing at many places for $99. Is this a better player than the LG BD530 ??
techowiz is offline  
post #28 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techowiz View Post

On BF, the Sony BDP-S370 igoing at many places for $99. Is this a better player than the LG BD530 ??

Not sure as I am new to the bluray realm, but the BD530 definitely can play the MKV files. It does it quite well. It also played a bunch of transport stream files captured off my MDP 120 HD card .. just .ts files burnt on a DVD.
BenCJedi is offline  
post #29 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenCJedi View Post

Not sure as I am new to the bluray realm, but the BD530 definitely can play the MKV files. It does it quite well. It also played a bunch of transport stream files captured off my MDP 120 HD card .. just .ts files burnt on a DVD.


Are your MDP 120 files just one ts file or broken up into many?
I have a bunch of old ts file movies captured from MDP 100 with multiple files I would like to playback.

I always had audio sync issues after merging multiple ts files into one.
Also is there a PC software player that will sequence thru them automatically? Sorry it's been awile since the HTPC was running.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #30 of 436 Old 11-17-2010, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwired View Post

Are your MDP 120 files just one ts file or broken up into many?
I have a bunch of old ts file movies captured from MDP 100 with multiple files I would like to playback.

I always had audio sync issues after merging multiple ts files into one.
Also is there a PC software player that will sequence thru them automatically? Sorry it's been awile since the HTPC was running.

I captured many programs the same way (many, many 40MB files) and unfortunately this player puts a 2sec gap between each one as they play in sequence. I stopped that kind of capture\\editing about 4 years ago, so only my early stuff sucks. The newer captures are single files (4.35GB) to fill a complete DVD5 media.

Have you tried running your TS files through HDTVtoMpeg2 to concatenate them? Another better option I think might be to try merging them with ProjectX; a java-based transport stream app. If I remember right ProjectX will ensure the audio and video stay in sync by adding in 'blanks' which when played back is a funky sound effect, but at least the AV stays in sync. I used to use it when transcoding TV captures to AVI from the TP\\TS files from my MSP120.
BenCJedi is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off