Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 160 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garage1217 View Post
Offices / divisions in multiple countries does not = big. I operate globally as well and the company I work for has offices in around 15 countries, I still consider it a "small" company from the standpoint of employee count and product count. Now I do not know oppos actual size employee wise or their growth rate / worth, but I do know their product count They are growing however and I hear they are making the guts for other manufacturers now on equipment costing many times more! That was very interesting to read.
I believe they are a subsidiary (?) of a large electronics company based in China.
I'm sure someone can provide more specifics including employee size.

It has a small, boutique feel to it, but there is a larger backing company.

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:14 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmeader View Post
Another example of why there needs to be either a separate thread for DLNA with the 93, or at the very least rename the other one to include "93" in the title.
Renaming the 83 DLNA thread is a good idea. It takes an AVS moderator to rename an active thread. The thread starter or other active posters in the thread can request that. Happens all the time.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4773 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Garage1217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would make sense, good info!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
I believe they are a subsidiary (?) of a large electronics company based in China.
I'm sure someone can provide more specifics including employee size.

It has a small, boutique feel to it, but there is a larger backing company.

Mike
Garage1217 is offline  
post #4774 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
I haven't been following your issues, but did you get the 1127 firmware from Oppo for the Pioneer receivers?

S~
Just got the player on Wed and the only software update I did was the one in the box #33-1216. Can you link me to the Pioneer one if it is a different one please?

Thanks,

Ian B
Mr Ian B is online now  
post #4775 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post
Just got the player on Wed and the only software update I did was the one in the box #33-1216. Can you link me to the Pioneer one if it is a different one please?

Thanks,

Ian B
Give Oppo tech support a call. They have some test firmware versions addressing single issues that are not posted for general use. Explain your issue with the Pioneer and they'll be able to get you access to a test firmware release if appropriate.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4776 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post
You got some of the answer correct.

Same price. I am part of the PRIME program
so overnight shipping was only $3 and I get
it on Saturday.

Can't say the same thing about ordering from
Oppo or Audioholics.
Being in California, ordering from Oppo direct was like Amazon Prime. I just got the 93 earlier and whether or not it was worth the additional shipping and tax is another matter. The only concern about ordering from Amazon was I had no idea when Amazon would actually be able to ship the 93.
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #4777 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:41 AM
Member
 
kiko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
Depends on the video source. Anime will always look best on the PS3 because it has been programmed for them. Some odd cadences will also look better on the PS3. But overall most contents will look identical.
is this statement true regarding anime dvd upscaling on the ps3
kiko1 is offline  
post #4778 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:42 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Scaling and de-interlacing are two separate processes. Neuromancer is talking about de-interlacing of the oddball cadences typically used in anime.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4779 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post
For those wanting to adapt their BDP-93 player so as to play standard definition DVDs from Regions 1,2,3,4,5 & 6, a listing on ebay here may be of interest.

Since I have quite a collection of Region 2 SD DVDs and own a 93, I decided to give this OPPO BDP 93 Player DVD Region Free Super Disk a try. For $14.98 I wasn't risking much.

I received it today. The vendor paid $5.20 to send it Priority Mail from CA. I tried playing a Region 2 SD DVD before - no play - and then after using the Super Disc. It works! I have not tried it on other region DVDs. The author claims that it will work on future firmware updates if it is "played again" after the update.

I have no connection to the vendor. I offer the info with no guarantees. But it works for me! I thought it might brighten the day for those wanting region free DVD play on the 93.

Note. It does NOT change the region playback for Blu-ray discs from A/1 (America, Japan,Korea). My experience is that some Blu-ray discs that claim to be Region B locked aren't. YMMV.

Dana
Anyone else try this? Is it safe? If it's just a software fix, might it work with an undocumented remote code? Will it void the Oppo warranty?
thebard is offline  
post #4780 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:48 AM
Member
 
kiko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
forgive me, i really don't under stand this stuff so de-interlacing has nothing to do with picture quality
kiko1 is offline  
post #4781 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mustangs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko1 View Post
forgive me, i really don't under stand this stuff so de-interlacing has nothing to do with picture quality
mustangs1 is offline  
post #4782 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:57 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko1 View Post
forgive me, i really don't under stand this stuff so de-interlacing has nothing to do with picture quality
No. It does. But your question was about upscaling, and Neuromancer's comment was about de-interlacing.

By the way, Neuromancer is VERY picky about anime. Personally I don't seen any significant problem in the de-interlacing of anime SD-DVD cadences in the 93. Its recovery time is a little slower than ideal if the cadence changes (i.e., time taken to lock onto the new cadence), but that usually doesn't happen in the midst of watching something.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4783 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Feirstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OPPO is part of a big company. It is owned by the Chinese Army. (At least this is what I was told when my company tried to interest a spook agency into buying some of OPPO's more interesting products.)
Feirstein is offline  
post #4784 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post
Anyone else try this? Is it safe? If it's just a software fix, might it work with an undocumented remote code? Will it void the Oppo warranty?
The CD trick works. Whether it's "safe" or effects warranty is a separate question and one you should answer for yourself. Traditionally, Oppo has never refused warranty service on modded players as long as the mod is unrelated to the repair. That said, if you don't feel comfortable doing something and/or are not prepared to accept any consequences for your actions, don't do it. I think the question of whether there's a remote sequence that does the same thing is a valid question, but one we don't have an answer to.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4785 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feirstein View Post
OPPO is part of a big company. It is owned by the Chinese Army. (At least this is what I was told when my company tried to interest a spook agency into buying some of OPPO's more interesting products.)
Is this the Comedy Hour?

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #4786 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:04 AM
Member
 
kiko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
let me keep this simple i have a large anime collection all dvd and im hoping to get more out of them picture wise. I have a ps3 would the oppo offer me more picture wise regarding anime
kiko1 is offline  
post #4787 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:16 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
I've got image quality issues with SD-DVD playback on the PS3 *AND* on the current firmware for the Oppo BDP-93, so I don't have an easy answer for you on that. However I expect the firmware for the 93 to get better and I don't expect Sony will be expending any more effort on SD-DVD playback quality in the PS3.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4788 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:21 AM
Member
 
kiko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so at this moment the bdp 93 dvd play back is not as good as the 83 wich is better than ps3. i dont think sony will do anything regarding the ps3 upscaling of dvd also
kiko1 is offline  
post #4789 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:25 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko1 View Post

so at this moment the bdp 93 dvd play back is not as good as the 83

That is correct (my opinion), although many people will not see the differences. The 83 is a tough act to follow.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4790 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
kiko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i see thanks
kiko1 is offline  
post #4791 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Sure. Oppo is "on the case". I think the odds are good this will be a caveat only for the short term.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4792 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Give Oppo tech support a call. They have some test firmware versions addressing single issues that are not posted for general use. Explain your issue with the Pioneer and they'll be able to get you access to a test firmware release if appropriate.
--Bob

Just got off the phone with them and they think it is cable related since I am going directly to the projector and not through the receiver. I mentioned if maybe the Pioneer needed an update and he said no as most likely these issues are cable related. I am gonna try a new hdmi cable tonight directly to the projector and if that does not do it, it is going back.

Thanks Bob for the info,

Ian B
Mr Ian B is online now  
post #4793 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:57 AM
Member
 
kokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

Oppo is not small...


OPPO Electronics Corp., Ltd is an electronics manufacturer based in Dongguan, Guangdong, China. Its American division is OPPO Digital, Inc.
OPPO Digital Inc. and OPPO.SE (Europe), OPPO Korea, and OPPO.COM (China) are the same brand, but completely different divisions.

CD

As far as I know OPPO is a very small part of Chinese BBK Electronics.
BTW OPPO does not produce Blu-ray players for continental chinese market (Blu-ray zone "C")
kokap is offline  
post #4794 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Questioneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Guys.
I'm from Germany, Europe and since today i own the EU-Version of the 93.

I think I have a problem with the player. I've connected him to my Toshiba SV685D LCD via HDMI 1 and Use for my old AVR Sony STR-DB1080 the analogue Multichannel Output and Parallel the SPDIF for 2 Channel Postprocessing (Pro Logic II .. not so important now).
Firmware: BDP9xEU-33-1216

My Problem: SACD Playback does not work via Analog Outputs. I can set up what I want in the Menu (HDMI Sound/Resolution Output, SACD Sound Output, whatever), the Analogue Multichannel Output will mute in first time after one second (!). After that the Output will also like the SPDIF transport no signal like PCM, Dolby, dts, ...
When i start the player with the power toggle new, the other formats (also HD formats like Dolby TrueHD oder MLP form DVD Audio) will transported.

Note: the SACD is playing in the player and over HDMI i got a PCM converted signal to my TV.

I think in worst case I've a broken device.
What are your opinions? Have others a similar problem? Or works SACD at your players fine over analogue outputs?
Is it maybe a firmware-problem?

Thanks for your answers.
Questioneer is offline  
post #4795 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 12:04 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
You won't get SACD audio on the S/PDIF digital outputs due to lack of copy protection. However SACD output on the analog connections should work without problem.

Make sure your AVR is really set to play the analog input. Also check with the Oppo remote to make sure you have not Muted the player's volume or reduced volume to 0 by accident.

If these don't give you an answer call Oppo support.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4796 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The CD trick works. Whether it's "safe" or effects warranty is a separate question and one you should answer for yourself. Traditionally, Oppo has never refused warranty service on modded players as long as the mod is unrelated to the repair. That said, if you don't feel comfortable doing something and/or are not prepared to accept any consequences for your actions, don't do it. I think the question of whether there's a remote sequence that does the same thing is a valid question, but one we don't have an answer to.

I've made my dvd recorder region-free, and it was a simple remote button sequence. But then again, it was out of warranty (and cost alot less than $500 even when it was new). So I'm just a bit gun-shy.

That being said, I have quite a few overseas DVDs I'd like to watch on my main player...
thebard is offline  
post #4797 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Earlier in this thread, I thought someone had posted a shortcut to change modes for the picture adjustment settings rather than going into the Setup Menu. I can't find the post, can anyone help?
scolumbo is offline  
post #4798 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 01:03 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolumbo View Post

Earlier in this thread, I thought someone had posted a shortcut to change modes for the picture adjustment settings rather than going into the Setup Menu. I can't find the post, can anyone help?

Just press and hold the Setup button. That will bring up the Picture Adjustment sub-menu directly.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4799 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
^^^
That's it, thanks!
scolumbo is offline  
post #4800 of 26966 Old 01-14-2011, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Questioneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

You won't get SACD audio on the S/PDIF digital outputs due to lack of copy protection. However SACD output on the analog connections should work without problem.

Make sure your AVR is really set to play the analog input. Also check with the Oppo remote to make sure you have not Muted the player's volume or reduced volume to 0 by accident.

If these don't give you an answer call Oppo support.
--Bob

Your Points are clear. With no Sound on SPDIF I mean any Kind of codecs After try to Play a SACD. The Volume is Set to 100%.
For me it seems to be a Hardware Error.

There is no firmware error like my description?
Questioneer is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off