Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwinner View Post

I'm glad this came up again since I'm feeling dense about what's the best option in this situation. I, too, have a Nova with a 93 on the way, and I understand that there are licensing restrictions in the output from SACD's. Am I right that I can get the 93 to output (96K?) PCM derived from the SACD stereo layer through the s/pdif output? If that is the case, then what are the options for Nova/93 owners playing SACD? I can think of several:
(1) output the SACD's CD layer via (1a) s/pdif PCM or (1b) FR/FL analog
(2) output the SACD stereo layer converted via (2a) s/pdif PCM or (2b) FR/FL analog
(3) output the downmixed-to-stereo multi-channel layer, but I'm not sure via (3a) s/pdif but probably allowed via (3b) FR/FL
(4) output the FR/FL tracks only from the multi-channel layer via FR/FL analog.
Here's what I understand and please correct my errors:
(A) (1) is no different from playing a regular CD
(B) (2) may be better than (1) but this is controversial. I assume it is true; otherwise, this discussion is moot.
(C) not sure if (3) differs from (2), and if so if it's better or worse
(D) (4) is not desirable.
(E) If my assumption that the 93 can convert the SACD stereo track to PCM is incorrect, I might need to get an HDMI audio decoupler that can do the conversion. I have found the Atlona AT-HD570 and the Kramer FC-46, which are respectively expensive and more expensive potential solutions. I really prefer not to have to do this on the chance of a slight improvement in sacd sound.

I am guessing (F) 2a > 2b > 1a > 1b where ">" means "is better than". I've no idea about (G) ?: 3a > 2a.

I hope for someone to inform me if all these are allowed and possible with the 93 and to opine which of the allowed options is likely to produce the best result, that is, whether (F) is correct and all are allowed and similarly (G). You can assume no interest in multichannel (>2) audio and that I have SACD's. Most of the music I listen to classical, but that may not be relevant.

No way to get any output from any SACD layer (stereo or surround) directly from the optical or coax output.

You may want to compare analog output of the stereo SACD layer using the Oppo's analog outputs versus the PCM output from the CD layer using your receiver/converter.

I would not recommend downmixing, but you could try that via analog outputs on the Oppo, as well.

The cheapest solution I have see to taking the HDMI SACD internally concerted to LPCM output and pulling the PCM off of it is the Monoprice splitter. It's not made for this purpose, but some people report that it works well, and maintains the high rez PCM output from the HDMI output of a SACD converted to LPCM in the Oppo. (Cost is c. $50 I think.) I have not tried this myself.


nathan_h is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes, although they cannot guarantee support because there are too many variables in media, burners and software. But it works for me. I use Verbatim for dual layer.

-Bill

Thanks.
Ted99 is offline  
post #633 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
chs4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm fascinated by the number of air vents on this player. There are zero, which tells me they probably turned the whole unit, body & all, into one big heatsink. As far as I can tell that's pretty unorthodox amongst high-end blu-ray players -- my commendation to Oppo if this design really works and helps contribute to long-term player reliability beyond the warranty period.
chs4000 is offline  
post #634 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:15 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwinner View Post

I'm glad this came up again since I'm feeling dense about what's the best option in this situation. I, too, have a Nova with a 93 on the way, and I understand that there are licensing restrictions in the output from SACD's. Am I right that I can get the 93 to output (96K?) PCM derived from the SACD stereo layer through the s/pdif output? If that is the case, then what are the options for Nova/93 owners playing SACD? I can think of several:
(1) output the SACD's CD layer via (1a) s/pdif PCM or (1b) FR/FL analog
(2) output the SACD stereo layer converted via (2a) s/pdif PCM or (2b) FR/FL analog
(3) output the downmixed-to-stereo multi-channel layer, but I'm not sure via (3a) s/pdif but probably allowed via (3b) FR/FL
(4) output the FR/FL tracks only from the multi-channel layer via FR/FL analog.
Here's what I understand and please correct my errors:
(A) (1) is no different from playing a regular CD
(B) (2) may be better than (1) but this is controversial. I assume it is true; otherwise, this discussion is moot.
(C) not sure if (3) differs from (2), and if so if it's better or worse
(D) (4) is not desirable.
(E) If my assumption that the 93 can convert the SACD stereo track to PCM is incorrect, I might need to get an HDMI audio decoupler that can do the conversion. I have found the Atlona AT-HD570 and the Kramer FC-46, which are respectively expensive and more expensive potential solutions. I really prefer not to have to do this on the chance of a slight improvement in sacd sound.

I am guessing (F) 2a > 2b > 1a > 1b where ">" means "is better than". I've no idea about (G) ?: 3a > 2a.

I hope for someone to inform me if all these are allowed and possible with the 93 and to opine which of the allowed options is likely to produce the best result, that is, whether (F) is correct and all are allowed and similarly (G). You can assume no interest in multichannel (>2) audio and that I have SACD's. Most of the music I listen to classical, but that may not be relevant.

From the manual:

Quote:


Due to copyright restrictions, SACD audio cannot be sent through the coaxial or optical digital audio output. To listen to SACD, please use the HDMI or analog audio connections.

Your option 1 will work, but at that point you're really listening to a CD, not a SACD.

Option 2a is not possible, option 2b is.
Option 3a is not possible, option 3b is.
Option 4 is not desirable as, depending on the specific SACD, you'll be missing quite a bit of the content.

(A) Correct
(B) 2b can be better than 1 because you're working with a better quality source signal. But the end result will depend on the exact equipment being used.
(C) IMO, 2b is better than 3b in most cases. But this is a try it both ways, pick what you prefer sort of thing.
(D) Correct - you'd be potentially throwing a way a lot of important content.
(E) The 93 can convert DSD to PCM, but it will only send it out over HDMI (or analog after the PCM is passed through the DAC). It can also convert DSD direct to analog through the internal DAC.

But the bottom line is that you can't get SACD in any form over the coax or toslink digital outputs on the 93 due to licensing restrictions.
gsr is offline  
post #635 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:17 PM
Member
 
wzh2hz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, thanks for all the great info in this thread. It's been very helpful. I'm having a problem connecting the 93 to my PC for media sharing. The 93 is wireless to the network. That works fine. I'm running Vista on the PC and thought I would use WMP 11 to connect. I'm probably doing something stupid, but I don't see the 93 through WMP. Can someone point me in the right direction?
wzh2hz is offline  
post #636 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by captcraig View Post

I tired the workaround and did the same. Only with the Pioneer VSX-92...no dice. Same issue, the Oppo shuts my receiver off every time. Frustrating!
Guess I'll have to wait till Monday to speak to a customer service rep.

A few more troubleshooting steps that might be helpful to Oppo if you have done them when you call:

Tripple-check to be sure that HDMI-CEC functions are turned OFF in all components, (TV, AVR, player). This may also be called "HDMI-Control", "AnyNet+", "VieraLink", etc.
Rule out the possibility that the Oppo remote might be triggering the AVR to shut down.
Turn OFF the screen saver in the Oppo. Turn off any similar power-saving or auto-standby functions in ALL components.
Disconnect the AVR from your TV, run Oppo HDMI-2 to the AVR and HDMI-1 to the TV.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #637 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by chs4000 View Post

I'm fascinated by the number of air vents on this player. There are zero, which tells me they probably turned the whole unit, body & all, into one big heatsink. As far as I can tell that's pretty unorthodox amongst high-end blu-ray players -- my commendation to Oppo if this design really works and helps contribute to long-term player reliability beyond the warranty period.

The bottom plate of the chassis radiates a lot of heat. I think that like any player one should exercise caution with ventilation for the player. But so far we haven't seen any real heat issues. Discs will come out warm but not hot. I've had my -93 running for 12+ hrs with no noticeable increase in heat. My hunch is that the real secret is to use components that don't generate the heat to begin with.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #638 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:28 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by wzh2hz View Post

First of all, thanks for all the great info in this thread. It's been very helpful. I'm having a problem connecting the 93 to my PC for media sharing. The 93 is wireless to the network. That works fine. I'm running Vista on the PC and thought I would use WMP 11 to connect. I'm probably doing something stupid, but I don't see the 93 through WMP. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Our DLNA knowledge resides in the Oppo BDP-83 DLNA/UPnP thread. This was established for an earlier player but getting DLNA working should be the same.

The BDP-83 FAQ also has some links on DLNA issues, specifically some for Windows: How do I get DLNA working?

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #639 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:29 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post

Bob...... I follow your sister thread on the d2v side.......even it`s running faster than myself........... I got my 93 Yesterday.....but won`t have a chance to set it up until Tuesday. I have the d2v as well....... Any particular settings on the 93 with the d2v setup that you recommend????? I just though that you have`em all down.......

Erling

For the moment I recommend HDMI 1 physical connection with HDMI 1 output priority, explicit 1080p output resolution, 1080p/24 Auto, 3D OFF, TV System Multi, "16:9 Wide/Auto", HDMI YCbCr 4:4:4, HDMI Deep Color OFF, Secondary Audio ON, HDMI Audio LPCM, SACD Output PCM, HDCD Decoding ON, HDMI CEC OFF.

Some of these recommendations may change as the firmware evolves.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #640 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by wzh2hz View Post

First of all, thanks for all the great info in this thread. It's been very helpful. I'm having a problem connecting the 93 to my PC for media sharing. The 93 is wireless to the network. That works fine. I'm running Vista on the PC and thought I would use WMP 11 to connect. I'm probably doing something stupid, but I don't see the 93 through WMP. Can someone point me in the right direction?

You might get better info from the streaming forum. WMP-11 is infamous for problems even if you do get it to work. But as I recall you need to go into WMP and enable the Oppo for playback. There's a dedicated Oppo thread in the streaming forum that might get you started. there's also a setup option in the Oppo to enable "my network", but that usually defaults to "on".
rdgrimes is offline  
post #641 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
May I suggest captcraig to also change the HDMI cable from the player to the Pio ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #642 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:38 PM
Member
 
mezman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone in the know have any idea if Oppo plans to implement search for Netflix? That was a disappointment for me to find that there's no search now that the XBOX can do it.

Also, I have a question regarding "Demo" mode. Has that been implemented yet? It doesn't seem to do anything on my player when enabled whether playing BDs or DVDs. It's not critical, but I'd like a way to be able to easily compare the processing done by the QDEO to source direct. I can't really tell any difference between the two when cycling though my options using the resolution button on the remote.
mezman is offline  
post #643 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
egreen1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the Oppo be used to decode audio streaming from my Mac?
egreen1976 is offline  
post #644 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezman View Post

Does anyone in the know have any idea if Oppo plans to implement search for Netflix? That was a disappointment for me to find that there's no search now that the XBOX can do it.

Again, this is not up to Oppo. Netflix decides what UI is loaded into any device when it connects to the server. The device is certified by NF for use with a specific UI.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #645 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:45 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezman View Post


Also, I have a question regarding "Demo" mode. Has that been implemented yet?

No, not working yet.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #646 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:45 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezman View Post

Does anyone in the know have any idea if Oppo plans to implement search for Netflix? That was a disappointment for me to find that there's no search now that the XBOX can do it.

Also, I have a question regarding "Demo" mode. Has that been implemented yet? It doesn't seem to do anything on my player when enabled whether playing BDs or DVDs. It's not critical, but I'd like a way to be able to easily compare the processing done by the QDEO to source direct. I can't really tell any difference between the two when cycling though my options using the resolution button on the remote.

I don't believe "Demo" mode is enabled yet in the 1108 firmware.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #647 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:56 PM
Member
 
rwinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

No way to get any output from any SACD layer (stereo or surround) directly from the optical or coax output.
...You may want to compare analog output of the stereo SACD layer using the Oppo's analog outputs versus the PCM output from the CD layer using your receiver/converter.
...
The cheapest solution I have see to taking the HDMI SACD internally concerted to LPCM output and pulling the PCM off of it is the Monoprice splitter. ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

From the manual:

...
Option 2a is not possible, option 2b is.
Option 3a is not possible, option 3b is.
Option 4 is not desirable as, depending on the specific SACD, you'll be missing quite a bit of the content.

(A) Correct
(B) 2b can be better than 1 because you're working with a better quality source signal. But the end result will depend on the exact equipment being used.
(C) IMO, 2b is better than 3b in most cases. But this is a try it both ways, pick what you prefer sort of thing.
(D) Correct - you'd be potentially throwing a way a lot of important content.
(E) The 93 can convert DSD to PCM, but it will only send it out over HDMI (or analog after the PCM is passed through the DAC). It can also convert DSD direct to analog through the internal DAC.

But the bottom line is that you can't get SACD in any form over the coax or toslink digital outputs on the 93 due to licensing restrictions.

Thank you both for replying in the spirit of the question. Of course, it is not entirely clear that the NOVA DAC will be distinguishable from that of the 93, but it will be interesting to find out. I had not heard of the monoprice solution ($74), but that, while overkill on the hdmi outputs, isn't completely out of range as an experiment, especially since they'll take it back. It is annoying that Sony's paranoia about SACD-copying prevents honest people from having a simple, highest-quality solution.
rwinner is offline  
post #648 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just got my 93 this morning FEDEX. Nice unit been doing some tweeking so far so good. Much more to do.
Bluvette is offline  
post #649 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:57 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by egreen1976 View Post

Can the Oppo be used to decode audio streaming from my Mac?

The audio would have to be provided by a DLNA server on your Mac.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #650 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by captcraig View Post

I tired the workaround and did the same. Only with the Pioneer VSX-92...no dice. Same issue, the Oppo shuts my receiver off every time. Frustrating!
Guess I'll have to wait till Monday to speak to a customer service rep.

I did some research about the Pioneer VSX92 shutting off , since I have the 94 and expect my 93 soon. Here are some more suggestions based on what I found :

-Turn off "deep color" on the player.
-Turn off "phase control on the receiver"
-Check if your speakers are perfectly connected , no bad wiring.
-Check if your speakers match the impedance setting on the receiver. (see the manual).

BTW, are you using speaker with low impedance, 4 or lower ?

Do a search on the 92THX thread , you will find few people with similar shut-off problems. There is a guy there who knows everything about the receiver, "lagairre".

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #651 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:05 PM
Member
 
captcraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

May I suggest captcraig to also change the HDMI cable from the player to the Pio ?

Thanks. I'll try switching cables.
captcraig is offline  
post #652 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:06 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The bottom plate of the chassis radiates a lot of heat. I think that like any player one should exercise caution with ventilation for the player. But so far we haven't seen any real heat issues. Discs will come out warm but not hot. I've had my -93 running for 12+ hrs with no noticeable increase in heat. My hunch is that the real secret is to use components that don't generate the heat to begin with.

Thanks for the comment. I've always been an open air ent center guy, just for cooling reasons, and Im glad this one will be out in the open.

I also wonder about the external wireless, but I guess they did that for improved SS.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #653 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:08 PM
Member
 
captcraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

I did some research about the Pioneer VSX92 shutting off , since I have the 94 and expect my 93 soon. Here are some more suggestions based on what I found :

-Turn off "deep color" on the player.
-Turn off "phase control on the receiver"
-Check if your speakers are perfectly connected , no bad wiring.
-Check if your speakers match the impedance setting on the receiver. (see the manual).

BTW, are you using speaker with low impedance, 4 or lower ?

Do a search on the 92THX thread , you will find few people with similar shut-off problems. There is a guy there who knows everything about the receiver, "lagairre".

I will check out that thread as well, as checking the settings. Thanks. I'm using Gallos speakers that I've used for years with this receiver.
captcraig is offline  
post #654 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
kdavison007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had problems streaming using My Network and DLNA/UPnP? My BDP-83 streamed .mkv without issues, but I keep getting the "format not supported" error when trying to stream files the 83 would stream.
kdavison007 is offline  
post #655 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:28 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdavison007 View Post

Has anyone had problems streaming using My Network and DLNA/UPnP? My BDP-83 streamed .mkv without issues, but I keep getting the "format not supported" error when trying to stream files the 83 would stream.

Is that the exact message?

Do the files play when you put them on a disc or USB stick?

Do you have any details on the audio and video codecs inside the mkv container?

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #656 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 02:40 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of my buds over at HighDfJunkies emailed Oppo about the external antenna, and got a response in like 2 minutes (it's scary how fast they respond). The all metal chassis would cause SS issues, so they moved it to external. Another quality move.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #657 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Craven More's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Strange.. I have a very similar setup (MX5000 + MSC400) works fine for me using mono-mono cable.

I read in the owners manual that if the 93 is used in IR mode with incompatible equipment it can lead to damage to either of the units. I will contact Oppo to see what they say.
Craven More is offline  
post #658 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 03:29 PM
Member
 
captcraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

I did some research about the Pioneer VSX92 shutting off , since I have the 94 and expect my 93 soon. Here are some more suggestions based on what I found :

-Turn off "deep color" on the player.
-Turn off "phase control on the receiver"
-Check if your speakers are perfectly connected , no bad wiring.
-Check if your speakers match the impedance setting on the receiver. (see the manual).

BTW, are you using speaker with low impedance, 4 or lower ?

Do a search on the 92THX thread , you will find few people with similar shut-off problems. There is a guy there who knows everything about the receiver, "lagairre".

Also the Receiver doesn't shut off while watching cable or streaming Netflix only when playing Blu-rays, so if the wiring was bad wouldn't it effect any of the other options? Just a thought.
captcraig is offline  
post #659 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 03:30 PM
Member
 
captcraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captcraig View Post

Also the Receiver doesn't shut off while watching cable or streaming Netflix only when playing Blu-rays, so if the wiring was bad wouldn't it effect any of the other options? Just a thought.

Also I checked all of the above as far as the setting and they were all set correctly as stated.
captcraig is offline  
post #660 of 26943 Old 11-27-2010, 03:34 PM
Member
 
PHX HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captcraig View Post

Also the Receiver doesn't shut off while watching cable or streaming Netflix only when playing Blu-rays, so if the wiring was bad wouldn't it effect any of the other options? Just a thought.

So you're able to stream Netflix through the 93 without your AVR shutting down? I'll give that a try tomorrow.

Mine will shut down with no disc and nothing but the screen saver running.
PHX HD is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off