Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
there is only paper version at the moment.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 07:57 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Is there a link to an online manual for the 93 that beta testers and new owners can access?

There is no link yet on the Oppo 93 webpage. Just wondering if the beta testers have access to a pdf manual, or is the only manual available the printed copy you receive with your 93?

I've always liked the ability to study the manual before I receive the player. Makes setup quicker and more informed.

Thanks,
Tom
No, the manual is not online yet.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #63 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Is there any way to know at what quality Netflix is playing ? Any bar gauge ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #64 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 07:59 AM
Member
 
dtblair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried the DLNA features of the 93 regarding HD audio and full bit-rate mkv (20-40GB) files? The 83 would not bitstream any HD audio (TrueHD or DTS_MA) over DLNA.
dtblair is offline  
post #65 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 08:02 AM
Member
 
igboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 93 recognise the Cinavia watermark that's now showing up on new Blu-Rays?

I prefer to back up my discs into MKVs when I first get them, knowing that they'll get a good amount of play. This protects the discs from family and neihbors.

If the 93 recognises this new protection, it will pretty much kill my ability to keep the originals safe.

igboo is offline  
post #66 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 08:08 AM
Member
 
michdys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post
its reads the what you are playing with the truehd etc 2 channel. on the oppo 83 all the info was together in one display.

Jacob
Cool !
If anyone can post some more pics of the 93 (in action), they are most welcome ! Here in Europe we still have to wait some time...
michdys is offline  
post #67 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Glenn Baumann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV1080P24 View Post
Sending feedback and comments directly to OPPO Digital Inc is important to make the OPPO BDP-93 firmware better


All OPPO BDP-93 owners that have the BETA firmware (pre-release firmware) installed don’t forget to email OPPO digital regarding any bugs you find or features you would like added in future firmware releases.

For example the discontinued OPPO BDP-83 has a 24fps DVD feature in the menu that the OPPO BDP-93 lacks. Perhaps if OPPO Digital Inc gets enough emails they may decide to add the 24fps DVD feature to the OPPO BDP-93 with a future firmware update.

The following is a quote from OPPO Digital

When you receive your BDP-93, please send any feedback and comments directly to BDP-93@oppodigital.com - your input can help shape the BDP-93's firmware further.”
HDTV1080P24,

Not sure if you realize it and hate to be a nitpicker, but please change your post TEXT COLOR to the standard AVS yellow! Black text on a dark background seems tough to read!... Unless of course you choose either the AVSForum.com Default or AVS Mobile setting!
Glenn Baumann is offline  
post #68 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:07 AM
Member
 
rontonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the 93 allow me to get rid of my scaler by having the ability to zoom 2:35 to 1:85 to fit my plasma screen? Also will it play 3D better than the other players currently out? I'm trying to justify buying this, so any help would be appreciated.
rontonio is offline  
post #69 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:15 AM
Member
 
myz350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just spoke with my supplier, he thinks that the 3D might not work with the Sony VPL-VW90ES that I will be getting with this, because of compatibility issues. Anyone tried the 3D on Sony?
myz350 is offline  
post #70 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:17 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 429
posts deleted

We respectfully ask that you limit posts to technical issues or you may be asked to leave the thread
markrubin is offline  
post #71 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I picked up my BDP-93 on 11/19/10. So far, I have only one issue with the firmware.

A couple of times, I have closed the empty drawer and the display remained at CLOSE, not getting as far as LOADING.

It doesn't always happen and I'm not sure how to reliably reproduce it.

Has anyone else seen this?
bweissman is offline  
post #72 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
Is there any way to know at what quality Netflix is playing ? Any bar gauge ?
None. Netflix determines what type displays and such are loaded into the player. Oppo has no control over it.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #73 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
I picked up my BDP-93 on 11/19/10. So far, I have only one issue with the firmware.

A couple of times, I have closed the empty drawer and the display remained at CLOSE, not getting as far as LOADING.

It doesn't always happen and I'm not sure how to reliably reproduce it.

Has anyone else seen this?
Could be an issue with the loader, contact Oppo if it persists. Of course it might be a result of the type of disc you are putting into it. But you should get either a "loading" message or a "no disc" message.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #74 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post
its reads the what you are playing with the truehd etc 2 channel. on the oppo 83 all the info was together in one display.

Jacob
Can you please post some pictures of the front plate of the player in action? With a disc? Also, the set-up menu? Thanks much!

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
post #75 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:56 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontonio View Post
Will the 93 allow me to get rid of my scaler by having the ability to zoom 2:35 to 1:85 to fit my plasma screen? Also will it play 3D better than the other players currently out? I'm trying to justify buying this, so any help would be appreciated.
Like the previous OPPO BR players, it has both vertical stretch and full screen zoom modes that do what you want. However, none of the zoom modes currently work with Blu-ray discs that have java. We hope this will be added in future firmware, but there is no promise that it will be.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #76 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
the setup menu is more or less the same as the oppo 83.
I dont have a good camera for pictures.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #77 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Is the remote identical to the 83? Can I use the 83 to program my Harmony ? Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #78 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:08 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
Is the remote identical to the 83? Can I use the 83 to program my Harmony ? Thanks.
Yes.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #79 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Geezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Is the remote identical to the 83? Can I use the 83 to program my Harmony ? Thanks.

New to the Oppo. Currently have a Harmony One remote controlling my system. Will I find the 83/93 in the Harmony database? I know I should post in another more appropriate forum but I figure someone here has the experience to answer my question. Thanks.
Geezer is offline  
post #80 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:33 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezer View Post

New to the Oppo. Currently have a Harmony One remote controlling my system. Will I find the 83/93 in the Harmony database? I know I should post in another more appropriate forum but I figure someone here has the experience to answer my question. Thanks.

-83 is there. -93 uses the same codes.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #81 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:40 AM
R_J
Member
 
R_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Is the remote identical to the 83? Can I use the 83 to program my Harmony ? Thanks.

Yes, I have been doing this with my Harmony 880 since I received and installed the BDP-93 on friday. Works flawlessly and the range is actually better than with the original remote.

Another question - how do I exit the 'Home' menu without either power off or open/close to load a disc? Pressing the Return doesn't do anything.

Netflix streaming has also been flawless so far. I am using a wired ethernet connection. The invocation was fairly intuitive and appreciated by the Mrs, with one glitch resulting in an inadvertent exit to the Oppo standy screen - will try to reproduce the exact sequence tonight. Just wish Netflix would expand the selection of titles available for instant streaming, and provide 5.1

Very hard to locate the buttons on the front panel...does look nice though.
R_J is offline  
post #82 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wrinklefree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten the IR port to work on the back? It worked fine on my 83, but not with the 93. Not sure if it's a FW bug or a compatibility issue with my IR repeater setup.
wrinklefree is offline  
post #83 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Synch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post


any other questions? feel free to ask.

Jacob

Hi Jacob or any other Owner of the BDP-93,

Can you tell me if there is Internet Radio streaming available from non-subscription based stations like Shoutcast, RadioTime or RadioBox?

Thanks
Synch is offline  
post #84 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:55 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinklefree View Post

Has anyone gotten the IR port to work on the back? It worked fine on my 83, but not with the 93. Not sure if it's a FW bug or a compatibility issue with my IR repeater setup.

Hasn't the cable been changed between the two models?

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #85 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wrinklefree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Hasn't the cable been changed between the two models?

-Bill

Not that I'm aware of. A 1/8" mono cable still fits the 93 but it doesn't react to IR at all, not even through the front sensor when it's plugged in.
wrinklefree is offline  
post #86 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 11:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinklefree View Post

Not that I'm aware of. A 1/8" mono cable still fits the 93 but it doesn't react to IR at all, not even through the front sensor when it's plugged in.

don't forget the IR jack on the back of the OPPO is 3 wire: it puts out +5 VDC on the tip (I assume this applies to the -93 as well but have not received my unit)

OPPO has adapter cables to go to a standard 2 wire plug to connect to an IR block: or make your own using sleeve and ground: no connection to tip
markrubin is offline  
post #87 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 11:03 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

don't forget the IR jack on the back of the OPPO is 3 wire: it puts out +5 VDC on the tip

OPPO has adapter cables to go to a standard 2 wire plug to connect to an IR block: or make your own using sleeve and ground: no connection to tip

I believe that is changed on the -93.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #88 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 11:15 AM
Member
 
tomcrown1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sorry if this is in the wrong place. Will their be a place to talk about the upcomming 95 and what great audiophile features it will have?
tomcrown1 is offline  
post #89 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
The IR jacks on the -93 are different than the -83. The -83 has a 3-wire with a hot tip and requires a "stereo to mono" adapter cable to interface with most IR distributions systems. The -93 has a standard mono jack with no power and does not need the adapter cable.

The -93's front sensor is disabled when you use the jack, the -83's is not.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #90 of 27105 Old 11-22-2010, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wrinklefree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The IR jacks on the -93 are different than the -83. The -83 has a 3-wire with a hot tip and requires a "stereo to mono" adapter cable to interface with most IR distributions systems. The -93 has a standard mono jack with no power and does not need the adapter cable.

The -93's front sensor is disabled when you use the jack, the -83's is not.

Thanks for the info. I'll try another cable.
wrinklefree is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off