Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 627 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18781 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 175
No, since the players were manufactured before the new AACS standards, Cinavia will not be added to the player.
Neuromancer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18782 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,821
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by bharath23 View Post

Now that its been a month since Cinavia is required by all Blu-ray players, since Oppo continues to sell BDP-93 does this mean Oppo will include Cinavia in the new firmware? I hope not, after losing ISO support this will be the last nail in the customers coffin of being able to play backups.

If I understand correctly, the OPPO BDP-93 and all earlier players are grandfathered in. There shouldn't be a Cinavia firmware. In fact it may require hardware.
htwaits is offline  
post #18783 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 09:47 PM
Member
 
bharath23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

If I understand correctly, the OPPO BDP-93 and all earlier players are grandfathered in. There shouldn't be a Cinavia firmware. In fact it may require hardware.

I am doubtful it requires additional hardware. Sony PS3 enforces Cinavia only after a firmware v3.10 update. I hope that because BDP-93 was released prior to the date it is grandfathered in not to include Cinavia. Movie industry is really dumb. They manage to come up with these requirements, first Cinavia, then attempted SOPA wonder whats next. They just dont understand that this will lead to increased piracy.
bharath23 is offline  
post #18784 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browninggold View Post

Thanks got the disc out. How do you update to the Beta firmware? Checked update and says I have latest

Note that if you do update to the latest Beta firmware, just to watch Hugo, you will forevermore lose the Oppo 93's ability to play ISO rips from attached HDD/flashdrive.

Be very sure you want to update as it is not possible to rollback to a previous firmware version.
IanD is offline  
post #18785 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic144 View Post

Wonder if Oppo will one day add support for HD audio in mkv... It is a working capability with PCs these days, so it shouldn't be mission impossible. This would provide another avenue for people looking for alternatives to the .iso feature (albeit mostly limited to main-movie backup).

The studios don't want the consumer to be able to play perfect digital rips of their HD titles and they will do whatever it takes to make it difficult to do so, including heavying manufacturers to not support certain containers or codecs properly.

The only reason it works on PCs is that software is often open source and thus not constrained by studio licensing requirements.

Don't expect Oppo to ever support HD audio in mkv.

The best container at the moment for maximum HD support within the Oppo is M2TS (regardless of firmware): the only thing it misses out on is chapter navigation and forced subtitle support.

The best container if you still have ISO playback capability, is ISO.
IanD is offline  
post #18786 of 27084 Old 03-02-2012, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

This is actually very interesting. Ripping to ISO can solve unplayable disks. One more reason NOT to update firmware.

Discs are generally unplayable because of:

1) Physical defect (damage or crud on the surface of the disc or laser)
2) Upgraded DRM
3) Authoring defects or trickery

IMO, the majority of cases of non-playability are due to 2) and 3)

When you rip a disc to ISO with AnyDVD HD, you generally remove the encryption and region code. Removing region code requires modifying Java (including removing BD-Live). In the process of modification, DRM and some authoring trickery get removed. The result is often an ISO that can be played, whereas the original disc can't.

A Bluray disc contains a number of M2TS files, that are the notional equivalent of vob files in a DVD; plus playlist and other supplemental files that are the notional equivalent of ifo files in a DVD.

Whilst it is possible to play an M2TS or vob file standalone, the player doesn't know which files to play to give the full feature: that's where the playlists come in.

The menus on a disc are the way that the playlists and specific tracks are accessed by the customer, but are under the control of the disc authors and can include trickery to make playback of rips difficult.

AnyDVD HD has a feature called Speed Menu which replaces the original tricky disc menus with a simple menu access to the playlists. Within each playlist, the player can be used to select the desired soundtrack or subtitle to use. The downside to this method is that the playlists are not identified as to their function (although Speed Menu attempts to identify the main feature) but it does give the customer total control over which playlist they want to view and when. An added bonus is that all discs now become capable of being resumed.

For recalcitrant discs where AnyDVD HD can't fix existing menu playability issues, Speed Menu may allow the individual features and extras to be played.

Therefore, by ripping to ISO with AnyDVD HD (and using options judiciously), it may be possible to play what otherwise would be unplayable discs, on an Oppo, without requiring a firmware update. This approach also supposedly supports 3D as well as 2D discs.
IanD is offline  
post #18787 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 01:30 AM
Member
 
Miketr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way that we can go back, re-install back to previous firmware for Oppo93 ? Thanks any help is greatly appreciated!

Mike
Miketr75 is offline  
post #18788 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 04:28 AM
Member
 
magic144's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Miketr75 - it's my understanding that you cannot

@general
of course if you were relying on .iso to play full backups of your discs, all is not lost... you can still make a perfect backup onto a new BD disc (if you remove DRM with AnyDVD HD) and just play that, to avoid worrying about damaging your original... this is going to be a $2 to $5 cost depending on size (25GB or 50GB), but then if a certain disc is important enough to merit a backup...

I don't see sticking a stake in the ground at firmware release X as being a good idea, one day it will just become annoying once the number of discs that don't work with it reaches a certain level, and you lose out on the gradual accumulation of bug fixes and feature introductions

I'm lucky in that I never considered buying the Oppo for the .iso purpose (I never even knew it could/would do that until I found this forum!)
magic144 is offline  
post #18789 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Please forgive my ignorance for this question.
I watched Hugo 3d version without any problems. I have the last official firmware(December I think).
Why are some people having trouble & others are not?
I purchased my player last month.
dowop is online now  
post #18790 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 04:49 AM
Member
 
erray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hugo played without error here too. Great movie by-the-way!
erray is offline  
post #18791 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I watched Hugo 3d version without any problems. I have the last official firmware(December I think).
Why are some people having trouble & others are not?

Like with the Universal EU title releases, different regions or even countries may have different authoring of the same title.

When saying you don't have issues with your title, it might be useful to say which country you purchased it from.

It is possible there may be an influence due to region mod chip too, or whether the player is connected to the internet: just too many variables in player setup, connectivity and discs to absolutely determine what might work and what might not.

Remember, this is a global forum and there is a wide variation out there in the real world.
IanD is offline  
post #18792 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^^^^^^
I purchased the Disk in Ohio USA.
dowop is online now  
post #18793 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
Shallow_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also had problems with Hugo, and also with Footloose (2011), both Paramount titles.

What worked for me was to load another paramount title, I used Paranormal Activity 3, and then eject at paramount logo and replace with Footloos/Hugo.

Good to see there is a new FW on the way already.

Thanks.

Edit: Both discs are US versions, played on a BDP 95 EU with region mod. freezes up in both reg A and B mode.
Shallow_ is offline  
post #18794 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I dont have any mods on my player. Would that be why I am not having trouble with Hugo?
dowop is online now  
post #18795 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 05:41 AM
Member
 
adamwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the region mod installed. I'm using the beta before the removal of ISO support, and Hugo plays fine on my 93. I tried both the regular and 3D versions of Hugo and both loaded and played without a hitch multiple times. I have online access set to limited in the player.

Adam
adamwe is offline  
post #18796 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 06:11 AM
Member
 
brbrem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketr75 View Post

Is there a way that we can go back, re-install back to previous firmware for Oppo93 ? Thanks any help is greatly appreciated!

Mike

No.
brbrem is offline  
post #18797 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just tried to play the blu-ray version of Hugo & the unit froze.After holding the power button & getting the disk out I tried the 3d version & it played fine.
Is it because I started out yesterday with the 3d disk? I am confused.
dowop is online now  
post #18798 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 09:18 AM
Member
 
aforkosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I, too, had no problem with the Hugo 3D disk. However, in order to view the special features, I needed to use the standard Blu-Ray disk. The first time I inserted it, after a fairly long initialization, it started the Titanic preview. I tried to jump to the next preview (or main title) and the unit froze. After cycling the unit and ejecting the disk, I tried several variations of activating and deactivating Java and erasing persistent storage, but either the initial behavior repeated or initialization never completed. I finally installed the beta firmware and was able to skip to the main tittle and view the special features.

Alan Forkosh
Oakland, CA USA
aforkosh is offline  
post #18799 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post

Therefore, by ripping to ISO with AnyDVD HD (and using options judiciously), it may be possible to play what otherwise would be unplayable discs, on an Oppo, without requiring a firmware update. This approach also supposedly supports 3D as well as 2D discs.

You do realize that this so called ripping software you judiciously use to evade trickery is authored in St. John's Antigua and Barbuda. Aren't there any competing products from a more legit company, rather then a payment/distribution pseudo org in Ireland and Baku Azerbaijan? As you say this is a global forum.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #18800 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
bordo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the previous SW version, back to December of 2011 play fine 3D BD ISOs and handle SBS at full resolution?
bordo32 is offline  
post #18801 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 11:50 AM
Member
 
magic144's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@JohnAV - can BD encryption removal and reverse-engineering/removing copy protection schemes ever be done by a "legit" company?
(EDIT - answering my own question, I guess it depends where you live - maybe Antigua/Barbuda? LOL)
magic144 is offline  
post #18802 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 02:00 PM
Member
 
smitty8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wouldn't bother trying to connect a USB stick or iPod. Just buy an AppleTV. It streams your whole music and movie library, plus it has internet radio and Netflix too (and I much prefer it's interface). Then you can use your remote, setup genius or play a y playlist you've created in itunes etc. it's $99, it would be silly to try and incorporate an old iPod.

Can anyone speak directly to their experience with a 93 vs 95 through the analog outs?
smitty8000 is offline  
post #18803 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 02:21 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8000 View Post

. . . .

Can anyone speak directly to their experience with a 93 vs 95 through the analog outs?

The BDP-95 owner's thread is full of people who can (and have) posted on their results with Analog.

The consensus in this thread and from reviewers is that the 93's analog is better than the 83's analog but not as good as the 95's analog. Most such comparison posts are in the 95 thread.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18804 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Joseph MAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBus View Post

- Would you mind re-doing a disc-based hack after every firmware update?
- Do you need multiple Blu Ray region support?

If your answers are No and No, use the Superdisc.

Isn't Superdisc only do zone free DVD? Is there a version which could do Bluray region free?
Joseph MAK is offline  
post #18805 of 27084 Old 03-03-2012, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Kincaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph MAK View Post

Isn't Superdisc only do zone free DVD?

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph MAK View Post

Is there a version which could do Bluray region free?

No. A hardware mod is required for playback of Blu-Ray discs outside the default region of the player.
Kincaid is offline  
post #18806 of 27084 Old 03-04-2012, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
cdnbum88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still on the official FW and rented Hugo from Redbox last night and it was a no go for me. Unit froze and had to do a hard power button reset.
Cleared PS and still nothing.

So the BD would not work, but will the SD work if I would have rented that with this FW version?

cdnbum88 is offline  
post #18807 of 27084 Old 03-04-2012, 07:26 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnbum88 View Post

I am still on the official FW and rented Hugo from Redbox last night and it was a no go for me. Unit froze and had to do a hard power button reset.
Cleared PS and still nothing.

So the BD would not work, but will the SD work if I would have rented that with this FW version?

I don't recall any reports about the DVD. The Blu-ray will work with the most recent beta firmware.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #18808 of 27084 Old 03-04-2012, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnbum88 View Post

I am still on the official FW and rented Hugo from Redbox last night and it was a no go for me. Unit froze and had to do a hard power button reset.
Cleared PS and still nothing.

So the BD would not work, but will the SD work if I would have rented that with this FW version?

Yes, the DVD version played fine on my 95........ the same 95 that had similar "no go for me" results with the blu version. Updated FW to current Beta release and blu now plays fine as well.

Hope this helped.

BTW; the DVD version looked spectacular for a DVD. Testimony to the awesome upconverting capabilities of these players I suppose.

He (or she) who dies with the most HT gear doesn't win anything. They're DEAD!
Torqdog is offline  
post #18809 of 27084 Old 03-04-2012, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
dvansowhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good to hear the DVD of Hugo looks that nice on the 93. I will probably buy that instead of blu. Some DVD titles do look very good to me. The AV between the ears is not as good as it was 60 some years ago.
dvansowhat is offline  
post #18810 of 27084 Old 03-04-2012, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
mike2h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i also am a no go with bd hugo. it does play on my ps3. anybody have any idea whne the official firmware will come out?
mike2h is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off