Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 632 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 56Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18931 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Can we get a second confirmation? Anyone? I'm too chicken to try.
obie_fl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18932 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I cannot confirm that ISO has been removed but Netflix is better.
Theresa is offline  
post #18933 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Bugs are bugs. There's no LOGIC to why a bug does what it does.

Some bugs are trickier than others to fix due to architectural constraints and the need to find a fix that doesn't also break a whole lot of other stuff.
--Bob

Is there any change with the Oppo outputting 720p on 1080p blu-ray material? I have a 720p projector, so I set the Oppo to send 720p to my projector (rather than let the projector downscale).

Do these 720p changes in the new firmware effect what I do?
caesar1 is offline  
post #18934 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Ornette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Luxembourg (EU)
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post

Without the latest upscaling firmware improvement, the Oppo has a bug when converting 720p24->1080p24

(...)

With the Oppo and 720p24 it's a choice between upscaling bug or pulldown judder.

What does the bug look like? I have played quite a number of 720p/24 mkv files (upscaled to 1080p/24 by the Oppo) and not noticed anything.
Ornette is offline  
post #18935 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:36 AM
Member
 
brucesee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

The latest official firmware doesn't remove the ability to play ISO's.

I flashed the firmware twice just to make sure (unplugging the unit before attempts). I reset to factory defaults after each flash. The Oppo shows revision BDP9x-65-0302 is installed.

ISO's still play. All of them. FYI, I never installed the last official firmware revision. I upgraded from the Beta revision before that one (December one).

I'm not going to complain.

I haven't upgraded, yet. Thus, my BDP-93 still has the prior firmware, which supposedly plays ISO's. Quick question, what have people used to actually get their players to "see" ISO files contained on their networks? My files are on a Windows Home Server that has Windows Media Connect and a version of Twonky that I believe doesn't support ISO. Thanks.
brucesee is offline  
post #18936 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucesee View Post

I haven't upgraded, yet. Thus, my BDP-93 still has the prior firmware, which supposedly plays ISO's. Quick question, what have people used to actually get their players to "see" ISO files contained on their networks? My files are on a Windows Home Server that has Windows Media Connect and a version of Twonky that I believe doesn't support ISO. Thanks.

I never got the Oppo to recognize ISOs on a networked computer but with the upgrade it is "seeing" mkv's on the network. I'm in the process of converting ISOs to mkv's.
Theresa is offline  
post #18937 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:41 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 629 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucesee View Post

I haven't upgraded, yet. Thus, my BDP-93 still has the prior firmware, which supposedly plays ISO's. Quick question, what have people used to actually get their players to "see" ISO files contained on their networks? My files are on a Windows Home Server that has Windows Media Connect and a version of Twonky that I believe doesn't support ISO. Thanks.

ISO was for local storage only, not network. As far as we know no DLNA server supports ISO.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18938 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:48 AM
Member
 
brucesee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick replies and info. As I currently stream via network, no need to hold-off on upgrading.
brucesee is offline  
post #18939 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

ISO was for local storage only, not network. As far as we know no DLNA server supports ISO.

-Bill

Thank you for confirming that for me.
Theresa is offline  
post #18940 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
tjenkins95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

The latest official firmware doesn't remove the ability to play ISO's.

I flashed the firmware twice just to make sure (unplugging the unit before attempts). I reset to factory defaults after each flash. The Oppo shows revision BDP9x-65-0302 is installed.

ISO's still play. All of them. FYI, I never installed the last official firmware revision. I upgraded from the Beta revision before that one (December one).

I'm not going to complain.



I have installed the latest firmware and I can confirm that the Oppo no longer displays any of my ISO files on my usb hardrive. Not sure why the ISO files would play for you with the latest firmware.

Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 5030 UB
Denon AVR-X5200W
Blu-Ray: Oppo 103
Pioneer Dolby Atmos enabled Elite Concentric Speakers: SP-EFS73, SP-EBS73, and SP-EC73
Klipsch Speakers: RF-82, RC-62, RS-52, RB-61
tjenkins95 is online now  
post #18941 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

The latest official firmware doesn't remove the ability to play ISO's.

I flashed the firmware twice just to make sure (unplugging the unit before attempts). I reset to factory defaults after each flash. The Oppo shows revision BDP9x-65-0302 is installed.

ISO's still play. All of them. FYI, I never installed the last official firmware revision. I upgraded from the Beta revision before that one (December one).

I'm not going to complain.

Something weird happening here. How do we make it happen again?:-)
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #18942 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 01:58 PM
Member
 
LoopinFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bob P,

Can you please verify that the 720p scaling fix works when the player is set to the explicit 1080i output resolution?
That's how I have mine set up since my display does perfect IVTC in all cases if I just feed it a steady stream of 1080i.

Thanks,
- LoopinFool
LoopinFool is offline  
post #18943 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 02:28 PM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi anyone know please if the firmware for the oppo 93 now has Cinavia

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharath23 View Post

I am doubtful it requires additional hardware. Sony PS3 enforces Cinavia only after a firmware v3.10 update. I hope that because BDP-93 was released prior to the date it is grandfathered in not to include Cinavia. Movie industry is really dumb. They manage to come up with these requirements, first Cinavia, then attempted SOPA wonder whats next. They just dont understand that this will lead to increased piracy.

allan0210 is offline  
post #18944 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 02:44 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 629 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan0210 View Post

Hi anyone know please if the firmware for the oppo 93 now has Cinavia

Thanks

The BDP-93/95 does not and will not have Cinavia. Future models are another matter.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18945 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:22 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,957
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 982
A follow-up on an earlier question in this thread about whether firmware updates are still happening for the 83 and 83se: The "Public Beta" 0117 firmware has now become "Official" for the 83 and 83se.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18946 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post

For a 720p24 mkv, converting it to 720i60 means that an IVTC enabled processor can return it to 720p24 and then upscale to 1080p24. There should be no loss, since it only involves splitting progressive frames to interlaced fields and repeating some of those fields.

Without the latest upscaling firmware improvement, the Oppo has a bug when converting 720p24->1080p24, which is why I want to use a different device to perform the upscaling. There is apparently no bug when not upscaling 720p, but because 720p24 is not an acknowledged HDTV standard, it has to be output as 720p60, introducing pulldown judder. IVTC enabled processors generally only operate on interlaced inputs, which is why I need the Oppo to output 720i60.

With the Oppo and 720p24 it's a choice between upscaling bug or pulldown judder. I prefer to have a different option by using an external scaler.

Interlaced seems to have a bad rap, but that's only because broadcast TV had to filter the source to reduce interlace twitter on interlaced displays. When dealing with progressive displays, there should be no loss in splitting progressive to interlace and combining it back into progressive: no filtering required.

Even with the latest firmware and the removal of the upscaling bug, I'm still no better off as it will only upscale to 1080p60, introducing pulldown judder, plus I lose ISO capability.

Thanks Ian ...

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #18947 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:38 PM
Member
 
brucesee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresa View Post

I never got the Oppo to recognize ISOs on a networked computer but with the upgrade it is "seeing" mkv's on the network. I'm in the process of converting ISOs to mkv's.

I may go the same route. Are there any other file formats of which you (or anyone else) is aware of that stream via network?
brucesee is offline  
post #18948 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
.wmv's ?
Theresa is offline  
post #18949 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,957
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoopinFool View Post

Bob P,

Can you please verify that the 720p scaling fix works when the player is set to the explicit 1080i output resolution?
That's how I have mine set up since my display does perfect IVTC in all cases if I just feed it a steady stream of 1080i.

Thanks,
- LoopinFool

For HDMI 1 (Primary) output, 720p upscaling to 1080i output works fine. The output will of course be 1080i/60 regardless of whether the content was 720p/24 or 720p/60.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Another poster asked about DOWN-scaling 1080p or 1080i content to 720p output. Again for HDMI 1 (Primary) output, 720p output works fine. The output will be 720p/60 regardless of whether the content was /60 or /24. (HDMI signal specs don't support 720p/24.)

Please note, that even though it may be counter-intuitive, it is sometimes the case that 720p or 768p native resolution displays actually WORK BETTER with 1080i or 1080p input. This has to do with design compromises made by the manufacturer. If forced to choose, manufacturers will tilt towards making 1080i or 1080p input look better because that's how the sets are shown off in stores.

The bottom line is that if you have a 720p or 768p display you should find the time to calibrate for BOTH 720p player output and for 1080i or 1080p player output (if your display will accept 1080p), and see for yourself which works better on YOUR display.

NOTE: It may be the case that the "best" settings in your display are DIFFERENT for 720p input than for 1080i or 1080p input. This shouldn't be the case -- if it happens it is likely due to a bug in your TV -- but it does happen. So CHECK both ways and don't just assume the settings for one way must also be the correct settings for the other way.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18950 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:48 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,704
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 629 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucesee View Post

I may go the same route. Are there any other file formats of which you (or anyone else) is aware of that stream via network?

See the list in the FAQ: What is DLNA?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18951 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Thanks for the list. Somethings keeping me from thinking today..
Theresa is offline  
post #18952 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
bordo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If ISO playback already restricted, is it possible to mount ISO (by Daemon tolls for example) on PC, go to virtual disk, copy BDMW folder and place it into AVCHD folder, which OPPO would play will all the menus (from external HDD, no networking).
Would this work as a full featured ISO with menus?
bordo32 is offline  
post #18953 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresa View Post

I never got the Oppo to recognize ISOs on a networked computer but with the upgrade it is "seeing" mkv's on the network. I'm in the process of converting ISOs to mkv's.

M2TS is better than mkv in that it supports HD audio with the Oppo: the downside is that it doesn't support chapters and takes up a little more space.

ISO's main application is storing a full Bluray structure with menus and extras: if you only want the main feature then M2TS is adequate.

It might be a good idea to save the chapter list along with the M2TS, if you ever want to convert to mkv or some future container with chapter support.
IanD is offline  
post #18954 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bordo32 View Post

If ISO playback already restricted, is it possible to mount ISO (by Daemon tolls for example) on PC, go to virtual disk, copy BDMW folder and place it into AVCHD folder, which OPPO would play will all the menus (from external HDD, no networking).
Would this work as a full featured ISO with menus?

Right now, a standalone BDMV folder or BDMV (+Certificate?) folder inside an AVCHD folder will play as if it was an original disc or ISO of that disc.

However, some have experienced glitches with BDMV or AVCHD/BDMV that they don't get with ISO. It is currently unknown whether this is due to possible file fragmentation on the HDD, or an issue with BDMV playback itself.

BDMV or AVCHD/BDMV playback is not guaranteed into the future.
IanD is offline  
post #18955 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
AVCHD will never be removed from the player, but OPPO could potentially remove multi-level AVCHD support though there have been no signs that this will occur in the future.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #18956 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
bordo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for clearing things up.
If ISO ripped (or BDMW folder placed in to AVCHD folder) of the full 3D BD disk, can it play at full resolution (2x1920x1080p)?
bordo32 is offline  
post #18957 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 188
For many films, yes. But I have ran across some 3D titles which will not work when using BDMV but works fine when using ISO.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #18958 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 07:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post

Something weird happening here. How do we make it happen again?:-)

I don't have time tonight, but I plan on downloading and installing the firmware again. Other than looking at the firmware revision and checking for a firmware update in the GUI, I don't know how to verify that the firmware actually installed.

I'll keep you guys posted. I'm glad that ISO's are still playing, but I'm not foolish enough to think I got all the updates w/o losing the ISO playback capability.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #18959 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
bordo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like Oppo 93 is a perfect fit.
Now I need to find where to get the unit with the old firmware.
On ebay several old firmware units, but most of them have HW modified for multiregion.
I assume that modification does not affect PQ and other perfromance?
bordo32 is offline  
post #18960 of 27280 Old 03-07-2012, 08:27 PM
Member
 
lanping09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bordo32 View Post

Looks like Oppo 93 is a perfect fit.
Now I need to find where to get the unit with the old firmware.
On ebay several old firmware units, but most of them have HW modified for multiregion.
I assume that modification does not affect PQ and other perfromance?

How about contacting OPPO service for help?
lanping09 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off