Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 690 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20671 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 06:29 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Maniac View Post

I have all my surround music now on a NAS - I have 3 surround setups - each has the Oppo BDP 93 as the player..

I am not able to play AVCHD folders from the NAS to any Oppo - no problem playing stereo Flac files or DTS CD wav files - nothing happens when I click on the AVCHD folder other than I move down the file structure..

The AVCHD folders play great if I connect an external hard drive to the Oppo via USB...

if USB external drive is my only option is there such a thing as an external USB drive that also could be connected to the NAS so that I could add a new album to all 3 external drives using a PC..??

No, AVCHD is not supported over DLNA. Individual M2TS files will work if the DLNA server supports them.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20672 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MC Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

No, AVCHD is not supported over DLNA. Individual M2TS files will work if the DLNA server supports them.

-Bill

Thanks for the reply... I can play the individual m2ts file, but then I lose the ability to navigate through the album like chapter skipping to the next song..

John
MC Maniac is offline  
post #20673 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Long story short, I got a (legal) hold of a new 95 relatively dirt cheap. I've always wondered how much better the analog section was over the base 93 (which I also have). Now I'll be able to find out. First off, I know the advantage of HDMI audio through my Denon 4311 and room corrections, but once level matched, I can bare here an audible difference between analog and HDMI. HDMI still has a narrow advantage so I'm hoping that advantage will be negated by the superior DACs in the 95 over the 93.

That is not my dilemma though. My question is this. Currently they are both on the December firmware that still supports ISOs. Currently, I do not use this feature as I do not have time to rip my collection yet, but I'd like to eventually. So which do I update, the 93 or the 95? I would like to keep ISO functionality on one and keep the other updated to support new disks and features sets. Which would you keep as is and which would you update and why?
duc135 is online now  
post #20674 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post

Long story short, I got a (legal) hold of a new 95 relatively dirt cheap. I've always wondered how much better the analog section was over the base 93 (which I also have). Now I'll be able to find out. First off, I know the advantage of HDMI audio through my Denon 4311 and room corrections, but once level matched, I can bare here an audible difference between analog and HDMI. HDMI still has a narrow advantage so I'm hoping that advantage will be negated by the superior DACs in the 95 over the 93.

That is not my dilemma though. My question is this. Currently they are both on the December firmware that still supports ISOs. Currently, I do not use this feature as I do not have time to rip my collection yet, but I'd like to eventually. So which do I update, the 93 or the 95? I would like to keep ISO functionality on one and keep the other updated to support new disks and features sets. Which would you keep as is and which would you update and why?

I'll be interested to hear your comparison of the 95's analog output vs. the 93. I use the 93 via HDMI to my Denon 3808ci for multichannel to utilize Audyssey, and the 93's analog for stereo.

My opinion, if you were to keep ISO functionality in only one, choose the 95. There are other media streamers such as the Dune that can play from ISOs that you can feed to your Denon's DACs via HDMI and probably have similar audio capabilities that you would with your 93 feeding the Denon via HDMI. In other words, there are alternatives to the 93 ISO playback for audio. The one exception that I've found, is that the 93 (and 95) have DVD-A ISO playback where other media streamers generally don't have that capability.

However, there is nothing on the market today that I'm aware of, that has ISO playback combined with the 95's superior SABRE DACs in one unit. This is maybe my one regret in owning two 93's (both with ISO functionality), instead of one 93 and one 95.

While room correction is important in my room, it would be nice to have the 95's DACs for stereo playback where room correction is less important than for multichannel, and headphones, where room correction has no relevance, except maybe I could use some head correction.
scolumbo is offline  
post #20675 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
MCMUTLU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my 93 from Amazon and saw that it was manufactured January 2012, I checked the firmware and it was BDP9x-61-1219...no updates for me...
MCMUTLU is offline  
post #20676 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolumbo View Post

There are other media streamers such as the Dune that can play from ISOs that you can feed to your Denon's DACs via HDMI and probably have similar audio capabilities that you would with your 93 feeding the Denon via HDMI.

A real bargin right now is the Netgear NEO TV 550. Plays ISOs from NAS with full menu support. In closeout now; can be had for less than $90. Have several in my house. No Netflix or such goodies, but for TS and ISO playback, works just fine. Also have a Dune Duo - locks up far more often than the Netgear and costs 5x more.
hjones is offline  
post #20677 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post

A real bargin right now is the Netgear NEO TV 550. Plays ISOs from NAS with full menu support. In closeout now; can be had for less than $90. Have several in my house. No Netflix or such goodies, but for TS and ISO playback, works just fine. Also have a Dune Duo - locks up far more often than the Netgear and costs 5x more.

I'm still looking for the media streamer that can do what my 93 can: play DVD-A ISOs. With several hundred DVD-As in my collection, it's the one feature of the 93, with ISO functionality, that I can't do without. I haven't found another device, other than an HTPC, that has that capability.
scolumbo is offline  
post #20678 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolumbo View Post

I'll be interested to hear your comparison of the 95's analog output vs. the 93. I use the 93 via HDMI to my Denon 3808ci for multichannel to utilize Audyssey, and the 93's analog for stereo.

My opinion, if you were to keep ISO functionality in only one, choose the 95. There are other media streamers such as the Dune that can play from ISOs that you can feed to your Denon's DACs via HDMI and probably have similar audio capabilities that you would with your 93 feeding the Denon via HDMI. In other words, there are alternatives to the 93 ISO playback for audio. The one exception that I've found, is that the 93 (and 95) have DVD-A ISO playback where other media streamers generally don't have that capability.

However, there is nothing on the market today that I'm aware of, that has ISO playback combined with the 95's superior SABRE DACs in one unit. This is maybe my one regret in owning two 93's (both with ISO functionality), instead of one 93 and one 95.

While room correction is important in my room, it would be nice to have the 95's DACs for stereo playback where room correction is less important than for multichannel, and headphones, where room correction has no relevance, except maybe I could use some head correction.

Thanks for the insight. I was thinking the opposite actually. Once I rip all my movies, I would be using the unit with ISO support far more often for movies than the other unit. If I were to make the 95 the ISO unit I would be using that like 90% of the time putting more wear and tear on it.

This way I can split usage on the machines. 93 for ISOs and new discs that have no issues. Then the 95 for music, Netfilx and newer discs that the 93 with the old firmware can't handle.

How does that logic sound?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post

A real bargin right now is the Netgear NEO TV 550. Plays ISOs from NAS with full menu support. In closeout now; can be had for less than $90. Have several in my house. No Netflix or such goodies, but for TS and ISO playback, works just fine. Also have a Dune Duo - locks up far more often than the Netgear and costs 5x more.

Does the NetGear play 3D ISOs?
duc135 is online now  
post #20679 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Netgear can't play 3D.

Also, if you watch a lot of foreign movies (ie. lots of subtitled dialog), and watch at 24 hz, it will suck - there seems to be a bug in the subtitle renderer where they don't appear on the screen long enough! This makes talkative movies unwatchable, unless you watch at 60hz.
maxleung is offline  
post #20680 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post

Thanks for the insight. I was thinking the opposite actually. Once I rip all my movies, I would be using the unit with ISO support far more often for movies than the other unit. If I were to make the 95 the ISO unit I would be using that like 90% of the time putting more wear and tear on it.

This way I can split usage on the machines. 93 for ISOs and new discs that have no issues. Then the 95 for music, Netfilx and newer discs that the 93 with the old firmware can't handle.

How does that logic sound?

I don't think there's a lot of wear-and-tear for streaming or digital playback, since you're not really using a lot of the mechanical parts of the player (e.g. disc tray, laser assembly). However, if you don't intend to use the 95 to play a lot of music ISOs (DVD-As, concert DVD-Vs, concert Blu-rays), then it's not a bad plan to make the 93 your ISO machine. For those type of music discs, you can still use either 95 for disc play, or rip them to ISO and play back with the 93 connected via HDMI to your Denon and use room correction.

You can then use 95 as your primary music player. It can play music discs, or you can use it for FLACs (stereo and multichannel rips from CDs, DVD-As, DVD-Vs and Blu-rays), so it's not like you wouldn't still have it available for digital playback, just not ISOs.

I'm envious of the versatility you'll have with both machines. For me, I would keep ISO functionality on both, but I understand why you might want to have one with updated firmware.

I've decided to keep my PS3 as the player with updated firmware, for Blu-ray discs that might be problematic on the Oppo without firmware updates. It's a little better at streaming Netflix and has more streaming services anyway, so I'm not ready to retire it yet.

Maybe when the next generation of Oppo comes out, it will then be my updated Blu-ray player to replace my PS3. I just don't want to lose ISO functionality on my 93's if I can help it, because once it's gone, there's nothing else that can totally replace it (i.e. DVD-A ISOs), and maybe never will be, short of building a new HTPC.
scolumbo is offline  
post #20681 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 05:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post

This way I can split usage on the machines. 93 for ISOs and new discs that have no issues. Then the 95 for music, Netfilx and newer discs that the 93 with the old firmware can't handle.

That's how I would do it -- 93 movies mainly, 95 music mainly.

Of course I'm not going to have that dilemma because I would have to change my room, my electronics, my speakers, and my ears in order to take advantage of the 95's analog DACs,
htwaits is offline  
post #20682 of 26905 Old 05-04-2012, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jaramill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Casino Royale has an aspect ratio of 2.35:1, so it will show as letterboxed.

The way it was film. Gotcha. Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Your TV is "wide screen", but the movie you are playing is "wider than wide screen". They are two different shapes.

To get the movie to fill the whole screen you'd either need to distort it (stretch it vertically -- circles now look like tall ovals -- yuck) or crop it (zoom into it so it fills the screen top to bottom -- but a substantial portion of the movie is now lost off either side).

It is "normal" for such a movie to play with black letterbox bars top and bottom so that the entire movie fits on your screen, and without distortion.
--Bob

Yeah I figured as much and I just want to leave it "as-is" then. Overall the Oppo shows it so crystal clear. The blue waters in scenes in the Bahamas made me wish I could get on a plane and go there.

Thanks again guys for the feedback. Love this thread. I bought a whole bunch of Blu-rays (some DVDs as some movies I researched were better on DVD than the Blu-ray) so looking forward to playing them on my Oppo. Some even come with a code to download via iTunes so I have it on my computer as well.

Thanks Dave, Bob.
jaramill is offline  
post #20683 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 02:59 AM
Newbie
 
s_inman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

How does the Oppo handle multiple external hard drives connected via a hub?
s_inman is offline  
post #20684 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 04:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by s_inman View Post

Hi all,

How does the Oppo handle multiple external hard drives connected via a hub?

It will see and display each drive by the drive name.

4-port hubs seem to be the maximum that can be used from what I've seen on this thread and the 95 thread. And maximum 2TB per hard drive.
scolumbo is offline  
post #20685 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
s_inman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent stuff, thank you kindly.
s_inman is offline  
post #20686 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolumbo View Post

It will see and display each drive by the drive name.

4-port hubs seem to be the maximum that can be used from what I've seen on this thread and the 95 thread. And maximum 2TB per hard drive.

My 93 sees all 8 2TB WD Green drives in this Mediasonic enclosure:

http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258

VERY nice enclosure, by the way. Takes a little while for all drives to spin up and show up on the Oppo, tho. External SATA is much faster on that.
hjones is offline  
post #20687 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post

My 93 sees all 8 2TB WD Green drives in this Mediasonic enclosure:

http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258

VERY nice enclosure, by the way. Takes a little while for all drives to spin up and show up on the Oppo, tho. External SATA is much faster on that.

Enclosures seem to work better than hubs when you have more than 4 drives. Maybe there is some type of power limitation that prevents even externally powered hubs with more than 4 drives from working. At least I haven't heard anyone that says they have an 8-port hub that's worked.
scolumbo is offline  
post #20688 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolumbo View Post

Enclosures seem to work better than hubs when you have more than 4 drives. Maybe there is some type of power limitation with multi-port hubs. At least I haven't heard anyone that says they have an 8-port hub that's worked.

I tried one of the 4 port Belkin unpowered hubs with external, powered drives - same hub that others said worked - and it did not on mine.

I have a laptop in the HT that I use to interface to the Mediasonic when I want to copy something from the network. I am using the Mediasonic as backup drives for TV shows that I have recorded from DirecTV and stored on a NAS. Saves PC hard drive space. Also, provides local access to those shows on the Oppo by moving the USB cable from the PC to it. Only problem I have had with the Mediasonic is that the USB 3.0 interface is buggy. Crashes the laptop, and of course is useless to the Oppo. Can't use eSATA on the PC since it does not support port multiplying.
hjones is offline  
post #20689 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 09:45 AM
Member
 
drpete12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Region Code Problem:

I bought the 93 so that I could get away from my HTPC and not dealing with those problems anymore. I have quite a few blu-rays that I have ripped over the years (they are european discs). The htpc was region free. i now find most of my iso's are not american region and Oppo-93 wont play them. without having to re-rip everything is there a way I can go into iso and remove/change the region?

As a side note I looked at the hardware fix for 93 but it is a real pain with multiple regions.

Thanks
drpete12 is online now  
post #20690 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 09:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpete12 View Post

Region Code Problem:

I bought the 93 so that I could get away from my HTPC and not dealing with those problems anymore. I have quite a few blu-rays that I have ripped over the years (they are european discs). The htpc was region free. i now find most of my iso's are not american region and Oppo-93 wont play them. without having to re-rip everything is there a way I can go into iso and remove/change the region?

As a side note I looked at the hardware fix for 93 but it is a real pain with multiple regions.

Thanks

ISO copies usually remove region coding. I don't recall a way to do it after the fact without making a new copy, but you might try the Ripping Blu-rays thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1336046

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #20691 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post

My 93 sees all 8 2TB WD Green drives in this Mediasonic enclosure:

http://ain.mediasonic.ca/store/produ...roducts_id=258

VERY nice enclosure, by the way. Takes a little while for all drives to spin up and show up on the Oppo, tho. External SATA is much faster on that.

So why does it say ESATAs speed are up to 3Gbps but USB3.0 at 5GBps?

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #20692 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 15,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpete12 View Post

Region Code Problem:

I bought the 93 so that I could get away from my HTPC and not dealing with those problems anymore. I have quite a few blu-rays that I have ripped over the years (they are european discs). The htpc was region free. i now find most of my iso's are not american region and Oppo-93 wont play them. without having to re-rip everything is there a way I can go into iso and remove/change the region?

As a side note I looked at the hardware fix for 93 but it is a real pain with multiple regions.

Thanks

Your failure to properly remove the Region code when ripping has come back to bite you. If you have AnyDVD, you can mount the ISO and "re-rip" to region-free. Be sure to tell AnyDVD what region code the BD is or it may not correctly detect and remove it. With some BD, the region code is hidden inside JAVA code and cannot be detected in the usual ways.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #20693 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 10:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 15,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

So why does it say ESATAs speed are up to 3Gbps but USB3.0 at 5GBps?

The player is USB-2.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #20694 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post

I tried one of the 4 port Belkin unpowered hubs with external, powered drives - same hub that others said worked - and it did not on mine.

It took a couple of cheap hubs (I forgot the brands) before I found one that worked. I use a Targus unpowered 4-port hub with 3 externally powered 2TB WD drives.

http://www.amazon.com/Targus-Retract...239298&sr=8-51
scolumbo is offline  
post #20695 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
s_inman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to use a 4 port hub each with a dual bay enclosure attached to each port on the hub?
s_inman is offline  
post #20696 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 05:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 246
I just put my region-modified (open region) BDP-93 into my system. I tried a region B Blu-Ray (Westworld). I'm getting a very noticeable audio delay (picture comes first). So I'm trouble shooting.

Is this a known issue with region-free processing or something? (I chose the english track).

Also, a general note: I sometimes have audio sync issues when playing other discs, more typically from my HD DVD player as I remember. The weird thing is my audio sync issues ALWAYS involve an audio delay. This is obviously in contrast to the normal sync issues - where the picture is delayed (due to picture processing sometimes taking longer than audio processing). So the problem is every home theater device, my AV receiver, video processor, etc, only expect delayed picture sync issues and only offer "delay audio" settings to compensate. But since my audio is already delayed, obviously that is not the fix I need.

Any ideas?

Lastly: Doesn't the Oppo itself have any lipsync features? I thought my previous BDP-83 did and I can't find any on the BDP-93 (though maybe I'm wrong about the BDP-83).

Thanks.
R Harkness is online now  
post #20697 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Only the BDP-83 series offered a delay algorithm. The BDP-9x series does not offer this due to hardware differences.

Any delays need to be addressed downstream, as the player is insync when it leaves the players outputs.

If you have the player set to Multi-System, try setting it to NTSC, as it is possible that your errors are related to 50Hz to 60Hz processing delays in the television.

Try connecting HDMI 1 direct to your television then use HDMI 2 to your receiver to rule out video processing delays in the receiver.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #20698 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 07:01 PM
Member
 
thaddeussmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else experienced their bdp-93 applying a vertical stretch to their non-standard anamorphic aspect ratio MKV's, rather than properly applying a letterbox to fill the space? Some movies exhibit this, yet others play just fine and I'm having trouble finding current or easy to use applications that can fix this on the file side of things.

I've played around with the oppo's zoom function, but it doesn't cleanly fix things.
thaddeussmith is offline  
post #20699 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 07:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaddeussmith View Post

Has anyone else experienced their bdp-93 applying a vertical stretch to their non-standard anamorphic aspect ratio MKV's, rather than properly applying a letterbox to fill the space? Some movies exhibit this, yet others play just fine and I'm having trouble finding current or easy to use applications that can fix this on the file side of things.

I've played around with the oppo's zoom function, but it doesn't cleanly fix things.

We've had a bit of discussion about this in the past couple of weeks. Use mkvinfo to verify that the Display Width and Display Height attributes exist in the container header. If they do not, use the Header Editor inside mkvmerge to assign them the same values as Pixel Height and Pixel Width.

If that works, can you tell us what tools are creating the files with the missing fields?

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #20700 of 26905 Old 05-05-2012, 08:29 PM
Member
 
thaddeussmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

We've had a bit of discussion about this in the past couple of weeks. Use mkvinfo to verify that the Display Width and Display Height attributes exist in the container header. If they do not, use the Header Editor inside mkvmerge to assign them the same values as Pixel Height and Pixel Width.

If that works, can you tell us what tools are creating the files with the missing fields?

-Bill

doh, sorry i missed that part of the conversation. these threads tend to be information overload. i'll take a look with mkvmerge and report back.
thaddeussmith is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off