Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 899 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 167Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26941 of 28006 Old 08-06-2014, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 47
It's such a shame that streaming only permits real-time streaming and doesn't permit buffering a complete movie at a lower streaming rate (but still high resolution). As long as the buffer was only large enough for a single movie and you could not stream another until you erased the buffer, it would also enable repeat viewings or separate viewings but would not require DRM to limit use as it would be self-limiting by virtue of the customer wanting to watch something else in due course.

The above approach is more consistent with the disc rental model where you can have a title for as long as you like, but you can't rent another title until it's returned. It is more consumer friendly than the current streaming approach that basically requires you watch a program effectively in one go or have to pay again.

I think if the industry wants 4k streaming, they need an approach such as this to counter low speed connections.

Of course none of this will ever be applicable to the Oppo 93 due to the closed nature of the Netflix application.
IanD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26942 of 28006 Old 08-08-2014, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
hobbopposite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question NEED HELP OPPO 93 and Onkyo TX 818

I was hoping some of you more experienced members could help me with some problems that I caused myself. The first one happened when I was trying anything to see if I could get 3d to work properly on my Sharp LC-80LE844U it is a long story but the help I need most, firstly, is I must of changed the settings on my oppo 93 as it will not output sound to my Onkyo TX 818 it keeps flashing PCM instead of decoding Dolby True high def DTS etc. I only get any sound when the oppo is set to LCPM but as soon as the feature starts I get nothing no sound,I always had it set to bitstream or auto but that does not work anymore I have read the manual and have it set the way it sais to but nothing works.Your help would be extremely appreciated,I am in a mess .

Last edited by teachsac; 08-08-2014 at 01:11 PM. Reason: Remove space
hobbopposite is offline  
post #26943 of 28006 Old 08-08-2014, 08:37 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbopposite View Post
I was hoping some of you more experienced members could help me with some problems that I caused myself. The first one happened when I was trying anything to see if I could get 3d to work properly on my Sharp LC-80LE844U it is a long story but the help I need most, firstly, is I must of changed the settings on my oppo 93 as it will not output sound to my Onkyo TX 818 it keeps flashing PCM instead of decoding Dolby True high def DTS etc. I only get any sound when the oppo is set to LCPM but as soon as the feature starts I get nothing no sound,I always had it set to bitstream or auto but that does not work anymore I have read the manual and have it set the way it sais to but nothing works.Your help would be extremely appreciated,I am in a mess .
Post this in the Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread and more folks will see it who can help:

Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread

Start by going into Setup > Device Setup and do a Reset Factory Defaults. When that finishes, power the player off and re-cable it so that the ONLY cable you have is an HDMI cable from the HDMI 1 output of the OPPO to your Onkyo. Run HDMI from your Onkyo to your TV for video.

On the OPPO, it is easy to confuse the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs, so double check that you are using the HDMI 1 output.

Now try again and see if you have proper audio when playing NON-3D content. If not, then check what input you have selected in the Onkyo for audio. Make sure it is the HDMI input you have cabled from the OPPO and not, for example, an Optical or COAX input.

Once you've demonstrated that simple things are working again, you can retry to set things up for 3D.

The most likely reasons for your audio problem are:

1) You've confused the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs of the OPPO, or

2) You've got the Onkyo set to look for audio on some input other than the one you intended it to use.

With simple things working again, post for more help in the 93 thread on getting your 3D connections set up properly.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #26944 of 28006 Old 08-09-2014, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
hobbopposite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red face Thank you

I would like to thank you for your advice I now have my sound back,as to the 3d if it is okay I will PM you,but thanks again it is great to be able to enjoy my blu rays again
hobbopposite is offline  
post #26945 of 28006 Old 08-09-2014, 10:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^ Let's try to do the 3D stuff in this thread, instead of by PM, because there are plenty of folks here who can help with that. I.e., you won't have to wait for me to get to my PMs.

I take it your AVR can not pass 3D video through to your display, right? And that's what's keeping you from using this current wiring -- i.e, a single HDMI cable from HDMI 1 output of the OPPO to your AVR for audio and video and another single HDMI cable from the AVR to your display -- for 3D video?

OK, in THAT case the next step is to wire TWO HDMI cables from the OPPO. Be sure you don't confuse the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs. Cable from HDMI 1 directly to your 3D Display. Cable from HDMI 2 directly to your AVR. Make sure your Display is set to watch video coming in on that first HDMI cable from the OPPO and your AVR is set to play audio coming in on that 2nd HDMI cable from the OPPO

For the moment, DISCONNECT the HDMI cable running from the AVR to your Display.

The factory default settings you used in the OPPO to fix things above should not need any changes for this new cabling to work.

First check a NON-3D disc and make sure you are still getting good audio and video.

Then check a 3D disc. Are you getting good 3D video as well as good audio to your AVR?

Once BOTH of those are working, we'll reattach the HDMI from the AVR to a different input on your Display in case you want to play some other video sources through the AVR to the Display. Re-attaching that cable, even though it is not actually being used for OPPO playback, may break your 3D setup, and if so we'll need to do more work.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #26946 of 28006 Old 08-18-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
TheUglyBad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The dual output of the 93 always gave me headaches.

Doing sound via hdmi ouput 2 and video to hdmi 1 gives me blank(black) screens for a matter of second every 10-15 minutes or so. The connection isn't lost, and the audio keeps on playing smoothly.

If I use hmdi 1 out only and feed it to a splitter (to my projector and my AVR) I have no drop-outs whatsoever.
TheUglyBad is offline  
post #26947 of 28006 Old 08-18-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,756
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 298
^ Are you changing the dual output to "split a/v", and turning off the video output of your avr?
The avr could also be sending a signal to the player asking for video causing the player to initialize a handshake.
Of course the big question too is, why not just run the signal from the player to the avr, then from the avr to the display without using the split method?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #26948 of 28006 Old 08-18-2014, 01:15 PM
Member
 
TheUglyBad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^ Good question! I wouldn't go down this setup if it wasn't because of hairpulling frustration.

Somehow my Yamaha 771 AVR seems to have a negative effect on passing on 3D. I turned all videoprocessing off but still it isn't as good as my Oppo direct to my projector (concerning fast movements). So I use my AVR (only in case of using the Oppo) pure as audiodecoder.

It's an odd problem, I am not sure it are handshake problems because sounds keeps on playing smooth and the 3D glasses stay in sync with the projector (Epson TW9100). Also the projector gives no sign whatsoever it is loosing it's signal.

Edit: It makes no difference I enable or disable videooutput on the AVR. The AVR receives from hdmi 2 white video with audio as expected.

Last edited by TheUglyBad; 08-18-2014 at 01:19 PM.
TheUglyBad is offline  
post #26949 of 28006 Old 08-21-2014, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Tamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hello,

I am encountering a problem with my oppo in which movies will start to skip and freeze at random for a second or two. I have reset the player as per the instruction manual but the problem still occurs. Has anyone else encountered this issue and is there a fix.
Thanks,
Tom
Tamas is offline  
post #26950 of 28006 Old 08-21-2014, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,093
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1318 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamas View Post
Hello,

I am encountering a problem with my oppo in which movies will start to skip and freeze at random for a second or two. I have reset the player as per the instruction manual but the problem still occurs. Has anyone else encountered this issue and is there a fix.
Thanks,
Tom
Cleaning the laser would be the only fix, and that does not mean using a "cleaning disc". It means opening the player. What you're describing is caused either by a dirty disc or a dirty laser.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #26951 of 28006 Old 08-25-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This may not be an entirely accurate question, but simply speaking, I have a encoded a couple of test files with x265 (HEVC), which do not play on the oppo. Will there be a f/w update to cater to the new codec or is this beyond the scope of f/w updates?
michaelp2005 is offline  
post #26952 of 28006 Old 08-25-2014, 07:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^ Let me check my sources:

* Shake Shake Shake *

ASK . AGAIN . LATER . THE . FUTURE . IS . HAZY


All seriousness aside, it is highly unlikely that new codecs will be added to the 9x family players. Codecs are built into the MediaTek "System on Chip" used in the player, and MediaTek is almost certainly going to limit new feature development such as that to their latest version chip -- which means something newer than the chip in the 9x family players.

Or to put it another way, if it happens it is a bluebird of the most excellent plumage.
--Bob
Jacob305 and michaelp2005 like this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #26953 of 28006 Old 08-25-2014, 09:26 PM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
michaelp2005 is offline  
post #26954 of 28006 Old 08-25-2014, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Let me check my sources:

* Shake Shake Shake *

ASK . AGAIN . LATER . THE . FUTURE . IS . HAZY


All seriousness aside, it is highly unlikely that new codecs will be added to the 9x family players. Codecs are built into the MediaTek "System on Chip" used in the player, and MediaTek is almost certainly going to limit new feature development such as that to their latest version chip -- which means something newer than the chip in the 9x family players.

Or to put it another way, if it happens it is a bluebird of the most excellent plumage.
--Bob
like how we got the 24P for dvds on the oppo 93?

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #26955 of 28006 Old 08-27-2014, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I recently purchased a spare Oppo 93 but with the latest firmware to give me access to the improved features.

On playing a 960x720p24 mkv, I noticed that it was a little jerky and discovered it was being sent to the TV as 1080p60. I tried a few more 720p mkv encoded at 23.976fps and only one of them was being sent to the TV at 1080p24. It was my understanding that the Oppo preserves frame rate if explicitly scaled to 1080p.

Of the 3 files I tried, one was 1280x544, another 720x404 and the third 960x720. Only the 1280x544 played back at 1080p24, the other two played back at 1080p60.

I have the Oppo set to 1080p, 1080p24 and 24p DVD.

I have another Oppo 93 with ISO firmware and here is where it gets quite bizarre: it plays the 1280x544 and 960x720 mkv at 1080p24, but the 720x404 at 1080p60.

All files show as 23.976fps using the Info button on the Oppo remote.

Is there a known bug in the latest firmware related to 720p24 upscaling, as it seems to see 960x720p24 material as not 720p? I could understand that maybe 480p24 frame rate retention on upscaling may not have been supported initially on the Oppo 93, but I would have expected it to be added in the latest firmware.
IanD is offline  
post #26956 of 28006 Old 08-27-2014, 04:49 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1866 Post(s)
Liked: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post
I recently purchased a spare Oppo 93 but with the latest firmware to give me access to the improved features.

On playing a 960x720p24 mkv, I noticed that it was a little jerky and discovered it was being sent to the TV as 1080p60. I tried a few more 720p mkv encoded at 23.976fps and only one of them was being sent to the TV at 1080p24. It was my understanding that the Oppo preserves frame rate if explicitly scaled to 1080p.
I remember extensive testing on that, I just don't remember on what models with what firmware update with what results. It was a interaction between the file resolution and frame rate. Some conversions to 1080p24 were possible and some not. But then new firmware improved it... What that on the 93/95?

If no one else can help I'll dig into my notes or run some tests.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26957 of 28006 Old 08-27-2014, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I remember extensive testing on that, I just don't remember on what models with what firmware update with what results. It was a interaction between the file resolution and frame rate. Some conversions to 1080p24 were possible and some not. But then new firmware improved it... What that on the 93/95?
I have two Oppo 93 units, one with the latest firmware and the other with the ISO firmware.

Hard to believe that upscaling any resolution with 24p to 1080p24 should be complicated as it's a supported HDMI resolution. I can understand trying to scale anything to 720p would have some restrictions since HDMI only supports 720p50/60.

The latest firmware seems to be confusing starting resolution with destination resolution in determining when to apply a refresh conversion as well as a resolution conversion and only using horizontal resolution as the determinant.
IanD is offline  
post #26958 of 28006 Old 08-30-2014, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Tamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Cleaning the laser would be the only fix, and that does not mean using a "cleaning disc". It means opening the player. What you're describing is caused either by a dirty disc or a dirty laser.
Thank you for the advice. Cleaning seems to have done the trick.

Tom
Tamas is offline  
post #26959 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 04:21 AM
Member
 
gamedog44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oppo bdp-93 pal

does the oppo-bdp93 have built-in pal to ntsc converter
gamedog44 is offline  
post #26960 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 05:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1866 Post(s)
Liked: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamedog44 View Post
does the oppo-bdp93 have built-in pal to ntsc converter
Yes, all OPPO DVD and Blu-ray players have supported PAL DVD and will optionally convert 50hz to 60hz.

The players are not region-free out of the box, but there is a free software patch called Superdisc which does this. I've used it on all the OPPO Blu-ray players without problems.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26961 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Where can I get the superdisk from?
bxbigpipi is online now  
post #26962 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,093
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1318 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Where can I get the superdisk from?
Google is your friend!

http://www.multi-region.net/oppo_bdp-83
rdgrimes is online now  
post #26963 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 09:01 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1866 Post(s)
Liked: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Where can I get the superdisk from?
Note that this makes the player region-free for DVD only. Blu-ray requires a hardware mod.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26964 of 28006 Old 08-31-2014, 11:55 PM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a Synology NAS, which I play video files from on the Oppo. I'm not sure if my question is NAS/Media server related or Oppo related.

After I have deleted or moved folders on the NAS, they are still (some, not all) appearing in the networking folder tree view on the oppo. I can even go into the folder, but if I try to play the file (that isn't actually there) it says can't play unsupported file type.

So, wondering why the Oppo is not recognising file changes?? Any suggestions?

Michael
michaelp2005 is offline  
post #26965 of 28006 Old 09-01-2014, 12:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
djbluemax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelp2005 View Post
I have a Synology NAS, which I play video files from on the Oppo. I'm not sure if my question is NAS/Media server related or Oppo related.

After I have deleted or moved folders on the NAS, they are still (some, not all) appearing in the networking folder tree view on the oppo. I can even go into the folder, but if I try to play the file (that isn't actually there) it says can't play unsupported file type.

So, wondering why the Oppo is not recognising file changes?? Any suggestions?

Michael
Try disconnecting the drive and erasing the Oppo's internal storage (is that what it's called?), then reconnecting.


Max
djbluemax1 is offline  
post #26966 of 28006 Old 09-01-2014, 05:23 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1866 Post(s)
Liked: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelp2005 View Post
I have a Synology NAS, which I play video files from on the Oppo. I'm not sure if my question is NAS/Media server related or Oppo related.

After I have deleted or moved folders on the NAS, they are still (some, not all) appearing in the networking folder tree view on the oppo. I can even go into the folder, but if I try to play the file (that isn't actually there) it says can't play unsupported file type.

So, wondering why the Oppo is not recognising file changes?? Any suggestions?

Michael
This is using DLNA over the network, not a direct attachment USB attachment to the player, right?

Does restarting the player not fix the problem?

Else: there should be some sort of control interface to DLNA on the server, and some option for rebuilding or refreshing the set of files known to the server.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #26967 of 28006 Old 09-01-2014, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
2therock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Guys,

I have a question about playback issues that may be disc media related, I hope. I have the BDP-93, not on the newest firmware. Playing through a Pioneer SC-75 Elite.

I burn .mkv files via BurnAware Pro to Verbatim DataLifePlus BD-R White 6x/25GB/Part Number 97339.

I have been doing fine but now I am getting down to the bottom 10 disc's of the 50 disc pack and am having freezes.

Example = Lets say a track 6 of 6 is freezing at 30 minutes. I burn another disc and at 30 minutes its fine. Now it freezes at 40 minutes. I check the first disc that froze at 30 to see if it froze at 40 and it did not.

The one thing in common is the track locations are always at the outer edge of the disc. The disc are usually almost to capacity.

What do you think? Low budget disc's? I run verify disc data in BurnAware Pro and get no errors.

Thanks

Thanks, 2therock

 

My Setup

2therock is offline  
post #26968 of 28006 Old 09-01-2014, 07:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^ The usual problem with burned discs is that you are using too high a speed setting when burning them.

It actually is harder to handle the portion of the disc near the outer edge. The tracking motor has to respond to tracking wobbles faster out there. So it is possible that either the burner or the optical drive in the OPPO needs service. If the discs you burned earlier are still working, that would suggest the problem is in the burner.

In any event try burning at slower speed and see if that cures it.
--Bob
2therock likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #26969 of 28006 Old 09-01-2014, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
2therock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The usual problem with burned discs is that you are using too high a speed setting when burning them.

It actually is harder to handle the portion of the disc near the outer edge. The tracking motor has to respond to tracking wobbles faster out there. So it is possible that either the burner or the optical drive in the OPPO needs service. If the discs you burned earlier are still working, that would suggest the problem is in the burner.

In any event try burning at slower speed and see if that cures it.
--Bob
Thanks!

Thanks, 2therock

 

My Setup

2therock is offline  
post #26970 of 28006 Old 09-02-2014, 05:53 AM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
This is using DLNA over the network, not a direct attachment USB attachment to the player, right?

Does restarting the player not fix the problem?

Else: there should be some sort of control interface to DLNA on the server, and some option for rebuilding or refreshing the set of files known to the server.

-Bill
I found an option called "re-indexing" in the media server s/w and that seems to have done the trick, although I swear I had used that before with no change

Thanks
2therock likes this.
michaelp2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off