Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 9 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
07:44 PM Liked: 1075
post #241 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 28,288
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

I am experiencing something a bit odd with my new 93 when the HDMI Audio setting is set to auto. The movie( any source) will play fine for a while and then suddenly cutoff. video will return but audio requires a power down of the oppo or stop then re-start. It almost seems like a rehandshake with the receiver. When I set the unit to bitstream I don't encounter this. I have no method of testing direct to tv or projector as neither have audio capabilities. Has anyone else experienced anything similar? Better yet is there any drawback to setting the oppo to bitstream permanently? I am using the HDMI 1 to a pioneer 1120 video set to auto feeding a pioneer 141 display.

Let me add that oppo has really set the bar with this unit. Only a few hours in but it honestly has met and exceeded my expectations.

There are a few known issues with HDMI Audio Auto in this preliminary firmare. If you have a repeatable case of problems, please give Oppo a call with the details. Who knows? Your report might just provide the key piece to the puzzle!

ETA: I see Neuro has tried to scare everyone away from HDMI Audio Auto, just because it isn't working.

Don't take, "It doesn't work!", for an answer!

Again. If you have a repeatable problem scenario, take the time to tell Oppo tech support. Every bit of quality input like this helps.
--Bob
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
07:45 PM Liked: 189
post #242 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perpendicular View Post

For the time being, you can do one of two things:

Or:

3. Connect both HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 to different inputs on the back of the reciever. Switch to HDMI 2 for SACD DSD playback. Switch to HDMI 1 for everything else.
ElwayLite's Avatar ElwayLite
07:46 PM Liked: 10
post #243 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 5,559
Joined: Sep 2005
Nice pics. I like the wireless dongle, looks professional and it oughtta be able to pull in a good signal.
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
07:47 PM Liked: 189
post #244 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli Tha Don View Post

I have a couple of .ts video files on my network drive that the oppo doesn't see. I see in the list of supportd dlna formats that ts files are indeed on the list.

It could have been working in a previous firmware and then mysteriously made broken in this firmware. You will notice that I have been making edits with "26-0816" notes which clarify some media issues you will encounter. I have not had the opportunity to go back and check DLNA streaming support.
Makaveli Tha Don's Avatar Makaveli Tha Don
07:54 PM Liked: 10
post #245 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 768
Joined: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

It could have been working in a previous firmware and then mysteriously made broken in this firmware. You will notice that I have been making edits with "26-0816" notes which clarify some media issues you will encounter. I have not had the opportunity to go back and check DLNA streaming support.


gotchya, I didn't notice that you had been making edits to it. Could be something I'm doing wrong for all I know, lol.

Interesting to note too, that tversity actually still identifies the 93 as the 83.
mariob33's Avatar mariob33
08:05 PM Liked: 25
post #246 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 1,730
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

There are a few known issues with HDMI Audio Auto in this preliminary firmare. If you have a repeatable case of problems, please give Oppo a call with the details. Who knows? Your report might just provide the key piece to the puzzle!

ETA: I see Neuro has tried to scare everyone away from HDMI Audio Auto, just because it isn't working.

Don't take, "It doesn't work!", for an answer!

Again. If you have a repeatable problem scenario, take the time to tell Oppo tech support. Every bit of quality input like this helps.
--Bob

I will give them a call tomorrow. It's repeatable every time I switch to auto through the 1120.
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
08:21 PM Liked: 1075
post #247 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 28,288
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

I will give them a call tomorrow. It's repeatable every time I switch to auto through the 1120.

Good! And then do just what Neuromancer told you and switch to explicit HDMI Audio Bitstream or LPCM instead until it is fixed.
--Bob
petemcn's Avatar petemcn
10:55 PM Liked: 10
post #248 of 27439
11-23-2010 | Posts: 87
Joined: Mar 2009
My 93 should be arriving next week. How long should it take for Middle Atlantic to make up a rack shelf specific to the 93?
mingman's Avatar mingman
12:05 AM Liked: 10
post #249 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2010
Just installed my BDP-93. Running through all the functions that I had done previously with my 83. One function that is not currently working for me is the streaming of my video library (*.MKV files). I have a Synology DS210j NAS which DID stream video directly to the 83 machine. Now with the 93 machine installed, the player seems to freeze and display "No Disc". Is this a firmware issue? Does anyone else have difficulties streaming video files? Thanks in advance for any direction.
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
01:15 AM Liked: 189
post #250 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
The player may be indexing in the background. Leave the player alone for 3 minutes. Is the player operating normally?

If you disconnect the Ethernet/WiFi from the player until after the player has been fully turned on (No Disc on the front panel and a full OPPO logo), then reconnect Ethernet/WiFi, do you have the same results?

Do you have another device, such as a receiver, connected to your network? If yes, remove the receiver from the network. Do you have the same issue?
Synch's Avatar Synch
01:44 AM Liked: 10
post #251 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkbryant View Post
The UI is better than my Tivo HD but not as spiffy as the PS3's
Hi tkbryant,

Can you tell me what is available in the internet section from the Oppo menu?

Thanks
thebard's Avatar thebard
04:42 AM Liked: 15
post #252 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 1,549
Joined: Sep 2006
I am shopping around for my first Blu-ray player, and the features that I'm looking for include 3d-ready, streaming (netflix), and something that can do justice to the few SACDs I have. That puts this unit on the short list along with the Sony S570.

There is a big price difference between the two, so as you can imagine I'm looking carefully.

Can anyone tell how it compares to the Sony with multichannel SACD, and does it handle the digital stream ok (I would likely use hdmi rather than analog out)? I'm also interested in how the dvd upconversion compares; being new to Blu-ray, I'm sure the HD PQ of either unit will be a huge step up, but I'd still like to be able to tolerate my DVD collection.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
04:49 AM Liked: 403
post #253 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 18,009
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synch View Post
Hi tkbryant,

Can you tell me what is available in the internet section from the Oppo menu?

Thanks
So far: Netflix and Blockbuster. More to be added as they are certified.

-Bill
Saturn94's Avatar Saturn94
08:33 AM Liked: 398
post #254 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 4,289
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiWavelength View Post

Yes, DTS-HD High Resolution and DTS 96/24 are different constant bit rate lossy codecs.

DTS-HD High Resolution is a high bit rate (up to 6.0 Mbps, typically 3.0 Mbps) lossy codec designed for BD & HD DVD. It supports up to 24 bit 96 kHz audio, though most film based tracks are 16 or 24 bit 48 kHz.

DTS 96/24 is a medium bit rate (1.536 Mbps) lossy codec found on a small number of music based DVDs. When fully decoded, it is always 24 bit 96 kHz audio.

Both DTS-HD High Resolution and DTS 96/24 use the core + extension model, so both are backward compatible w/ all consumer DTS decoders.



DTS 96/24 is never found on CD, only DVD. As DTS 96/24 is a core + extension codec, the 93 will decode only the DTS core. But the 93 will bitstream output the full DTS 96/24 core + extension via S/PDIF or HDMI.

DTS offers some moderately well implemented codecs. But too many of them are so similar in practice as to be redundant. And DTS has an unfailing penchant for convoluted names. DTS Zeta. DTS Coherent Acoustics. DTS Digital Surround. Three names for one codec: lossy DTS. And DTS-HD Master Audio, it is not only an unnecessarily long name, but also a name that erroneously misleads the naive to believe that it must be a bit perfect copy of the one & only "studio master."

AJ

Thanks for the explanation.
Toe's Avatar Toe
09:08 AM Liked: 652
post #255 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 13,529
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Good! And then do just what Neuromancer told you and switch to explicit HDMI Audio Bitstream or LPCM instead until it is fixed.
--Bob

Can this be done without firing up my projector?

Is the streaming service Vuze supported on the 93?

My 93 has been ordered
Synch's Avatar Synch
09:26 AM Liked: 10
post #256 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

So far: Netflix and Blockbuster. More to be added as they are certified.

-Bill

Hi, Thanks for the reply. In the pictures that were posted on the last page, Netflix & Blockbuster are separate from the Internet Icon, so I was wondering what was available in there if it was selected.

Thanks
slimoli's Avatar slimoli
09:30 AM Liked: 38
post #257 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 4,719
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post
I am shopping around for my first Blu-ray player, and the features that I'm looking for include 3d-ready, streaming (netflix), and something that can do justice to the few SACDs I have. That puts this unit on the short list along with the Sony S570.

There is a big price difference between the two, so as you can imagine I'm looking carefully.

Can anyone tell how it compares to the Sony with multichannel SACD, and does it handle the digital stream ok (I would likely use hdmi rather than analog out)? I'm also interested in how the dvd upconversion compares; being new to Blu-ray, I'm sure the HD PQ of either unit will be a huge step up, but I'd still like to be able to tolerate my DVD collection.
I have the Sony S570 now and my Oppo 93 will arrive next Tuesday. I will have both side by side linked to the same receiver and same display. Will post some comparisons, including SACD and DVD upscaling, Tuesday evening.
mingman's Avatar mingman
09:36 AM Liked: 10
post #258 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
The player may be indexing in the background. Leave the player alone for 3 minutes. Is the player operating normally?

If you disconnect the Ethernet/WiFi from the player until after the player has been fully turned on (No Disc on the front panel and a full OPPO logo), then reconnect Ethernet/WiFi, do you have the same results?

Do you have another device, such as a receiver, connected to your network? If yes, remove the receiver from the network. Do you have the same issue?
I played a known good video file and left the machine for 3 minutes. Immediately, the front panel displayed "No Disc" and about 5 seconds later, the HDMI indicator on the right side of the display disappeared. All that is displayed on my LCD screen is the OPPO Blu Ray Logo.

I disconnected the ethernet until the player is fully turned on. Same result as above.

I disconnected my Pioneer SC25 from the network and tried again. Same result as above. No video was played.

I disconnected both the player, receiver, reset the LAN, plugged the ethernet in to the player only after fully turned on and tried again. Same result.

BTW... Netflix works perfectly for me. So does my access to photos and music from the same Synology DS210j NAS. Thanks for your help on this.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
09:58 AM Liked: 403
post #259 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 18,009
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synch View Post
Hi, Thanks for the reply. In the pictures that were posted on the last page, Netflix & Blockbuster are separate from the Internet Icon, so I was wondering what was available in there if it was selected.

Thanks
Netflix and Blockbuster are special in having their own icons on the main browser. They also show up under Internet and will be joined by other services in the future.

The Source button on the remote is a shortcut to the Internet screen. The Home button brings up the main browser.

-Bill
Craven More's Avatar Craven More
10:15 AM Liked: 10
post #260 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 159
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElwayLite View Post
Nice pics. I like the wireless dongle, looks professional and it oughtta be able to pull in a good signal.
Does anybody know if the wireless dongle can be used for another piece of equipment? I have an Oppo 83 that's going in the bedroom and I would like to have it connected to WiFi.
teachsac's Avatar teachsac
10:54 AM Liked: 193
post #261 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 4,920
Joined: May 2006
I can not get 3D to play through the Pioneer 1020 on any input. Works connected to the TV. Panasonic works perfectly. Any help?

S~
tomsem's Avatar tomsem
10:59 AM Liked: 10
post #262 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2005
I am expecting my 93 to arrive after the holiday and am confused about codecs and about my best option for audio.

I have a older receiver that doesn't handle HDMI or the latest codecs and will be relying on the 93 to decode and output to the analog inputs on the receiver.

What would be my best audio quality option for this until my receiver is upgraded? I only have 5.1 surround. What if anything will I be missing if I have the 93 decode?

Thanks!
drmiller's Avatar drmiller
11:13 AM Liked: 10
post #263 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 100
Joined: Dec 2007
Hi all:

I ordered my Oppo 93 last Sunday and can't wait for it to arrive. I am wondering how the Standard Definition playback is for those who have one in hand? Is the new Qdeo by Marvell chip better, equal or less than the Anchor Bay chip in the in the 83. Would like to hear some chat in this regard. Thanks!
ElwayLite's Avatar ElwayLite
11:16 AM Liked: 10
post #264 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 5,559
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmiller View Post
Hi all:

I ordered my Oppo 93 last Sunday and can't wait for it to arrive. I am wondering how the Standard Definition playback is for those who have one in hand? Is the new Qdeo by Marvell chip better, equal or less than the Anchor Bay chip in the in the 83. Would like to hear some chat in this regard. Thanks!
Don't take this the wrong way, but it's been discussed a LOT in both threads. Just peruse them.
nathan_h's Avatar nathan_h
11:26 AM Liked: 105
post #265 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 5,205
Joined: Mar 2001
Picked up my 93 at the Mtn View offices yesterday. I was so eager to put it in the car that it didn't occur to me to take the gentleman who handed it to me up on the offer to "answer any questions". Later I thought: I could have asked about other internet streaming partners, esp Pandora, Amazon and Vudu, and for an unofficial word about region mods etc. Though I probably would have gotten a polite "Sorry, can't discuss such things" response.

First impressions were NOT good. My projector is in the shop, so I connected it to my old (first gen!) Vizio 720p LCD. HDMI 1 didn't work, and HDMI 2 only did after a few restarts of each device (Oppo and TV connected directly). And there was all sorts of color fringing and artifacts, both on program content and on menus, etc.

Turns out, the EDID or equivalent communication between the devices was not working right (remember, this TV is OLD). Manually setting the output resolution and color space/hdmi format solved the issues, however, and then HDMI 1 worked, as well. The Oppo still identifies the TV as a 48 inch panel, when it's really a 37 inch panel, but I fully believe this is the TV's fault.

I won't comment on picture quality etc because of the TV I am using, except to say that Netflix streaming is at least as good on this poor TV as XBOX Netflix streaming. On a better TV, it may be better than the XBOX. And I don't have my old BDP83 any longer, so even if I had a better TV available I could not do an A/B comparison of things like upscaling.

(Really eager to get the projector back from the shop, now!)
LL
NewPannyGuy's Avatar NewPannyGuy
11:29 AM Liked: 10
post #266 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 206
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craven More

Does anybody know if the wireless dongle can be used for another piece of equipment? I have an Oppo 83 that's going in the bedroom and I would like to have it connected to WiFi.
No the wireless dongle cannot be used with the 83 unless a future fw update allows it, i.e. assuming there are no limitations in the hw to support it.
teachsac's Avatar teachsac
11:52 AM Liked: 193
post #267 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 4,920
Joined: May 2006
OK. Player will output 3D through HDMI2 through the Pioneer. It will not output sound or video in 3D through HDMI1 to the Pioneer 1020 through any input on the receiver. It will output video out of HDMI1 to TV and sound out of HDMI2 to 1020.

S~
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
11:56 AM Liked: 403
post #268 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 18,009
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomsem View Post
I am expecting my 93 to arrive after the holiday and am confused about codecs and about my best option for audio.

I have a older receiver that doesn't handle HDMI or the latest codecs and will be relying on the 93 to decode and output to the analog inputs on the receiver.

What would be my best audio quality option for this until my receiver is upgraded? I only have 5.1 surround. What if anything will I be missing if I have the 93 decode?

Thanks!
You won't be missing anything. The manual has a section on setup for your configuration.

-Bill
artinaz's Avatar artinaz
12:07 PM Liked: 11
post #269 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 2009
Feature request
I would have liked auto-resolution for different files. I play 24f films at 72 and 30f at 60. At the least if I could see the file-info in the browser (24f, 6channel etc), I could manually change the resolution

My wdtv has the ability to associate images with files. As I browse the file system, I can see this information and when I select it plays the file directly. Example image here-

The future is going to online and local digital content and these would make the user experience much better.
slimoli's Avatar slimoli
12:07 PM Liked: 38
post #270 of 27439
11-24-2010 | Posts: 4,719
Joined: Nov 2001
Quite a few people reported handshaking problems with the HDMI-1, specially with Pioneer receivers. I hope I don't have any trouble but I also have a Pio VSX-94 and intend to use only the HDMI-1. Must wait until Tuesday, though.
Is there anybody using HDMI-1 with a Pioneer receiver without any flaws ?
Tags: Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3