Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 902 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 23Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27031 of 27051 Old 09-21-2014, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
2therock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why do my subscription notifications from this thread "Only" come in as plain text. The links are text only, not click able?

Thanks, 2therock

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2therock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27032 of 27051 Old 09-21-2014, 11:49 PM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostaszag View Post
I have been having an issue with subtitles via DLNA. I am using the OPPO more as a Media Player than anything else, but It cannot load external subtitles with jpeg and mp4 files. I have to convert them to mkv, which is time consuming and results to mkv which cannot be fast forwarded with speed greater than 2x.

My question is: I am running currently an old ISO-capable firmware. Has there been any improvement on this subject in later firmware editions? Would a firmware update bring the possibility of loading subs on jpeg and mp4 files?
I have the latest f/w and have played mp4 files with external subtitles via dlna.

I have also been able to FF mkv files faster than 2x.
michaelp2005 is offline  
post #27033 of 27051 Old 09-22-2014, 04:02 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,367
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2therock View Post
Why do my subscription notifications from this thread "Only" come in as plain text. The links are text only, not click able?
Try the Operations Center for forum issues: http://www.avsforum.com/f/43/forum-operations-center

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #27034 of 27051 Old 09-22-2014, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
kostaszag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelp2005 View Post
I have the latest f/w and have played mp4 files with external subtitles via dlna.

I have also been able to FF mkv files faster than 2x.
Many thanks
kostaszag is offline  
post #27035 of 27051 Old 09-22-2014, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
joefixit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ I suggest you email OPPO Tech Support (for your EU player, that would be the folks at OPPO UK) with the details.

Another poster reported that OPPO was working on a fix for subtitles going too quickly, but I don't know anything about that, nor whether it is related to the problem that you are seeing.

The fact that you can cure it by Erasing Persistent Storage suggests an authoring error on the discs themselves -- getting confused by stuff they have written to Persistent Storage.
--Bob
Thanks for the answer/Joe
joefixit is offline  
post #27036 of 27051 Old 09-22-2014, 11:15 AM
Member
 
saurav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelp2005 View Post
I have the latest f/w and have played mp4 files with external subtitles via dlna.

I have also been able to FF mkv files faster than 2x.
What DLNA server are you using (for external subs)? It has never worked for me using miniDLNA.

I can't FF mkv files any faster than 2x. Or jump to a chapter/time directly with the remote. If I try to do either, oppo hangs for a long time and then restarts the playback from beginning.

Can I download any of these mkv files that you can FF faster than 2x from anywhere? May be my mkv generating software (mkvtoolnix v6.2.0) is buggy. Or was this a bug in oppo and fixed in the latest firmware? I have the previous version (not sure of the exact number right now).

And this is the same on usb also, not just DLNA.
saurav is offline  
post #27037 of 27051 Old 09-22-2014, 07:02 PM
Member
 
michaelp2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by saurav View Post
What DLNA server are you using (for external subs)? It has never worked for me using miniDLNA.

I can't FF mkv files any faster than 2x. Or jump to a chapter/time directly with the remote. If I try to do either, oppo hangs for a long time and then restarts the playback from beginning.

Can I download any of these mkv files that you can FF faster than 2x from anywhere? May be my mkv generating software (mkvtoolnix v6.2.0) is buggy. Or was this a bug in oppo and fixed in the latest firmware? I have the previous version (not sure of the exact number right now).

And this is the same on usb also, not just DLNA.
I have a Synology NAS, and I just use the default Media Server on it.
michaelp2005 is offline  
post #27038 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 01:50 PM
Member
 
jeff1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Closed Captioning

I have several Masterpiece Mystery Inspector Lewis DVD's. There are no subtitles, but the disc's info claims CC (closed Captioning) is on the DVD. Sometimes, the actors UK accent makes it difficult to understand what they are saying. I can't figure how to see the CC. Is there an OPPO-93 setting that I am not aware of, or is it strictly a setting on my Samsung 60" Class 1080p 240HZ 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN60H7100AFXZA?

Kind Regards and thanks for your help. Gary
jeff1947 is offline  
post #27039 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 02:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 880
^ Closed Captioning is not supported in the HDMI spec, and the OPPO does not try to convert Closed Captions to Subtitles on the fly.

Closed Captioning should be available on the Component Video Outputs if your TV has a Closed Captioning decoder for that style of input.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #27040 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 02:05 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,367
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1947 View Post
I have several Masterpiece Mystery Inspector Lewis DVD's. There are no subtitles, but the disc's info claims CC (closed Captioning) is on the DVD. Sometimes, the actors UK accent makes it difficult to understand what they are saying. I can't figure how to see the CC. Is there an OPPO-93 setting that I am not aware of, or is it strictly a setting on my Samsung 60" Class 1080p 240HZ 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN60H7100AFXZA?

Kind Regards and thanks for your help. Gary
You have encountered one of the uglier tales of home video.

Closed Captioning is an older form of subtitling embedded in the video data itself. They are viewed with a decoder in the TV.

However, HDMI cannot carry that data. When the industry switched from analog to HDMI video, all that work on Closed Captions was lost.

You have some options, none entirely satisfactory.

(1) At one time, the component output of the OPPO players at 480i carried the closed captions. If you have a display with component input, you might try it. I haven't shopped for a while but I presume component has been dropped from recent TVs. Along with CC decoding.

(2) If you do disc ripping, there is a utility that converts Closed Captions to text SRT subtitles which can be embedded in an MKV container. The OPPO plays those.

(3) The PAL DVD versions of Lewis imported from the UK have real subtitles. I have the complete set. With the free SuperDisc software mod the region coding is not a problem on the -93 and other OPPO players.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #27041 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 05:21 PM
Member
 
merchantord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oppo BDP-93 multi-region player question...

I purchased one of these a while back from an online vendor and have been quite happy with it. The multi-region mod is hardware as opposed to software based. For some time now, the player has been alerting me to the fact that a firmware upgrade is available. I'm hesitant to make the upgrade though because first of all I am having no issues with playback that I've noticed and I'm concerned that a firmware upgrade might affect the player's multi-region capabilities even though they are chip based. Am I being overly cautious? Has anyone out there ever upgraded the firmware on their multi-region player with no adverse effects? Many thanks.
merchantord is offline  
post #27042 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 06:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 880
^ There HAVE been cases where an OPPO firmware upgrade needed to be matched with a separate firmware upgrade for the region-free hardware mod itself. To be sure, you'd need to identify who made your particular mod and then check with the maker to see what, if anything, you'd need to do to adjust the hardware mod after doing the OPPO update.

There are two popular styles of mod, one of which has more flexibility and gets installed inside the chassis, and the other is simpler and plugs into a USB socket on the back panel. The only mods I know of that have ever needed firmware updates are the ones that get installed internally.

Also, it is typical that you need to set the mod to the player's "normal" Region before doing an OPPO firmware install.

By the way, you can turn off Firmware Notification in Setup if you'd rather not see those notices.
--Bob
mhobart likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #27043 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 08:22 PM
Member
 
merchantord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ There HAVE been cases where an OPPO firmware upgrade needed to be matched with a separate firmware upgrade for the region-free hardware mod itself. To be sure, you'd need to identify who made your particular mod and then check with the maker to see what, if anything, you'd need to do to adjust the hardware mod after doing the OPPO update.

There are two popular styles of mod, one of which has more flexibility and gets installed inside the chassis, and the other is simpler and plugs into a USB socket on the back panel. The only mods I know of that have ever needed firmware updates are the ones that get installed internally.

Also, it is typical that you need to set the mod to the player's "normal" Region before doing an OPPO firmware install.

By the way, you can turn off Firmware Notification in Setup if you'd rather not see those notices.
--Bob
Mine's installed inside the chassis. Perhaps I should let well enough alone. When I contacted the vendor thay said they "thought" it would be okay. Not very reassuring.
merchantord is offline  
post #27044 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ There HAVE been cases where an OPPO firmware upgrade needed to be matched with a separate firmware upgrade for the region-free hardware mod itself. To be sure, you'd need to identify who made your particular mod and then check with the maker to see what, if anything, you'd need to do to adjust the hardware mod after doing the OPPO update.

There are two popular styles of mod, one of which has more flexibility and gets installed inside the chassis, and the other is simpler and plugs into a USB socket on the back panel. The only mods I know of that have ever needed firmware updates are the ones that get installed internally.

Also, it is typical that you need to set the mod to the player's "normal" Region before doing an OPPO firmware install.

By the way, you can turn off Firmware Notification in Setup if you'd rather not see those notices.
--Bob
I've had one of the external region-free adapters for a long, long time, and have never had a problem with firmware updates. I do follow the suggestion mentioned (though I believe that I did forget to follow that on at least one occasion, with no ill effect - your results may differ - always check the documentation for your particular adapter for what the manufacturer recommends).

Vizio M501D-A2r hdtv, Sony STR-DN1050 AVR, Oppo BDP-93 blu-ray, Samsung BD-UP5000 HD-DVD/Blu-ray combo, Roku 3, Apple TV
other older items of various types and vintages

Last edited by mhobart; 09-28-2014 at 09:02 PM. Reason: added caution
mhobart is offline  
post #27045 of 27051 Old 09-28-2014, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by merchantord View Post
Mine's installed inside the chassis. Perhaps I should let well enough alone. When I contacted the vendor thay said they "thought" it would be okay. Not very reassuring.
There seem to be (at least) two types of internal mods. The ones like mine don't seem to have issues when firmware is updated (and they are the cheaper ones). To get them to change regions, you do a dimmer dimmer dimmer mute button sequence. If yours is like that then it you shouldn't have any problem with it. (Mine's been set to region B for quite a while now...)

(The other ones have a simpler way to switch regions, but they always seem to be the ones that have the issues. They also cost more.)
fmalczewski is offline  
post #27046 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 04:21 PM
Member
 
rwinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1947 View Post
I have several Masterpiece Mystery Inspector Lewis DVD's. There are no subtitles, but the disc's info claims CC (closed Captioning) is on the DVD. Sometimes, the actors UK accent makes it difficult to understand what they are saying. I can't figure how to see the CC. Is there an OPPO-93 setting that I am not aware of, or is it strictly a setting on my Samsung 60" Class 1080p 240HZ 3D Smart LED HDTV Bundle UN60H7100AFXZA?

Kind Regards and thanks for your help. Gary
Another more fun but more expensive solution is to go spend a week in Yorkshire spending lots of time in pubs, especially the stand-up bar, After that, you will be fluent in one of the more difficult accents. For Doc Martin, go to small towns in Cornwall for a few days. I presume you can understand the toffs such as on Downton Abbey.
rwinner is offline  
post #27047 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 91
There are now over 27,000 posts to this thread. That is why I am asking a question that I know is in here somewhere but I don't want to spend the next year looking.

I am asking you to please over look my laziness.

My question is in regarding unlocking my 93 to accept Australian DVDs which I think is region 4.

1) Does it work?

2) Can there be problems to the 93 caused by unlocking the player?

3) If it does work, what is the best way to go about it and where do I pick up the unit that makes it work?

I thank you for any help and information.


m

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
post #27048 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 07:10 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,367
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post
There are now over 27,000 posts to this thread. That is why I am asking a question that I know is in here somewhere but I don't want to spend the next year looking.

I am asking you to please over look my laziness.

My question is in regarding unlocking my 93 to accept Australian DVDs which I think is region 4.

1) Does it work?

2) Can there be problems to the 93 caused by unlocking the player?

3) If it does work, what is the best way to go about it and where do I pick up the unit that makes it work?

I thank you for any help and information.


m
For DVDs (not Blu-ray), there is a free software mod: http://www.multi-region.net/oppo_bdp-83

It works for all the OPPO Blu-ray players and works well.

Read the instructions carefully. This is an ISO file that must be burned as a disc image, and you must use a CD-R, not a DVD.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #27049 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
For DVDs (not Blu-ray), there is a free software mod: http://www.multi-region.net/oppo_bdp-83

It works for all the OPPO Blu-ray players and works well.

Read the instructions carefully. This is an ISO file that must be burned as a disc image, and you must use a CD-R, not a DVD.

-Bill
Bill

That was amazingly fast.

Thanks for a quick reply.

I will give it a try

I noticed that it says "83" is it still good for the 93?

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
post #27050 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 07:27 PM
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post
Bill

That was amazingly fast.

Thanks for a quick reply.

I will give it a try

I noticed that it says "83" is it still good for the 93?
Read the comments in the link provided.
exm is offline  
post #27051 of 27051 Old Yesterday, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
Read the comments in the link provided.
Found it. Excellent and thank you



m

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off