Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 912 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27331 of 27359 Old 12-13-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Thanks.

He (or she) who dies with the most HT gear doesn't win anything. They're DEAD!
Torqdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27332 of 27359 Old 12-14-2014, 02:55 AM
Member
 
jeff1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would eliminating seamless branching via BD Rebuilder (movie only) solve the drop-out issue?
jeff1947 is offline  
post #27333 of 27359 Old 12-14-2014, 06:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1947 View Post
Would eliminating seamless branching via BD Rebuilder (movie only) solve the drop-out issue?
Yes.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #27334 of 27359 Old 12-15-2014, 06:21 AM
Member
 
deadseasquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my BD-93 for a couple of years now. I have 2 quick questions that I'm hoping someone can help answer:
1) Has any firmware update allowed for the use of external storage greater than 2TB plugged in via USB?
2) Anyone know of a good replacement for the existing wireless adapter that comes with the BD-93?
deadseasquirrel is offline  
post #27335 of 27359 Old 12-15-2014, 07:17 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadseasquirrel View Post
1) Has any firmware update allowed for the use of external storage greater than 2TB plugged in via USB?
No. That would require supporting GPT partitioning. In the past OPPO has said:

Quote:
Unfortunately this is likely a limitation of the hardware, not the software, so we will not be able to add GPT support through a future firmware release.
Note that the restriction is on locally attached storage. If you are using DLNA networking the player doesn't know or care about the filesystems on the server or the size of the files.

The -103/105 series does support GPT partitions.

-Bill
mhobart likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #27336 of 27359 Old 12-15-2014, 07:41 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,692
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadseasquirrel View Post
2) Anyone know of a good replacement for the existing wireless adapter that comes with the BD-93?
I don't recall any reports of successfully replacing the included WiFi adapter with a different one. But a couple of options:

1) If you're just having range issues, use the included USB extension to relocate the included WiFi adapter to a location with better reception.
2) Use a wireless bridge of your choosing connected to the player's LAN port. In addition to dedicated bridges which tend to be more expensive, many inexpensive routers can be configured in a bridge mode for this sort of purpose.
gsr is offline  
post #27337 of 27359 Old 12-15-2014, 07:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
^ It is unlikely you'll find a different model as replacement for the wireless adapter (other than the identical hardware sold under a different name). The reason is that there has to be a matching driver in the player's firmware.

Of course if you are having a problem with your existing Wifi dongle, OPPO Tech Support can get you a replacement.
--Bob
mhobart likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #27338 of 27359 Old 12-16-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Yes.
It was my understanding that no-one yet understands the metadata structure of Dolby Atmos to be able to demux and remux it into single m2ts file versions and keep it intact: all work so far has been on how to ignore Atmos extensions to work with the TrueHD track. But perhaps I am mistaken.
IanD is offline  
post #27339 of 27359 Old 12-16-2014, 08:50 PM
Member
 
jfbhd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St louis
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 93 with the old iso capable firmware. Is there any way of tricking it into accepting either a nas or HD over 2 tb

Sony G90 CRT
Lumagen Radiance 2143
Oppo BDP-103
120" Stewart Screen
Goldenear Triton Two
Integra DTR 40.1
jfbhd4 is online now  
post #27340 of 27359 Old 12-16-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
Is there any way of tricking it into accepting either a nas or HD over 2 tb
It does support DNLA to some extent. It doesn't care how big a drive is that's connected to the NAS.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #27341 of 27359 Old 12-16-2014, 09:01 PM
Member
 
jfbhd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St louis
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I could get a 5 Bay nas and stuff it with 5 x 2tb drives and it will work?

Sony G90 CRT
Lumagen Radiance 2143
Oppo BDP-103
120" Stewart Screen
Goldenear Triton Two
Integra DTR 40.1
jfbhd4 is online now  
post #27342 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 04:32 AM
Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
So I could get a 5 Bay nas and stuff it with 5 x 2tb drives and it will work?
If you want to get 1x10TB then only if you connect the NAS via the network.
rakosnicek is offline  
post #27343 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 05:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
So I could get a 5 Bay nas and stuff it with 5 x 2tb drives and it will work?
You can also connect multiple drives via USB.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #27344 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
So I could get a 5 Bay nas and stuff it with 5 x 2tb drives and it will work?
If you want to get 1x10TB then only if you connect the NAS via the network.
Keep in mind ISO playback will only work over locally attached storage, not over a network.
fatherom is offline  
post #27345 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 08:51 AM
Member
 
jfbhd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St louis
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Keep in mind ISO playback will only work over locally attached storage, not over a network.

UGH. Why must this be so difficult.

I dont understand why oppo would care what size HD you hook up. Why limit it?

Guess ill have to get 3 x 2tb and just USB them. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Sony G90 CRT
Lumagen Radiance 2143
Oppo BDP-103
120" Stewart Screen
Goldenear Triton Two
Integra DTR 40.1
jfbhd4 is online now  
post #27346 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 08:55 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post

I dont understand why oppo would care what size HD you hook up. Why limit it?
They don't do it to be mean to you. It was the hardware design standard at the time. Disks larger than 2TB require GPT partition support which was not available on the components they chose.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #27347 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
UGH. Why must this be so difficult.

I dont understand why oppo would care what size HD you hook up. Why limit it?

Guess ill have to get 3 x 2tb and just USB them. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
The ISO playback was an experimental feature that was never meant to be something that was officially supported. I own two ISO units myself and love them to pieces. I have a locally attached SSD and copy ISOs to it from my 8-bay network-attached enclosure whenever I want to watch something.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #27348 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
keenly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will OPPO 93 play DTS 5.1 flac and Wav files via HDD connected to USB?
keenly is offline  
post #27349 of 27359 Old 12-17-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenly View Post
Will OPPO 93 play DTS 5.1 flac and Wav files via HDD connected to USB?
http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-9...and-file-types
rdgrimes is online now  
post #27350 of 27359 Old 12-18-2014, 11:04 PM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried playing the shout factory release of "Southern Comfort" last night. The disc would show a black screen with the southern comfort logo and nothing else would happen. Rebooting and cycling tray had no effect. I tried ripping the movie to mkv and that seemed to work fine. I am still using the old ISO firmware, perhaps that's why I had trouble? The disc came out earlier this year. I'm tempted to upgrade the firmware since I hardly ever use the ISO function but it's nice knowing it's there if I need it.
kaibrok is offline  
post #27351 of 27359 Old Yesterday, 05:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaibrok View Post
I tried playing the shout factory release of "Southern Comfort" last night. The disc would show a black screen with the southern comfort logo and nothing else would happen. Rebooting and cycling tray had no effect. I tried ripping the movie to mkv and that seemed to work fine. I am still using the old ISO firmware, perhaps that's why I had trouble? The disc came out earlier this year. I'm tempted to upgrade the firmware since I hardly ever use the ISO function but it's nice knowing it's there if I need it.
I have that title. Both the Blu-ray and DVD play without issue on my player with firmware 82-1009.

Before upgrading the firmware, you might try it on another player to make sure it is not the disc. That you were able to rip it argues against that, but most of these compatibility issues are actually java programming glitches for the menus, which ripping ignores, so I would test that anyway.

Also, could be junk in persistent storage is causing trouble. Try this procedure from the -83 FAQ: What do I do if a Blu-ray disc will not load or play, or if it freezes the player?

If still no good, and I didn't need ISO capability, I'd update the firmware.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #27352 of 27359 Old Yesterday, 04:50 PM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I have that title. Both the Blu-ray and DVD play without issue on my player with firmware 82-1009.

Before upgrading the firmware, you might try it on another player to make sure it is not the disc. That you were able to rip it argues against that, but most of these compatibility issues are actually java programming glitches for the menus, which ripping ignores, so I would test that anyway.

Also, could be junk in persistent storage is causing trouble. Try this procedure from the -83 FAQ: What do I do if a Blu-ray disc will not load or play, or if it freezes the player?

If still no good, and I didn't need ISO capability, I'd update the firmware.

-Bill
Thanks for the tips Bill. I erased the persistent storage and that didn't help. I tried the disk on a friend's PS3 and it loaded just fine. I guess I should expect some discs to have trouble since the ISO firmware is 2 or 3 years old. Decisions, decisions....
kaibrok is offline  
post #27353 of 27359 Old Yesterday, 06:59 PM
Member
 
jeff1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Seamless Branching and Atmos

So it's conceivable, if you processed a branching BR with Atmos, thru BD Rebuilder as 'movie only' (which would re-author and eliminate seamless branching), you might end up with a playable BR with Atmos?
jeff1947 is offline  
post #27354 of 27359 Old Yesterday, 09:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1947 View Post
So it's conceivable, if you processed a branching BR with Atmos, thru BD Rebuilder as 'movie only' (which would re-author and eliminate seamless branching), you might end up with a playable BR with Atmos?
This was already confirmed above in post #27333.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27355 of 27359 Old Today, 01:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
This was already confirmed above in post #27333.
Has it actually been confirmed, or people think it "should" work, technically.

The author of BD Rebuilder is not interested in Atmos itself and most people ripping discs with Atmos are only interested in getting the TrueHD track working (which mainly involves ignoring the Atmos metadata).

Eac3to does not yet handle Atmos demuxing/remuxing and there were a lot of issues getting DTS-HD to work because the extensions were not understood, so I can see there might be lots of issues with Atmos. With TrueHD and DTS-HD MA I understand there are often duplications of audio data at the beginning or end of seamless branched files: eac3to takes care of this, but if the same is true of Atmos metadata, which is not yet understood, there could be glitches.

Of course I could be completely wrong and it's simplicity itself to demux the entire Atmos audio track and remux it back together as one intact file and BD Rebuilder will handle it just fine.

I think Atmos is just another opportunity for the studios to inhibit manipulation of copyrighted files to force migration to new hardware, however temporary.
IanD is offline  
post #27356 of 27359 Old Today, 02:06 PM
Member
 
jfbhd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St louis
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 93 with iso support. Can I plug it into Internet for Netflix and vudu without it prompting or automatically downloading new firmware?
Don't want to take a chance my wife accidentally clicks to update if prompted.

Sony G90 CRT
Lumagen Radiance 2143
Oppo BDP-103
120" Stewart Screen
Goldenear Triton Two
Integra DTR 40.1
jfbhd4 is online now  
post #27357 of 27359 Old Today, 02:29 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
I just got my 93 with iso support. Can I plug it into Internet for Netflix and vudu without it prompting or automatically downloading new firmware?
Don't want to take a chance my wife accidentally clicks to update if prompted.
You can turn off firmware notification in Setup.

There is not automatic firmware update, but as you say, someone might choose "yes" if prompted.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #27358 of 27359 Old Today, 02:30 PM
Member
 
jfbhd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St louis
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I turn off the notification, it won't prompt? Seems obvious but one never underestimates the wife + remote factor

Sony G90 CRT
Lumagen Radiance 2143
Oppo BDP-103
120" Stewart Screen
Goldenear Triton Two
Integra DTR 40.1
jfbhd4 is online now  
post #27359 of 27359 Old Today, 02:36 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbhd4 View Post
If I turn off the notification, it won't prompt? Seems obvious but one never underestimates the wife + remote factor
Correct. Wife? You can't believe the problems my cats create with the remotes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off