Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 913 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

rdgrimes's Avatar rdgrimes
09:47 AM Liked: 267
post #27361 of 27379
12-22-2014 | Posts: 16,599
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Considering buying a used BDP-93,
Would like to have HDMI1 set to output 720p and HDMI2 to "source direct". Both carrying audio, no 3d stuff.
Is this possible?

Thanks
Nope. Both HDMI outputs must send the same resolution. The manual is available to download from Oppo.
russellsd's Avatar russellsd
11:06 AM Liked: 11
post #27362 of 27379
12-22-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2007
Hi,

Searched the forum and could not find an answer.

I am connected to my home theatre receiver through HDMI. I stream Flac from my NAS. I would like to connect to a 2-channel receiver through the FR/FL Analog outs at the same time. Will this work? I have it connected this way right now and do not get anything out of the two channel side.

Anything I need to do?

Many Thanks,
Russ
rdgrimes's Avatar rdgrimes
11:16 AM Liked: 267
post #27363 of 27379
12-22-2014 | Posts: 16,599
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellsd View Post
Hi,

Searched the forum and could not find an answer.

I am connected to my home theatre receiver through HDMI. I stream Flac from my NAS. I would like to connect to a 2-channel receiver through the FR/FL Analog outs at the same time. Will this work? I have it connected this way right now and do not get anything out of the two channel side.

Anything I need to do?

Many Thanks,
Russ
All outputs are active at all times when playing media files. Make sure your player's volume control is set to max.
russellsd's Avatar russellsd
11:32 AM Liked: 11
post #27364 of 27379
12-22-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
All outputs are active at all times when playing media files. Make sure your player's volume control is set to max.
Ok, Thanks I'll check that.
M_N's Avatar M_N
02:11 AM Liked: 10
post #27365 of 27379
12-23-2014 | Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Nope. Both HDMI outputs must send the same resolution. The manual is available to download from Oppo.
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
Smarty-pants's Avatar Smarty-pants
05:01 AM Liked: 190
post #27366 of 27379
12-23-2014 | Posts: 16,443
Joined: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
No. The player is not capable of outputting 2 different distinct resolutions (aside from "Source Direct")
The 1080p/24 setting is to determine the frame rate of 24p vs 60p, but does not override the resolution output setting.
If you have the resolution set to 720p, then all sources will be converted to, and output at, 720p.
Likewise would be true with whatever other resolution output you choose.

You do also have the option of "Source Direct", which will keep the original resolution and frame rate of the video source.
So for DVDs that would be 480i/60, and for most Blu-ray, 1080p/24... and they would be output at those resolutions.
Even another option is the AUTO setting, and that setting SHOULD send out the maximum resolution that
your connected display can handle. So if your display can handle 1080p, then the AUTO setting should send out 1080p.

However, it seems odd that if you have a display capable of handling the 1080p resolution of Blu-ray,
why would you want DVDs to be scaled to only 720p?? Why not scale it to 1080p?
On the flip side of that, if your display can only handle 720p, then you would want to send out all sources converted to that resolution.

The BDP-93 has very good upscaling and deinterlacing capabilities.
However, if you think you have a better scaler downstream, then again the option of source direct might be better.
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
08:54 AM Liked: 1038
post #27367 of 27379
12-23-2014 | Posts: 28,087
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
1080p/24 can only happen if the output Resolution is 1080p. If you set the output resolution to 720P you will get 720p/60 output for everything. (The HDMI spec does not support 720p/24).

So there's no automatic way to do what you are trying to do. However, it is easy enough to change the output resolution using the Remote. (Resolution button lower left, arrow keys to change, Enter to select -- the Resolution displays in the Front Panel.)

If your intent is to output /24 for Blu-ray movies and /60 for SD content, set Resolution to 1080p, 1080p/24 Output to AUTO, and DVD 24p Conversion to OFF. SD content (480i/60) will then be output as 1080p/60. Blu-ray movies (1080p/24) will be output as 1080p/24. Blu-rays of non-movie content (1080i/60) will be output as 1080p/60. I.e., 1080p/24 Output AUTO will only output 1080p/24 if the content is already /24.
--Bob
0hwell's Avatar 0hwell
02:50 PM Liked: 10
post #27368 of 27379
12-24-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2010
I e-mailed Oppo support about the audio dropout issue with seamless branching asking them if they could program it into the firmware to switch to lpcm when in HDMI auto mode when seamless branching is present and switch back to bitstream when it isn't by itself. That's kind of what auto should be about . They said they would ask their engineers but could not guarantee it would be added. I assume there must be a flag in the bitstream saying seamless branching is present.
Smarty-pants's Avatar Smarty-pants
02:53 PM Liked: 190
post #27369 of 27379
12-24-2014 | Posts: 16,443
Joined: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
I e-mailed Oppo support about the audio dropout issue with seamless branching asking them if they could program it into the firmware to switch to lpcm when in HDMI auto mode when seamless branching is present and switch back to bitstream when it isn't by itself. That's kind of what auto should be about . They said they would ask their engineers but could not guarantee it would be added. I assume there must be a flag in the bitstream saying seamless branching is present.
I seriously doubt that's going to happen since there's really no need for it.
Why not just use lpcm all the time? There no difference in audio quality.
0hwell's Avatar 0hwell
03:05 PM Liked: 10
post #27370 of 27379
12-24-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2010
It may be my imagination as I do have to raise the volume on my Aventage receiver when I send it LPCM to match the volume on the same TrueHD sound track in bitstream mode but it just seams like bitstream gives me a slightly richer and more dynamic sound.
Smarty-pants's Avatar Smarty-pants
03:33 PM Liked: 190
post #27371 of 27379
12-24-2014 | Posts: 16,443
Joined: Mar 2005
^ A slight variation in volume can definitely give that placebo effect.
The only difference between them should be that with lpcm, the player is decoding the bits, and with bitstream, the receiver is decoding the bits. If there is any real difference, then that means your receiver is doing something wrong with the audio.
IanD's Avatar IanD
09:49 PM Liked: 23
post #27372 of 27379
12-24-2014 | Posts: 1,859
Joined: Apr 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
It may be my imagination as I do have to raise the volume on my Aventage receiver when I send it LPCM to match the volume on the same TrueHD sound track in bitstream mode but it just seams like bitstream gives me a slightly richer and more dynamic sound.
When using the Oppo to decode to LPCM, it's quite possible you have Dialog Normalisation, Dynamic Range Control or some other parameter set differently than in the receiver when bitstreaming: if you set the parameters to match in both devices, any audio differences will likely be minimised.
gujanuario
08:59 PM Liked: 0
post #27373 of 27379
12-25-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2014
Hello , i'm from Brazil and this is my first message . I attend a Brazilian forum for 10 years and plan on increasing my knowledge and share my experiences I decided to sign up here.
I ask early apologize for any error or written vacabulario because 60% ​​use google translator time.

Well, I have a problem between my Denon AVR 4308 and Oppo BDP 93, bought this week the Oppo used from a friend with the intention of having HD audio and 3D image in the same player. Before had a pioneer BDP 140 and he could not HD audio for not having two HDMI outputs , this was the biggest reason for the up

The settings is: Oppo HDMI 1 Output connect to TV for 3D image and the HDMI 2 output in Denon for HD audio.

The problem happens in 3D image, the image on the TV blinks 4 times before stabilizing , it is very annoying.

I found that the problem is between Denon and Oppo because when I turn off HDMI input of the receiver the image does not flash on TV, and when I do the reverse process the problem returns .

Surely the problem is caused because the Denon not be compatible with 3D and strange signal causing interference in the HDMI 1 this on TV. Ideal would be that the Oppo only send audio to the HDMI 2 , but did not find how to do this .

Someone suggests an alternative to eliminate this problem ? Using optical output does not solve because I want hd audio ( dts hd master , Dolby TrueHD , etc .. ) is there any configuration I know nothing ?
I am afraid that these image flashes affect the TV and the receiver.

Ps. Already reseted Denon microprocessor and both devices are with the latest firmware version.

Already changed the HDMI cable position.
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
08:35 AM Liked: 1038
post #27374 of 27379
Yesterday | Posts: 28,087
Joined: Jul 2004
^ Many older receivers which do not support 3D have problems with the HDMI handshake which cause handshake retries to happen. The newer 103, 103D, 105, and 105D OPPO players have a "Blank HDMI 2" video output setting for 3D which help with this but the 93 does not have this.

The video flashing isn't doing any harm any more than changes in video while watching a movie. What you are seeing is the video muting during the HDMI handshake retries.

I suggest you email OPPO Tech Support with the model number of your TV and your Denon and see if they have any suggestions for you. Also check if there is a firmware update available for your Denon.
--Bob
donaldsonjune's Avatar donaldsonjune
08:55 AM Liked: 18
post #27375 of 27379
Yesterday | Posts: 653
Joined: Feb 2007
Hello all, can you list your unit for sale here?
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
09:01 AM Liked: 1038
post #27376 of 27379
Yesterday | Posts: 28,087
Joined: Jul 2004
^ See the Classifieds forum here:

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/210-video-source-items/

--Bob
gujanuario
07:52 PM Liked: 0
post #27377 of 27379
Yesterday | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2014
I believe that if you bought the model 103 would be better.
I have already sent the question to oppo ha 5 days and up to date unanswered.


Blank hdmi 2 in oppo 93 would be perfect for me. Oppo would be able to offer this update on firmware are many requested it ?
ronton3's Avatar ronton3
03:51 PM Liked: 12
post #27378 of 27379
Today | Posts: 171
Joined: May 2006
Netflix 4k samples
http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/netfl...1311043420.htm

I have been playing with these through an OPPO 103 and Amazon Fire, using a new Denon X3100 hooked to a Sony KDS 55A3000(last model rear projection), the Sony settings are mostly as CNET recommends, with xv color activated. I set the OPPO to source direct, and force 4k because it would not pass the 4k saying a connected source was not compatible(or words to that effect, it means the Sony, Fire passed them without guestion. I have Centurylink DSL(10.9mbps) and use a VPN, last night I was getting 720P and this morning at 9am 1080P. This is generally true any day. The samples and Blacklist(also 4K) I though came closer to B-ray quality than I usually get. Search el fuente on Netflix and the samples appear. I also posted this in the Denon forum. It is fun. ron
adalogue's Avatar adalogue
06:17 PM Liked: 10
post #27379 of 27379
Today | Posts: 5
Joined: May 2011
Right now I'm running a Zyxel NAS with Twonky DLNA over 802.11ac, this works really well even with lossless MKV rips of blu-rays. However, it seems more robust to have the hard drive attached locally to the Oppo. I'd tried this in the past but haven't been able to access the drive over the network to write files to it, but this makes sense since the manual says external drives (i.e. USB 2.0) are accessed read-only to avoid data corruption, so can't write to them through the Oppo.

What do others do? Is there a type of hybrid external hard drive that has eSATA output to interface with the Oppo but also has a NAS component to allow FTP R/W access? Just wondering if anything had made something like this work. All the NAS products I have looked at/owned have USB or eSATA inputs for other drives, but aren't meant to allow another device access to the hard drive in the NAS.

Thanks!
Tags: Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3