Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 913 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 63Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27361 of 27376 Old 12-22-2014, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Considering buying a used BDP-93,
Would like to have HDMI1 set to output 720p and HDMI2 to "source direct". Both carrying audio, no 3d stuff.
Is this possible?

Thanks
Nope. Both HDMI outputs must send the same resolution. The manual is available to download from Oppo.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27362 of 27376 Old 12-22-2014, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
russellsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
NAS streaming to Analog Outs

Hi,

Searched the forum and could not find an answer.

I am connected to my home theatre receiver through HDMI. I stream Flac from my NAS. I would like to connect to a 2-channel receiver through the FR/FL Analog outs at the same time. Will this work? I have it connected this way right now and do not get anything out of the two channel side.

Anything I need to do?

Many Thanks,
Russ
russellsd is offline  
post #27363 of 27376 Old 12-22-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellsd View Post
Hi,

Searched the forum and could not find an answer.

I am connected to my home theatre receiver through HDMI. I stream Flac from my NAS. I would like to connect to a 2-channel receiver through the FR/FL Analog outs at the same time. Will this work? I have it connected this way right now and do not get anything out of the two channel side.

Anything I need to do?

Many Thanks,
Russ
All outputs are active at all times when playing media files. Make sure your player's volume control is set to max.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #27364 of 27376 Old 12-22-2014, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
russellsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
All outputs are active at all times when playing media files. Make sure your player's volume control is set to max.
Ok, Thanks I'll check that.
jidelite likes this.
russellsd is offline  
post #27365 of 27376 Old 12-23-2014, 02:11 AM
M_N
Member
 
M_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Nope. Both HDMI outputs must send the same resolution. The manual is available to download from Oppo.
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
M_N is offline  
post #27366 of 27376 Old 12-23-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
No. The player is not capable of outputting 2 different distinct resolutions (aside from "Source Direct")
The 1080p/24 setting is to determine the frame rate of 24p vs 60p, but does not override the resolution output setting.
If you have the resolution set to 720p, then all sources will be converted to, and output at, 720p.
Likewise would be true with whatever other resolution output you choose.

You do also have the option of "Source Direct", which will keep the original resolution and frame rate of the video source.
So for DVDs that would be 480i/60, and for most Blu-ray, 1080p/24... and they would be output at those resolutions.
Even another option is the AUTO setting, and that setting SHOULD send out the maximum resolution that
your connected display can handle. So if your display can handle 1080p, then the AUTO setting should send out 1080p.

However, it seems odd that if you have a display capable of handling the 1080p resolution of Blu-ray,
why would you want DVDs to be scaled to only 720p?? Why not scale it to 1080p?
On the flip side of that, if your display can only handle 720p, then you would want to send out all sources converted to that resolution.

The BDP-93 has very good upscaling and deinterlacing capabilities.
However, if you think you have a better scaler downstream, then again the option of source direct might be better.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27367 of 27376 Old 12-23-2014, 08:54 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_N View Post
Ok, thanks.
What I'd like to accomplish is to have SD content output as 720p and BluRay as unprocessed 1080p24. Should be possible if "Output Resolution" is set to 720p and "1080p24 Output" is set to "On", right?
HDMI 1 and 2 outputs the same resolution and audio stream but I can choose to tap of BluRay from HDMI2 bypassing the Marvel chip?
1080p/24 can only happen if the output Resolution is 1080p. If you set the output resolution to 720P you will get 720p/60 output for everything. (The HDMI spec does not support 720p/24).

So there's no automatic way to do what you are trying to do. However, it is easy enough to change the output resolution using the Remote. (Resolution button lower left, arrow keys to change, Enter to select -- the Resolution displays in the Front Panel.)

If your intent is to output /24 for Blu-ray movies and /60 for SD content, set Resolution to 1080p, 1080p/24 Output to AUTO, and DVD 24p Conversion to OFF. SD content (480i/60) will then be output as 1080p/60. Blu-ray movies (1080p/24) will be output as 1080p/24. Blu-rays of non-movie content (1080i/60) will be output as 1080p/60. I.e., 1080p/24 Output AUTO will only output 1080p/24 if the content is already /24.
--Bob
steveting99 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 12-23-2014 at 09:00 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #27368 of 27376 Old 12-24-2014, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I e-mailed Oppo support about the audio dropout issue with seamless branching asking them if they could program it into the firmware to switch to lpcm when in HDMI auto mode when seamless branching is present and switch back to bitstream when it isn't by itself. That's kind of what auto should be about . They said they would ask their engineers but could not guarantee it would be added. I assume there must be a flag in the bitstream saying seamless branching is present.
0hwell is offline  
post #27369 of 27376 Old 12-24-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
I e-mailed Oppo support about the audio dropout issue with seamless branching asking them if they could program it into the firmware to switch to lpcm when in HDMI auto mode when seamless branching is present and switch back to bitstream when it isn't by itself. That's kind of what auto should be about . They said they would ask their engineers but could not guarantee it would be added. I assume there must be a flag in the bitstream saying seamless branching is present.
I seriously doubt that's going to happen since there's really no need for it.
Why not just use lpcm all the time? There no difference in audio quality.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27370 of 27376 Old 12-24-2014, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may be my imagination as I do have to raise the volume on my Aventage receiver when I send it LPCM to match the volume on the same TrueHD sound track in bitstream mode but it just seams like bitstream gives me a slightly richer and more dynamic sound.
0hwell is offline  
post #27371 of 27376 Old 12-24-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 190
^ A slight variation in volume can definitely give that placebo effect.
The only difference between them should be that with lpcm, the player is decoding the bits, and with bitstream, the receiver is decoding the bits. If there is any real difference, then that means your receiver is doing something wrong with the audio.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27372 of 27376 Old 12-24-2014, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
It may be my imagination as I do have to raise the volume on my Aventage receiver when I send it LPCM to match the volume on the same TrueHD sound track in bitstream mode but it just seams like bitstream gives me a slightly richer and more dynamic sound.
When using the Oppo to decode to LPCM, it's quite possible you have Dialog Normalisation, Dynamic Range Control or some other parameter set differently than in the receiver when bitstreaming: if you set the parameters to match in both devices, any audio differences will likely be minimised.
IanD is offline  
post #27373 of 27376 Old Yesterday, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello , i'm from Brazil and this is my first message . I attend a Brazilian forum for 10 years and plan on increasing my knowledge and share my experiences I decided to sign up here.
I ask early apologize for any error or written vacabulario because 60% ​​use google translator time.

Well, I have a problem between my Denon AVR 4308 and Oppo BDP 93, bought this week the Oppo used from a friend with the intention of having HD audio and 3D image in the same player. Before had a pioneer BDP 140 and he could not HD audio for not having two HDMI outputs , this was the biggest reason for the up

The settings is: Oppo HDMI 1 Output connect to TV for 3D image and the HDMI 2 output in Denon for HD audio.

The problem happens in 3D image, the image on the TV blinks 4 times before stabilizing , it is very annoying.

I found that the problem is between Denon and Oppo because when I turn off HDMI input of the receiver the image does not flash on TV, and when I do the reverse process the problem returns .

Surely the problem is caused because the Denon not be compatible with 3D and strange signal causing interference in the HDMI 1 this on TV. Ideal would be that the Oppo only send audio to the HDMI 2 , but did not find how to do this .

Someone suggests an alternative to eliminate this problem ? Using optical output does not solve because I want hd audio ( dts hd master , Dolby TrueHD , etc .. ) is there any configuration I know nothing ?
I am afraid that these image flashes affect the TV and the receiver.

Ps. Already reseted Denon microprocessor and both devices are with the latest firmware version.

Already changed the HDMI cable position.
gujanuario is offline  
post #27374 of 27376 Old Today, 08:35 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
^ Many older receivers which do not support 3D have problems with the HDMI handshake which cause handshake retries to happen. The newer 103, 103D, 105, and 105D OPPO players have a "Blank HDMI 2" video output setting for 3D which help with this but the 93 does not have this.

The video flashing isn't doing any harm any more than changes in video while watching a movie. What you are seeing is the video muting during the HDMI handshake retries.

I suggest you email OPPO Tech Support with the model number of your TV and your Denon and see if they have any suggestions for you. Also check if there is a firmware update available for your Denon.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #27375 of 27376 Old Today, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
donaldsonjune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philly
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hello all, can you list your unit for sale here?
donaldsonjune is online now  
post #27376 of 27376 Old Today, 09:01 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
^ See the Classifieds forum here:

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/210-video-source-items/

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off