Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 916 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 83Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27451 of 27468 Old 02-19-2015, 10:33 AM
eci
Senior Member
 
eci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Before you send it in: disconnect ALL cables, then plug ONLY the power cord back in. Turn it on and see if the front panel display gets past "Hello".
Did that before sending it in but thanks for the tip! Power cord only, stuck on HELLO You could hit eject, tray would come out, hit it again, tray goes in. At that point frozen solid, remaining on HELLO.
eci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27452 of 27468 Old 02-20-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Another thing to try would be to load the current firmware on a USB drive or disc,
and see if the player will try to install the firmware.
It probably won't work, but maybe worth a try since you are sending it in anyway.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27453 of 27468 Old 02-21-2015, 07:11 PM
eci
Senior Member
 
eci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Repair was:


"Chris,

We had found that the errors were due to the firmware no longer working properly. We manually upgraded the firmware, found no additional errors, so the player was returned to you.


Best Regards,

Customer Service "
eci is offline  
post #27454 of 27468 Old 02-21-2015, 09:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by eci View Post
Repair was:


"Chris,

We had found that the errors were due to the firmware no longer working properly. We manually upgraded the firmware, found no additional errors, so the player was returned to you.


Best Regards,

Customer Service "
Read this to mean: We hit it with a bigger hammer.
mhobart and eci like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #27455 of 27468 Old 02-21-2015, 09:23 PM
eci
Senior Member
 
eci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Read this to mean: We hit it with a bigger hammer.
Yeah right? Haha. Is there a way I could have performed what they said? The player was essentially bricked. No response from controls even with just AC power and no other connections, after 24 hours of being unplugged.
eci is offline  
post #27456 of 27468 Old 02-22-2015, 01:28 AM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by eci View Post
Yeah right? Haha. Is there a way I could have performed what they said? The player was essentially bricked. No response from controls even with just AC power and no other connections, after 24 hours of being unplugged.
I had a somewhat similar experience recently, possibly after a power spike. The standard practice of unplugging everything and leaving it off power for a few minutes didn't work. Leaving it off power overnight DID fix it, so I didn't have to send mine in to Oppo :-) This was the first time I had ever had to do this in all the years I've had my 93 :-)

Vizio M501D-A2r hdtv, Sony STR-DN1050 AVR, Oppo BDP-93 blu-ray, Samsung BD-UP5000 HD-DVD/Blu-ray combo, Roku 3, Apple TV
other older items of various types and vintages
mhobart is offline  
post #27457 of 27468 Old 02-22-2015, 02:48 AM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am experiencing an issue with playback of 1080p24 mkv files via USB on my Oppo 93. In some movies containing panning of static images (e.g. documentaries), the panning motion is jerky and quite uncomfortable to the eye. I initially thought it had something to do with 24p pull down, but even after switching off the 1080p24 output on the Oppo, the problem persisted.
Is this a known issue? How can I fix it.
For comparison, I played the same movie on my mac mini using VLC, and the playback of those particular scenes was much smoother.

Thanks,
Aris.
anoutsos is offline  
post #27458 of 27468 Old 02-22-2015, 06:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by eci View Post
Yeah right? Haha. Is there a way I could have performed what they said? The player was essentially bricked. No response from controls even with just AC power and no other connections, after 24 hours of being unplugged.
I don't think so. They have a way of accessing the main board directly.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #27459 of 27468 Old 02-25-2015, 09:49 PM
eci
Senior Member
 
eci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can't beat this service.

RichB, LRS3, postrokfan and 1 others like this.
eci is offline  
post #27460 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoutsos View Post
I am experiencing an issue with playback of 1080p24 mkv files via USB on my Oppo 93. In some movies containing panning of static images (e.g. documentaries), the panning motion is jerky and quite uncomfortable to the eye. I initially thought it had something to do with 24p pull down, but even after switching off the 1080p24 output on the Oppo, the problem persisted.
I am having issues with smooth playback of 720p24 material, so I'm wondering if this extends to 1080p24 as well.

It is possible that 24p (versus 23.976p) is not being processed correctly and is thus being output as 1080p60 with pulldown, creating the jerky effect. Consequently, if you turned off 1080p24 mode you would still get 1080p60 and therefore no change in that jerky effect.

However, 720p23.976 is correctly being upscaled to 1080p23.976, so it could be a glitch with 24fps exactly encodes (of which I have noticed a number appearing recently).

In this situation, I have to play my 24fps (exactly) material through my ISO Oppo 93 or NTV550 as neither have the jerky issue, so I am guessing there is an issue in the later Oppo 93 firmware as it relates to 24fps (exactly) material.
IanD is offline  
post #27461 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
CatBus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post
I am having issues with smooth playback of 720p24 material
IIRC, the first post-ISO firmware included a fix for a subtle 720p scaling issue. As a side-effect of that fix, 720p24 could not be output at 24p anymore. Because of this, I'm not sure what you're seeing is related to a pure 1080p issue, you're just seeing the introduction of telecine judder onto 720p24 streams related to this firmware. I believe people holding on to the ISO firmware don't see this particular issue, but they instead see the original scaling issue that this change fixed.
CatBus is offline  
post #27462 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuckNaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Player Not Passing HD Audio

Watched a Blu-ray disc last night, then powered down. The following day, with the same disc, the player will not decode the DTS-HD MA audio track. Top menu audio plays fine (DD), but the main title plays without any sound.

I have dumped persistent storage and reset factory defaults...nothing changes.

Audio is set to HDMI>LPCM.

Thanks.
BuckNaked is offline  
post #27463 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 03:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNaked View Post
Watched a Blu-ray disc last night, then powered down. The following day, with the same disc, the player will not decode the DTS-HD MA audio track. Top menu audio plays fine (DD), but the main title plays without any sound.

I have dumped persistent storage and reset factory defaults...nothing changes.

Audio is set to HDMI>LPCM.

Thanks.
What kind of HDMI cable are you using? If it's an older cable that has bandwidth limitations,
it might not be able to handle the full audio stream. Even if it worked previously, the margin be very close and it
sometimes works and sometimes not. This may or may not be your problem.

The cable could also be in the early stages of failure, or it could be partially out of the socket, so just check your cables to be sure.
Try switching to a known good cable to know for sure.

The fault could also be with the gear you have it connected to if you are using an a/v processor or AVR.
Quite possibly some button or menu setting may have been accidentally changed, or bumped since it was used the last time.

It could also be a defective disc. Even if it played ok before, if the physical defect was marginal,
it could have just decided to fail now. Only way to know is to try a different disc of the same movie.

This type of situation is always a surprise when it happens because just last night everything was fine,
and today it doesn't work, so it must be the player, right?
Well, it might be the player, but odds are that it's probably something else down the line. It's good to go though all possibilities first.
If all troubleshooting fails to solve the issue, you could also try re-flashing the latest firmware via USB method and
see if that could also fix the issue. I doubt it since it worked ok yesterday, but IF there is an issue with the player,
a new software install could jolt the player into working correctly.

If all else fails, contact Oppo customer support and see if they have any more suggestions or
see if the player can be sent in for repair.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27464 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuckNaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
What kind of HDMI cable are you using? If it's an older cable that has bandwidth limitations,
it might not be able to handle the full audio stream. Even if it worked previously, the margin be very close and it
sometimes works and sometimes not. This may or may not be your problem.

The cable could also be in the early stages of failure, or it could be partially out of the socket, so just check your cables to be sure.
Try switching to a known good cable to know for sure.

The fault could also be with the gear you have it connected to if you are using an a/v processor or AVR.
Quite possibly some button or menu setting may have been accidentally changed, or bumped since it was used the last time.

It could also be a defective disc. Even if it played ok before, if the physical defect was marginal,
it could have just decided to fail now. Only way to know is to try a different disc of the same movie.

This type of situation is always a surprise when it happens because just last night everything was fine,
and today it doesn't work, so it must be the player, right?
Well, it might be the player, but odds are that it's probably something else down the line. It's good to go though all possibilities first.
If all troubleshooting fails to solve the issue, you could also try re-flashing the latest firmware via USB method and
see if that could also fix the issue. I doubt it since it worked ok yesterday, but IF there is an issue with the player,
a new software install could jolt the player into working correctly.

If all else fails, contact Oppo customer support and see if they have any more suggestions or
see if the player can be sent in for repair.
Thanks.

I've tried multiple discs, swapped HDMI cables, and tried the FW upgrade...nothing. It's a simple set-up with the HDMI going directly into my TV for both audio and video, thus the LPCM setting.

It's very curious, as the studio splash screen and the Main Menu audio both play fine, but none of the selected tracks on the discs, (DTS-HD MA or lossy DD 2.0), produce any sound.
BuckNaked is offline  
post #27465 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBus View Post
IIRC, the first post-ISO firmware included a fix for a subtle 720p scaling issue. As a side-effect of that fix, 720p24 could not be output at 24p anymore. Because of this, I'm not sure what you're seeing is related to a pure 1080p issue, you're just seeing the introduction of telecine judder onto 720p24 streams related to this firmware. I believe people holding on to the ISO firmware don't see this particular issue, but they instead see the original scaling issue that this change fixed.
It's unfortunate that 720p24->1080p24 scaling is no longer possible with later firmware as that was a useful feature since a number of titles are encoded at that framerate, however I think 720p23->1080p23 still works correctly (will have to verify).

I will just use my ISO Oppo 93 or NTV550 for those titles as the scaling bug (which was replaced by the framerate bug) is not that noticeable to me versus the telecine judder. If the studios heavied MediaTek to introduce bugs to make life difficult for file players, then they shot themselves in the foot if the primary goal was to encourage giving up ISO capability.

There is also a framerate bug related to 24.99fps which results in an awful standards conversion instead of simply smooth 25fps. IIRC, 25fps is fine. I use my NTV550 for those titles, which works perfectly.

The Oppo 93 is an excellent disc player, but is blown out of the water by the Sigma chip in the NTV550 for stable file playback. These days, I leave Bluray/DVD to the Oppo and use an HTPC or the NTV550 for file playback.
IanD is offline  
post #27466 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNaked View Post
Thanks.

I've tried multiple discs, swapped HDMI cables, and tried the FW upgrade...nothing. It's a simple set-up with the HDMI going directly into my TV for both audio and video, thus the LPCM setting.

It's very curious, as the studio splash screen and the Main Menu audio both play fine, but none of the selected tracks on the discs, (DTS-HD MA or lossy DD 2.0), produce any sound.
Directly to your tv? You shouldn't be getting lossless audio that way anyway, since more than likely your tv can't handle it.
If the same setup was working previously, then I would put my bets on something being wrong with the tv.
Maybe your tv is advanced enough to handle higher resolution PCM, but most can't.
Have you tried switching the player to bitstream instead of LPCM?
If you do that, you should get the proper lossy track if the tv and player are communicating correctly.

If your tv is an older model, you might have issues with proper handshaking.
I had a tv do that to me before. It was fine for years, then suddenly the hdcp communication decided to go haywire.
It wouldn't allow content to be input and kept giving me an error.
I'd shut the system down and reboot and several times before it might work,
or I'd have to leave the tv off overnight. Then it would be fine for a couple months, but then start doing it again for no reason.
This was an old Philips LCd tv with native 768p resolution, and I think the more advanced the other gear was that
I tired to connect it to, the more likely there would be handshaking errors with the old software in the tv.
This of course isn't the same issue you are having, but it could be similar if your tv is older and possibly developing
a handshaking issue.

One more thing to try would be to shut down the player and the tv, and disconnect the main power cable from both devices
or if they are plugged into a surge protector, just unplug that from the wall and leave it all disconnected from power overnight.
At least 8-12 hours or longer if you can, then see what happens the next day.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #27467 of 27468 Old Yesterday, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuckNaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Directly to your tv? You shouldn't be getting lossless audio that way anyway, since more than likely your tv can't handle it.
If the same setup was working previously, then I would put my bets on something being wrong with the tv.
Maybe your tv is advanced enough to handle higher resolution PCM, but most can't.
Have you tried switching the player to bitstream instead of LPCM?
If you do that, you should get the proper lossy track if the tv and player are communicating correctly.

If your tv is an older model, you might have issues with proper handshaking.
I had a tv do that to me before. It was fine for years, then suddenly the hdcp communication decided to go haywire.
It wouldn't allow content to be input and kept giving me an error.
I'd shut the system down and reboot and several times before it might work,
or I'd have to leave the tv off overnight. Then it would be fine for a couple months, but then start doing it again for no reason.
This was an old Philips LCd tv with native 768p resolution, and I think the more advanced the other gear was that
I tired to connect it to, the more likely there would be handshaking errors with the old software in the tv.
This of course isn't the same issue you are having, but it could be similar if your tv is older and possibly developing
a handshaking issue.

One more thing to try would be to shut down the player and the tv, and disconnect the main power cable from both devices
or if they are plugged into a surge protector, just unplug that from the wall and leave it all disconnected from power overnight.
At least 8-12 hours or longer if you can, then see what happens the next day.
It looks like it was a player issue. I have another 93 in my home theater. That one was set to bitstream to the AVR. Anyway, I swapped 'em and the HT player works fine with my TV speakers, in LPCM or bitstream mode. Curiously, the 'bad' player has no problem bitstreaming to the AVR. I guess problem solved....

Thanks for your help.
BuckNaked is offline  
post #27468 of 27468 Old Today, 01:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNaked View Post
It looks like it was a player issue. I have another 93 in my home theater. That one was set to bitstream to the AVR. Anyway, I swapped 'em and the HT player works fine with my TV speakers, in LPCM or bitstream mode. Curiously, the 'bad' player has no problem bitstreaming to the AVR. I guess problem solved....

Thanks for your help.
Well at least you found a fix of sorts.
I still think, that if it is the player, it might be something to do with a handshaking error that
has caused some residual error to get stuck in limbo.
If you didn't try reflashing the firmware and/or letting it sit unplugged for a day, you still might want to try that.
...or not, up to you.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off