Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 935 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28021 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
kk_f1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oppo BDP-93/95 multiregion DIY kit - PRO version

The Oppo BDP-93/95 multiregion DIY PRO kit from bluraychip.dk does not work for me. After following the instructions, I still see the region code error on the screen. Any idea?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160731_014111.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	166.5 KB
ID:	1577665  
kk_f1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28022 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 09:24 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by kk_f1 View Post
The Oppo BDP-93/95 multiregion DIY PRO kit from bluraychip.dk does not work for me. After following the instructions, I still see the region code error on the screen. Any idea?
Remove the disc. Turn off Resume Play and Erase Persistent Storage. Power cycle the player and try again.

Likely what is happening is that Resume Play is causing the disc to restart at the error message (the last place that disc was playing) instead of loading from scratch.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #28023 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
kk_f1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Remove the disc. Turn off Resume Play and Erase Persistent Storage. Power cycle the player and try again.

Likely what is happening is that Resume Play is causing the disc to restart at the error message (the last place that disc was playing) instead of loading from scratch.
--Bob
Bob, It's all done before. No luck. Probably the latest firmware update made the kit non-functional.
kk_f1 is offline  
post #28024 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 02:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,786
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by kk_f1 View Post
Bob, It's all done before. No luck. Probably the latest firmware update made the kit non-functional.
Did you actually try the specific instructions Bob gave?
If all else fails, you may want to try removing the kit and then completely resetting the player to factory default settings,
(with no disc in tray and no kit installed). Then power off the player and then pull the power cable from the
player or the wall socket/surge. With it unplugged, press and release the power button, then wait several seconds,
then plug the player back in and turn it on. Check to see everything is working properly and power it off again
and then re-install the kit. Now follow kit instructions for region free compatibility.

It is highly unlikely that the latest firmware disabled the kit's function.
You would likely see more people having the same issue.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #28025 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
kk_f1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Dave. I will try that over the weekend. If I insert any Multiregion or Region A Bluray disk in, it works flawless. Region B Bluray disks do not work. DIMMER+DIMMER+DIMMER+MUTE+2 on remote control does not change anything.
kk_f1 is offline  
post #28026 of 28040 Old 08-01-2016, 03:38 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
^ There was a reported issue with doing a firmware update when the mod was not set to Region A/1, as I recall. The symptom was that it would no longer shift region properly afterwards.

I can't recall the fix for certain, but I believe it was to set the Mod to Region A/1 and then re-install the OPPO firmware via USB stick.

A search in this thread might bring up the relevant discussion, if someone doesn't chime in here.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #28027 of 28040 Old 08-12-2016, 08:08 AM
Member
 
thewall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nashua N.H
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ You've posted this in the thread for the 93. Is the problem on the 93 or on the 83?

In any event, OPPO just recently released Public Beta firmware that fixed a problem with this disc in the 10x players. So you should probably give OPPO Tech Support a call and see if they have any info on it for your player.

------------------------------

ETA: There is a known Disc Authoring Strangeness with this disc which is causing problems for quite a few players of different brands. It has to do with how the disc determines it is playing on a legitimate Blu-ray player.

OPPO Tech Support frequently monitors their email even on weekends so I suggest you reach out to them that way with the details. It is quite possible they'll be able to offer you a workaround to get the disc playing with the current firmware.
--Bob
Been out of town. Meant 93 not 83. Thanks again for reply. Disc was a rental so I won't pursue it any further
thewall is offline  
post #28028 of 28040 Old 08-13-2016, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Was upgrading my bdp-93 firmware, and after it finished, the player prompted the news and turned off as expected. Problem is, it won't turn on. The display is totally off. Anyone knows what to do?
fullmoontonic is offline  
post #28029 of 28040 Old 08-14-2016, 12:12 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,907
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 1978
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullmoontonic View Post
Was upgrading my bdp-93 firmware, and after it finished, the player prompted the news and turned off as expected. Problem is, it won't turn on. The display is totally off. Anyone knows what to do?
Try turning your unit off, disconnect the power cord, hold the on/off switch down for several seconds, reconnect the power cord, and turn your unit on. If that doesn't work, and no one else has a suggestion call or email OPPO.

If your unit needs repair, it is a flat fee of $79 plus shipping including parts.

Good luck.
htwaits is offline  
post #28030 of 28040 Old 08-21-2016, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hey guys I was going to watch Deadpool on bluray but the image will not come through on the blueray input on the tv, it will come through another input. Only happens with this blueray. Any advice?
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #28031 of 28040 Old 08-21-2016, 04:12 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Hey guys I was going to watch Deadpool on bluray but the image will not come through on the blueray input on the tv, it will come through another input. Only happens with this blueray. Any advice?
What is this other input? Are both HDMI?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #28032 of 28040 Old 08-21-2016, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Hey guys I was going to watch Deadpool on bluray but the image will not come through on the blueray input on the tv, it will come through another input. Only happens with this blueray. Any advice?
What is this other input? Are both HDMI?

-Bill
Yes both hdmi, hdmi 1
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #28033 of 28040 Old 08-22-2016, 04:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Yes both hdmi, hdmi 1
Tell us more about the setup. You are using both inputs on the TV, but only HDMI1 on the OPPO? How do you switch inputs? Do you just relocate the cable at the TV end?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #28034 of 28040 Old 08-22-2016, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The oppo 93 connected to sharp 70" 732u and denon s900w, controlled by harmony Logitech 1100. The oppo connected to hdmi 3 on the sharp. The sharp connected to the denon on hdmi 1. Never had this problem before like I said. It's the only movie it happens with.
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #28035 of 28040 Old 08-22-2016, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Yes both hdmi, hdmi 1
Tell us more about the setup. You are using both inputs on the TV, but only HDMI1 on the OPPO? How do you switch inputs? Do you just relocate the cable at the TV end?

-Bill
I click 1 button on the universal remote like I do everytime I Watch a bluray
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #28036 of 28040 Old 08-23-2016, 04:46 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
The oppo 93 connected to sharp 70" 732u and denon s900w, controlled by harmony Logitech 1100. The oppo connected to hdmi 3 on the sharp. The sharp connected to the denon on hdmi 1. Never had this problem before like I said. It's the only movie it happens with.
You said it would work though "another input". What is that?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #28037 of 28040 Old 08-23-2016, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Video is supposed to play on hdmi 3 but for deadpool would only play on hdmi 1. Every other Blu-ray playsvthrough hdmi 3.
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #28038 of 28040 Old 08-23-2016, 07:12 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Video is supposed to play on hdmi 3 but for deadpool would only play on hdmi 1. Every other Blu-ray playsvthrough hdmi 3.
The OPPO is connected to both the receiver and directly to the display? What if you disconnect from the receiver? Any change?

I am having a hard time getting your setup straight. Perhaps you should call OPPO support and have them talk you through it.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #28039 of 28040 Old Today, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Try turning your unit off, disconnect the power cord, hold the on/off switch down for several seconds, reconnect the power cord, and turn your unit on. If that doesn't work, and no one else has a suggestion call or email OPPO.

If your unit needs repair, it is a flat fee of $79 plus shipping including parts.

Good luck.
Thanks a lot! Anyway, the player is not working. Where do I pay that repair fee?
fullmoontonic is offline  
post #28040 of 28040 Old Today, 03:16 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
^ If you are in the US, email or call OPPO Digital Tech Support -- contact info is on their web site (which is down at the moment as I believe they may be updating it with some new product info). They'll get everything set up for you for this flat rate service.

www.oppodigital.com

If you are out of the US, and don't know contact info for your local OPPO distributor/servicer, OPPO Digital Tech Support in the US can also get that info to you.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
BDP-95 , Blu Ray Players , multiregion , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off