Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 942 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 203Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #28231 of 28249 Unread 06-03-2017, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I had a 93 & replaced it with a 203. I am a happy camper. (The 93 served me well)

--Carl

Last edited by calentz; 06-03-2017 at 11:34 PM. Reason: More Info
calentz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28232 of 28249 Unread 06-04-2017, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 21,117
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 1062
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
I had a 93 & replaced it with a 203. I am a happy camper. (The 93 served me well)
Thanks for the feedback

FS: HDBaseT HDMI Cable extender Kit (up to 100 ft) for $75 : http://www.avsforum.com/forum/210-vi...l#post52653465//

FS: OPPO UDP-203 UHD/Dolby Vision Blu Ray Player: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/210-vi...ay-player.html
rboster is online now  
post #28233 of 28249 Unread 06-06-2017, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
I was thinking of selling my OPPO 203 and picking up an OPPO 93 for my reg. blu ray/dvd playback. I never owned a 93. Any known issues I should be aware of when buying a used unit?

Thanks
Ron
For the players that have the old ISO capable firmware, I think there are a few discs that have trouble playing. They were fixed in later firmware, but then you lose the ISO capabilities.
BSTNFAN is offline  
 
post #28234 of 28249 Unread 06-06-2017, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: R.I.
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 42
So far my 93 ISO firmware player has played every disk I put in it without trouble.
BobJ likes this.
Modicen is online now  
post #28235 of 28249 Unread 06-14-2017, 10:10 PM
Member
 
gwhzz35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a BDP-93 and ever since I've owned it, as soon as I put in a movie the initial audio track never comes on when the video does. It skips and jitters. When I contacted Oppo they say it's 'normal' and something about the audio catching up with the video which sounds lame to me. Anyone else have this issue? All updates of firmware have been applied.
gwhzz35 is offline  
post #28236 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 01:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhzz35 View Post
I have a BDP-93 and ever since I've owned it, as soon as I put in a movie the initial audio track never comes on when the video does. It skips and jitters. When I contacted Oppo they say it's 'normal' and something about the audio catching up with the video which sounds lame to me. Anyone else have this issue? All updates of firmware have been applied.
My recollection is that all the Oppos I've used have had that skip part. (Don't recall any jitters.)

My recollection also is that my Panasonic blu-ray player from long ago didn't skip. And my Denon dvd player before that did skip. (And even further back I don't think my Panasonic dvd player skipped audio either...)

But I could be mis-remembering, and maybe they all did skip.

Last edited by fmalczewski; 06-15-2017 at 09:43 AM.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #28237 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 02:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Frank714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
Thanks Bob. I don't have the firmware saved. I will keep using HDMI2 only , I use the 93 only for my ISO blurays and the picture looks good anyway.

Picture from the BDP-93 but no sound via HDMI 1? That's a problem I had when I got the latest JVC projector X5500. My Marantz SR 7009 told me he got no sound at all from the BDP-93 (but did just the night before with my old DLP projector).


I had to change the HDMI settings on the JVC X5500 and that fixed the problem.


Thus it appears there was some kind of handshake confusion or irritation introduced by the JVC that influenced the BDP-93.

"It is only about things that do not interest one that one can give a really unbiased opinion, which is no doubt the reason why an unbiased opinion is always absolutely valueless." Oscar Wilde
Frank714 is offline  
post #28238 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 10:31 AM
Member
 
gwhzz35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
My recollection is that all the Oppos I've used have had that skip part. (Don't recall any jitters.)

My recollection also is that my Panasonic blu-ray player from long ago didn't skip. And my Denon dvd player before that did skip. (And even further back I don't think my Panasonic dvd player skipped audio either...)

But I could be mis-remembering, and maybe they all did skip.
Wow so this is the case with all Oppos?
gwhzz35 is offline  
post #28239 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhzz35 View Post
Wow so this is the case with all Oppos?
From memory, yes. Playing a movie or a special feature, usually the first second or two are muted. I usually go back and start it over to get the sound.

(It could be my receiver... but like I said, I don't recall Panasonics having this same feature. But I think my Denon did though.)
fmalczewski is online now  
post #28240 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
From memory, yes. Playing a movie or a special feature, usually the first second or two are muted. I usually go back and start it over to get the sound.

(It could be my receiver... but like I said, I don't recall Panasonics having this same feature. But I think my Denon did though.)
I don't remember having the problem with my Integra 80.2, but I am having it with my 80.3.
I am having the same problem with my UDP-203 & my Integra 80.3 which leads me to believe the problem rests with the Integra.

--Carl

Last edited by calentz; 06-15-2017 at 11:38 AM. Reason: More Info.
calentz is online now  
post #28241 of 28249 Unread 06-15-2017, 02:42 PM
Member
 
gwhzz35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
I don't remember having the problem with my Integra 80.2, but I am having it with my 80.3.
I am having the same problem with my UDP-203 & my Integra 80.3 which leads me to believe the problem rests with the Integra.
Wow even with the UDP-203? Makes me wonder if it's my AVR as well. Spoke to Oppo again today and he said it may be with the 'handshake' which is causing the lag. He said to try connecting the Oppo directly to the TV and see if that resolves it then you know it's your receiver.
gwhzz35 is offline  
post #28242 of 28249 Unread Today, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Bluffdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BDP 93 and Fox Blu Rays

I've seen a few posts from a few years ago, but within the last few days my player will no longer load a Blu Ray if the title is from FOX. OPPO gave instructions to clean the lens and spindle but that didn't help. I tried reinstalling the latest firmware, deleting setup info, and clearing persistent storage and that didn't help. I've cycled power and no help. OPPO says it needs to be sent in for out of warranty repair. The player works fine with every other disc Blu Ray, DVD Audio, SACD, etc. Only FOX Blu Rays are causing trouble.
Has anyone else had this problem and figured out a resolution?
Bluffdad is online now  
post #28243 of 28249 Unread Today, 01:30 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,595
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Liked: 2095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluffdad View Post
I've seen a few posts from a few years ago, but within the last few days my player will no longer load a Blu Ray if the title is from FOX. OPPO gave instructions to clean the lens and spindle but that didn't help. I tried reinstalling the latest firmware, deleting setup info, and clearing persistent storage and that didn't help. I've cycled power and no help. OPPO says it needs to be sent in for out of warranty repair. The player works fine with every other disc Blu Ray, DVD Audio, SACD, etc. Only FOX Blu Rays are causing trouble.
Has anyone else had this problem and figured out a resolution?
Are the problematic Fox Blu Rays from your collection that have played in the past or are they new to you?

Have you tried cleaning the Blu Ray disks?

How many Fox discs have your tried?

Do you segregate your Blu Ray collection by studio?

Is there any chance that the Fox discs are getting too much sun?
htwaits is offline  
post #28244 of 28249 Unread Today, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Bluffdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Are the problematic Fox Blu Rays from your collection that have played in the past or are they new to you?

Have you tried cleaning the Blu Ray disks?

How many Fox discs have your tried?

Do you segregate your Blu Ray collection by studio?

Is there any chance that the Fox discs are getting too much sun?
At first I thought it was only a few discs received from Netflix. Then I tried discs from my collection that used to play fine and they didn't load either.

Yes, they have been cleaned.

I've tried 5 or 6.

No I don't segregate.

My discs are stored in the drawer of a cabinet. 0 sun exposure.

All the discs loaded and played fine on an XBOX One and a cheap Panasonic player.
Bluffdad is online now  
post #28245 of 28249 Unread Today, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,263
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2277 Post(s)
Liked: 1627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluffdad View Post
At first I thought it was only a few discs received from Netflix. Then I tried discs from my collection that used to play fine and they didn't load either.

.
It does sound like a dying blue laser. Oppo will fix that right up for you at minimal cost.
If you're feeling competent you can try opening the drive and cleaning the laser, but don't bother with trying a "cleaning disc"..
rdgrimes is offline  
post #28246 of 28249 Unread Today, 02:53 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,036
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3379 Post(s)
Liked: 4324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluffdad View Post
I've seen a few posts from a few years ago, but within the last few days my player will no longer load a Blu Ray if the title is from FOX. OPPO gave instructions to clean the lens and spindle but that didn't help. I tried reinstalling the latest firmware, deleting setup info, and clearing persistent storage and that didn't help. I've cycled power and no help. OPPO says it needs to be sent in for out of warranty repair. The player works fine with every other disc Blu Ray, DVD Audio, SACD, etc. Only FOX Blu Rays are causing trouble.
Has anyone else had this problem and figured out a resolution?
This is going to be rather off the wall, but is your 93 connected to the Internet? If not, try connecting it. Check with Connection Test (in Setup > Network Setup) that it is actually connected. Wait a few minutes after that, and then try the FOX discs again.

---------------------------

I don't think the odds are great the above will fix your problem, but it is worth a try.

Odds are you'll have to send the player in for service. You should include one of your Fox discs with it when you send it in. (You'll get it back, of course.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #28247 of 28249 Unread Today, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Bluffdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
It does sound like a dying blue laser. Oppo will fix that right up for you at minimal cost.
If you're feeling competent you can try opening the drive and cleaning the laser, but don't bother with trying a "cleaning disc"..
Already cleaned the laser diode even though there was zero visible dust/debris. I have trouble thinking it the laser when it will play all other Blu Rays fine except Blu Rays from Fox studios. You're right, OPPO will fix or replace the player and it may be my only recourse, but I'm still hoping someone will have had this problem and found a fix without a factory repair.
Bluffdad is online now  
post #28248 of 28249 Unread Today, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Bluffdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
This is going to be rather off the wall, but is your 93 connected to the Internet? If not, try connecting it. Check with Connection Test (in Setup > Network Setup) that it is actually connected. Wait a few minutes after that, and then try the FOX discs again.

---------------------------

I don't think the odds are great the above will fix your problem, but it is worth a try.

Odds are you'll have to send the player in for service. You should include one of your Fox discs with it when you send it in. (You'll get it back, of course.)
--Bob
Yeah Bob, I've tried it both connected and disconnected. It is something about the FOX discs and this player.
Bluffdad is online now  
post #28249 of 28249 Unread Today, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Methodical_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I've been checking out both the 203 and 205 and I think I will hang on to the 93 for a little while longer, too many issues for now, but it seems things maybe coming around. She's doing perfectly fine for now.

HT Configuration: 7.2.4 l Panasonic Plasma (65") l Denon X4300H l Polk LSiM 707s l Polk LSiM 706c l Polk FXi-30 (x4) l Infinity ERS-610 (x4)-Atmos l SVS PB-2000 l Polk PSW 505 (temp) l Monolith 7 amp l Behringer A500 (2x) l Behringer FBQ3102 EQ l Oppo BD-93 l MH 9.3 TT l Denon DP-300F TT l Denon CD player l Cassette Deck.

Subwoofer Trim and Audyssey EQ setup guide
Methodical_1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
BDP-95 , Blu Ray Players , multiregion , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off