Official OPPO BDP-95 Owner's Thread - Page 378 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-95 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
10:44 AM Liked: 1042
post #11311 of 11329
12-21-2014 | Posts: 28,100
Joined: Jul 2004
If you are also using the stereo amp as part of the multi-channel configuration, then you have a problem if you want the stereo outputs to operate independently. That's because they get a stereo down-mix when you play multi-channel content. So Center and the Surrounds content ALSO appears in them.

Instead, set Stereo Signal to FRONT LEFT/RIGHT, and wire the Dedicated L/R outputs in lieu of the multi-channel LF/RF outputs. Set this way, the Dedicated L/R act just like LF/RF -- responding to all the settings that normally apply to LF/RF.

But then the Dedicated L/R will NOT get a down-mix when you play multi-channel content. And when you play Stereo content, if LF/RF are set to SMALL, then bass steering will also happen on the Dedicated L/R -- meaning bass goes to the Sub.

So you have to think carefully about what you are trying to do here. If you want the stereo path to be independent, you can't also use its amp for the multi-channel path without paying attention to the type of content and the settings.
--Bob
Viritrilbia's Avatar Viritrilbia
11:07 AM Liked: 11
post #11312 of 11329
12-21-2014 | Posts: 75
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you are also using the stereo amp as part of the multi-channel configuration, then you have a problem if you want the stereo outputs to operate independently. That's because they get a stereo down-mix when you play multi-channel content. So Center and the Surrounds content ALSO appears in them.

Instead, set Stereo Signal to FRONT LEFT/RIGHT, and wire the Dedicated L/R outputs in lieu of the multi-channel LF/RF outputs. Set this way, the Dedicated L/R act just like LF/RF -- responding to all the settings that normally apply to LF/RF.

But then the Dedicated L/R will NOT get a down-mix when you play multi-channel content. And when you play Stereo content, if LF/RF are set to SMALL, then bass steering will also happen on the Dedicated L/R -- meaning bass goes to the Sub.

So you have to think carefully about what you are trying to do here. If you want the stereo path to be independent, you can't also use its amp for the multi-channel path without paying attention to the type of content and the settings.
--Bob

Sorry Bob. I'm now more confused - my ignorance no doubt! If I start from scratch to explain my set-up.


For stereo music listening I use the Oppo via XLR cables direct to Cambridge Audio Azur 851a. I have Stereo signal on the Oppo set to Front Left/Right. Front L/R are set as 'Large'. I don't have a sub connected direct to the CA Azur or the Oppo and don't need one for stereo music. My Pioneer SC LX87 is not switched on.


For SACD multi-channel (and DVD/Blu-ray audio, and sometimes concert DVDs/Blu-rays) I currently have RCA phonos from Oppo to Pioneer SC LX87, with pre-outs for FL and FR from the Pioneer to the CA Azur. I do not want this to downmix to stereo. I have a sub connected to the Pioneer.


I think this has been working OK. But I just wondered whether in fact the FL & FR phono link from the Oppo to the Pioneer was superfluous - if the XLRs are carrying the FL and FR anyway?


Or is your point that I'm missing something else?


thanks
V
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
11:26 AM Liked: 1042
post #11313 of 11329
12-21-2014 | Posts: 28,100
Joined: Jul 2004
Your current configuration will work.

If you disconnect the LF/RF pre-outs running from the Pioneer to the Cambridge, the question is Volume control for multi-channel listening. You can't use the Volume on the Pioneer of course because it would not affect the XLR audio going direct to the Cambridge. If you are instead using Volume control in the OPPO 95, then you'll need to check your speaker trims. The XLR outputs are, by design, +6dB hotter than the RCA outputs. Your Cambridge may already be compensating for that, but you'll need to check. If you use DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion, be aware that speaker trims are not available.
--Bob
Viritrilbia's Avatar Viritrilbia
11:52 AM Liked: 11
post #11314 of 11329
12-21-2014 | Posts: 75
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Your current configuration will work.

If you disconnect the LF/RF pre-outs running from the Pioneer to the Cambridge, the question is Volume control for multi-channel listening. You can't use the Volume on the Pioneer of course because it would not affect the XLR audio going direct to the Cambridge. If you are instead using Volume control in the OPPO 95, then you'll need to check your speaker trims. The XLR outputs are, by design, +6dB hotter than the RCA outputs. Your Cambridge may already be compensating for that, but you'll need to check. If you use DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion, be aware that speaker trims are not available.
--Bob
Thanks Bob.


I think I'll leave the Pioneer pre-outs to carry the FL&R for multi-channel listening.


I do use the variable volume on the Oppo. I found the Pioneer showed an overload (can't recall how - I think a red indicator lit up) when the Oppo was at full volume, so I drop it to 95 for multi-channel. But I also connect the Oppo using the FL/FR RCA phonos to a headphone amp (Graham Slee Novo) which does not have a remote. So, to control headphone listening volume I set the HP amp manual volume to 9 o'clock and then use the Oppo's variable control. I usually need to drop it to between 80 and 90 for rock recordings but set it between 90 and 100 for classical recordings - due to the propensity of recording engineers to record at louder levels for rock, I guess.


V
Baron Blood's Avatar Baron Blood
10:47 AM Liked: 10
post #11315 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 137
Joined: Dec 2012
Hello,

I just got my first DAP and now I'm wondering how do I record my SACDs from my Oppo onto my DAP/PC?
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
10:51 AM Liked: 1042
post #11316 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 28,100
Joined: Jul 2004
^ SACDs are copy protected. So the OPPO is supposed to prevent copying their digital audio. Of course the Analog outputs are not copy protected.
--Bob
Baron Blood's Avatar Baron Blood
10:56 AM Liked: 10
post #11317 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 137
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ SACDs are copy protected. So the OPPO is supposed to prevent copying their digital audio. Of course the Analog outputs are not copy protected.
--Bob
Thanks for the quick reply,Bob.

So I'm unable to put the full sound of my SACD collection onto my new Pono DAP?
misbe's Avatar misbe
11:02 AM Liked: 10
post #11318 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: May 2006
I just acquired a Lexicon RV8. For the analog outputs from the Oppo 95, the sound was clipping when the Oppo volume was set to 100. It sounded awful. I was able to adjust the Oppo volume down to get it into the right range without clipping and now it sounds amazing. However, when using the digital output through the coax, I'm still running into the same issue of clipping. Is there any way to control the digital out volume from the Oppo.
Smarty-pants's Avatar Smarty-pants
11:46 AM Liked: 190
post #11319 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 16,447
Joined: Mar 2005
^I doubt that the player is at fault. More than likely it's something else causing the clipping.
To be sure you are getting the best performance from the player, make sure the firmware is up to date.
There is no way to control the digital volume of the player. It only has volume control for analog other than mute.
misbe's Avatar misbe
01:48 PM Liked: 10
post #11320 of 11329
12-22-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: May 2006
Thanks for the answer on the digital volume control. I wonder if it is just as simple as being a cd that was recorded at the high volume levels and compressed dynamic range.
Silva741's Avatar Silva741
05:39 PM Liked: 29
post #11321 of 11329
12-23-2014 | Posts: 135
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcuslaw View Post
See post 6352.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viritrilbia View Post
You can use the Oppo Media Control app (for the 9x) to control the player without having the video on. I use it for stereo listening most of the time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Alternatively, the Component Video output of the 95 can be used to drive a small LCD display. That should be a cheaper option than finding a small HDMI-capable LCD display. Such displays are typically sold as portable displays for use with video cameras or in a car. Get one with an AC adapter for power.
--Bob
Thanks, guys. I'll research those solutions. I bought the player, I'll receive it in a few days.
Silva741's Avatar Silva741
03:55 AM Liked: 29
post #11322 of 11329
12-26-2014 | Posts: 135
Joined: Feb 2010
I received the OPPO 95 yesterday, spent a few hours playing with it, and my first impressions are very good. I’m using it ATM with a Panasonic G20 1080p plasma. I started testing some SD .avi files and it looks quite good, considering the low res, the upscaler is very good and everything looks great. I’m using the 16:9 Wide/Auto option, to make sure all the formats are displayed properly, without stretching the images. The TV system is set to ‘’Multi’.

Next I tested 1080p and 720p high quality .mkv files, and HD looks beautiful, as good as I hoped. I won't use the player with Blu-ray discs, for health reasons my hand dexterity is very reduced, so having access to movies and everything else through USB storage using only the remote without needing to deal with discs is great.

I’m having a problem with 2.35:1 content, though. When I try to play a movie with this format it starts playing as it should, with black bars above and below the image, but after 3 or 4 seconds the image is stretched, filling the entire screen.

If I try to press the ZOOM button on the remote several times eventually after a few other zoom modes it gets back to the way it should look, with top and bottom black bars… but after 3 or 4 seconds the images is stretched AGAIN, filling the whole screen.

I’m probably doing something wrong, but not sure what. Can someone please give some insight of what I'm doing wrong and how can I turn this OFF?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
04:49 AM Liked: 391
post #11323 of 11329
12-26-2014 | Posts: 17,810
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva741 View Post
I’m using the 16:9 Wide/Auto option, to make sure all the formats are displayed properly, without stretching the images. The TV system is set to ‘’Multi’.
Wide/Auto determines how 4:3 aspect ratio sources are treated. Pillarboxes are added on the sides. This is mainly for DVD content, which can be either 4:3 or 16:9. I'm forgetting the interaction with media files. It has no effect on Blu-ray hidef titles, which are always 16:9.

"Multi" has to do with how 50hz vs 60hz sources are handled. If you know your display can handle 50hz video (as found on PAL DVD and sometimes on imported Blu-rays and media files) then Multi is fine. Else use NTSC (I presume you are in North America).

Quote:
I’m having a problem with 2.35:1 content, though. When I try to play a movie with this format it starts playing as it should, with black bars above and below the image, but after 3 or 4 seconds the image is stretched, filling the entire screen.
That sounds like your display is detecting something in the image that it thinks need to be adjusted. Do you have any setup in the Panasonic that might enable that?

What output resolution are you using in the player? Do you get the same results if you cycle through them? Particularly comparing 1080p and Source Direct.

-Bill
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
08:12 AM Liked: 1042
post #11324 of 11329
12-26-2014 | Posts: 28,100
Joined: Jul 2004
^ As Bill says, this sounds like your TV is detecting the black bars and removing them itself, "to be helpful". Hopefully there is a setting in the TV to make it stop doing that. Check the Aspect Ratio or Picture Size settings in the TV. Check the owner's thread here for your model of TV.

It is possible the TV only does that when getting 1080p/24 video input. Check that by setting 1080p/24 Output OFF temporarily in the OPPO.

Use a calibration disc to check that you are getting all 1920x1080 pixels visible on the TV -- losing none off the edges because the TV is set to "overscan" or is zooming in on the picture.
--Bob
Drem's Avatar Drem
11:27 AM Liked: 10
post #11325 of 11329
12-26-2014 | Posts: 216
Joined: Dec 2002
I have an urgent problem with my BDP-95EU (on latest EU firmware). Today I was watching a movie via my external HDD (connected to front USB) and the player shuts itself off after about 20 minutes. No messages or nothing. Tried putting on movie again, same thing happen at about 20 minutes. I watch most films via this external HDD, all full BD movies without any problems until now.

I checked the player and noticed the fan on the back is not spinning. Should it spin all the time or just when the player gets hotter?

Edit: I opened up the player and cleaned the fan. It is now running. I am not sure if it ran when I had the problem. Testing same movie now..
Silva741's Avatar Silva741
12:16 AM Liked: 29
post #11326 of 11329
Yesterday | Posts: 135
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That sounds like your display is detecting something in the image that it thinks need to be adjusted. Do you have any setup in the Panasonic that might enable that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ As Bill says, this sounds like your TV is detecting the black bars and removing them itself, "to be helpful". Hopefully there is a setting in the TV to make it stop doing that. Check the Aspect Ratio or Picture Size settings in the TV. Check the owner's thread here for your model of TV.
Thank you very much wmcclain and Bob Pariseau, it was the TV indeed. I’ve been using it for 3 years with an ASUS R1 media player and the TV never tried to adjust the aspect ratio, but with the OPPO for some reason it decided it was necessary.

With this solved, today I tried to connect my Western Digital 3TB external drive through USB, but it didn’t work. it’s odd because the 1TB also from Western Digital works perfectly. Both drives are working, I checked, so it must be the OPPO not recognizing it. Is there a list of compatible hard drives?

I searched and found one for the OPPO 93, but it’s not very exhaustive nor recent.
http://www.amazon.com/List-BDP-93-Co...sin=B004BLK24S
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
05:23 AM Liked: 391
post #11327 of 11329
Yesterday | Posts: 17,810
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva741 View Post
With this solved, today I tried to connect my Western Digital 3TB external drive through USB, but it didn’t work. it’s odd because the 1TB also from Western Digital works perfectly. Both drives are working, I checked, so it must be the OPPO not recognizing it. Is there a list of compatible hard drives?
The -95 does not support GPT partitioning, so 2TB is the max volume size. The -93 FAQ has details.

Note if you use a DLNA server, the player does not know or care about file systems or volume sizes, so the restriction does not apply.

GPT support was added in the -103/105 series.

-Bill
Viritrilbia's Avatar Viritrilbia
01:24 AM Liked: 11
post #11328 of 11329
Today | Posts: 75
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drem View Post
I have an urgent problem with my BDP-95EU (on latest EU firmware). Today I was watching a movie via my external HDD (connected to front USB) and the player shuts itself off after about 20 minutes. No messages or nothing. Tried putting on movie again, same thing happen at about 20 minutes. I watch most films via this external HDD, all full BD movies without any problems until now.

I checked the player and noticed the fan on the back is not spinning. Should it spin all the time or just when the player gets hotter?

Edit: I opened up the player and cleaned the fan. It is now running. I am not sure if it ran when I had the problem. Testing same movie now..
Sounds like copy protection cutting in.
Viritrilbia's Avatar Viritrilbia
01:28 AM Liked: 11
post #11329 of 11329
Today | Posts: 75
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva741 View Post
Thank you very much wmcclain and Bob Pariseau, it was the TV indeed. I’ve been using it for 3 years with an ASUS R1 media player and the TV never tried to adjust the aspect ratio, but with the OPPO for some reason it decided it was necessary.

With this solved, today I tried to connect my Western Digital 3TB external drive through USB, but it didn’t work. it’s odd because the 1TB also from Western Digital works perfectly. Both drives are working, I checked, so it must be the OPPO not recognizing it. Is there a list of compatible hard drives?

I searched and found one for the OPPO 93, but it’s not very exhaustive nor recent.
http://www.amazon.com/List-BDP-93-Co...sin=B004BLK24S
I use 2 x 2tb drives. Freecom Quattro 2TBattached to the eSata port and Fantec DB-AluSky U3e Schwartz 2TB on the rear USB. The eSata connected one has to be switched on before the Oppo. I tried another Freecom model which didn't seem to work (2 units tried). Hope this helps.
V












Tags: Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 95 Blu Ray Disc Player

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3