Official OPPO BDP-95 Owner's Thread - Page 380 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11371 of 11398 Old 02-25-2015, 08:02 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone tell me if there's a gizmo that will let me connect my DAP player (that only has a mini aux output) with the Oppo?

I'm hoping there's something that when connected to my DAP player will send the signal to the supplied USB Oppo Dongle.
Baron Blood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11372 of 11398 Old 02-25-2015, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 96
The problem is with my player... the files play fine on my brother's player. I talked with Oppo and did some troubleshooting and they acknowledged it is a problem with the player...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #11373 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,907
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 309
I called Netflix because I am only getting 720P output from my Oppo when streaming Netflix.
If I stream Netflix from my VT60 plasma, Netflix streams 1080 or at least that is what my VT60 reports.

Netflix checked this out and they confirm that the problem with only streaming 720 is with the Oppo 95.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #11374 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 03:57 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
^ The older app Netflix has provided for the 9x players is only capable of receiving 720p streams. This is not a performance limitation of the 9x hardware, as evidenced by the fact that the VUDU app handles 1080p streams, but rather a limitation of the Netflix app itself.

Netflix evidently has no interest in upgrading the app for this older player which is no longer being manufactured.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11375 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The older app Netflix has provided for the 9x players is only capable of receiving 720p streams. This is not a performance limitation of the 9x hardware, as evidenced by the fact that the VUDU app handles 1080p streams, but rather a limitation of the Netflix app itself.

Netflix evidently has no interest in upgrading the app for this older player which is no longer being manufactured.
--Bob
Don't you just love spending a Grand on equipment that becomes obsolete in a few years?
greylight44 likes this.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #11376 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 05:52 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
If you think this is bad, wait until folks realize the 4K gear they just bought isn't "real", and has to be replaced.
--Bob
greylight44 likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11377 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
Don't you just love spending a Grand on equipment that becomes obsolete in a few years?
Obsolete? Try buying any current AVR.
audio4life is offline  
post #11378 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
Obsolete? Try buying any current AVR.
Well, I do love to exaggerate.
I'd make a good lawyer.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #11379 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 125
I discovered an oddity of sorts the other night. I was playing a bluray concert vid with a Dolby TrueHD 5.1 channel track. The bass seemed anemic and after messing a bit with various settings, I pulled out my S & M ver.2 calibration disc. It has both a Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA track which is cool for comparison's sake. All things being equal, the Dolby track was 5 dbs lower than the DTS track when testing the sub channel. Has anyone ever run across this before?

I'm pushing the BDP95 through a Parasound C-2 pre-pro using analog outs from the oppo. The Parasound is set to analog bypass.
Torqdog is offline  
post #11380 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,907
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The older app Netflix has provided for the 9x players is only capable of receiving 720p streams. This is not a performance limitation of the 9x hardware, as evidenced by the fact that the VUDU app handles 1080p streams, but rather a limitation of the Netflix app itself.

Netflix evidently has no interest in upgrading the app for this older player which is no longer being manufactured.
--Bob
Ya that sounds about right.

So the 103/5 Oppo's have the right netflix app for 1080P.?

Also will the 103 handle 4K streaming from netflix to a 4K OLED.???

ss

Last edited by sillysally; 02-28-2015 at 05:45 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #11381 of 11398 Old 02-28-2015, 06:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Ya that sounds about right.

So the 103/5 Oppo's have the right netflix app for 1080P.?

Also will the 103 handle 4K streaming from netflix to a 4K OLED.???

ss
The 10x players accept 1080p streams. These come in as 1080p/60 (at one of several different bit rates). The 10xD players (the Darbee models) can upscale that to 4K/60 output as YCbCr 4:2:0 color space.

The 10x players can not accept 4K streams. At the moment, Netflix is only streaming 4K to apps built *INSIDE OF* TVs, which bypasses the whole problem of how to send such 4K content over an HDMI cable with studio-acceptable Copy Protection.
--Bob
sillysally likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11382 of 11398 Old 03-04-2015, 01:43 AM
Newbie
 
molle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have enjoyed trouble-free playback from my 95 since I bought it, but now I have encountered an issue I hope you can help me out with.


My 95 is connected via hdmi for multichannel playback, and with analog rca for stereo playback. My recent problem is that the 95 does not send any signal via the rca analog outputs, only via hdmi. Earlier, this problem could be resolved by powering down and restarting, but that trick does not work.


Should I re-install the software? Do I have to set the hdmi audio output to "off" in order to enjoy analog output?


Any suggestions?
molle is offline  
post #11383 of 11398 Old 03-04-2015, 04:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 895 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by molle View Post
I have enjoyed trouble-free playback from my 95 since I bought it, but now I have encountered an issue I hope you can help me out with.


My 95 is connected via hdmi for multichannel playback, and with analog rca for stereo playback. My recent problem is that the 95 does not send any signal via the rca analog outputs, only via hdmi. Earlier, this problem could be resolved by powering down and restarting, but that trick does not work.


Should I re-install the software? Do I have to set the hdmi audio output to "off" in order to enjoy analog output?


Any suggestions?
Are you sure the problem isn't at the receiver? Any changes there?

I would try these steps, checking for proper audio after each:
  • Disconnect all cables, reinsert them and check for a firm connection.
  • Verify from some other source that the receiver is working properly, using the same sockets as the player is connected to.
  • Reset Factory Defaults in the player.
  • Reinstall current firmware.

If none of that works then you may have a hardware failure and should contact OPPO or your dealer.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #11384 of 11398 Old 03-04-2015, 05:37 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
Quote:
Originally Posted by molle View Post
I have enjoyed trouble-free playback from my 95 since I bought it, but now I have encountered an issue I hope you can help me out with.


My 95 is connected via hdmi for multichannel playback, and with analog rca for stereo playback. My recent problem is that the 95 does not send any signal via the rca analog outputs, only via hdmi. Earlier, this problem could be resolved by powering down and restarting, but that trick does not work.


Should I re-install the software? Do I have to set the hdmi audio output to "off" in order to enjoy analog output?


Any suggestions?
The most common reason for losing just Analog audio output is that you have the player's Volume turned way down low but not all the way to zero.

Volume buttons near top of remote.

(Volume only affects Analog audio output, except for Volume 0, which is treated like Mute.)

If that's not it, what content are you playing when this fails? All types, even simple stuff like a CD?

Are you using the Dedicated Stereo Analog output jacks? Do you have the Stereo Signal setting set to DOWN-MIXED STEREO? If not, do you have the Left Front / Right Front speakers enabled in Speaker Configuration?

Another test would be to try the Left Front / Right Front pair of jacks in the multi-channel set. If those WORK, then the stereo board in your player may need service.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11385 of 11398 Old 03-04-2015, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
molle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As always, there's a simple explanation to many problems. Very much so in this case..

There's nothing wrong with my Oppo. As I began checking the connections and going through all parameters, it suddenly struck me; my wife had entered my man cave the day before yesterday for her weekly saxophone practice session. I thought it was strange finding zone 2 and 3 enabled yesterday, but didn't give it a second thought at the time.

What I didn't realise was that she also had powered down my power amps (used only for left and right front channels and subs), including the amp for the TT's. No wonder I didn't get any sound from stereo playback..

Thank you for your help, I'll keep it in mind next time the wife messes up my finely calibrated gear.
molle is offline  
post #11386 of 11398 Old 03-06-2015, 07:34 AM
Member
 
SLiC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Carbondale, IL
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hard drive compatability issue:

I have been using a Lacie hard drive to view movie files on my BDP-95 with no issues. I have noticed that after the last firmware update the player locks up and I have to restart when trying to access My files, making it impossible to view the stored video's. I have even gotten an incomparable media warning once. Anyone else have this issue? I would appreciate any compatable Hard drive recommendations if it turns out my HD is no longer compatible.

Sam C.
SLiC is offline  
post #11387 of 11398 Old 03-06-2015, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLiC View Post
Hard drive compatability issue:

I have been using a Lacie hard drive to view movie files on my BDP-95 with no issues. I have noticed that after the last firmware update the player locks up and I have to restart when trying to access My files, making it impossible to view the stored video's. I have even gotten an incomparable media warning once. Anyone else have this issue? I would appreciate any compatable Hard drive recommendations if it turns out my HD is no longer compatible.

Sam C.
I wonder if they installed Cinavia on your deck with the last "update"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinavia
Baron Blood is offline  
post #11388 of 11398 Old 03-06-2015, 08:49 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 895 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
I wonder if they installed Cinavia on your deck with the last "update"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinavia
No Cinavia on the -83 or -93/95 series, and that's not how it behaves anyway.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #11389 of 11398 Old 03-06-2015, 05:21 PM
Member
 
greylight44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: out there
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by molle View Post
As always, there's a simple explanation to many problems. Very much so in this case..

There's nothing wrong with my Oppo. As I began checking the connections and going through all parameters, it suddenly struck me; my wife had entered my man cave the day before yesterday for her weekly saxophone practice session. I thought it was strange finding zone 2 and 3 enabled yesterday, but didn't give it a second thought at the time.

What I didn't realise was that she also had powered down my power amps (used only for left and right front channels and subs), including the amp for the TT's. No wonder I didn't get any sound from stereo playback..

Thank you for your help, I'll keep it in mind next time the wife messes up my finely calibrated gear.
That is the one problem that our fine friends that patrol this thread can't help us with. It is the one burden we must face alone.
greylight44 is offline  
post #11390 of 11398 Old 03-06-2015, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by greylight44 View Post
That is the one problem that our fine friends that patrol this thread can't help us with. It is the one burden we must face alone.
I have a solution, guys!
Baron Blood is offline  
post #11391 of 11398 Old 03-11-2015, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does this firmware update address the 3D and component skipping of frames when the wifi dongle is connected to the player? This bug was introduced in the previous FW update, and I recall they were working on a fix.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
Release date: October 27, 2014
Category: Latest Official Release
Main Version: BDP9x-82-1009
Loader Version: CN1000
Sub Version: MCU93-09-0218 (BDP-93), MCU95-08-0218 (BDP-95)

1. Resolved a disc loading issue with several Blu-ray movies released by Touchstone Home Entertainment. Customers reported that after loading the disc, the player would stopped even froze at the time point "2:00:00". Sample titles include "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" and "The Tempest".

2. Resolved a subtitle display issue with several Blu-ray movies released by Shout! Factory studio. Customers reported that the subtitle would quickly dissappear, even completely undisplay at multiple time points. Sample titles include "The Extraordinary Adventures of Adele Blanc-Sec Director's Cut" and "Prince of Darkness".

Neuromancer's Note:
This will not fix all subtitle issues where there are multiple subtitles which appear at once. In particular, if you watch anime films, you will likely still see issues with the subtitles not being rendered properly.

3. Resolved an audio dropout issue with the SACD playback. Customers reported that if an SACD was loaded after the player was turned on, a brief audio dropout could be heard after ~2 seconds into the first track. This only happened on the first track on the first SACD disc.
Flexx is offline  
post #11392 of 11398 Old 03-11-2015, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 189
It does not, no. So you will still need to remove the WIFI adapter from the player.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #11393 of 11398 Old 03-24-2015, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Silva741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
After a couple months not using my oppo 95 I'll connect it again, using it mostly for music, but can someone please say how (if it's possible) to configure the screensaver? I'll be using a plasma, so when playing music (from a external HDD) it's important to have the screensaver starting as soon as possible, to avoid image burn-in.
Silva741 is online now  
post #11394 of 11398 Old 03-24-2015, 06:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
^ You can use Pure Mode (Pure button, upper left on the remote) to blank the video output as soon as you want. Press it again to get video back.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11395 of 11398 Old 03-24-2015, 11:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,813
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva741 View Post
After a couple months not using my oppo 95 I'll connect it again, using it mostly for music, but can someone please say how (if it's possible) to configure the screensaver? I'll be using a plasma, so when playing music (from a external HDD) it's important to have the screensaver starting as soon as possible, to avoid image burn-in.
If you're talking about playing the sound through your display's speakers, then you can do what Bob is recommending.

If you are talking about playing the sound through your surround system, then why not turn off the display?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, Klein K10, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #11396 of 11398 Old 03-25-2015, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Silva741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ You can use Pure Mode (Pure button, upper left on the remote) to blank the video output as soon as you want. Press it again to get video back.
--Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
If you're talking about playing the sound through your display's speakers, then you can do what Bob is recommending.

If you are talking about playing the sound through your surround system, then why not turn off the display?
Thans Bob Pariseau and JimP. I'll be playing the sound through the surround system so I could turn the TV off, but wanted to avoid turning it OFF and ON constantly.

I thought about the Pure Mode, but I think my TV (Panasonic G20) sees that as no signal, and displays a "no signal" icon on the top left corner - risking burn-in. Tonight I'll take everything of storage and connect it, I'll report back. Thanks again.
Silva741 is online now  
post #11397 of 11398 Old 03-26-2015, 01:57 AM
Member
 
madaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva741 View Post
After a couple months not using my oppo 95 I'll connect it again, using it mostly for music, but can someone please say how (if it's possible) to configure the screensaver? I'll be using a plasma, so when playing music (from a external HDD) it's important to have the screensaver starting as soon as possible, to avoid image burn-in.
Have you thought about hooking up a cheap, small screen to the 95's HDMI 2, or composite video, out? I actually had my 95 hooked up via composite, through a composite to vga adapter, to my computer screen, as my computer and screen was in the lounge room hooked up to all my gear. This meant that for music, I did not need to turn on my Plasma screen to negotiate through the 95's menu system.

If you are playing files on a hard drive attached to the 95, and your 95 it is connected to your home network ( via cable or wifi) you could use the Oppo Media App on a suitable phone or tablet to negotiate through the files on your hard drive.

Last edited by madaudio; Yesterday at 09:41 PM.
madaudio is offline  
post #11398 of 11398 Old Today, 01:00 AM
Member
 
Silva741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Yesterday I connected everything, and Bob Pariseau’s suggestion worked perfectly. As I said above I thought Pure Mode wouldn’t work well on my Panasonic G20 TV, displaying a "no signal" icon on the top left corner, but it doesn’t. As far as I can tell, the OPPO sends a black image signal. Problem solved.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madaudio View Post
Have you thought about hooking up a cheap, small screen to the 95's HDMI 2, or composite video, out? I actually had my 95 hooked up via composite, through a composite to vga adapter, to my computer screen, as my computer and screen was in the lounge room hooked up to all my gear. This meant that for music, I did not need to turn on my Plasma screen to negotiate through the 95's menu system.

If you are playing files on a hard drive attached to the 95, and your 95 it is connected to your home network ( via cable or wifi) you could use the Oppo Media App on a suitable phone or tablet to negotiate through the files on your hard drive.
I thought about that, but I’m undecided ATM. I’ll probably use the system for a couple months to see my listening/viewing habits, and decide based on that.

Thanks again for all the suggestions!
Silva741 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 95 Blu Ray Disc Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off