Official OPPO BDP-95 Owner's Thread - Page 397 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 63Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11881 of 11889 Unread 04-13-2017, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Clevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
OPPO has backlit remotes for the 103 series for $12. The codes are the same across the models; the button layout changes very slightly.

Check out the enlarged image to ensure it isn't missing anything you need: http://www.oppodigital.com/proddetai...xRemote&cat=23

Also: have you contacted OPPO? They might have a few onhand even if not listed at the online store.

-Bill
I have never had the need to contact Oppo Support before but boy, do they respond fast!

They do not have anymore BDP-95 backlit remotes, but they did recommend the one for the BDP-105 for around $12. I bought one for everyday use and will retire my OEM -95 remote in case I sell my unit, as it's probably still fine. I prefer the beefy backlit models.

My -95 remote was having a problem with not turning on the unit, but Oppo said to just reset the remote code on the unit. I'm at work so I'll try that when I get home. I should have learned a lesson from my vintage Toshiba RD-XS HDD recorders to get spare remotes when they are available. These were discontinued in 2006 or so and the factory remotes are impossible to find now. Factory remotes in brand new or cherry condition do increase the sale value of these recorders on Ebay as most are listed w/o remotes.

What's interesting about the non-backlit BDP-95 remotes is they are selling for $26-32 on Ebay or Amazon when you can get them direct from Oppo for $8! Oppo is probably selling them for close to wholesale price.
Clevor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11882 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
2 TB WD My Passport Ultra not recognized

I have recently switched my 1TB usb Western Digital HD, to a 2TB WD HD, NFTS. The 1TB was recognized and played all flac's with no problems. The new drive is recognized on the startup screen, but is not there with-in the home screen. I just reformatted a small usb stick to both fat 32 and NFTS and worked fine. Should I reformat the new 2TB drive and try again.
flashgg is offline  
post #11883 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 02:51 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,820
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3050 Post(s)
Liked: 2321
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashgg View Post
I have recently switched my 1TB usb Western Digital HD, to a 2TB WD HD, NFTS. The 1TB was recognized and played all flac's with no problems. The new drive is recognized on the startup screen, but is not there with-in the home screen. I just reformatted a small usb stick to both fat 32 and NFTS and worked fine. Should I reformat the new 2TB drive and try again.
It is more likely the partition table. The player supports drives with the older MBR (Master boot record) type of partitioning, which limits partition size to a maximum of 2TB.

It does not support the newer GPT (GUID Partition Table) type of partitioning which would allow larger discs and partitions.

You will need to reformat the drive, not just for the file system, but to put on MBR partition tables, then a new file system.

What OS are you using?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
 
post #11884 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm using windows 10 OS.
flashgg is offline  
post #11885 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 05:23 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,820
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3050 Post(s)
Liked: 2321
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashgg View Post
I'm using windows 10 OS.
I can tell you how to do it with Linux...

Googling brings up a lot of Windows articles, like: https://www.howtogeek.com/school/usi...a-pro/lesson4/

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #11886 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I've changed the drive to a MBR, but it is now not showing up as a usable drive, ie. "G" drive, as before. It is listed under "devices and printers", but not under "this PC". it's properties, when looking in devices and printers, says it is a MBR. Not sure what o do now??
flashgg is offline  
post #11887 of 11889 Unread 05-06-2017, 08:20 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,848
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3256 Post(s)
Liked: 4204
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashgg View Post
I've changed the drive to a MBR, but it is now not showing up as a usable drive, ie. "G" drive, as before. It is listed under "devices and printers", but not under "this PC". it's properties, when looking in devices and printers, says it is a MBR. Not sure what o do now??
A disk drive can have more than one "logical volume" formatted on to it. To your programs on the computer, each logical volume looks like a separate disk even though they are all actually located on the same physical hard drive. The partitioning sets up HOW the physical disk supports one or more logical volumes, and how many of them, of what size, are defined on that one physical hard drive. So you just told the disk to use MBR-style partitioning.

What's missing is you now have to Format each partition on the disk before the operating system will see it and assign a letter to it. You may have only one partition on the disk, in which case after formatting there will be one letter assigned.

Anyway, check your Windows documentation for how to Format a disk. Typical formatting types would be FAT and NTFS.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #11888 of 11889 Unread 05-07-2017, 05:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
A disk drive can have more than one "logical volume" formatted on to it. To your programs on the computer, each logical volume looks like a separate disk even though they are all actually located on the same physical hard drive. The partitioning sets up HOW the physical disk supports one or more logical volumes, and how many of them, of what size, are defined on that one physical hard drive. So you just told the disk to use MBR-style partitioning.

What's missing is you now have to Format each partition on the disk before the operating system will see it and assign a letter to it. You may have only one partition on the disk, in which case after formatting there will be one letter assigned.

Anyway, check your Windows documentation for how to Format a disk. Typical formatting types would be FAT and NTFS.
--Bob
Thanks Bob. I figured out I had to assign a letter to the drive and then the OS did recognize it. Tested a flac file to it and the Oppo recognized and played it. Thanks to Bill for his help also.
gsr and wmcclain like this.
flashgg is offline  
post #11889 of 11889 Unread Today, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim Pearce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
LG 55" C7 OLED is messing w/ analog out on BD discs?

I was a happy camper driving my old Pioneer Elite Pro-1000 HD at 720p component and playing BDs in 5.1 analog out into my (equally ancient) Anthem AVM 20. Unfortunately the Pioneer gave up the ghost and now I'm driving the OLED through HDMI. Unfortunately this has resulted in a marked deterioration in the analog sound of a number of discs I've tried: the Bourne Trilogy, Apocalypse Now and Star Wars IV-VI in DTS-MA 5.1.


I have CEC off in the Oppo, can't seem to do that on the TV. I've tried HDMI1 and HDMI2 and flipping various other settings, to no effect. Right now I'm listening to "Totally Ripped", the Olympia set. I can tell that the TV's HDCP is active because audio is temporarily absent when I turn off the TV. But this disc sounds fine, so presumably it lacks some copy protection the others have.


I can't say I'm shocked: I was worried about some HDCP interaction when I replaced the TV. I'm waiting for the HDMI upgrades on the Emotiva XMC-1 this summer to change pre-pros. Am I stuck until then, or am I missing something in the settings?

5 Paradigm Studio 100 v3s, Servo-15 sub, Bryston 4B & 6B SST, Anthem AVM 20, Oppo bdp-95
Jim Pearce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 95 Blu Ray Disc Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off