Official LG BD690/670/650/6xx Series Thread - Page 56 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 2322 Old 03-18-2012, 05:10 PM
Member
 
randello54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this new firmware contain cinavia?
randello54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
reallyhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated my bd670 today to the latest firmware 8.97.398, but now the player is not working and showing only "boot". Only eject is working and no other buttons are responding!!! even no output to my TV!!! Please help!!!
reallyhard is offline  
post #1653 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
rddrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallyhard View Post

I updated my bd670 today to the latest firmware 8.97.398, but now the player is not working and showing only "boot". Only eject is working and no other buttons are responding!!! even no output to my TV!!! Please help!!!

Same for me here from Italy, think I'll have to go to A/S Service
rddrgn is offline  
post #1654 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
ddaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampidemic View Post

I had an additional thought. Are all of your .m4a files using AAC codec? If you have any 'Apple Lossless' files, they get stored in .m4a containers, but I don't think the LG players have ever supported the Apple Lossless codec.

I confirmed that my Apple Lossless .m4a files will not play under the .398 update, but I don't think this is a change and my AAC .m4a files play back fine over both DLNA and SMB/CIFS.

Hi,
I'm not sure about AAC codec but this is my procedure. I use iTunes to import all of my music CD's which turns my music into .m4a files. From there I copy those files to a music share on my WHS2011. I use my bd670 to listen to those songs and I never had an issue until I updated to the BD.8.97.398 update. I went back to the previous firmware version and those same songs now work again. So based on using iTunes are my songs considered Apple Lossless files?
Thanks
ddaniels is offline  
post #1655 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddaniels View Post

Hi,
I'm not sure about AAC codec but this is my procedure. I use iTunes to import all of my music CD's which turns my music into .m4a files. From there I copy those files to a music share on my WHS2011. I use my bd670 to listen to those songs and I never had an issue until I updated to the BD.8.97.398 update. I went back to the previous firmware version and those same songs now work again. So based on using iTunes are my songs considered Apple Lossless files?
Thanks

Your iTunes Import Settings (under "Preferences") determine how the files you import get encoded. You can determine how a given file in your iTunes library is encoded by going to "Get Info" (select a tune in your library then right click and choose "Get Info" or on a Mac press Command + I).

The "Kind" field under the "Summary" tab should tell you whether your file is "AAC audio file", "Apple Lossless" or something else.
Vampidemic is online now  
post #1656 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 06:24 PM
Member
 
boundermt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new update has a vastly improved YOUTUBE interface. I didn't have time to check out the other premium streaming features but I really like the youtube update.
boundermt is offline  
post #1657 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeAd MiKe 187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by boundermt View Post

The new update has a vastly improved YOUTUBE interface. I didn't have time to check out the other premium streaming features but I really like the youtube update.

SERIOUSLY? They finally fixed it???
DeAd MiKe 187 is offline  
post #1658 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 07:15 PM
Member
 
boundermt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeAd MiKe 187 View Post

SERIOUSLY? They finally fixed it???

It appears so.
boundermt is offline  
post #1659 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
ddaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampidemic View Post

Your iTunes Import Settings (under "Preferences") determine how the files you import get encoded. You can determine how a given file in your iTunes library is encoded by going to "Get Info" (select a tune in your library then right click and choose "Get Info" or on a Mac press Command + I).

The "Kind" field under the "Summary" tab should tell you whether your file is "AAC audio file", "Apple Lossless" or something else.

Thanks for the info. I looked at my iTunes setting and I didn't realize my imported CD's are AAC audio files. I never knew I could change/control how my CD's are imported to iTunes. Does this help explain why my .m4a files don't play with the new firmware? Just for the record I explained my issue through a live chat with an LG rep earlier and here is the email I received after my chat. "We are aware of that problem and our Engineers are working on a resolution to the Issue. We will send out a fix via the firmware, if it is not updating then please try again later today or tomorrow. Have a good day."
I wonder if that is a generic reply email of if they really are going to be issuing an update. I find it interesting that I might be part of the reason they issue a newer update. Cool.
Quick question about music files. Am I better off to just convert all my music files to something like .mp3's? Would that make my life easier when it comes to wanting to listen to them on my BD670? I have to believe .mp3 is pretty universal?
Thanks
ddaniels is offline  
post #1660 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 08:38 PM
Member
 
pete8475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeAd MiKe 187 View Post

SERIOUSLY? They finally fixed it???

I wouldn't say that.

They've put some lipstick on the pig. There actually are MENUS now so it's a lot better than it was.
pete8475 is offline  
post #1661 of 2322 Old 03-19-2012, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Vance14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed, the Netflix is improved but still basically useless. When you go to a menu item like subscribed, you can only play through the videos one at a time. Who does that?!

I keep my huge Blu-ray collection stored at Netflix. :0)
Vance14 is offline  
post #1662 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 12:20 AM
Newbie
 
reallyhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallyhard View Post

I updated my bd670 today to the latest firmware 8.97.398, but now the player is not working and showing only "boot". Only eject is working and no other buttons are responding!!! even no output to my TV!!! Please help!!!

Please help !!!
reallyhard is offline  
post #1663 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 03:25 AM
Member
 
mike457's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I updated my bd670 today to the latest firmware 8.97.398, but now the player is not working and showing only "boot". Only eject is working and no other buttons are responding!!! even no output to my TV!!! Please help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by reallyhard View Post

Please help !!!

Have you tried unplugging the BD670, leaving it unplugged for a few minutes, and then plugging it back in? This is the standard, if clunky, procedure for resetting the player.
mike457 is offline  
post #1664 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 04:56 AM
Newbie
 
reallyhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike457 View Post

Have you tried unplugging the BD670, leaving it unplugged for a few minutes, and then plugging it back in? This is the standard, if clunky, procedure for resetting the player.

Tried dear, No use... Is tehre any other options for revert to old firmware? or hard reset?
reallyhard is offline  
post #1665 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeAd MiKe 187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete8475 View Post

I wouldn't say that.

They've put some lipstick on the pig. There actually are MENUS now so it's a lot better than it was.

When you start typing in the name of a video, will it now populate a list of expected video titles, like it used to?

Does it still play a random video when you open the app?

If those things are fixed, I'll be happy. If not, I won't rush to update this.
DeAd MiKe 187 is offline  
post #1666 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeAd MiKe 187 View Post


When you start typing in the name of a video, will it now populate a list of expected video titles, like it used to?

Does it still play a random video when you open the app?

If those things are fixed, I'll be happy. If not, I won't rush to update this.

Those things are fixed and it has a browse interface now as well.
Vampidemic is online now  
post #1667 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddaniels View Post

Thanks for the info. I looked at my iTunes setting and I didn't realize my imported CD's are AAC audio files. I never knew I could change/control how my CD's are imported to iTunes. Does this help explain why my .m4a files don't play with the new firmware? Just for the record I explained my issue through a live chat with an LG rep earlier and here is the email I received after my chat. "We are aware of that problem and our Engineers are working on a resolution to the Issue. We will send out a fix via the firmware, if it is not updating then please try again later today or tomorrow. Have a good day."
I wonder if that is a generic reply email of if they really are going to be issuing an update. I find it interesting that I might be part of the reason they issue a newer update. Cool.
Quick question about music files. Am I better off to just convert all my music files to something like .mp3's? Would that make my life easier when it comes to wanting to listen to them on my BD670? I have to believe .mp3 is pretty universal?
Thanks

That sounds like a generic response from LG support, it's hard to tell sometimes though.

I'm still not sure what would account for your player not playing the .m4a files while mine does. There must be some difference in your configuration. It might help offer insight if you mention other details about your .m4a files that show in the Get Info dialog (bit rate, sample rate, profile, etc.) then I'll see if I can reproduce the issue with files using the same settings.

Also, how is your server set up? You said you are running Windows Home Server. Are you just using standard file sharing (CIFS/SMB) or are you running a DLNA server of some sort? Have you tried putting some of your files on a USB flash drive to see if the player will play them that way?

Finally, what happens on the player when you attempt to play back the files you're having problems with? If you get an error message, what does it say?

As far as your idea of using MP3 files, you're right they are pretty universal and there are certainly more devices that support MP3 than M4A. I prefer M4A/AAC because the compression is more efficient, though MP3 should really sound fine if you encode your files at high enough bit rate (I would recommend 256 kbps or higher).
Vampidemic is online now  
post #1668 of 2322 Old 03-20-2012, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeAd MiKe 187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampidemic View Post

Those things are fixed and it has a browse interface now as well.

I just checked it out. HUGE improvement. It's finally "functional." I'll actually be using this, now. I'm pretty shocked they even bothered to give this to us after the 2012 model players already came out. I guess it was easy for them to program to these players, and there were enough complaints about the old YouTube interface that they decided to do something nice for us. I'm happy.
DeAd MiKe 187 is offline  
post #1669 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeAd MiKe 187 View Post

I just checked it out. HUGE improvement. It's finally "functional." I'll actually be using this, now. I'm pretty shocked they even bothered to give this to us after the 2012 model players already came out. I guess it was easy for them to program to these players, and there were enough complaints about the old YouTube interface that they decided to do something nice for us. I'm happy.

Absolutely, it's more than 100% better. You can even log into your You Tube account now.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #1670 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
totoro67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, i have updated to the BD.8.97.398, but now i can not restart the player. Block at "BOOT" ! What can i make to correct that ? Thanks
totoro67 is offline  
post #1671 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
civil101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Same here from Greece! I have a bd670 and after upgrading to the BD.8.97.398 firmware version, the player freezes. It gets stuck showing the "Hello" message on its screen and the lg logo on the tv. Is there a way to solve the problem or does it have to be sent for service? Thanks
civil101 is offline  
post #1672 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 01:04 PM
Member
 
bskies's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddaniels View Post

Quick question about music files. Am I better off to just convert all my music files to something like .mp3's? Would that make my life easier when it comes to wanting to listen to them on my BD670? I have to believe .mp3 is pretty universal?
Thanks

I would probably convert them to .wav files, wish my 960 played flac's. There are a lot of free conversion programs out there and you wouldn't lose any quality of your recordings like you would with an mp3. Just a passing thought.
bskies is offline  
post #1673 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeAd MiKe 187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by civil101 View Post

Hi,
Same here from Greece! I have a bd670 and after upgrading to the BD.8.97.398 firmware version, the player freezes. It gets stuck showing the "Hello" message on its screen and the lg logo on the tv. Is there a way to solve the problem or does it have to be sent for service? Thanks

I have an LHB536 (the home theater model of this player) and a 670. The 670 updated flawlessly, and the LHB536 is stuck on "Please wait..." - so frustrating. Sending it in for repair.
DeAd MiKe 187 is offline  
post #1674 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
rddrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by totoro67 View Post

Hello, i have updated to the BD.8.97.398, but now i can not restart the player. Block at "BOOT" ! What can i make to correct that ? Thanks

Tries everything on Monday for this problem, just picked it to the nearest service center, explained the problem, result: let's wait until they'll repair it!
rddrgn is offline  
post #1675 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
rddrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reallyhard View Post

Please help !!!

Hi, basing on what the guy at the service told me, they've to cold program the firmware by cable, hope they'll be quick... nothing is possible from user side, take it to the nearest authorized a/s center asap!
rddrgn is offline  
post #1676 of 2322 Old 03-21-2012, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bskies View Post


I would probably convert them to .wav files, wish my 960 played flac's. There are a lot of free conversion programs out there and you wouldn't lose any quality of your recordings like you would with an mp3. Just a passing thought.

Well, most people really can't tell the difference between lossy files and lossless files if the lossy files are encoded at a high enough bit rate. Personally, I have a large music collection and it's worth the trade off for me to have compact files that I can load up my iPod with. Most recordings today have the dynamics squashed out of them with aggressive peak limiters during mastering anyway, which does more damage than a typical mp3 or aac encoder will do. Just make sure to encode directly from CDs or other lossless files. Converting from one lossy format to another (example: AAC to MP3) will reduce the quality noticeably and should be avoided (likewise there is no sound quality advantage to convert aac or mp3 to WAV, the WAV should be made from a CD if you want to try to hear the difference between lossless and lossy).

As for FLAC, though the LG players don't play them natively, this can be done using DLNA. I use Serviio and have enabled it to transcode FLAC audio to LPCM. It requires some persistence to configure though.
Vampidemic is online now  
post #1677 of 2322 Old 03-22-2012, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
totoro67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rddrgn View Post

Tries everything on Monday for this problem, just picked it to the nearest service center, explained the problem, result: let's wait until they'll repair it!

thank you, indeed I must send the drive for service. Need to flash them, that it operates again
totoro67 is offline  
post #1678 of 2322 Old 03-22-2012, 07:02 AM
Member
 
wabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed firmware BD.8.97.398. When I play back my media files from my Windows share, I can not perform a reverse search.
wabbit is offline  
post #1679 of 2322 Old 03-22-2012, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Trevorsplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have the IP protocol for the LG Blu ray's.
I have searched the Internet with no luck.
LG has a iPod app so I know it exists.
Trevorsplace is offline  
post #1680 of 2322 Old 03-22-2012, 08:50 PM
Member
 
pete8475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye911 View Post

Absolutely, it's more than 100% better. You can even log into your You Tube account now.

It's nice that it can login BUT the main reason I'd like to login is to access my Youtube favorites. Unfortunately all you get with this player is one big playlist with no way of jumping straight to a specific clip. The original Youtube app was WAY better in this respect.
pete8475 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd650 3d Network Blu Ray Disc Player With Smart Tv , Lg Bd690 3d Wireless Network Blu Ray Disc Player With Smart Tv And 250gb Hard Drive , Lg Bd670 3d Wireless Network Blu Ray Disc Player With Smart Tv , New Lg 3d Blu Ray Player Smart Tv 1080p Bd650 , Lg , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread - Bd670 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off