Official Panasonic DMP-BDT110/210/310 Owners Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by cage22 View Post

Thanks to all who responded regarding the High Clarity Sound.
FoxBat - I'll definitely be going HDMI. Could you enlighten me or point me to a good weblink regarding bitstream? If I don't use bitstream, what else would I be using?

Is bitstream where the AV reciever does the decoding of Dolby/DTS?

Correct. If you have an old AVR that can't handle new audio codecs, the player will decode for you automatically.

Unless you want Divx (in canada) or prefer have the wifi dongle included, or want watch your video bit rate on your screen all the time, BDT110 is as good as 220 as far as audio and video goes.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
stash64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Packer country
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I don't see how it can affect digital audio output at all. It's not like it can make 0s into 0.5 or 1s into 1.1.


And it doesn't look like Panasonic implemented anti-jitter feature on HDMI. In the past, this same feature is reserved for BD players with 7.1 analog audio out, like BD80 and BD85. Since BDT210 only has 2.0 audio out, I'm not sure why this feature even have any effects.

Per the Panasonic website, both the BDT210 & 310 have the anti-judder feature though it is now called "Pure Audio on HDMI". I thought this would be a feature to turn off or on, but looks to be always on. I believe the Pure Audio feature helps to improve clocking of the audio stream over HDMI.

As for High Clarity sound, not sure exactly how it improves the sound but I do notice a difference over HDMI. I'm guessing it is just reducing potential for electronic interference and perhaps reducing the load on the power supply, which can't be a bad thing. Why output analog video if you never intend to use it ?

Sean
stash64 is offline  
post #363 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Pure audio is available on all models.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #364 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Unless you want Divx (in canada) or prefer have the wifi dongle included, or want watch your video bit rate on your screen all the time, BDT110 is as good as 220 as far as audio and video goes.

With the 110 Dolby is limited to 5.1 via PCM along with a few other differences already covered.
Charles R is offline  
post #365 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 09:53 AM
Member
 
cage22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Foxbat121 - thanks for all the info. As for the bitstream, I've got a Yamaha RX-V3800 that I'm pretty sure can decode everything. Which is better - let the Yamaha RX-V3800 decode the bistream or have BDT do the decoding?

With regards to: "...BDT110 is as good as 220 as far as audio..." wouldn't the High Clarity Sound" make the 210 sound better?

Again, thanks to you and all.
cage22 is offline  
post #366 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 09:57 AM
Member
 
tylerb2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

Am I correct in my interpretation of the file format/disc type chart on the 310 Amazon page that this player will NOT play AVCHD files burned onto BD-R discs?? I have a canon camcorder that records in AVCHD, and I was going to get a BD burner for just this purpose. If the player can't play them, I will either look for another player or save the $100 on the BD-R drive. Has anyone tried to play AVCHD files on a recordable BD disc?

*EDIT* Also, can I stream AVCHD files from my PC? I would rather use discs than have to turn on the PC, but I would need about 20 DVD-R's to hold my home video collection. Perhaps I can use an old USB HDD.....hmm...Anyone know which of these options will work? Preference goes from BD-R to USB HDD to DVD-R to streaming from win7 pc.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,

--tb
tylerb2002 is offline  
post #367 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
stash64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Packer country
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Pure audio is available on all models.

No, not the BD75. I was wrong to not include the BDT110.

Here's what was stated on the Big Picture Big Sound website:

"Panasonic has enhanced their "jitter purifier" technology, which they're now calling "Pure Sound." This feature effectively reduces the digital jitter from both PCM and bitstreamed digital outputs by improving the stability and accuracy of the digital clock. This is available on all of the 3D-capable players. They've also added a few new tube sound effects to their repertoire, emulating the sonic characteristics of various different vacuum tubes for audiophiles who appreciate that warm tube sound but aren't willing to invest in actual tube amplifiers."

Sean
stash64 is offline  
post #368 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by cage22 View Post

Foxbat121 - thanks for all the info. As for the bitstream, I've got a Yamaha RX-V3800 that I'm pretty sure can decode everything. Which is better - let the Yamaha RX-V3800 decode the bistream or have BDT do the decoding?

They should be identical. AVR forum has many threads about this.
Quote:


With regards to: "...BDT110 is as good as 220 as far as audio..." wouldn't the High Clarity Sound" make the 210 sound better?

Again, thanks to you and all.

See my previous posts about this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #369 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by stash64 View Post


No, not the BD75. I was wrong to not include the BDT110.

I should clarify that I only include players discussed in this thread:110/210/310
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #370 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

With the 110 Dolby is limited to 5.1 via PCM along with a few other differences already covered.

Actually, no. From what I understand from the manual, 110 only limits to 5.1 when it decodes 6.1 or less audio. If you have 7.1 track, it still will output 7.1 pcm. The 7.1 reformat feature is a useless feature. Previous panny players all do that on dts audio and often can't be turned off in order to use the much more superior Dolby IIx processing found in most AVRs. AVRs will always do a better job matrix 5.1 into 7.1 than the player.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #371 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Actually, no. From what I understand from the manual, 110 only limits to 5.1 when it decodes 6.1 or less audio.

Per the manual...

[BDT110] : If “Dolby D/Dolby D +/Dolby TrueHD” is set to
“PCM”, the maximum possible number of Dolby sound is 5.1ch PCM.


Also...

PCM
BD-Video : 7.1ch PCM*1*2*3

*2 [BDT110] : The maximum possible number of Dolby sound is 5.1ch PCM.
Charles R is offline  
post #372 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 12:12 PM
Member
 
tylerb2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if you can simultaneously output audio AND video from both HDMI ports on the 310? I would like to be able to compare upscaling quality between the Panny and my Denon 4310 AVR...

Thanks,

--tb

. . . . . . . . . . . . .

Any word on when they will be shipping the 310? I haven't pre-ordered yet, I was hoping the price would go back down to the $219 that some early posts mentioned...
tylerb2002 is offline  
post #373 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 03:47 PM
Member
 
hobbes4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Newton, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUPPPP View Post

I recently got my Avatar for the BDT100 rebate in like 3 or 4 weeks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post

I also mailed mine on 3/5. I'll post when I get mine.

Ed

Quote:
Originally Posted by colour View Post

According to the rebate "ordinarily delivered within 8 to 14 weeks".

My avatar 3d rebate was received on 3/9, got it today, 3/16, via ups ground from tennessee. . . now, just hoping the VT30's become available shortly.
hobbes4444 is offline  
post #374 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 03:51 PM
Member
 
hobbes4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Newton, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and fwiw, bb stores seem to have the 110 and 210 in stock and they just sent a 12% off coupon to reward zone members. snagged a 110 today. we'll see if the 310 has worthwhile upgrades. . .
hobbes4444 is offline  
post #375 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OH Happy Day! Received my NEW 210 via Amazon today and WALA got it up and running and I will really enjoy this because I had been trying to watch 3D BDs' using my Arcsoft TMT5 Software on Sammy/Checkerboard.....had been getting really BAD Audio Problems that made it NOT so entertaining. Just tested this new baby out and GREAT - I no longer have to go thru my HTPC to get 3D active and am getting FULL HD Sound too. Loving IT! TKS Panasonic!
cyberized is offline  
post #376 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 04:41 PM
Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, TN
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 310 worth waiting for and does anyone know when it will be released? I'm still on the fence between the 310 and the oppo 93
jphillips63 is offline  
post #377 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphillips63 View Post

Is the 310 worth waiting for and does anyone know when it will be released? I'm still on the fence between the 310 and the oppo 93

From everything that I can surmise the only difference between the 210 and 310 is that the 310 has the 2 HDMI OUTs. I got the 210 and am a "Happy Camper!"
cyberized is offline  
post #378 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 04:55 PM
Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, TN
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberized View Post

From everything that I can surmise the only difference between the 210 and 310 is that the 310 has the 2 HDMI OUTs. I got the 210 and am a "Happy Camper!"


Thanks I am needing two hdmi outs as my avr doesn't pass 3d so i have to use one output to TV for video and the other to my avr for audio. To me that is my cheaper route to take a new avr is 1500.00 and Bo can still keep the ps3 to play games if i wish to.

I was looking on amazon and there specs says the 310 has one hdmi out can someone verify it has two outs?
jphillips63 is offline  
post #379 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 06:59 PM
Member
 
jbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Sounds like your HDMI cables, either the one to your AVR or the one to your projector is not up to task. White dots is a typical sign. It's not a firmware problem.

You can download firmware from Panasonic. Burn to a CD, not DVD, using a 3rd party CD burnner software. You can not use Vista/Win7's built in CD burning feature, nor freeware ImgBurn. Neither will produce disc that Panny player can accept.
The HDMI cables may be the case as sometimes the image flickers like a candle, but goes away when I unplug the cord and plug it back in. But it works fine when I go straight into the projector. It may be a bad BD/DVD HDMI plug in the receiver. I will try tonight to see if it still happens in one of the other HDMI ports like the one for gaming. The cables are brand new, but cheap cables I bought from Monoprice.

As for firmware, I do not see it on the Panasonic site yet where I can download and burn it. Do you have a link?
jbolt is offline  
post #380 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbolt View Post
The HDMI cables may be the case as sometimes the image flickers like a candle, but goes away when I unplug the cord and plug it back in. But it works fine when I go straight into the projector. It may be a bad BD/DVD HDMI plug in the receiver. I will try tonight to see if it still happens in one of the other HDMI ports like the one for gaming. The cables are brand new, but cheap cables I bought from Monoprice.
Don't over look the short HDMI cable from player to AVR.

I found out that my trusty MonoPrice 6ft 28 AWG cable, that always worked fine in 1080p60 in the past, has the similar problem when I enable 1080p24 mode (with deep color) on the player. I have to dig out my 6ft 24AWG cable to get rid of the snow flick issue. Granted these cables were purchased a few years back (HDMI 1.3).

Quote:
As for firmware, I do not see it on the Panasonic site yet where I can download and burn it. Do you have a link?

Always look for latest firmware from Panasonic.net (Panny Global). That's the place first get posted, even before the internet download from the player. Pansonic.com typically lags behind.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #381 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:07 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbolt View Post
As for firmware, I do not see it on the Panasonic site yet where I can download and burn it. Do you have a link?
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c.../na/index.html

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #382 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:08 PM
Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, TN
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbolt View Post
The HDMI cables may be the case as sometimes the image flickers like a candle, but goes away when I unplug the cord and plug it back in. But it works fine when I go straight into the projector. It may be a bad BD/DVD HDMI plug in the receiver. I will try tonight to see if it still happens in one of the other HDMI ports like the one for gaming. The cables are brand new, but cheap cables I bought from Monoprice.

As for firmware, I do not see it on the Panasonic site yet where I can download and burn it. Do you have a link?

More than likely it is your hdmi cable. Quality cables make or break a picture or piece of hardware I learned hard way and many hours of trouble shooting get quality cables and most of the troubles will go away.
jphillips63 is offline  
post #383 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:17 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Monoprice cables work perfectly. You don't need to spend an arm and a leg on Monster Cable or the likes.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #384 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:29 PM
Member
 
jbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphillips63 View Post
More than likely it is your hdmi cable. Quality cables make or break a picture or piece of hardware I learned hard way and many hours of trouble shooting get quality cables and most of the troubles will go away.
I swapped out my Monoprice cable with my expensive Auvio HDMI 3D ready cable and the snow and sound issues seem to go away, but the 2D to 3D conversion still does not work through AVR. I probably will just get an optical cable to run audio to the AVR and hook Panasonic straight to projector. I will do a firmware update first to see if that fixes the issue.
jbolt is offline  
post #385 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbolt View Post
I swapped out my Monoprice cable with my expensive Auvio HDMI 3D ready cable and the snow and sound issues seem to go away, but the 2D to 3D conversion still does not work through AVR. I probably will just get an optical cable to run audio to the AVR and hook Panasonic straight to projector. I will do a firmware update first to see if that fixes the issue.
Your AVR must support HDMI 1.4 in order to pass 3D video. That's why ppl pay extra $$ to buy BDT3xx with two HDMI outputs so that you can connect one to TV and one to older AVR.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #386 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 07:55 PM
Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, TN
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Your AVR must support HDMI 1.4 in order to pass 3D video. That's why ppl pay extra $$ to buy BDT3xx with two HDMI outputs so that you can connect one to TV and one to older AVR.
This is correct you must have an avr that is hdmi 1.4 or you will have all sorts issues. I'm in same boat I'm seeking a player that has dual hdmi outs right now until I can update my avr.
jphillips63 is offline  
post #387 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphillips63 View Post
This is correct you must have an avr that is hdmi 1.4 or you will have all sorts issues.
The only issue will be your BD player won't detect any 3D TV handshake and refuses to send out full HD 3D signal because non-HDMI 1.4 AVRs don't know how to relay those 3D format.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #388 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Tornillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just took my 210 out of the box and the HDMI cable I had plugged into my 65...doesn't seem to fit in the 210. Is this possible?
Tornillo is offline  
post #389 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
colour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fenton, Mo.
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornillo View Post
I just took my 210 out of the box and the HDMI cable I had plugged into my 65...doesn't seem to fit in the 210. Is this possible?
Anything's possible I guess, take a look at the HDMI output on the player and see if the rear cover is aligned properly.
colour is offline  
post #390 of 8496 Old 03-16-2011, 08:18 PM
Member
 
hobbes4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Newton, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried an exFAT formatted drive on the 110/210 USB port? Although it's not listed as supported, I'm holding out hope that it will be compatible with these players, or possibly the 310.
hobbes4444 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt110 3d 2d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Movies , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Dmp Bdt100 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Receivers Amplifiers , Sony Bdp S770 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Panasonic 1080p Blu Ray Player Dmp Bd35ak Brand , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - P50gt30 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off