Official Panasonic DMP-BDT110/210/310 Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Transfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There seems to be some issue with 2 devices trying to control the player. I linked my ipad as well as my iphone and while the ipad instantly recognizes the player my iphone wont connect.

When in Doubt...Go Flatout!
Transfix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebat68 View Post

I tried Star Wars, it didn't impress me. The DVDs do not seem to convert as well as the Blu rays.

Newbie question here, but wouldn't that be standard, since DVD's hold much less information in the signal than BD and need a higher level of conversion?

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #903 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jphillips63 View Post

This is correct you must have an avr that is hdmi 1.4 or you will have all sorts issues. I'm in same boat I'm seeking a player that has dual hdmi outs right now until I can update my avr.

OK another newbie question: What's wrong with just running the HDMI 1.4 cable from the 210 to the TV and using the TV optical audio out to go to the receiver? Do you lose audio fidelity that way?

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #904 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 06:34 AM
Member
 
drseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is nothing "wrong" with doing that, per se... That said, as you correctly guessed, you could not take advantage of the new loss-less audio formats that way and would have to use the lossy DD and/or DTS audio instead.

---Dave

My HT/Music System can be found here:

http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...iew&1301304581
drseid is offline  
post #905 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transfix View Post

There seems to be some issue with 2 devices trying to control the player. I linked my ipad as well as my iphone and while the ipad instantly recognizes the player my iphone wont connect.

I downloaded the App to my iPhone first, but could not ever get it to work. I then put it on my iPod Touch and it works every time. I also put it on my iPad and it only works about half the time.
thebat68 is offline  
post #906 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
RobertCEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

I had the same problem with the iphone thing. got connected but none of the buttons worked.

Jacob

Same here. Enabled it in the player so then was able to have it recognized, but none of the buttons do anything. So strange why it works for some people and not others.
RobertCEO is offline  
post #907 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Akuma1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 310 has 2D to 3D upconversion?
Akuma1970 is offline  
post #908 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 07:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertCEO View Post

Same here. Enabled it in the player so then was able to have it recognized, but none of the buttons do anything. So strange why it works for some people and not others.

I see a pattern emerging here. Everyone having success is on their LAN (iPod Touch, iPad). Otherwise, it's not working (iPhone). Can you make your iPhone connect to your own wi-fi rather than the internet and see if it works? (I don't have an iPhone).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akuma1970 View Post

Does the 310 has 2D to 3D upconversion?

Yes
mdavej is offline  
post #909 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
RobertCEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

I see a pattern emerging here. Everyone having success is on their LAN (iPod Touch, iPad). Otherwise, it's not working (iPhone). Can you make your iPhone connect to your own wi-fi rather than the internet and see if it works? (I don't have an iPhone).

Yes

Hey, it worked! I downloaded it to my ipad and it works. My iphone is connected to my wireless router when i'm home though so still don't understand why that doesn't work. Not sure what you mean by having to connect it to my own wi-fi, since i already think it is.
RobertCEO is offline  
post #910 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertCEO View Post

Hey, it worked! I downloaded it to my ipad and it works. My iphone is connected to my wireless router when i'm home though so still don't understand why that doesn't work. Not sure what you mean by having to connect it to my own wi-fi, since i already think it is.

I didn't know if iPhones worked that way. My other cell phones always connect to the internet through the phone network unless you explicitly tell them not to. I thought maybe the player and the phone had to be on the same LAN to work.
mdavej is offline  
post #911 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I know why the iphone doesn't work. it has to be close eye to the player. I was sitting up close on the chair and then I got it to work. it does not have a good distance level.
I called panasonic. they said that they has gotten alot of calls about it not working. they are still working on the bugs.
Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #912 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Well I've only gotten to page 18 of this thread but it seems about 95% of the posts are streaming/file format issues. Not much feedback on what this thing is actually designed for like say...I dunno...ACTUAL BD PLAYBACK/3D QUALITY...

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #913 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Akuma1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Yes

Thank you very much.
Akuma1970 is offline  
post #914 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 439
I'd rather they fix the blank netflix frames issue first. The iPhone app is a neat gimmick, but not as important as actual playback issues.

Since this app is IP control, distance from the player shouldn't have anything to do with it.
mdavej is offline  
post #915 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Well I've only gotten to page 18 of this thread but it seems about 95% of the posts are streaming/file format issues. Not much feedback on what this thing is actually designed for like say...I dunno...ACTUAL BD PLAYBACK/3D QUALITY...

LOL. It could be several months before I try a BD, and years before I try 3D (I have no 3D tv and no plans to get one). The new netflix interface was the only reason I bought this player, and the fact that my net cost will be $10 after I sell the Avatar disc on ebay.
mdavej is offline  
post #916 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
colour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fenton, Mo.
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Well I've only gotten to page 18 of this thread but it seems about 95% of the posts are streaming/file format issues. Not much feedback on what this thing is actually designed for like say...I dunno...ACTUAL BD PLAYBACK/3D QUALITY...

It seems to be a fantastic Bluray/DVD and 3d player, some will argue that it beats the Oppo.
colour is offline  
post #917 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by drseid View Post

There is nothing "wrong" with doing that, per se... That said, as you correctly guessed, you could not take advantage of the new loss-less audio formats that way and would have to use the lossy DD and/or DTS audio instead.

Ah, then the best solution is an AVR upgrade, since I'm still using a cheap little Philips HTR-5000 (lol, it calls itself "AV Receiver" but no video input/outputs), which came in a package deal with a cool little 80GB Philips DVR with pause live TV about 2 years ago. At least I have nominally decent audio with a 5.1 surround setup but it's low wattage and clips/distorts easily. But hey I got the whole thing for like $230 back in 2008 so can't complain...

Anyway my budget got maxed out with the purchase of ST30/BDT210/3D glasses so I'll just have to suffer using the optical...

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #918 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
drseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Ah, then the best solution is an AVR upgrade, since I'm still using a cheap little Philips HTR-5000 (lol, it calls itself "AV Receiver" but no video input/outputs), which came in a package deal with a cool little 80GB Philips DVR with pause live TV about 2 years ago. At least I have nominally decent audio with a 5.1 surround setup but it's low wattage and clips/distorts easily. But hey I got the whole thing for like $230 back in 2008 so can't complain...

Anyway my budget got maxed out with the purchase of ST30/BDT210/3D glasses so I'll just have to suffer using the optical...

Hey, I have been "suffering" for a few years now using a Cary Cinema 6 pre/pro that I am finally replacing this weekend with an Integra DHC-40.2 so I can take advantage of all the new audio and video bells and whistles via HDMI 1.4a.

To be honest, using the Cary for the legacy DD and DTS formats via optical really was not bad at all (and it really was great on 2-channel using analog). I am sure that you will be getting pretty good sound using the legacy formats too via optical, so don't sweat it.

---Dave

My HT/Music System can be found here:

http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...iew&1301304581
drseid is offline  
post #919 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, TN
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Ah, then the best solution is an AVR upgrade, since I'm still using a cheap little Philips HTR-5000 (lol, it calls itself "AV Receiver" but no video input/outputs), which came in a package deal with a cool little 80GB Philips DVR with pause live TV about 2 years ago. At least I have nominally decent audio with a 5.1 surround setup but it's low wattage and clips/distorts easily. But hey I got the whole thing for like $230 back in 2008 so can't complain...

Anyway my budget got maxed out with the purchase of ST30/BDT210/3D glasses so I'll just have to suffer using the optical...


Yes the avr upgrade is in the future but since I spent 2400.00 on a new 3d TVthe 1500.00 avr will have to wait a bit longer, hence wanting a blue ray with dual hdmi outputs.
I'm currently running the ps3 hdmi to TV and optical out to my current avr which is a Sony. Str da5300es
jphillips63 is online now  
post #920 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
PieceOfCake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiapet01 View Post

just got my 110 today...so far, pretty straight forward. tried a dvd, and 3d bd with no problems. no issues with netflix streaming...did notice a black screen flash here and there, but nothing overly annoying...haven't sat through an entire movie yet though. the user interface is pretty nice...much better than last year's models. i was just about to go to the www.firmwareinfo.com site to sign up to try to get the enhanced firmware 1.56a (i want to enable divx/xvid playback) and the site is down! hopefully temporary? anyone know how long it's been out, and if this is only a site service? thanks.

That's a temporary server problem. The site will go back online this weekend
PieceOfCake is offline  
post #921 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Well I've only gotten to page 18 of this thread but it seems about 95% of the posts are streaming/file format issues. Not much feedback on what this thing is actually designed for like say...I dunno...ACTUAL BD PLAYBACK/3D QUALITY...

I have found it to be as good as my Oppo 83, if not better. Plus, now I have Netflix streaming (though bugged). I sold my Oppo on EBay and have pocketed some money in the exchange

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #922 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 10:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by colour View Post


It seems to be a fantastic Bluray/DVD and 3d player, some will argue that it beats the Oppo.



My only concern is lack of divx play back from USB and limited Dlna , inferior netflix than sony;(
zoro is offline  
post #923 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alex solomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

Well I've only gotten to page 18 of this thread but it seems about 95% of the posts are streaming/file format issues. Not much feedback on what this thing is actually designed for like say...I dunno...ACTUAL BD PLAYBACK/3D QUALITY...

I have said it many times and I have been told either I don't have "an experienced eyes", whatever that means, or that my display is not good enough to show the difference in PQ ( my displays are Marantz VP15s1L and AE4000 used on HP 115" screen). Most BD players have identical PQ when playing back bly-ray discs. Presently I own a Panny 110, PS3, Pioneer 320, Sony S570, Sony S1000ES, Samsung 2550 and owned the Oppo 83 for about three weeks before returning it. All have identical image quality when the source is a Blu-ray disc. My favorite and primary player is the Pioneer 320 not because has a better IQ over the others but it has the most tweaking features.

I want to hear opinions from people who don't have a dog in the fight.
Alex solomon is offline  
post #924 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I own the panasonic 210 model and I am impressed with it. It certainly does a better job then some of the older players that I had problems with in the panasonic brand. comparing the panasonic to the oppo is like apples and oranges. there are different things that each player can that the other cannt do. it really depends on what you want.
I did try out the iphone thing. I am not really impressed with that crap. I prefer to use my harmony remote.
I know that alot of people dont like the 3d. that is fine. I would recommend you doing some more research or seeing it in person. that will make a differnece. I own a panasonic 3d set. got a great price from amazon. its a great tv. both with 2d and 3d.
the 3d is differnt at home then in the theatre. it uses the shutter glasses and not passive. in that sense its much better at home. you will see more detail then if you saw it at the theatre. the avatar 3d blu ray is just wonderful. sure you can get some money from it. you will be missing out on a fine 3d movie. I know that the selection for 3d movies is very light at the moment. hopefully some better movies come along.

Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #925 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Nope. Recent BDs I watched didn't allow chapter skips at all. You can only fast forward. I sure if there is way to block fast forward, studios will block that too. I was actually supprised that a recent Disney disc actually popup messages to tell me to use Top Menu button to skip previews. I remember in the old DVD days, every single Disney DVDs force me to watch through at least a dozen previews.

Probably have to hack into and modify the code in the player itself for that...

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #926 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Why are the Skype cameras so huge? I wouldn't mind having a webcam hooked up to my 110, but the cameras are all so huge and unsightly. I would love something small that can be clipped to the top of the plasma. It would be nice to be able to have two people sitting on the couch having a conversation with people on the big screen as opposed to huddled around the laptop.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #927 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

My only concern is lack of divx play back from USB and limited Dlna , inferior netflix than sony;(

What's better about netflix on sony (not counting 1080P on the PS3)? Even the latest sony update from a few days ago didn't include subtitles or 5.1 like panasonic has.
mdavej is offline  
post #928 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 02:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,075
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrey0118 View Post

OK another newbie question: What's wrong with just running the HDMI 1.4 cable from the 210 to the TV and using the TV optical audio out to go to the receiver? Do you lose audio fidelity that way?

You will only get 2-ch stereo sound out of this. Don't do it. You could just connect the optical from player directly to AVR so that you at least get 5.1 lossy audio instead of 2.0 audio.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #929 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
JNic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order for the app to work on the iPhone you must first put the phone in airplane mode then turn on wifi

Contacted Pansonic via email of this problem.... they told me to "contact MAC"

*updated app. You don't have to put iPhone in airplane mode
JNic is offline  
post #930 of 8524 Old 04-14-2011, 03:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

You will only get 2-ch stereo sound out of this. Don't do it. You could just connect the optical from player directly to AVR so that you at least get 5.1 lossy audio instead of 2.0 audio.

This is because it will ask the TV what kind of sound it can handle over HDMI and the TV will reply either 2.0 or 2.1 channel sound so that's what the BD player will mix and send to it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt110 3d 2d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Movies , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Dmp Bdt100 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Receivers Amplifiers , Sony Bdp S770 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Panasonic 1080p Blu Ray Player Dmp Bd35ak Brand , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - P50gt30 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off