Official Panasonic DMP-BDT110/210/310 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MUPPPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
All things 110/210/310 here! Who has received theirs so far? What do you like? What could they improve? gogogo!

edit: my first impressions after a 30 minute test session:

Im a total noob when it comes to this 3d stuff and blu-ray players and whatnot, so take all of this with a grain of salt. I just got the BDT110 today, upgrading from a BDT100 that I only played with a couple times before selling it on ebay. The 100 was my first blu-ray, and this is my first experience with plasma technology and 3d technology. I got the Panasonic 50GT25 3d plasma just a couple weeks ago. This is just going to be a stream of consciousness of things I noticed in my quick 30 minute test drive...

Setup and updating the firmware was simple through my ethernet connection. I read a review on amazon where the dude said he wasn't able to do it over the internet and had to burn some iso disc to update his firmware and it was a big pain, but I had no such issues.

Right off the bat I started having quite a lot of handshake issues w/ my Onkyo receiver when switching back and forth between 2d and 2d-->3d conversion. When I'd switch, it would get a static screen, then a green screen, then it would go blank. Then, I'd hear only audio with a blank picture. "HDMI handshake" problems is the correct term for this, right? I'd have to restart everything and it kept happening--it was quite frustrating. I think there are firmware updates to fix this, correct? I don't think this ever happened with my BDT100. Any suggestions?

As far as the 2d-->3d conversion, it seems to do a better job converting a blu-ray than my 50GT25 does, so that's pretty neat. I tried it on Toy Story 3 blu-ray and it looked pretty cool. Not as good as a true 3d blu-ray naturally, but pretty neat nonetheless. I tried doing 2d-3d from Netflix content by pushing the "3d" button, but it nothing happened (or did it say "this feature not available"?). So I'm not sure if you can convert that content to 3d.

Another thing that may turn out cool is that you can put a vignette around the picture in 3d. Have you ever noticed how the edges on a 3d blu-ray can sometimes look real distracting how one eye will have the image off of the screen and the other eye the edge of the image will be on the screen? I'm sure there's a name for this but all i know is that it can really take away from the movie at times. Anyway, the 110 has an upgrade (from the 100) where you can put a black/gray/blue/red vignette around the edges so that edge artifact is nearly gone.

I'll have to play with the settings to get everything looking optimal, as there are so many damn things you can tweak (i.e., depth, .

The interface is really slick looking and seems intuitive. The Netflix upgrade from the 100 is great. You can now browse all titles, rather than just look at your instant queue and their suggestions. One thing that seems to be missing is that you can't browse just by HD content.

I tried burning an .mkv file of a blu-ray movie to a DVD-R and playing it, and although the resolution of the picture itself looked stellar, no audio was coming through and the video was really choppy, speeding up then slowing down. This is the first time I have ever burned any mkv files so it is distinctly possible that I did something wrong and this is of no fault of the player itself. Just throwing this out there...

A minor thing that kept pissing me off... When I'd put a movie in, I tried to press the "top menu" button to skip the previews and go right to the title menu of the movie, but it never seemed to work? I had to manually fast forward through previews and whatnot. I'm sure this is something I was doing wrong probably.

I'll update as I think of more things.
MUPPPP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
bcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two 110's arriving today. First things I'll be checking out are the 2d to 3d conversion and the 3d blu-ray performance as compared to my PS3. I'm curious because I've heard a few people mention that the PS3 has some flicker issues with some 3D blu-ray content that their standalone players don't have. We'll see though...
bcterp is offline  
post #3 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I bought the 210 last Thursday at my local Best Buy and so far I'm liking it. Booting and loading times are fast. I currently own a Sony S770 and I say is at least comparable with my Sony. Now, I haven't own a Panny BD player since the BD35/55 models so I don't know how it compares as far as speed to the older models. However, the only BD that has taken a loooooooooong time to load is the Terminator 2: Skynet Edtion. It takes at least 2 mins(Estimate) to load while my current S770 takes less than a min to load. However, The Panny does load the new Avatar Collector's edition BD quickly, probably in less than a min. But the Sony takes an eternity to load that disc. So go figure....everything else seems on par between the two players.

PQ and AQ are the same between the S770 and the Panny. At least to my eyes, I did not see any differences.

So, I am still debating which one to return. My Sony is still within the return window period. I like the Panny a lot, specially the slim factor, but the Sony seems better built and all of my other equipment is Sony as well, so I might just keep the Sony...
Cortiz is offline  
post #4 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 08:08 AM
Member
 
hobbes4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Newton, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you, or any other owners, had a chance to check out the performance over USB? Is it truly limited to FAT16/32 formatted hard drives? Does it properly power portable hard drives? Finally, if someone could check out whether it will play back mkv off SD cards, that would be appreciated. Maybe a workaround to the FAT32 file size limits (4gb) would be exFAT formatted SD cards which can accommodate file sizes that exceed 4gb. Guessing those are a no go as well, but there's hope. . .

Thanks!
hobbes4444 is offline  
post #5 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 09:56 AM
Member
 
freddy202022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone comment on up-conversion of the new Unipher chip ?
freddy202022 is offline  
post #6 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 09:57 AM
Member
 
deuce1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the DMP-BDT210 on order from big river. Looking forward to it.

Can anyone tell me what I should be looking for with regards to an SD card for this thing? size, speed class?

Thanks!

Display: Panasonic TH58PZ800U
AVR: Pioneer VSX-D811S => Pioneer Elite SC-67
BD: Panasonic DMP-BDT210
Media: Apple TV2
5.1: Aperion 6T/5C/5B/, Bravus 12D sub
DVR:Comcast DCH 3416
Game: PS2
Remote: Dijit App

deuce1973 is offline  
post #7 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 11:23 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcterp View Post
I have two 110's arriving today. First things I'll be checking out are the 2d to 3d conversion and the 3d blu-ray performance as compared to my PS3. I'm curious because I've heard a few people mention that the PS3 has some flicker issues with some 3D blu-ray content that their standalone players don't have. We'll see though...
I was very impressed with 2D-3D last night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by freddy202022 View Post
Can anyone comment on up-conversion of the new Unipher chip ?
IIRC, the improvement may not affect SD, but the 85 did a good job last year IMO.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #8 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
MattDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order to use the Skype feature do I need a special Panasonic camera?
MattDee is offline  
post #9 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 12:58 PM
Member
 
brian_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frisco TX US
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have 110. Bought while waiting for 210 which is coming Friday, weeks faster than expected. Been using bd65 but wanted dlna for nas. Only tested that and it's great. Nice ui. Responds to same ir commands so didn't need programming for remote. Not sure why worry over smaller and lighter. Everything goes that way.
brian_c is offline  
post #10 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I picked up the new panasonic 210. I have had the panasonic 30, 60,65,80, and 85. there were some problems with the 60,65,80,85. it would not do the bdlive properly and would not load up discs or even not play some discs.

I know that many of you are not a fan of bdlive. with blu ray you expect everything to work. I have to say that the panasonic has finally caught up with the opp to a degree in that it more works then it doesnt. the bdlive works, playing the alien in DTS (dvd) with both versions work. loading up disc and trailers working on some universal and dreamwork blurays works. I would have to eject the disc to play bdlive to work(on the older models.). not anymore.
the PQ compared to the oppo. oppo still has the edge. same goes with the dvd upconversion. I am not saying that the upconversion is bad on the panasonic. its good. but not opo. a good start.

the big news is that the netflix is the 3.0 which is the same one as the ps3. it can play the DD+ and it will show up on the receiver. I have the onkyo 270. I got the DD+ to show up on a couple of titles.

I think panasonic finally has a good player that is less expensive then the oppo. but far ahead of the other companies.
I dont have a 3D set so I cannt compare that part of the player. I have heard good things about it.
enjoy.
Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #11 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the dvd upconversion better on the DMP-BDT210 than the Panasonic DMP-BD85?
Kage is offline  
post #12 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
yes, its better then the 85.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #13 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can these new players stream wma lossless audio?
Kage is offline  
post #14 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
dont know. I don't do those kind of files.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #15 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MUPPPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
edit: deleted message. i just added my initial thoughts/review to my OP above.
MUPPPP is offline  
post #16 of 8474 Old 03-02-2011, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Razvanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone tried the Tube Sound Effects on the 210? Are they good? That's one of the features the 210 has but the 110 doesn't.

R
Razvanel is offline  
post #17 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 04:50 AM
Member
 
MysterMyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered mine. Should be here Saturday.
MysterMyster is offline  
post #18 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So do these now have Hulu+ on them? I read that they would but I see no mention of it on the Panasonic website.

Also one other question for those with the DMP-BDT210, can you turn OFF the touch sensor on the top? If I were to buy this, it would have a Wii and a cordless phone base sitting on top of it, so I wouldn;t want a person grabbing the phone to always open the player's disk tray.

Thanx
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #19 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
thebat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck_IV View Post

So do these now have Hulu+ on them? I read that they would but I see no mention of it on the Panasonic website.

Also one other question for those with the DMP-BDT210, can you turn OFF the touch sensor on the top? If I were to buy this, it would have a Wii and a cordless phone base sitting on top of it, so I wouldn;t want a person grabbing the phone to always open the player's disk tray.

Thanx

No Hulu and you can turn the sensor off. It is already defaulted to off.
thebat68 is offline  
post #20 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 10:54 AM
Member
 
deuce1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure I read you could turn off that feature in the settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck_IV View Post

Also one other question for those with the DMP-BDT210, can you turn OFF the touch sensor on the top? If I were to buy this, it would have a Wii and a cordless phone base sitting on top of it, so I wouldn;t want a person grabbing the phone to always open the player's disk tray.


Display: Panasonic TH58PZ800U
AVR: Pioneer VSX-D811S => Pioneer Elite SC-67
BD: Panasonic DMP-BDT210
Media: Apple TV2
5.1: Aperion 6T/5C/5B/, Bravus 12D sub
DVR:Comcast DCH 3416
Game: PS2
Remote: Dijit App

deuce1973 is offline  
post #21 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Dathon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the screen saver work on these players? The manual says it goes to the "home screen". Does the player ever blank out the screen or have animated screen saver? Is it plasma tv friendly?
Dathon is offline  
post #22 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post


the big news is that the netflix is the 3.0 which is the same one as the ps3. it can play the DD+ and it will show up on the receiver. I have the onkyo 270. I got the DD+ to show up on a couple of titles.

I don't suppose you can tell if you are getting the Netflix 1080P stream or not, can you?

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #23 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
yes. I am getting the 1080P netflix streaming.
there is setting called super resolution. its in the display advance settings. I would recommend turning it off. the dvd upconversion was terrible. looked much better with it off.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #24 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

yes. I am getting the 1080P netflix streaming.
there is setting called super resolution. its in the display advance settings. I would recommend turning it off. the dvd upconversion was terrible. looked much better with it off.

Jacob

Why would you have to up-convert a 1080p stream?
rickcfer is offline  
post #25 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 12:57 PM
Member
 
brewsbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Loving the BDT210. Being new to these players, can anyone recommend a SDcard size to leave in the player? Heck, do I even need one for anything beside BD-live stuff?

many thanks
brewsbro is offline  
post #26 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
its not upconverting on the netflix. he wanted to know if the netflix on the panasonic 210 was the same as the ps3 in getting 1080P streaming. the answer is yes.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #27 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 01:45 PM
Member
 
rushhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewsbro View Post

Loving the BDT210. Being new to these players, can anyone recommend a SDcard size to leave in the player? Heck, do I even need one for anything beside BD-live stuff?

many thanks

For BD Live about 2gb would be plenty. As cheap as they are you may as well get something a bit larger in case you want to transfer some files to the card and use in the player.

$12.95 shipped for 8gb class 6
http://www.meritline.com/a-data-8gb-...--p-18673.aspx
rushhound is offline  
post #28 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 01:48 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some times Ive compiled from my units:


BD35--BD85--BDT110--BDP93 (in seconds)

Time from OFF to tray open, by pressing open button when unit is off:

21--3--4--4

Time to get to where you can select PLAY in final menu, starting with tray open:

Transformers 82--75--64--64

Iron Man 101--87--67--53
ElwayLite is offline  
post #29 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 02:04 PM
Member
 
brewsbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushhound View Post

For BD Live about 2gb would be plenty. As cheap as they are you may as well get something a bit larger in case you want to transfer some files to the card and use in the player.

$12.95 shipped for 8gb class 6
http://www.meritline.com/a-data-8gb-...--p-18673.aspx

Thank you
brewsbro is offline  
post #30 of 8474 Old 03-03-2011, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

its not upconverting on the netflix. he wanted to know if the netflix on the panasonic 210 was the same as the ps3 in getting 1080P streaming. the answer is yes.

Jacob

Excellent news! Thanks!

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bdt110 3d 2d Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Movies , Panasonic Viera Tc P50gt30 50 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Dmp Bdt100 Full Hd 3d Blu Ray Disc Player , Receivers Amplifiers , Sony Bdp S770 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Panasonic 1080p Blu Ray Player Dmp Bd35ak Brand , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off