Sony BDP-BX58 and BDP-S580 Owner's Thread-all questions/comments belong here - Page 28 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 834 Old 12-30-2014, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Need Help "WAIT" Flashing and no Picture

I noticed bad resolution on a Blu-ray a few days ago. I went into setting and changed the resolution to 1080 from 480. Clicked okay and now have no picture. Tried holding the stop button to reset resolution but no luck... I just made an update disc but player does not respond. Also tried component hookup but no pic and still have the "WAIT" message. Any ideas?
bmwBryan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 834 Old 01-01-2015, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwBryan View Post
I noticed bad resolution on a Blu-ray a few days ago. I went into setting and changed the resolution to 1080 from 480. Clicked okay and now have no picture. Tried holding the stop button to reset resolution but no luck... I just made an update disc but player does not respond. Also tried component hookup but no pic and still have the "WAIT" message. Any ideas?
This reminds me of my first Sony DVD player my parents got me. It had great marks from Consumer Reports and worked great for about 2+ years.

One day got "No Disc" error when numerous discs were tried. Called Sony support and they said they'd fix it for $200. Got a brand new Pioneer DVD player that was just as good for $150 and threw out the Sony.

About a year later got a letter stating that the player was involved in a class action lawsuit because an optical component used in that player had widespread failure.

No player and no more receipt meant no (meager) cash from the settlement.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
post #813 of 834 Old 01-01-2015, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwBryan View Post
I noticed bad resolution on a Blu-ray a few days ago. I went into setting and changed the resolution to 1080 from 480. Clicked okay and now have no picture. Tried holding the stop button to reset resolution but no luck... I just made an update disc but player does not respond. Also tried component hookup but no pic and still have the "WAIT" message. Any ideas?
check out pg. 28 in the user manual.

https://docs.sony.com/release/BDPS480_580_BX58.pdf

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #814 of 834 Old 01-02-2015, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think Pioneer_Elite is right. I'm going to pitch this unit and start over. I purchased this one a little more than a year ago, so no warranty. Class action, why bother, new ones are $75... Nothing on p28 but thanks for the try.
bmwBryan is offline  
post #815 of 834 Old 01-03-2015, 12:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwBryan View Post
I think Pioneer_Elite is right. I'm going to pitch this unit and start over. I purchased this one a little more than a year ago, so no warranty. Class action, why bother, new ones are $75... Nothing on p28 but thanks for the try.
p 28 of the manual tells you how to reset the player. that is always worth a try.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #816 of 834 Old 01-03-2015, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Pioneer_Elte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwBryan View Post
I think Pioneer_Elite is right. I'm going to pitch this unit and start over. I purchased this one a little more than a year ago, so no warranty. Class action, why bother, new ones are $75... Nothing on p28 but thanks for the try.
If you got the unit from Costco, maybe you can return it to get your money back. I did that with this unit 8 months after buying it because it would vibrate on the glass shelf of the entertainment center (esp during 3D BD) and it was very audible and distracting.

Pioneer_Elte is offline  
post #817 of 834 Old 01-05-2015, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
russelms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Since the 0631 fw update I am getting cannot load disc for both bluray and dvd.

Anyone else experience this?

Thanks!
russelms is online now  
post #818 of 834 Old 01-08-2015, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnfish View Post
Anyone had trouble with the recent update? I just tried to update and the play turned off and when I tried to poewer it on it said welcome and powered off again. Now the player wont turn on at all. I have tried pulling the power cord and waiting several minutes but still it wont power on. I also pulled the HDMI cable incase there was an issue with that but its still dead in the water. Any thoughts on how to fix it?


John
Looks like a couple people are having issues since the latest firmware upgrade. I've just been ignoring it for now. I sure would like to know if those having difficulties ever got it resolved.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is online now  
post #819 of 834 Old 02-12-2015, 03:24 AM
Newbie
 
russelms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My drive is now loading again, there was a few days of behavior that has now ceased. I've made no changes during that time.
russelms is online now  
post #820 of 834 Old 02-24-2015, 07:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sony Blu-ray BDP-BX58 won't connect to . .

Hello, This is my first post anywhere. My Sony Blu-ray BDP-BX58 was working great streaming Netflix and Amazon Prime videos last night. Tonight it wont connect to any video (or music) servers/services. It jumps right back to Home or says there's a connection problem after trying to connect for a couple of minutes. Per the menue, all of my connections are ok and active and I can connect to the internet through the player via using a URL. I don't tech speak, so this is the best way I can explain what's happening. I've turned the unit off and on serveral times hoping to recycle it but to no avail. My Samsung tablet can open and play Netflix tonight with no problem. Never had this issue before. Thank you for any help you can provide. Jowatts
ragonarf likes this.
jowatts is offline  
post #821 of 834 Old 02-24-2015, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
ragonarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you are not alone...it started about 5-6pm cst. I had to try to connect several times and got to watch a couple Netflix. after each viewing I had trouble reconnecting. now I cannot connect to amazon Netflix crackle youtube or any other internet content provider. How ever my bdp-s570 does report it is connected to the internet and does play local videos stored on my local network. also when checking the status I noticed everything ok except "Sony Provisional Server" just showed "..." it did not say failed or successful. I think the problem is the Sony servers and there is nothing a user can do except complain. as a matter of fact, even though I would like to buy a sony 40 inch tv this is the reason I am looking at different companies. I figure when the sony servers go down, and this is not the first time, I will have backup.
jowatts likes this.
ragonarf is offline  
post #822 of 834 Old 02-24-2015, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks for the FAST response! Am I understanding that this is a Sony server problem and will (hopefully) reslove itself shortly/soon/in some unknown time in the future (lol)? Nothing to do but keep trying to connect? thanks again.
jowatts is offline  
post #823 of 834 Old 02-26-2015, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Denon BDP-1611UD vs. Sony BDP-S580

So..

I have both players and am currently using the 1611UD, but I just can't stand how long it takes for the player to start up and get to the menu screen of a disc. The UI is absolutely atrocious as well.

My S580 does this a lot quicker, so I'm thinking of switching back for convenience.

Now..I know that my 1611UD is the so called "superior" player, so do you think there would be a huge difference in video quality if I made the switch back to my "inferior" S580?

Onkyo TX-NR636 (5.1.2) | Proficient Audio AW525 (L&R) | Proficient Audio CC550 | Proficient Audio GS10 (LFE) | Yamaha NS-IC400 (Surrounds) | Harmony Ultimate | Apple TV (3rd Gen) | Denon BDP-1611UD | Sony BDP-S580 | Xbox One | Sony Bravia 46"

Last edited by MasterAudio; 02-26-2015 at 10:40 AM.
MasterAudio is offline  
post #824 of 834 Old 03-04-2015, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Has anyone else had issues with their S580 continually spinning if a disc in in the player, even though it's not being watched? If I'm on the home screen or streaming Netflix, etc. the disc is spinning.
anikun07 is offline  
post #825 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 02:05 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a question too.

Does anyone know what DAC they used for the rca audio outs in this player?

I contacted Sony and unlike Oppo...they won't tell me.
???

I'm thinking if they're not gonna boast about it...it ain't very good.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #826 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
I have a question too.

Does anyone know what DAC they used for the rca audio outs in this player?

I contacted Sony and unlike Oppo...they won't tell me.
???

I'm thinking if they're not gonna boast about it...it ain't very good.
I expect few people use the 2 channel analog audio outputs on this player, so almost no one cares?

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #827 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
I expect few people use the 2 channel analog audio outputs on this player, so almost no one cares?
I guess so.
But don't you find it odd that Sony is withholding this info?

I'd like to know if it's the same as what's in my old Oppo.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #828 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
I guess so.
But don't you find it odd that Sony is withholding this info?

I'd like to know if it's the same as what's in my old Oppo.
No - I don't find it odd at all. In order to withhold info, one would have to know it or have access to it . . and it is highly unlikely that whatever telephone support person you got on the phone has any such knowledge or access.

A long-time audio/video addict!

Last edited by Rich86; 03-13-2015 at 05:01 PM.
Rich86 is online now  
post #829 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
No - I don't find it odd at all. In order to withhold info, one would have to know it or have access to it . . and it is highly unlikely that whatever telephone support person you got on the phone has any such knowledge or access.
He told me "Sony won't give out that information" after putting me on hold.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #830 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
He told me "Sony won't give out that information" after putting me on hold.
OK - and you think this phone pool person contacted the president of Sony to get the official corporate policy on this topic while you were on hold? He probably asked the phone person in the chair next to him and he said "huh - who cares??"

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #831 of 834 Old 03-13-2015, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Baron Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
OK - and you think this phone pool person contacted the president of Sony to get the official corporate policy on this topic while you were on hold? He probably asked the phone person in the chair next to him and he said "huh - who cares??"
What's your problem?

He could easily have said he/they doesn't know instead he said Sony doesn't give out that type of info.

It's been a pleasure conversing with you.
Baron Blood is offline  
post #832 of 834 Old 03-14-2015, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
What's your problem?

He could easily have said he/they doesn't know instead he said Sony doesn't give out that type of info.

It's been a pleasure conversing with you.
I don't have a problem . . . I've never used 2 channel analog audio outputs from a BD player. I just think it is impractical to expect some normally semi-useless phone support person to be able to tell you details of the internal proprietary design of a basic 2 channel analog audio output circuit for a blu-ray player. If it is really that important to you to know this, you might research more technical review columns to see if someone delved into the subject on this player for some reason. Some reviewers do open up players to see the actual processing chips used for some functions.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #833 of 834 Old Today, 08:12 AM
Member
 
MrPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern Mississippi
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Blood View Post
What's your problem?

He could easily have said he/they doesn't know instead he said Sony doesn't give out that type of info.

It's been a pleasure conversing with you.
My guess (and that's all it is) would be that telling you "I don't know" could have resulted in you asking that person to find someone who *does* know, creating more work on their part.

On the other hand, saying "Sony doesn't give out that information" effectively prevents you from following up in a way that would create more work for him.

Have you checked reviews of the player online? Reviews, especially those aimed at audiophiles, will often describe the chips found in the player.

A cursory search led me to an Australian forum post that says, in part, "the s370, s470, s580 are all great players and have a WM 8524 dac for audio," but of course that's not authoritative.

Product datasheet: http://www.cirrus.com/en/pubs/proDat...M8524_v4.1.pdf

Good luck!

Indecision is the basis of flexibility.
MrPlastic is offline  
post #834 of 834 Old Today, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPlastic View Post
A cursory search led me to an Australian forum post that says, in part, "the s370, s470, s580 are all great players and have a WM 8524 dac for audio," but of course that's not authoritative.

Product datasheet: http://www.cirrus.com/en/pubs/proDat...M8524_v4.1.pdf

Good luck!
Strange that the forum post stuck the s580 model # on the end of that string instead of the same model group s570. Hopefully not a typo or something like that.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Jvc Dla X70 Projector , Sony , Sony Bdp Bx58 Blu Ray Disc Player 3d Built In Wireless , Sony Bdp S580 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , sony bdp-bx58 won't connect to video servers
Gear in this thread - S580 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off