Owner's thread for the Samsung BD-D6500. All questions and comments go here - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 204 Old 04-18-2011, 01:48 PM
Member
 
nizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone here by any chance successfully used this player with a Pioneer receiver (VSX-3x or non-elites) to pass through 3D HD to their TVs? I am worried it may not work. I don't want to connect the player to my TV, that's out of the question as I cannot dangle the wire across the room (the receiver's HDMI out goes to a cable that's in the wall already). Thanks.
nizzo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 204 Old 05-07-2011, 04:45 PM
Member
 
wallace_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When the screensaver kicks in on the player i randomly get a white line of pixels down the right side of the screen and in some cases down the right side and along the bottom. This only happens during the screensaver. Has anyone else had this happen? This player has been connected to multiple tvs with different cables so it must be the player.
wallace_1000 is offline  
post #33 of 204 Old 05-12-2011, 02:50 AM
Newbie
 
CMX4X4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased Samsung BD-D6500 with my Samsung 64D8000 so far no problems but have only watched 1 blu-ray movie. This player included Samsungs 3-D starter kit for free. 2 pair of Adult glasses and 4 - 3d Shrek Movies.
CMX4X4 is offline  
post #34 of 204 Old 05-22-2011, 09:12 AM
Member
 
luckyknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this unit have a fan? What is the drive noise like when playing a movie? I had to return a Sony BDP-S570 because of a high pitch whine while playing a film.

How quick is it?

Whats the DLNA player like? Can you alter 4:3 to strech to 16:9?
luckyknight is offline  
post #35 of 204 Old 05-23-2011, 03:38 PM
Member
 
KKTVRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chepachet, RI USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any apps that offer free programing? A friend of mine
has a Sony Blue Ray and he has an App called "Crackle" and it
is free programming due to the commercials. I am looking for
something like that for the BD-D6500.

Thanks
Ken
KKTVRO is offline  
post #36 of 204 Old 05-25-2011, 02:30 AM
Newbie
 
Raggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil0311 View Post

Is the 802.11n only 2.4GHz or is it dual band capable?

Supports 2.4 and 5ghz. I'm using it with Linksys E4200 on the 5ghz band


Anyone managed to set it up with PS3 media senter?
Transcoding crashes for me. Normal stream seems to work fine.
Raggz is offline  
post #37 of 204 Old 06-05-2011, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Anyone experiencing a slight skipping when listening to a DTS-hd track? Mine doesn't do it with all discs authored with DTS-hd but sometimes it will hesitate in the track; usually less than a second. Kind of odd and can't find a fix since it doesn't happen with all discs. Inception and Deathly Hallows (both Warner releases) are the main culprits.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is online now  
post #38 of 204 Old 06-12-2011, 03:39 PM
Member
 
RioTubes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the USA region 1 player be unlocked to play all region or at least region 4 DVD's?
RioTubes is offline  
post #39 of 204 Old 06-17-2011, 11:32 AM
 
bimbamboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsungs website shows a June firmware update for the BD-D6500. But when I try to update directly from the player it says no update is available. My last update was in early May, so I should be able to get the update. Has anyone else had problems getting the update from the player directly?
bimbamboom is offline  
post #40 of 204 Old 06-17-2011, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
tonyrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I did not see a previous thread for the BD-P6500 so I decided to create one. If this post needs to be moved I'll understand.

I have a Denon 3803 receiver connected to a Samsung BP-P6500 (firmware BDSP-C6500WWB-1021.4) via HDMI. Recently I purchased a set of Sennheiser HD555 headphones to connect to the receiver.

When I watch blu-ray movies and use the headphones, after a few minutes (sometimes sooner) I don't hear the audio dialog anymore. The audio affects are ok as well as music, it's just the voices that are lost. Very strange. This does not happen with Netflix streaming through the Samsung or with any other source, even DVD playback...only using Blu-Ray media. I have no problems with Blu-Ray audio dialog when using my external speakers.

Not sure where the problem may lie, the receiver or blu-ray player.

Any ideas as to what may be causing the behavior? Any help would be appreciated.

Tony
tonyrone is offline  
post #41 of 204 Old 06-17-2011, 09:41 PM
Member
 
gleek48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the new firmware today and it loaded successfully. Problem is that now it will not recognize any discs (Blu Ray, regular DVD, CD's etc.). Has anyone had this problem?

How can i put the old firmware back on it?

Thanks!
gleek48 is offline  
post #42 of 204 Old 06-19-2011, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
chazzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi- I have a Sony KV-36FS12 flat screen - i am trying to hook up a new blu-ray player Samsung BD-D600 so i can steam Netflix movies- how can i hook this up
chazzie is offline  
post #43 of 204 Old 06-19-2011, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
If the TV has HDMI, run one HDMI cable from the player to the display. That will do both video and audio.

If the TV has component video, but no HDMI, then run the three component cables (red/green/blue) for video and two analog cables (red/white) for audio.

If it lacks either of those, run composite video and analog audio (yellow/red/white). The video will be limited to 480i that way, though.
BIslander is online now  
post #44 of 204 Old 06-19-2011, 07:23 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Welcome to AVSForum.

The only high definition video input on that TV is via component cables. That's a bundle of three cables marked with red, blue and green color coding. Your BR player has component output so you are good there.

For audio you need a set of red/white stereo cables.

Is Blu-ray working and Netflix not? If so, try to find a specific thread for your player and ask there.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #45 of 204 Old 06-25-2011, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Telemachus77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up a d6500 as well as a WDTV Live Plus yesterday, both on sale.

I need a way to stream content off NAS upstairs to HDTV downstairs, and still don't have a BD player, so I figured, lets try this allshare out.

For the most part, I am pretty pleased with the ALLSHARE from my mezzmo server. The interface isn't the most pretty thing, but it played just about anything I threw at it.

However, when I stream 1080i video in MTS format, taken from my Sony Camcorder, it's choppy and pauses every 5 seconds. I don't have this issue with the WDTV using the same DNLA server.

Would be great if there was a way to increase the cached video to avoid this.

Any thoughts?
Telemachus77 is offline  
post #46 of 204 Old 06-28-2011, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
brock07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are you. I noticed that Netflix movies that I watch black out for a fraction of a second at times when being wirelessly streamed from my Net Gear dual band wireless N router to my new Wi-Fi enabled Samsung Blu Ray Player. The problem does not occur when I stream Netflix movies through my Nintendo Wii; nor does it occur when I stream Netflix through a wired connection to my computer. This leads me to believe that there is some kind of incompatibility issue between the Netflix service and my new Wi-Fi enabled Samsung Blu Ray Player. Does any body else experience this problem, and is there a fix for it? Some people I asked at work said this happens to them also.The model # of my Samsung Blu Ray Player is HT-D6500W. The Software version is HTB-D6500WWB-1003.4 I would greatly appreciate any help you can give me here, as I paid over $5000 at Best Buy for an entire Entertainment Center including this Blu Ray Theatre System and a Samsung 65 LED HD TV. For that kind of money, I expect no problems. Best Regards--Brac.
brock07 is offline  
post #47 of 204 Old 07-01-2011, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for help on a problem that's frustrated me for several weeks. I have the 6500 connnected to my Samsung TV using HDMI, and run the optical out to an old Nakamichi receiver that does support DTS and 96kHz signals. Right or wrong, I set the players audio settings to Bitstream (re-encoded DTS). Most movies seem to work OK, but I've had 3 rental titles now that do the following:

Previews play fine, Blu-Ray or DTS or other logo screen is OK, and the first arrival of the main disc menu is fine. When I choose play movie, I get the FBI warnings, the screen goes blank, then the movie starts (production studio's logo and stuff first), but there no more sound (the picture is also jerky like it pauses every second or so). No sound from the receiver, no sound from the TV. For 2 of the movies, I did a player reset, got the to main menu and selected scene 2 (to skip the other stuff) and it got around the glitch and I had surround sound. If I try to play from scene 1, it always lost the sound. If I simply start the disc over without a reset, even the previews have lost their sound. I had taken the first player back to the store for an exchange, but the second player does the exact same thing. I believe I'm using firmware version 1008 (from back in May).

Rental titles with the problem: Tron Legacy 3D, The Next 3 Days, and Skyline

If I put in a DVD like Shrek 4 3D, it works fine every time, no problems.

Any ideas? Please help.
oldandtired is offline  
post #48 of 204 Old 07-07-2011, 07:38 PM
Member
 
RioTubes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to get this player to work through an HDMI switch box? If so, which brand/model switch do you have? I have a monoprice 4x1 HDMI switch I cannot get the player to work through it. The player will work when plugged directly into the TV. Any special config option for the player on setup menu? Any thoughts?
RioTubes is offline  
post #49 of 204 Old 07-10-2011, 02:12 PM
Member
 
seeburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the BD-D6500 from BB yesterday. I'm bummed that I can't get it to sync with Onkyo Recvr (707) remote, and it won't learn from it either. I thought the responce time was incredible slow from the D6500's remote to the player. I mean I almost had to push each button 3x! Has anyone experienced any of these issues?
seeburt is offline  
post #50 of 204 Old 07-17-2011, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
alexnelson02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a BD-D6500 today from Best Buy, sales guy told me yes it has Skype. He even showed my on tv in store, but get home update softwate etc.. and No Skype.

Does anyone know if this player has Skype ability? I think he showed me on a Samsung PN64D8000 Tv, that is why it had Skype beucase the Smart Hub on that TV has it, he was probably not showing me the smart hub from the dvd player..

Any confirmation on this player? If ot anyone know of a 3d-Blue Ray that will work with a Samsung TV that has SKype?
alexnelson02 is offline  
post #51 of 204 Old 07-24-2011, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
markt38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all..i too am having an odd problem with my bd-d6500 player but just related to the picture.
when watching a bluray in 24fps the picture seems to stutter every 10 seconds for just a fraction of a second,no problems with the audio when it happens but it is rather annoying as it has you counting every time it does it,hehe.
have latest firmware installed and you will have guessed right in Samsung tech help being NO help at all,all thet can suggest is a factory reset and firmware update which has already been done.
its happens on most blurays,some may be ok but then it might do it next time you watch it, had a sony player previous for about a year and had no problems...any thoughts guys/girls?
regards
Mark.
markt38 is offline  
post #52 of 204 Old 07-31-2011, 06:29 AM
Member
 
dar969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried to set up this player yesterday for my parents. They bought this to go with a new 6420 TV. Everything works fine, except I could not get Netflix working. I set up the wifi and the D6500 told me the network was set up fine. The other apps worked fine. But, everytime I would select netflix, it would start to load, then give me a window that said the network was not set up (or something to that affect). Of note, the player said the firmware was the latest.

Is this a known issue?
Anyone come across this issue?
Any known way to solve this?

Thanks for any reply.
dar969 is offline  
post #53 of 204 Old 08-07-2011, 10:03 PM
Member
 
majax79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a weekend of using the process of elimination, I'm torn between this one and 6700. I was wondering if anyone could discuss what they like and don't like about the 6500?
majax79 is offline  
post #54 of 204 Old 08-09-2011, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
tonyrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by majax79 View Post

After a weekend of using the process of elimination, I'm torn between this one and 6700. I was wondering if anyone could discuss what they like and don't like about the 6500?

Majax79,

I have the bd-c6500. I've had it for over a year now.

Likes:
- picture quality
- Netflix
- Built-in wireless N capability (no dongle needed)
- Speed to play a Blu-Ray disc (good for when the product was released)
- Has received several firmware updates in a short time (probably will not get much more though due to all of the new players Samsung has released)

Dislikes:
- Samsung PC Share Manager software (does not support Windows 7, limited media file type support, very clunky interface. They also don't seem to update the application much, they just add new apps within the program)

Other than my dislike of the PC Share Manager software, I like the player.

Hope this helps.
tonyrone is offline  
post #55 of 204 Old 08-13-2011, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
orjhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using PC Share Manager with Windows 7 with no problems.
orjhawk is offline  
post #56 of 204 Old 08-13-2011, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
orjhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I am a Samsung fan and have a BD-C7900, and I love it. I am searching for a Blu-Ray player for my parents...they don't need a lot of frills, but do need: ease of use, Netflix, decent speed overall, componet outputs, and wi-fi built-in. I have narrowed my search to 2, the Samsung BD-D6500 and the LG BD-670. My parents have a Sony TV, but I eliminated the Sony BD-S580 because of its custom interface that has been labled "tedious" and "mediocre" by reviewers.

My understanding of the LG BD-670 is that it is solid, simple, maybe a little slow at loading. I would like to know if anybody has done an in-depth comparison with the BD-D6500.

The major negative on the BD-D6500 that I have been able to find seems kind of hard to believe. It has to do with searches on Netflix. On my BD-C7900, while in Netflix, you go to search, a box with the alphabet pops up, and I navigate letter by letter until I have enough spelled out that a new window pops up with filtered selections to choose from. What I read that was strange about the BD-D6500 forces you to enter titles like texting on a non-smart cell phone...ie, if you want the letter "C", you press the # "2" three times on the remote keypad, if you want the letter "S", you press the # 7 four times, etc. This sounds too goofy to be true, but I would hate to order one, have it shipped to them, and have this actually be how it works. But..I just can't believe anybody would use one of these units and be happy with it if it really does work like this.

So...2 quesitons:
1. Is the search function in the BD-D6500 normal or goofy?
2. Does anybody have thoughts re: the LG BD-670 vs the Samsung BD-D6500?

Thank you very much, I appreciate your time/thoughts/expertise!
orjhawk is offline  
post #57 of 204 Old 08-27-2011, 04:53 PM
Member
 
BankZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this "free" with a TV from best buy. Do you guys like it? Is it worth keeping?
BankZ is offline  
post #58 of 204 Old 08-31-2011, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
santz76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldandtired View Post

I'm looking for help on a problem that's frustrated me for several weeks. I have the 6500 connnected to my Samsung TV using HDMI, and run the optical out to an old Nakamichi receiver that does support DTS and 96kHz signals. Right or wrong, I set the players audio settings to Bitstream (re-encoded DTS). Most movies seem to work OK, but I've had 3 rental titles now that do the following:

Previews play fine, Blu-Ray or DTS or other logo screen is OK, and the first arrival of the main disc menu is fine. When I choose play movie, I get the FBI warnings, the screen goes blank, then the movie starts (production studio's logo and stuff first), but there no more sound (the picture is also jerky like it pauses every second or so). No sound from the receiver, no sound from the TV. For 2 of the movies, I did a player reset, got the to main menu and selected scene 2 (to skip the other stuff) and it got around the glitch and I had surround sound. If I try to play from scene 1, it always lost the sound. If I simply start the disc over without a reset, even the previews have lost their sound. I had taken the first player back to the store for an exchange, but the second player does the exact same thing. I believe I'm using firmware version 1008 (from back in May).

Rental titles with the problem: Tron Legacy 3D, The Next 3 Days, and Skyline

If I put in a DVD like Shrek 4 3D, it works fine every time, no problems.

Any ideas? Please help.

I am having the exact same issue with human planet on blu ray does anybody know of some fixes, please help ???
santz76 is offline  
post #59 of 204 Old 08-31-2011, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Precision Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a BD-6500. Hopefully I'll have time to watch a movie this weekend. I played with the smart hub and DLNA for a few minutes.

Only complaint so far:

Pandora is painfully slow. There is a ~7 second delay between songs. I have a WD Live TV Hub, and Pandora is instant on it.
Precision Power is offline  
post #60 of 204 Old 09-23-2011, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
scalius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if anyone has seen this issue but whenever I do something after the unit auto-shutdown itself there is nothing being displayed. Unless it is an issue with my Sony Bravia TV that cannot pick up the signal back, the only way I have found so far to remediate is to power down the unit then back up. I have latest firmware installed. Can't tell if it was doing this before the update since I had this player since 2 days.
scalius is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Bd D6500 Za D6500 Serivce Blue Ray Disc Player 3d Stereo , Blu Ray Players , Philips , Samsung Refurbished Blu Ray Disc Player Bd C6800 B
Gear in this thread - D6500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off