Official Sony BDP-S780 Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 682 Old 10-27-2011, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
SNF101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have been struggling with multiple DMP-BDT210 (new) players over the past few weeks with HDMI handshaking issues. This player is so sensitive to HDMI handshaking, it is almost funny... Anyway, the players are going back to the store. To prove that my HK AVR2600 can pass a 1.4a signal to my Panasonic GT30 set, I bought a BDP-S580 and the 3D passes every time without any issues through my receiver. I am using high speed 1.4a HDM cables.

My questions are...

1) Since I don't have an issue with the BDP-S580. Can anyone foresee that I will have a HDMI handshaking issue if I buy a BDP-S780. (want the features of the 780)
2) Does the s580 and s780 have the same HDMI implementation? (related to question #1)
3) Has anyone heard of “active x drive” being in Sony and not compatible with Panasonic 3D GT30 sets? There was a post on the net referring this. Sony uses “Active x Drive” and Panasonic uses Real3D. I thought there was a standard for 3D Blu-Ray? Also, does a Panasonic player produce a different 3D image than a Sony player on a Panasonic 3D TV?

Thanks for the help!
SNF101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 682 Old 10-28-2011, 05:55 AM
Member
 
edlivian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
s580 and s780 are the same player, s780 just has one extra feature which is skype support.
edlivian is offline  
post #273 of 682 Old 10-28-2011, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by edlivian View Post

s580 and s780 are the same player, s780 just has one extra feature which is skype support.

Hello. The S780 also includes the 16 Bit video processor--whereas the S580 has the 12-bit video processor.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #274 of 682 Old 10-28-2011, 04:07 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The S580 and S780 use 2 completely different video processing chips, so there really is no comparison - unless you are (pointlessly) viewing them on a 20" screen.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #275 of 682 Old 10-28-2011, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
SNF101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post

The S580 and S780 use 2 completely different video processing chips, so there really is no comparison - unless you are (pointlessly) viewing them on a 20" screen.

Do you know if both units have the same HDMI Driver (HDMI implementation)? I am concerned with HDMI handshaking issues. The s580 passes 3D fine with my hk2600 but can not test a s780 before purchasing the unit.

More info on my initial questions in post #271

Thanks.
SNF101 is offline  
post #276 of 682 Old 10-30-2011, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Slow Vudu menu download after last BDP-S780 upgrade?

It appears that after the latest firmware update I started experiencing problems with my Vudu app on the BDP-S780. Currently when I run the Vudu app the picture art is taking 90+ seconds to down load to the menu, whereas before it loaded right away.

Anybody else having this problem? I called Vudu and they told me that they are not aware of any issues with their user interface on the BDP-S780.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #277 of 682 Old 10-30-2011, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
SNF101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Has anyone had a chance to compare the Sony BDP-S780 to the Panasonic DMP-BDT210 or DMP-BDT310?

I am interested to know which has the better blu-ray picture and 3d picture?

I know that the Sony S780 has a 16 bit processor and super bit mapping but I am unsure how that translates into picture quality compared to the Panasonic.

I am connecting the blu-ray to a Panasonic GT30 series tv.

Thanks in advance.
SNF101 is offline  
post #278 of 682 Old 10-30-2011, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
HDPERSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNF101 View Post

Hello,

Has anyone had a chance to compare the Sony BDP-S780 to the Panasonic DMP-BDT210 or DMP-BDT310?

I am interested to know which has the better blu-ray picture and 3d picture?

I know that the Sony S780 has a 16 bit processor and super bit mapping but I am unsure how that translates into picture quality compared to the Panasonic.

I am connecting the blu-ray to a Panasonic GT30 series tv.

Thanks in advance.

I own the s780, bdt210 and 215 (cosco 210). The s780 has the best blu ray picture of the three, that is not to say the pannys are shabby.
HDPERSON is offline  
post #279 of 682 Old 10-30-2011, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
SNF101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDPERSON View Post

I own the s780, bdt210 and 215 (cosco 210). The s780 has the best blu ray picture of the three, that is not to say the pannys are shabby.

Thanks for the response. Does the S780 win in the 3D department as well?
SNF101 is offline  
post #280 of 682 Old 10-31-2011, 05:09 AM
Senior Member
 
HDPERSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNF101 View Post

Thanks for the response. Does the S780 win in the 3D department as well?

3D is the same for Panny and Sony.
HDPERSON is offline  
post #281 of 682 Old 10-31-2011, 11:15 PM
Newbie
 
SONNY USER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone has tested a Logitech HD Pro Web Cam C910 and the BDP 780??
According yo sonny web site the only Logitech webcam tested is C250 but it is basic camera. I Bought a expensive C910 I Bought C910 for Skype and it works but some horizontal lines apperars on the screen ( similar as when external noise is present) I don´t know if something must be configured in the Blue Ray or in the cammera.

I need help to use this couple of products for skype
SONNY USER is offline  
post #282 of 682 Old 11-01-2011, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SONNY USER View Post

Does anyone has tested a Logitech HD Pro Web Cam C910 and the BDP 780??
According yo sonny web site the only Logitech webcam tested is C250 but it is basic camera. I Bought a expensive C910 I Bought C910 for Skype and it works but some horizontal lines apperars on the screen ( similar as when external noise is present) I don´t know if something must be configured in the Blue Ray or in the cammera.

I need help to use this couple of products for skype

From my own experience trying a couple non-Sony Skype cameras with the BDP-S780, is that they either worked or they didn't work at all. ( I've listed the cameras that worked for me earlier in this forum) There's really not much you can do to adjust the camera via the BDP-S780 Skype menu.

Because your C910 works but displays some horizontal lines leads me to believe perhaps there is an issue with the camera itself. The only recommendation I can give is:
1. Connect to a PC--Does it display the horizontal lines when using with a PC?
2. Make sure you have the latest C910/Logitech drivers loaded on the C910 ( via your PC)
3. As you already mentioned its not listed as a Sony Skype compatible camera--so I am not sure what else you can do to make this work with the BDP-S780.

Perhaps someone else in this forum has some additional advice?

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #283 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Another new BDP-S780 firmware update today 11/3/2011 to version M07.R.0553. (The last update on 10/26/2011 was to version M07.R.0539)

I'm not yet sure what the new version brings but I can confirm that my Vudu app is now back to loading up normally again! So they must have fixed something "under the hood" from the recent M07.R.0539 version.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #284 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
O, Brother Where Art Thou? Blu-ray still doesn't work. I reported it to Sony when it was released but they gave me the basic restart noob responses. Disc works in Panasonic 310 and PS3 just fine. It's a Touchstone title.
Wesley Hester is offline  
post #285 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 11:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post

Another new BDP-S780 firmware update today 11/3/2011 to version M07.R.0553. (The last update on 10/26/2011 was to version M07.R.0539)

I'm not yet sure what the new version brings but I can confirm that my Vudu app is now back to loading up normally again! So they must have fixed something "under the hood" from the recent M07.R.0539 version.

Changes to FW not listed on website:
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/mod...3#/downloadTab

Seems like an obvious thing to post before/at new FW offering.

Mike
Mike_WI is online now  
post #286 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesley Hester View Post

O, Brother Where Art Thou? Blu-ray still doesn't work. I reported it to Sony when it was released but they gave me the basic restart noob responses. Disc works in Panasonic 310 and PS3 just fine. It's a Touchstone title.

That is strange--I haven't run across this problem with the BDP-S780. Where did you buy the Bluray?

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #287 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post

Changes to FW not listed on website:
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/mod...3#/downloadTab

Seems like an obvious thing to post before/at new FW offering.

Mike

I think that's their normal MO. Normally it takes Sony a few weeks to post the update details on their eSupport page. I was really surprised that they posted the last BDP-S780 update details on the same day they released version M07.R.0539 on 10/26/2011.

Edit:

That's odd: looks like they also took down the details of the last update M07.R.0539 on 10/26/2011 maybe M07.R.0553 is a roll back?

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #288 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 11:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post

I think that's their normal MO. Normally it takes Sony a few weeks to post the update details on their eSupport page. I was really surprised that they posted the last BDP-S780 update details on the same day they released version M07.R.0539 on 10/26/2011.

Bad customer service.
Think about how little effort that would require.
A company of Sony's size could have one person (1 FTE) for just updating web info on FW and support.

Oppo, Lumagen, etc. have much better online update policies.
I don't have a Sony BR, but "support" them for various people I help with home theaters and was thinking of consolidation some of my equipment to a S580 or S780 in non-HT applications.

Mike
Mike_WI is online now  
post #289 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post

Bad customer service.
Think about how little effort that would require.
A company of Sony's size could have one person (1 FTE) for just updating web info on FW and support.

Oppo, Lumagen, etc. have much better online update policies.
I don't have a Sony BR, but "support" them for various people I help with home theaters and was thinking of consolidation some of my equipment to a S580 or S780 in non-HT applications.

Mike

I think most of us Sony customers would agree with you. For what its worth...I called Sony Level-2 support in San Diego about this. The person I spoke to told me that Sony's policy was to roll out their updates region by region across the globe--once the updates are completely rolled out to each region...then they post the details. ( From my experience this can take 3-4 weeks from when I see the update on the East Coast US.)

I suggested that they post the details any way with a note explaining the regional roll-out process. The Sony person told me he would submit my recommendation Clearly my suggestion was implemented LOL

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #290 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post

I think most of us Sony customers would agree with you. For what its worth...I called Sony Level-2 support in San Diego about this. The person I spoke to told me that Sony's policy was to roll out their updates region by region across the globe--once the updates are completely rolled out to each region...then they post the details. ( From my experience this can take 3-4 weeks from when I see the update on the East Coast US.)

I suggested that they post the details any way with a note explaining the regional roll-out process. The Sony person told me he would submit my recommendation Clearly my suggestion was implemented LOL

That's funny.
Corporate (global) mentality.
I'm sure are reasons for what they do, just not customer friendly reasons!


Mike
Mike_WI is online now  
post #291 of 682 Old 11-03-2011, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post

I think most of us Sony customers would agree with you. For what its worth...I called Sony Level-2 support in San Diego about this. The person I spoke to told me that Sony's policy was to roll out their updates region by region across the globe--once the updates are completely rolled out to each region...then they post the details. ( From my experience this can take 3-4 weeks from when I see the update on the East Coast US.)

I suggested that they post the details any way with a note explaining the regional roll-out process. The Sony person told me he would submit my recommendation Clearly my suggestion was implemented LOL

That makes sense, I've received NO updates the last 2 weeks and mine's set to prompt me automatically.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #292 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post

That makes sense, I've received NO updates the last 2 weeks and mine's set to prompt me automatically.

If you are interested you can force an update via the BDP-S780 Setup Menu under "Network Update" to M07.R.0539( current version for the Americas)

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #293 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 09:47 AM
Member
 
MEYJR68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midlothian, TX.
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a new s780. I am wondering if there is any reason to keep my other sony standard player for standard dvd playing or if it is best to use the s780 for those as well. Any reason to have both?
MEYJR68 is offline  
post #294 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 429
There is no reason to keep your old player besides saving wear and tear on your new one. PQ will be better on the new one. If your old player was oppo or toshiba, that's a different story.
mdavej is offline  
post #295 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 10:59 AM
Member
 
MEYJR68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midlothian, TX.
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats what I assumed. I usd it before to save wear and tear on our old ps3 that sounds like it was on last leg. Now will just save the room. Thanks.
MEYJR68 is offline  
post #296 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEYJR68 View Post

I just got a new s780. I am wondering if there is any reason to keep my other sony standard player for standard dvd playing or if it is best to use the s780 for those as well. Any reason to have both?

I would keep my old player as the S780 does not have the same DVD up conversion quality of the more expensive units.
gbaby is offline  
post #297 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEYJR68 View Post

I just got a new s780. I am wondering if there is any reason to keep my other sony standard player for standard dvd playing or if it is best to use the s780 for those as well. Any reason to have both?


Congratulations on your new BDP-S780!

I agree with mdavej, the BDP-S780 will make your old DVDs look great ( will upscale to near HD). Will even convert your old DVD to 3D if you also have a 3D capable TV.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #298 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbx123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help....

I bought this BRP many months ago and have used it for many things. However, never tried 3D until a week ago. Gulliver's Travels 3D worked fine, but the newest Pirates and Capt. America .....I can't get past the first screen. The discs tell me that they recognize my player doesn't have 3D! Older guy and new at this, I can only guess that I might need updates? I'm lost. Also just moved to an Apt. and don't have a router for connecting to update.

Is there something much more simple I'm overlooking? And yes, my new Onkyo NR1008 already crapped out on the HDMI...for gawd sake (but don't get me started ), so I'm connected directlly to a 55" LG Infinia 3D TV, and I just want to watch a 3D movie!
dbx123 is offline  
post #299 of 682 Old 11-04-2011, 10:32 PM
Member
 
MEYJR68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midlothian, TX.
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post

I would keep my old player as the S780 does not have the same DVD up conversion quality of the more expensive units.

My old dvd player is not a high end player. it is a low end sony. I watched a blu ray and standard dvd tonight on the 780 and both looked great.
MEYJR68 is offline  
post #300 of 682 Old 11-05-2011, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbx123 View Post

Help....

I bought this BRP many months ago and have used it for many things. However, never tried 3D until a week ago. Gulliver's Travels 3D worked fine, but the newest Pirates and Capt. America .....I can't get past the first screen. The discs tell me that they recognize my player doesn't have 3D! Older guy and new at this, I can only guess that I might need updates? I'm lost. Also just moved to an Apt. and don't have a router for connecting to update.

Is there something much more simple I'm overlooking? And yes, my new Onkyo NR1008 already crapped out on the HDMI...for gawd sake (but don't get me started ), so I'm connected directlly to a 55" LG Infinia 3D TV, and I just want to watch a 3D movie!

I suggest to look under the player's settings, screen settings and make sure the 3D function is enabled.
Cortiz is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdp S580 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Sony Bdp S770 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Bdp S780 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - S580 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off