Official Panasonic DMP-BD75 Owner's thread (all questions and comments go here) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 231 Old 01-31-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The Sonys are great but I wanted a cheap Panny to go with my mum's Panny TV (unified remote). No problem with the latest firmware on her 75, but she uses Netflix in the TV not the player.

I have the Sony 350 and 770 and an Oppo 83. The only problem I have is a vibrating noise from the 770 as it spins BDs so fast!

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 231 Old 01-31-2013, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepier View Post

Thanks for the link, but I don't think those are in my price range. $225 for a used Oppo is a little steep for me, plus I need a unit with WiFi

I understand that. you just understand that you pay for what you get? you go cheap its cheap. I do understand that the oppo cost a bit and its hard for some gather the price. its certainly worth it more then the well known players. the 93 can do wifi. they still ask for a bit.

I had an issue with a panasonic player and wrote to panasonic about it. a year and still had not even fixed it. I ended up selling the player later.

Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #183 of 231 Old 02-02-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
From what I read the current 77/87 is way more buggy.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #184 of 231 Old 02-25-2013, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I just picked up this unit from Best Buy as an open box item for $24.00 and works great. very happy with it so far as a spare unit.
jnnt29 is offline  
post #185 of 231 Old 05-25-2013, 12:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuckNaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a used one off eBay. Needed a Cinavia-free player while my Oppo is getting fixed. Disappointed that it doesn't support Mp4. mad.gif

Does anyone have a region-free hack that worked for them? I am in Region A. Thanks.
BuckNaked is offline  
post #186 of 231 Old 05-25-2013, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,182
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNaked View Post

I just got a used one off eBay. Needed a Cinavia-free player while my Oppo is getting fixed. Disappointed that it doesn't support Mp4. mad.gif

Does anyone have a region-free hack that worked for them? I am in Region A. Thanks.
There is no BD region hack. You can load a custom firmware, but that costs as much as the player. Better to get a cheap hackable player.
mdavej is offline  
post #187 of 231 Old 06-07-2013, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
cobra1713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am running into an issue with mkv playback via USB. The device recognizes the file non both a USB SD card reader and a western digital external HD but when I go to play bit freezes non the starting playback screen. And ideas, the mkv file plays fine on macbook but am looking to go USB so I can get ac3 codec and real 5.1 from my mkv back ups.
cobra1713 is offline  
post #188 of 231 Old 06-11-2013, 05:55 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone else run into this - when I select DTS HD Master Audio from the Audio setup option on a BD the display reads DTS however when I press the Audio button on the remote and change the selection to an alternate track and then back to the DTS MA option I get it on the display. I'm at firmware 1.36. It's not a biggie just wondered if maybe its a setup glitich.
G1Nger is offline  
post #189 of 231 Old 06-12-2013, 06:12 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I should clarify that I meant the display on my AVR - a Denon 1612.
G1Nger is offline  
post #190 of 231 Old 12-05-2013, 10:14 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Looks like there is a new firmware update out - 1.40 Nov 12, 2013 (North America). Has anyone applied it? What improvements does it provide? I'm worried it might contain a Cinavia update.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
G1Nger is offline  
post #191 of 231 Old 12-05-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
That or analog sunset..?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #192 of 231 Old 12-05-2013, 02:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Panasonic is under no obligation to add Cinavia, nor have they added it to any discontinued players.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #193 of 231 Old 12-07-2013, 11:14 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone know why I cannot enable the 24fps option on my bd-75. I cannot toggle between on and off - it seems greyed out? I'm connected by HDMI to a Denon-1612 to a TH- 50px77u 768p set than CAN support 24fps (that's the way I've enabaled it on my PS3 and it works fine).
G1Nger is offline  
post #194 of 231 Old 12-07-2013, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
^ Resolution must be set to 1080p

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #195 of 231 Old 12-08-2013, 06:12 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

^ Resolution must be set to 1080p

I've set it at 1080p (not auto) and it's still greyed out.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
G1Nger is offline  
post #196 of 231 Old 12-08-2013, 10:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 152
While your display may accept a 24 Hz signal, it is a 60 Hz display. It does not display in multiples of 24. The conversion has to take place somewhere. It should not make a difference where it is done. Check the owner's manual for output resolution support. The PS3 is a little more flexible since it is more like a computer.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #197 of 231 Old 12-08-2013, 02:02 PM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've read the manual. No description around why it would be greyed out. I understand if the display couldn't support the resolution correctly it would not be viewable but that doesn't seem to be the problem with any of the options I choose right up to 1080p. It just seems odd it won't even allow it to be toggled on or off regardless of weather the display couldn't handle it correctly.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
G1Nger is offline  
post #198 of 231 Old 12-08-2013, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
Sam Weston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Dear AVS,

 

My sister has a DMP-BD75. She has a large library of films on a USB device. However, out of tens and tens of films, we can only play 5 of these; the others are greyed out. We have tried to play the DivX Panasonic registration video but we can't even see it in the Direct Navigator view. We are royally stuck.

Sam Weston is offline  
post #199 of 231 Old 12-08-2013, 03:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 152
If it's a US model, Panasonic does not support Divx.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #200 of 231 Old 12-09-2013, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1Nger View Post

I've read the manual. No description around why it would be greyed out. I understand if the display couldn't support the resolution correctly it would not be viewable but that doesn't seem to be the problem with any of the options I choose right up to 1080p. It just seems odd it won't even allow it to be toggled on or off regardless of weather the display couldn't handle it correctly.

The manual for your TV?
I just noticed you have a px77u. That is an old panel that doesn't support 1080p24. I have a newer pz80 (true 1080p panel) that doesn't even support it.

Yours was probably designed before 1080p24 players existed. It could be that the BD75, also being a Panasonic, is smart enough to establish this during the handshake and restrict the menu item while the Sony is not. The Sony or receiver could also be converting it back to 1080p60 for the display.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #201 of 231 Old 12-10-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What's interesting is that when I check the HDMI signal info on the TV coming through the Denon AVR when playing a BD disc in the PS3 it reads 1080p 24hz. I've got to believe the display is handling it just fine. I know the TV isn't a 1080p set and must be downscaling to 768p but what is it doing with the 24Hz signal? I remember reading many posts in other forums about sets that couldn't handle the 24fps option with the output being severely distorted or jittery but that just isn't the case with mine - the movies play perfect and look great.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
G1Nger is offline  
post #202 of 231 Old 12-10-2013, 11:17 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 152
The PS3 is able to force output resolutions no matter what the EDID table says during the initial HDMI handshake. Many BD players, including Panasonic, will not.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #203 of 231 Old 12-11-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1Nger View Post

What's interesting is that when I check the HDMI signal info on the TV coming through the Denon AVR when playing a BD disc in the PS3 it reads 1080p 24hz. I've got to believe the display is handling it just fine. I know the TV isn't a 1080p set and must be downscaling to 768p but what is it doing with the 24Hz signal? I remember reading many posts in other forums about sets that couldn't handle the 24fps option with the output being severely distorted or jittery but that just isn't the case with mine - the movies play perfect and look great.

That is interesting. For 24Hz input to have any value with a plasma TV it needs to have a 48Hz or 72Hz scan rate. Your TV is probably just converting it to 60Hz.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #204 of 231 Old 12-11-2013, 09:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Yes,

I already mentioned that earlier. It should not matter which is doing the conversion. The Panasonics pass the pulldown test on S&M.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #205 of 231 Old 12-16-2013, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Albert Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked one of these up for $20 from kijiji. Still had the original shipped firmware on it. (1.14 i think it was) Original owner complained that some discs wouldn't play and therefore selling at a very cheap price. Turned out it just needed a firmware update, as I updated it and it works like a dream, playing every disc i've put in it so far.

Awesome little player for the money and will work great until i grab an oppo
Albert Noel is offline  
post #206 of 231 Old 12-18-2013, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert Noel View Post

Picked one of these up for $20 from kijiji. Still had the original shipped firmware on it. (1.14 i think it was) Original owner complained that some discs wouldn't play and therefore selling at a very cheap price. Turned out it just needed a firmware update, as I updated it and it works like a dream, playing every disc i've put in it so far.

Awesome little player for the money and will work great until i grab an oppo

Nice score. From the user reviews it may have less features but it is a lot more stable than the newer BD77 / BD87.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #207 of 231 Old 12-18-2013, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Yes,

I already mentioned that earlier. It should not matter which is doing the conversion. The Panasonics pass the pulldown test on S&M.

S~

I stand corrected. I just tried 24p on my BDT500 with PZ80 plasma and it worked! I could have sworn it didn't work when I first tried it with my Sony player, years ago.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #208 of 231 Old 12-27-2013, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Albert Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A curiosity about this player; is anyone using the "fine" setting in the sub menu when you press the "display" button when watching a BD? Do you just leave it on "normal" mode?
Albert Noel is offline  
post #209 of 231 Old 01-08-2014, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
Bain64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having trouble with Netflix since the latest firmware version 1.40? Episodes load extremely slow (3-5 minutes), will play about 15 seconds and then say 'rebuffering' for about 5 minutes. The rest of the episode will then play like normal after rebuffering. The next episode starts the same process over again... I have 50+ mbps Comcast cable, and Netflix works great on other devices including a smart TV set, Nintendo Wii, iPad and Laptop.

Is anyone else on 1.40 and using Netflix without issue? Is there any way to downgrade the firmware, or reset it to factory installed firmware so I can test?

-Bain
Bain64 is offline  
post #210 of 231 Old 01-16-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Albert Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bain64 View Post

Anyone having trouble with Netflix since the latest firmware version 1.40? Episodes load extremely slow (3-5 minutes), will play about 15 seconds and then say 'rebuffering' for about 5 minutes. The rest of the episode will then play like normal after rebuffering. The next episode starts the same process over again... I have 50+ mbps Comcast cable, and Netflix works great on other devices including a smart TV set, Nintendo Wii, iPad and Laptop.

Is anyone else on 1.40 and using Netflix without issue? Is there any way to downgrade the firmware, or reset it to factory installed firmware so I can test?

-Bain

I haven't had a single issue with mine but maybe you can try a different DNS address in the network setting tab of your player?

https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/
Albert Noel is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
New Blu Ray Player Dmp Bd75 , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd75 Ultra Fast Booting Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic Dmp Bd75 Ultra Fast Booting Blu Ray Disc Player With Mini Tool Box

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off