Asus O!Play BDS 700?? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 189 Old 01-23-2012, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
allins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The subject says it all. Do they only upconvert actual DVDs, or can streaming media get the same treatment? I have a bunch of DVDs ripped onto disk as uncompressed ISO files.

Thanks,
Shawn
allins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 189 Old 01-24-2012, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herve View Post

Has Oppo removed BD ISO support via USB and eSATA?

When I posted this, it was definitely expected and it became a reality with the release of the beta firmware yesterday.

The following Link will take you to the post on the official BDP-93 page it was posted on.

For 3D & BD ISO's, this was the most dependable option as everything just worked so if you are going the 3D route in that format down the road, now is the time to get one before all new stock has non-ISO firmware on it.

Remember that it gave you ISO support with full menus and all features because Oppo has a legit BD license and they could decode all the menus, etc.

Hacking or back-flashing firmware is not an option either as they had to prevent that last year when they signed an agreement with Netflix.

I actually just finished ordering mine from the local Canadian distributor.

HTH
nikonf5 is offline  
post #33 of 189 Old 01-24-2012, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Ranavalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonf5 View Post

...

3D BD ISO's have been reported to peak at bitrates higher than 50Mb/s so will USB 2.0 really do in this regard and is that why Oppo also included an eSATA port on thier models which this one doesnt have ?

...

USB 2.0 bandwidth 480Mb/s is plenty more than enough to cover the maximum data rate of 54Mb/s of (2D) BD. "Typically" 3D BD overhead is 50% over 2D BD, which would put it around 80Mb/s - nowhere near saturating USB 2.0 bus.
Ranavalone is offline  
post #34 of 189 Old 01-25-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Is this player NTSC, PAL or both ? Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #35 of 189 Old 01-29-2012, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
retepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

well i ordered the 700 to play with. I will let you know if/when it arrives and its capabilities. a $469 gamble but i need a new toy to play with. If anyone other than cgigate has some questions, feel free to pm me and I will do my best to answer them for you!

streamerlover, where did you ordered it? Only one source, i found so far, is a direct import from Taiwan on eBay for US $469,99.
retepa is offline  
post #36 of 189 Old 01-29-2012, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
ruzveh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

well i ordered the 700 to play with. I will let you know if/when it arrives and its capabilities. a $469 gamble but i need a new toy to play with. If anyone other than cgigate has some questions, feel free to pm me and I will do my best to answer them for you!

Does the 700 have the same chip that of oppo93 like second generation Qdeo? I am confused here.. Can any clarify my doubt? i would also appreciate if all these expensive players come bundled with slot loading disc format and not cheap trays
ruzveh is offline  
post #37 of 189 Old 01-30-2012, 02:04 AM
Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ye he have some chip
riddle is offline  
post #38 of 189 Old 01-30-2012, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 41
streamerlover, eagerly awaiting your impressions. Have the HiMedia HD900B (which has some 3D playback issues), considering the Oppo BDP-93 (but, they've now disabled ISO playback), so looking at other options.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #39 of 189 Old 01-30-2012, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

streamerlover, eagerly awaiting your impressions. Have the HiMedia HD900B (which has some 3D playback issues), considering the Oppo BDP-93 (but, they've now disabled ISO playback), so looking at other options.

Ditto.

Video quality and the ability to actually play .iso's over a network share (gigabit?) are my two biggest requests in a player. I'd actually love a comparison of all three players, since these are the only three that support 3D .iso playback.

Also, maybe post which of the three support all audio and subtitle formats in .mkv's. I can definitely say that the Oppo has major issues with some audio formats in .mkv and can't play PGS subtitles in mkv's.
robneal81 is offline  
post #40 of 189 Old 01-30-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Is this player NTSC, PAL or both ? Thanks.

Nobody knows ? The firmwarte update has different versions for NTSC and PAL and I wonder if there are players with different systems or they are all dual PAL/NTSC. I couldn't find this information on the net.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #41 of 189 Old 02-13-2012, 04:47 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
still waiting on the one i ordered off of ebay...
streamerlover is offline  
post #42 of 189 Old 02-13-2012, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

still waiting on the one i ordered off of ebay...

Are you in USA ? Can you tell me if the player is NTSC , PAL or multisystem ? I am curious because the firmware upgrade site has different version for NTSC and PAL. Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #43 of 189 Old 03-01-2012, 02:10 AM
Newbie
 
portokala123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oqvist View Post

What´s that. Website owned by Asus to work as viral marketing or a website run by an Asus fanboy?

Quote:


© 2012 All Rights Reserved · ASUSTeK Computer Inc. | Version 1.9.6 Beta

So its ASUS advertise site, all "reviews" are enormously biased.
portokala123 is offline  
post #44 of 189 Old 03-08-2012, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djbluemax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

still waiting on the one i ordered off of ebay...

Got it yet?


Max
djbluemax1 is offline  
post #45 of 189 Old 03-10-2012, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just got this player.

Build quality looks great, has option for English.

You can choose 1080p/60 for hdmi out.

There are already 2 firmwares on their site, for NTSC choose that version and pal choose that.

Menu is basic and easy and fast. Nice!!!!

Only supports dlna but I knew this.

Here is what I found.

- to start off the YouTube can play HD videos. Cool, nice touch.

- using your smart phone to control it was sweet and you can use your smart device to enter text for you tube, etc. Nice!!!

The bad........

Tried several dlna servers, like mezzmo, twonky, Nero home 4, but get crazy stuttering. Audio will also kick out and in when stuttering.

When playing same files from USB connected, all was smoother, but, still stuttered once in a while!!!!!

ISO BD 3d from USB did play in 3D and menus. However, again had stuttering on some movies!!!!

My cheap WD, egreat r300, and dune 3.0 all can play same files (except 3D iso) without stutteing from both USB and dlna.

I am waiting for my 2nd unit to arrive in few days and will test with that to see if my 1st unit is faulty!!!

So far VERY UNIMPRESSED!!!! Expected better from ASUS especially when they are using same chip as Oppo bdp-93!!!!

Can't beleive it can't even stream hd video without stuttering when my other players do just fine!!!

Again, might be bad unit, but doubt it!!!!

Also to top things off, tried playing few MKV blu-ray files I made with makemkv, and when it tried to play file via dlna it said unsupported format!!

Again, all my other media players will steam same files!!

When playing that same MKV from USB drive, it played..

Note: I live in Canada, and player works with NTSC and 120v power.

Will keep you all posted when I try 2nd unit.

As of now ..... STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLAYER!!!!!

Go for the buggy realtek players as they are way better than this!!!!
muad'dib is offline  
post #46 of 189 Old 03-10-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

So far VERY UNIMPRESSED!!!! Expected better from ASUS especially when they are using same chip as Oppo bdp-93!!!!

I posted in the BDP-93 thread that the Asus O'Play 700 uses a different type of Marvell chip then a BDP-93.

Quote:


Quote:


What is the difference between the Marvell 88DE3010 that the Asus uses and the 88DE2750? Almost sounds like the Asus has newer version of the chip (higher # at least)

The 88DE3010 is a HD Media Processor SOC, see details here. The 88DE2750 is a Digital Video Format Converter, see this link.

You shouldn't have expected similar results.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #47 of 189 Old 03-10-2012, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, I'm so bummed. I was really hoping this would be the next great player. I'm especially disappointed about only supporting network via DLNA.
robneal81 is offline  
post #48 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
retepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

I just got this player.

Did you get it directly from Taiwan? What BD-DVD-Region have your unit? I asked one seller on eBay, who sells directly from Taiwan, and he answered that player have a BD-DVD-Region set to Taiwan.
retepa is offline  
post #49 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 03:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by retepa View Post


Did you get it directly from Taiwan? What BD-DVD-Region have your unit? I asked one seller on eBay, who sells directly from Taiwan, and he answered that player have a BD-DVD-Region set to Taiwan.

Yep. Got from eBay store from a Taiwan seller.

On back of player it stated region A for blu-ray and region 2 for DVD.

I was so upset with the streaming/stuttering I boxed up the player before I could test my region A blu-rays.

I will test this on 2nd unit this week
muad'dib is offline  
post #50 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 03:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

I posted in the BDP-93 thread that the Asus O'Play 700 uses a different type of Marvell chip then a BDP-93.

You shouldn't have expected similar results.

Lol. Very true and thanks for chip info.

I wish I did not sell my Oppo!!!!!! I jumped the gun when I heard they were removing ISO so sold it, as I did not want a $500 unit that can not do ISO anymore.

Now I know better!!!!!! Lol
muad'dib is offline  
post #51 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 10:07 AM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not going to go into much detail, but this thing is a pos. Skips stutters, DOES NOT PLAY 3D bluray well AT ALL!. Really, just avoid it. I have spent hours of my life trying to like this thing and it makes the Himedia player look like a polished product.
I only jumped in here after a bunch of people pm'd me and wanted to know my impressions..
streamerlover is offline  
post #52 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djbluemax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Thanks for the feedback guys. And the search goes on.


Max
djbluemax1 is offline  
post #53 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbluemax1 View Post

Thanks for the feedback guys. And the search goes on.

Max

No probs.


As a temp. Solution look at the Egreat R300. I have one and so far it plays all the 3D ISO I give it.

Picture and sound are awesome too.

Few little bugs but will get better.

I just wanted the Asus because I thought it would be an Oppo clone.

Was I ever wrong!!!!!
muad'dib is offline  
post #54 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djbluemax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

No probs.


As a temp. Solution look at the Egreat R300. I have one and so far it plays all the 3D ISO I give it.

Picture and sound are awesome too.

Few little bugs but will get better.

I just wanted the Asus because I thought it would be an Oppo clone.

Was I ever wrong!!!!!

Thanks for the suggestions. Actually, I have an Oppo 93 with the ISO capable firmware. It works great. I was just looking at alternatives to keep my options open in case I decide to ever update the Oppo firmware. At the moment though, it seems that the Oppo with ISO capability is THE one stop solution. Plays most discs, plays ISO files perfectly, SACD, etc.


Max
djbluemax1 is offline  
post #55 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

As a temp. Solution look at the Egreat R300. I have one and so far it plays all the 3D ISO I give it.

Does it support basic menu's for Blu-ray and DVD .iso?
robneal81 is offline  
post #56 of 189 Old 03-11-2012, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robneal81 View Post


Does it support basic menu's for Blu-ray and DVD .iso?

Tried a few with menu's. Yep, seemed to do blu-ray menu's. Kinda works sometimes with 3D iso menu. You get an option when loading iso to use with navigation, without nav( just goes to movie) and folder.

Find most 3D iso needs the without nav option. Little bugy with nav use option.
muad'dib is offline  
post #57 of 189 Old 03-12-2012, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

Tried a few with menu's. Yep, seemed to do blu-ray menu's. Kinda works sometimes with 3D iso menu. You get an option when loading iso to use with navigation, without nav( just goes to movie) and folder.

Find most 3D iso needs the without nav option. Little bugy with nav use option.

Is there an official AVSForum page for the Egreat R300? If not, you may want to create one. I know there's a TON of people that are looking for a media player that supports both 3D .iso's as well as .iso's with menu's. I know that I have a ton of questions about it and the price is certainly right.
robneal81 is offline  
post #58 of 189 Old 03-29-2012, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
other than exceptional picture quality,it's buggy as hell.
hoping to have better firmware that fixes most downside issues.
btw,I have mine upgraded to firmware 1.04.00.
same thing,got it from ebay.
3dprojector is offline  
post #59 of 189 Old 03-29-2012, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bluray playback - anyone willing to give this a try? http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/as...-bds-700/11803


Thanks
Paul Butler is online now  
post #60 of 189 Old 03-30-2012, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dprojector View Post

other than exceptional picture quality,it's buggy as hill.
hoping to have better firmware that fixes most downside issues.
btw,I have mine upgraded to firmware 1.04.00.
same thing,got it from ebay.

I agree. It has potential....

At moment streaming HD sucks... But... From USB about 99% of files and 3D menu blu-ray iso seem to work great.
muad'dib is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Asus , Blu Ray Players , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off