Pioneer Blu-ray players 2011 - BDP-140/BDP-440/BDP-LX55/BDP-53FD - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There´s even the LX-55´s remote on the BDP-440´s picture at Pio EU website
Pioneer should definitely do something about the bugs instead of mismatching the products and accessories on their website...
it´s been more than a month since the bugs were described, no response from Pio whatsoever...disgusting...
jleholeho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
The Dji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm worried about the fact that Chris Walker didn't appears here since the LX55 came out ...


I heard that some people from Pioneer were watching this thread to be aware of the bugs, ameliorations, etc for the player, but since it came out, the thread took only a few pages ...
While on the french one, it took more than 100 ...
They should watch the french one instead :/
The Dji is offline  
post #1083 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dji View Post

I'm worried about the fact that Chris Walker didn't appears here since the LX55 came out ...


I heard that some people from Pioneer were watching this thread to be aware of the bugs, ameliorations, etc for the player, but since it came out, the thread took only a few pages ...
While on the french one, it took more than 100 ...
They should watch the french one instead :/

As a non-French speaker, can you emphasize for me some new info/bugs on the players which took place in French thread?
I just sent a mail to Pio EU about the situation...
Thx
jleholeho is offline  
post #1084 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 04:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dji View Post

I'm worried about the fact that Chris Walker didn't appears here since the LX55 came out ...


I heard that some people from Pioneer were watching this thread to be aware of the bugs, ameliorations, etc for the player, but since it came out, the thread took only a few pages ...
While on the french one, it took more than 100 ...
They should watch the french one instead :/

the "HCFR" french forum it's 276 pages
some french posters emailed pioneer to visit pioneer threads and to be aware of all the bugs... we're waiting
realzven is offline  
post #1085 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
review of the 52FD by hometheater.com http://www.hometheater.com/content/p...-ray-3d-player
realzven is offline  
post #1086 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by realzven View Post

review of the 52FD by hometheater.com http://www.hometheater.com/content/p...-ray-3d-player

Damn poor remote sensor!

"Responsiveness is somewhat sluggish, and I had to point the remote directly at the unit for the commands to be received. "

"If you're one of the millions of iCapable consumers, Pioneer's free iControlAV2 app (available for the iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad) lets you use your iDevice to control the BDP-52FD. It's a huge upgrade over the less-than-stellar remote."
jleholeho is offline  
post #1087 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
purdyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleholeho View Post


Damn poor remote sensor!

"Responsiveness is somewhat sluggish, and I had to point the remote directly at the unit for the commands to be received. "

"If you're one of the millions of iCapable consumers, Pioneer's free iControlAV2 app (available for the iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad) lets you use your iDevice to control the BDP-52FD. It's a huge upgrade over the less-than-stellar remote."

Unfortunately icontrolav can't completely replace the remote
purdyd is offline  
post #1088 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
purdyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by realzven View Post


the "HCFR" french forum it's 276 pages
some french posters emailed pioneer to visit pioneer threads and to be aware of all the bugs... we're waiting

With all due respect, there 100 pages on the French forum before the thing was released and there are fewer posts per page

And while there are some quality posts and the thread creator is very active (realzven) a lot of the posts are just conversation

I think the rumor about pioneer reading this forum started from this, who knows if it is true

Quote:
Originally Posted by noklew View Post

Update on my continued testing. Early on in this thread there was a mention of issues with MoFi SACDs. Today I ran 2 through the BDP-53FD, BS&T - BS&T UDSACD 2009 and The Dobbie Brothers - Captain and Me UDSACD 2042. Both discs loaded quickly, and played fine. PQLS was solid (DSOTM Capitol still the only disc with an issue in this area). Also, I called in to Pioneer and spoke with a tech. It appears someone from Pioneer is monitoring this thread as he was given 2 discs to test that I referenced in an earlier post. He indicated no one had called in the issue with WHS, so now it is known. I did receive my copy of WHS 2011 and will get the up hopefully this weekend and test. Will post an update once completed. Have a great week!

However, given that windows home server was already mentioned by a poster earlier and that pio support had not heard about this would seem to indicate they don't

The home theater review seems pretty bad - all kinds of bugs requiring the player to be unplugged and not a very good price

And no firmware in sight to fix issues

No word from Chris Walker in quite some time

The original rumor that these players are 'true' pioneers is false, unless you count contracting out to TCL for the design and firmware

Count me as a hugely disappointed pioneer fan that will not buy any of the new pioneer bd players
purdyd is offline  
post #1089 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 06:58 AM
Member
 
frantic77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i would like to get this LX-55 to replace my PS3 but if there isn't any firmware coming i definitely keep my PS3
frantic77 is offline  
post #1090 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Walker usually vanishes after a product is released. He is here to garner hype for future products.
PRO-630HD is offline  
post #1091 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post

Walker usually vanishes after a product is released. He is here to garner hype for future products.

exactly what i was thinking
realzven is offline  
post #1092 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post

Walker usually vanishes after a product is released. He is here to garner hype for future products.

pretty sad, though...

I´ll wait for Pio EU response, if it won´t come pretty soon the only solution for me is Oppo BDP-93...so it´s time to start saving some cash
I´m waiting for the VSX-2021 to be delivered next week, it´s just a great shame that Pioneer throws their valued customers away in such miserable way...
jleholeho is offline  
post #1093 of 1842 Old 12-15-2011, 10:05 AM
Member
 
emidalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took into consideration the Oppo BDP-93, but I really don't need its analogue out since I would use an Anthem A/V receiver which works best via hdmi... I'm quite pissed...
emidalla is offline  
post #1094 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Have you noticed lately that the only reason I even post on a Pioneer thread anymore is to remonis about Pioneer and their KURO glory days? My advice to Pioneer is that it's OK to rely on the OEM method. Just pick a better OEM, such as the ones who build players for Cambridge, Denon, Marantz, Onkyo, Oppo, and Yamaha!
Big C is offline  
post #1095 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Ummm, the OEM suit that makes Yamaha and Onkyo is the same company that manufactures for Pioneer.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #1096 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Reply from Pio EU today:

We appreciate your concern and we are aware of all issues that you've
mentioned and we all reported them a while ago to the Japanese engineers
with the message that this needs to improve. But at the moment we really
can't do much more than wait for them to improve the firmware and give them
a push once in a while to ask where they're standing

jleholeho is offline  
post #1097 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
purdyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Ummm, the OEM suit that makes Yamaha and Onkyo is the same company that manufactures for Pioneer.

there are many phases in making something

design
manufacture of parts
assembly
software
qualifications
distribution
sales
support

it would appear that Pioner contracted with TCL to do the first five items for Pioneer on the blu-ray players

are you saying TCL also does this for Yamaha and Onkyo blu ray players?

i was assuming that it was the pioneer receivers that shared a lineage with onkyo and yamaha receivers
purdyd is offline  
post #1098 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
purdyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleholeho View Post

Reply from Pio EU today:

We appreciate your concern and we are aware of all issues that you've
mentioned and we all reported them a while ago to the Japanese engineers
with the message that this needs to improve. But at the moment we really
can't do much more than wait for them to improve the firmware and give them
a push once in a while to ask where they're standing


that must be frustrating for Pio EU

to me it is not even clear if Pioneer Japan employees even maintain the software for these players
purdyd is offline  
post #1099 of 1842 Old 12-16-2011, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
TuenMuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Ummm, the OEM suit that makes Yamaha and Onkyo is the same company that manufactures for Pioneer.

I do not believe so.

Pioneer/Toshiba - TCL
Onkyo - Funai
Yamaha/Denon/Marantz - Inkel

All 2011 models. TCL and Inkel models(plus Oppo and Cambridge) do have similar Mediatek boards though.

BD-A1010/CD-S1000/PF60
HTR-6290/A-S1000/KDL46V5100
NS-555/SOAVO-900C/NS-125F

BD - 242
HD - 7
TuenMuner is offline  
post #1100 of 1842 Old 12-17-2011, 06:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suspect some oems use drives from a panasonic subsidiary using their own modified firmware, can't remember the name of the Co though they are pretty well a oem firmware region lock within the pc industry especially in laptops from acer/toshiba and a few others...

not many Co's actually build their own dvd/bd drives they use on their players. so it is lucky to see multiregion dvd/bd player..

before looking at other components 1st look at the optical drive they use, the other co's might build the circuit boards that go into the dvd/bd chassis though take note of the optical drive they all use..
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #1101 of 1842 Old 12-17-2011, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
purdyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic_sniper28 View Post

I would suspect some oems use drives from a panasonic subsidiary using their own modified firmware, can't remember the name of the Co though they are pretty well a oem firmware region lock within the pc industry especially in laptops from acer/toshiba and a few others...

not many Co's actually build their own dvd/bd drives they use on their players. so it is lucky to see multiregion dvd/bd player..

before looking at other components 1st look at the optical drive they use, the other co's might build the circuit boards that go into the dvd/bd chassis though take note of the optical drive they all use..

I wonder if pioneer even uses their own drives?
purdyd is offline  
post #1102 of 1842 Old 12-17-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by purdyd View Post

I wonder if pioneer even uses their own drives?

Not anymore from what I was told.

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1103 of 1842 Old 12-17-2011, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new models use Toshiba drives.
Rathbone is offline  
post #1104 of 1842 Old 12-18-2011, 01:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know for a fact toshiba do outsource their optical drives from a subsidiary of panasonic..


as for pioneer I haven't hat the honor of owning pioneer gear within home audio or pc realms..
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #1105 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Breniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello,
I bought a few days the pioneer lx55 ..
I noticed this little problem, when I insert a DVD and I do leave, the player does not start it right away, but I lose the signal as HDMI for a while and then starts the film.
If, for example, launch a disk with 5 divx file short, between the end of one and the start of the next is always short loss of signal. Why does this happen?
Is there some setting that is incorrect?
Hello and thank you!
Breniac is offline  
post #1106 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 06:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
skip it if possible..

could be a bugin firmware you may want to update the firmware.
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #1107 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Breniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but there is already a firmware update for the pioneer lx55?
also your player has this small loss of signal?
I would not have some setting wrong, for example when I set the resolution in the car, this loss of signal occurred for 2 consecutive times before leaving the movies.
Breniac is offline  
post #1108 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 11:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you got signal oss then I'd be looking at the cable you're using is cactus time to replace it

have you tried the cable in another hdmi port, there be a chance that the hdmi port either on the player or the hdmi board is starting to fail..


not sure this is the case with pioneer bd player or not, if the player has done an firmware update via the net, it is possible within reset process it may set back to composite and anolog as default the hdmi not working the correctly and you will likely need reconfig hdmi as default for audio and video and setup 5,1 through 7.1...

you could also try and toggle the mute button aswell
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #1109 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Breniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not understand, some people tell me that it is normal for the black screen appears and that there is this very brief loss of signal ..
I was told that this is because the player must set the resolutions for the file being played.
Breniac is offline  
post #1110 of 1842 Old 12-19-2011, 04:17 PM
Member
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: VALLEJO, CA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just recieved the 53fd this morning...
replacing the 23fd
and taking a quick look at the manual..
pg.20
to achieve higher quality video and sound
I should connect the BD using 2 separate
HDMI cables one to the TV and another to the AVR.
Connecting to Elite SC-57 AV.
i don't really want to buy another cable...
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Bdp 140 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Lg 55lx9500 55 1080p 480hz 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg , Blu Ray Players , Pioneer Blu Ray Player Bdp 140
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off