Pioneer Blu-ray players 2011 - BDP-140/BDP-440/BDP-LX55/BDP-53FD - Page 44 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 1863 Old 04-05-2012, 03:13 AM
Member
 
andyrome64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

Isn't May a little late? I wonder if this new firmware will include a new SACD decoder that will output DSD as multi-channel PCM at 176.4 KHz.

To be honest that is the last of my concerns. My only hope is that the new firmware will allow me to watch something for more than half an hour without video/audio dropouts. Seriously I have never experienced an hour of trouble-free playback with my BDP-440.

If they make it play ALL my CDs that's even better.
andyrome64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 1863 Old 04-05-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Will at least one of these players play BDs or DVDs ripped as .IMG or .ISO disc image files? If the files have to be ripped directly, will menu navigation be possible from ripped DVDs and BDs? Or will the player only cycle through the M2TS (BD) and VOB (DVD) files?
Big C is offline  
post #1293 of 1863 Old 04-05-2012, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleholeho View Post

for the record:
the hack remote I was talking about before (eBay UK, price 11 pounds) makes all three 2011 BDPs DVD multi region...tested and confirmed...
you just need to press Home Menu while no disc inside, then highlight Init. Setup and then press a button on the hack remote...then switch the player off and back on...once you then press 8520, region is 0...

If you have a universal remote (JP1, Philips Pronto, Pocket PC with OmniRemote, Logitek Harmony, etc.), you should be able to download this particular IR signal to it without buying another remote. Pioneer has included this IR hack in their players since 2002 with the DV-x5x series of SD DVD players. Whether or not you can get it to work on North American models is a 50% chance. For those of you who have hacked their Pioneer SD players, try it out on one of the 2011 BD players.
Big C is offline  
post #1294 of 1863 Old 04-05-2012, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
mmg1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

Will at least one of these players play BDs or DVDs ripped as .IMG or .ISO disc image files? If the files have to be ripped directly, will menu navigation be possible from ripped DVDs and BDs? Or will the player only cycle through the M2TS (BD) and VOB (DVD) files?

BDP-440:
No ISO, no IMG
VOB and M2TS - yes.
BDMV folder - yes (only one in AVCHD folder)
VIDEO_TS - no
mmg1999 is offline  
post #1295 of 1863 Old 04-06-2012, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
BDP-140 DVD(R5) BR(C) now DVD region free with Logitech Harmony 600. Old IR hack without any modifications.
Ace Of Snakes is offline  
post #1296 of 1863 Old 04-07-2012, 04:18 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

If you have a universal remote (JP1, Philips Pronto, Pocket PC with OmniRemote, Logitek Harmony, etc.), you should be able to download this particular IR signal to it without buying another remote. Pioneer has included this IR hack in their players since 2002 with the DV-x5x series of SD DVD players. Whether or not you can get it to work on North American models is a 50% chance. For those of you who have hacked their Pioneer SD players, try it out on one of the 2011 BD players.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Of Snakes View Post

BDP-140 DVD(R5) BR(C) now DVD region free with Logitech Harmony 600. Old IR hack without any modifications.

Yep, it´s good to hear...
I think the situation will be just the same with US models as there are no significant differencies inside the players whatsoever.
If anybody needs to get this done and doesn´t have an access to those learning remotes, contact Graham at this sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pioneer-DV...#ht_2887wt_932
He could probably be able to ship to the USA, too...
jleholeho is offline  
post #1297 of 1863 Old 04-07-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleholeho View Post

Yep, it´s good to hear...
I think the situation will be just the same with US models as there are no significant differencies inside the players whatsoever.
If anybody needs to get this done and doesn´t have an access to those learning remotes, contact Graham at this sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pioneer-DV...#ht_2887wt_932
He could probably be able to ship to the USA, too...

To add to this theory, the BDP-53FD and BDP-LX55 use the exact same firmware file. I wonder if the BDP-52FD and BDP-440 use the same firmware file as well.
Big C is offline  
post #1298 of 1863 Old 04-07-2012, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Breniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
has anyone seen the video differences between oppo 93 and the pioneer lx55?
Breniac is offline  
post #1299 of 1863 Old 04-07-2012, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I believe the DSD-to-PCM sampling frequency is more a hardware issue than a firmware issue. So I've decided to stick with my Yamaha BD-A1010 unless Pioneer releases a player that will convert DSD to PCM at 176.4 KHz with PQLS. It's better to have the higher frequencies with jitter than not to have them at all. I hope they get it right this fall!
Big C is offline  
post #1300 of 1863 Old 04-07-2012, 11:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleholeho View Post

Yep, it´s good to hear...
I think the situation will be just the same with US models as there are no significant differencies inside the players whatsoever.
If anybody needs to get this done and doesn´t have an access to those learning remotes, contact Graham at this sale:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pioneer-DV...#ht_2887wt_932
He could probably be able to ship to the USA, too...

Most likley the North American version can't be made multiregional this way!
But I'm happy if anyone proves me wrong ;o)
The R2 and R5 versions of (most) Pioneer players are the same, that is why the "hack" works on a R5 player and not on an R1 or R3 player.
R4 (read Australian) players where always multiregional due to import and export laws and if the player was not multiregional all the aussies had to do was to contact the company and point this out and then they should get this fixed for them!
Also this info has a few years on it's neck!

PioneerFAQ

@Twitter
Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1301 of 1863 Old 04-09-2012, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys from china made FW mod for BDP-140. Now player can play BD iso images with menu, flac files without renaming, DVD-A and something else. http://115.com/file/bhkhke9f - gray button for free download. This is trial version with some limitations. Use it at your own risk.


Also you can get registration key for FW. Original chinese page: http://uc.jd-blog.com/thread-3483216-1-1.html
Ace Of Snakes is offline  
post #1302 of 1863 Old 04-10-2012, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have you guys seen the new YouTube interface on the players? just found it today when playing with the player a little but, once I hit YouTube, it looked completely different...and much better, I need to add, more polished and snappy...since there hasn't been any FW for BDP-440 yet, it must be the update from YT directly..

edit:
I forgot to mention before that I´ve been using my BDP-440 with recently received 120v/60Hz VSX-1121 (mfd Sept. 2011) and there has NOT been any drop-outs so far...both devices are constantly LAN/ethernet-plugged...happily, it appears Pio were right when they said the AVR drop-outs shouldn´t be a problem with any of 2011 Pio AVRs...
jleholeho is offline  
post #1303 of 1863 Old 04-11-2012, 03:28 AM
Vf3
Newbie
 
Vf3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I managed to get 3D ISO's working by placing the content in the AVCHD folder in root of the USB drive. can anyone advise how to place multiple extracted ISO movies onto the drive as its seems the LX55 looks at just the one AVCHD folder.
Vf3 is offline  
post #1304 of 1863 Old 04-12-2012, 04:06 PM
Vf3
Newbie
 
Vf3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vf3 View Post

I managed to get 3D ISO's working by placing the content in the AVCHD folder in root of the USB drive. can anyone advise how to place multiple extracted ISO movies onto the drive as its seems the LX55 looks at just the one AVCHD folder.

OK so easiest way around having multiple AVCHD folders is to create a partition drive for every exctracted ISO. Is there a simpler method?
Vf3 is offline  
post #1305 of 1863 Old 04-14-2012, 10:12 PM
Newbie
 
Stefan1971HH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the BDP-140. It's an annoyance how extremely small the menu appears
on my 42'' TV. Hardly readable and causing headache. Anyone else experienced this or did I get a defective unit?-
Also .mov files are not played (unlike stated on the Pioneer homepage) regardless resolution and medium.
Stefan1971HH is offline  
post #1306 of 1863 Old 04-19-2012, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
PioniraOllandica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan1971HH View Post

I just got the BDP-140. It's an annoyance how extremely small the menu appears
on my 42'' TV. Hardly readable and causing headache. Anyone else experienced this or did I get a defective unit?-
Also .mov files are not played (unlike stated on the Pioneer homepage) regardless resolution and medium.

I'm using a BDP-140 on a 42" plasma, menu seems fine to me. I'll post a photo tomorrow for comparison.

Never tried to play any .mov files, I convert everything to .mkv (with makeMKV) and put it on a 1TB NTFS HD connected to the USB port located on the back.

I'll try to find a .mov file to test, will let you know

(Are you located in Ijmuiden?)
PioniraOllandica is offline  
post #1307 of 1863 Old 04-21-2012, 10:17 PM
Member
 
wutthilr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had anyone observe opalescent around object on DVD animation movie like Ice age 2, shrek 2, beauty and the beast?
LX55 with lastest firmware


May be in progressive mode only
wutthilr is offline  
post #1308 of 1863 Old 04-22-2012, 04:57 AM
Member
 
emidalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wutthilr, 1080i should solve your problem
emidalla is offline  
post #1309 of 1863 Old 04-23-2012, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hi, i want to buy the 440 and use it with the VSX 921.

Now the question: are the fronts of the two the same ?
It looks like if the 440 has more a brushed look then the 921, or is that just the way the pictures are taken ?

Thx.....
CBdicX is offline  
post #1310 of 1863 Old 04-23-2012, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
PioniraOllandica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The answer is no, the fronts are not the same.. so I bought the BDP-140 instead. The BDP-440 has a brushed aluminium front, the VSX-921 is shiny black. At some sites they show a brushed looking version of the VSX-921, according to some shops I asked, this is just a marketing trick, all VSX-921 are shiny black (plastic I may add)

This picture clearly shows the difference. Just to be shure go check them both out at a physical store like Correct (Rotterdam)

PioniraOllandica is offline  
post #1311 of 1863 Old 04-23-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks for the pictures, well, thats a stupid marketing move of Pioneer, now i will not buy a Pioneer and keep my Sony, at least that has a shiny front......
Do not think having to pay just for getting PQLS (and maby other stuff) is worth it, or is PQLS worth the money over keeping the Sony BDP S550 and swallow the different look ?

But the 140 seems to have the same front as the 440 (see jpg).......
Even on the Pioneer Europe site they have the same brushed front, so whats the deal with the 140, brushed or the same as the receiver ?

Bedankt ! (thanks)
LL
LL
CBdicX is offline  
post #1312 of 1863 Old 04-24-2012, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
PioniraOllandica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BDP-140 and VSX-921 look the same, both have the shiny black front. It's hard to get a good picture but here's how mine look:

PioniraOllandica is offline  
post #1313 of 1863 Old 04-24-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioniraOllandica View Post

The BDP-140 and VSX-921 look the same, both have the shiny black front. It's hard to get a good picture but here's how mine look:

Ok, clear, they look indeed the same but i went for the BDP-LX55 du to the Marvel Qdeo upscaling what i will use a lot.
When i receive it (tomorrow hopefull) i will also make a picture of the two.
Did get a good price, 389.00 euro and a AudioQuest HDMI Pearl cable
CBdicX is offline  
post #1314 of 1863 Old 04-24-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I am a bit in the dark, i will receive tomorrow a BDP-LX55 and this can put out bitstream over PQLS but is this of any use for the 921 ?
The spec list of the 921 states:

PQLS: YES multi channel

More parts have the "YES multi channel", but no mention of bitstream......
CBdicX is offline  
post #1315 of 1863 Old 04-24-2012, 12:24 PM
Member
 
emidalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yoor BDP-LX55 will bitstream, and your 921 will do the decoding
emidalla is offline  
post #1316 of 1863 Old 04-24-2012, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by emidalla View Post

Yoor BDP-LX55 will bitstream, and your 921 will do the decoding

Ok, but why is PQLS bitstream not mentioned for the 921 and for other higher receivers it is ?
I thought PQLS worked from a PQLS device to the amp, and in this case the LX55 sends bitstream through PQLS so the receiver needs also be bitstream PQLS, or am i on the wrong road ?
CBdicX is offline  
post #1317 of 1863 Old 04-25-2012, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
Sky007FR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, i have a VSX921 and a BDP440, PQLS is working only in LPCM mode but not when bitstreaming unfortunately...
Sky007FR is offline  
post #1318 of 1863 Old 04-25-2012, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky007FR View Post

Hi, i have a VSX921 and a BDP440, PQLS is working only in LPCM mode but not when bitstreaming unfortunately...

Thx for your reply
I have been doing some reading concerning bitstream versus LPCM.

Think we can not "hear" the differents between LPCM and bitstream from a BD player.
For what i read is that bitstream is a signal with a buildin clock and LPCM has not, but there is were PQLS comes into play and corrects for the "missing" clock data.
So i think bitstream will not be any better then LPCM in the case of LPCM working with PQLS.
I also read when a brand uses bad/cheap audio chips/decoders it will do more harm then good to a bitstream signal and using LPCM will be a better option.
So we have a choice, use bitstream and let the receiver do the decoding or use LPCM and let PQLS do its trick.........

(at least if we have that option on the BD player, i do not know yet, still waiting for the LX55 to arrive)

Just now found this info:

Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA compress the LPCM audio signals without any loss of original data in order to save space on a disc. When the saved signals are decoded and decompressed, we will get LPCM signals again.

If the disc player decompresses and decodes the compressed audio, it will send the LPCM signals to the receiver. The receiver will then covert the LPCM signals from digital to analog for playback through the speakers. Alternatively, the compressed Dolby TrueHD or DTS HD MA signals can be sent by the player in raw digital format to the receiver (the older PS3 cannot do this) for decoding to LPCM and digital-to-analog conversion. This process is called Raw Bitstream Transport, High Bit Rate Audio Streaming, or Direct Digital Audio Mode, depending on the manufacturer. Bitstreaming is the preferred choice of many critical listeners.

If the player decodes the high resolution audio to PCM, any version of HDMI can transmit the signal to the receiver. If the player sends the signal in native digital Bitstreams to the receiver, HDMI terminals on both the disc player and the receiver must be version 1.3, and the receiver must have the ability to decode high resolution audio codecs.


So think letting the BD player send LPCM with PQLS will be a more then good option.
In some BD sound tests the "experts" preverd LPCM over bitstream where the info above suggests bitstream
Think its the best to let your and my ears make the choise, but i will put my money on LPCM with PQLS.....
CBdicX is offline  
post #1319 of 1863 Old 04-25-2012, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
Sky007FR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post

Think its the best to let your and my ears make the choise, but i will put my money on LPCM with PQLS.....

Exactly

I did the test and i didn't hear any difference between LPCM w/ PQLS and Bitstream w/out PQLS. So I chose the later to have a nice DTS-HD MA displayed on the VSX921
Sky007FR is offline  
post #1320 of 1863 Old 04-25-2012, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky007FR View Post

Exactly

I did the test and i didn't hear any difference between LPCM w/ PQLS and Bitstream w/out PQLS. So I chose the later to have a nice DTS-HD MA displayed on the VSX921

What do you see on the display when you use LPCM with PQLS ?
CBdicX is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Bdp 140 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Lg 55lx9500 55 1080p 480hz 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg , Blu Ray Players , Pioneer Blu Ray Player Bdp 140
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off