Bluraychip.dk Region Free Kits - Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-12-2011, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
aragno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore (but from US)
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe this can turn into some sort of "official" thread where troubleshooting, firmware releases, known issues, etc can be posted. Until then, I have a problem.

I have an Oppo BDP-93, F/W Official BDP-9x 42-0323 installed on my player.

I received the bluraychip.dk PRO kit on 10-July-2011 and installed the kit as per instructions found on bluraychip.dk.

1) I hooked up HDMI and power cable with no disc in the tray.
2) I powered on by pressing the "1" button on the Oppo remote.
3) The unit powers on but never leaves the Oppo splash screen and says "Hello" on the front panel of the player.
4) I unplugged the player.
5) I powered on the player using the "Power" button on the remote.
6) It starts as normal.
7) I powered off the player.
8) I pressed the "Eject" button the front of the player.
9) I inserted a Region 2 DVD.
10) I pressed the "Eject" button the front of the player.
11) The player loads and then tells me "Wrong Region Code"
12) I powered off the unit and powered on with remote and also by pressing "1" on the remote, but nothing... wrong region code again.

I have already checked all connections (3 times now).
I have erased Persistent storage.
I have reset to factory defaults.
- The above continues to occur.

Has anyone else experienced the same? Am I doing something wrong? I would be happy to post any photos or provide further information if of value.
I powered off the unit and inserted a DVD (region 2). It says the disc is the wrong region and opens the tray.

Looking forward to getting the kit up and running.

-Trey
aragno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-12-2011, 11:09 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like something is definitely going wrong here, either with the way you've installed it or the chip itself. If it's the chip, you'll need a replacement.
You should definitely contact bluraychip.dk and let them know you're having problems. They'll probably want to see photos of the install so they can verify all the cables are connected properly. It might help if you post some photos here. Maybe somebody with an eagle eye will pick up a problem.
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-13-2011, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
aragno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore (but from US)
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I reseated the USB stick attached to the mod kit and seems to be resolved. I will rent a BD soon to verify BD zones are working ok too.

-Trey
aragno is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 07-13-2011, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Are you by any chance using an alternate set of remote codes for your Oppo? Previous kits like this on the Oppo 83 series required some special procedures with the bluraychip kit if you were using an alternate codeset. You will have to contact Bluraychip for the proper procedure if this is the case.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-23-2011, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mikey mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 2,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In anticipation of viewing out of region blu-rays I bought and installed the pro ($149.00) dk board in my OPPO 95. No problems.

I am not sure if the unit works or not. The remote powers up the OPPO by pressing the 1,2 or 3 keys as it is supposed to. This auto power up feature can be disabled and reenables by pressing the blue or yellow key on the remote as per the instructions.

Since I don't as yet have an out of region Blu-ray disc, I attempted to play several of my Region A discs after enabling Region B or C playback. My discs played fine after pressing the 2 or 3 key which was a surprise as I figured they would play only after pressing the 1 key thus enabling Region A.

Thus I don't know if the thing works or not.

I would be willing to invest in an out of region disc, but don't know where to get one.

Any ideas or thoughts?

Mikey Mo
"Survived Charley, Frances & Ivan. But Jeanne got me."
Anxiously Awaiting 2014 Hurricane Season.
"OAR OR DIE"
They killed the SACD. Bring it back.

mikey mo is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-23-2011, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
aragno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore (but from US)
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I you are in US, look on Amazon and search for the region code you wish to test

-Trey
aragno is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-16-2011, 01:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mikey mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 2,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The unit works just fine. I believe I have everything worked out, so, if any of you need help please PM me.

Mikey Mo
"Survived Charley, Frances & Ivan. But Jeanne got me."
Anxiously Awaiting 2014 Hurricane Season.
"OAR OR DIE"
They killed the SACD. Bring it back.

mikey mo is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-09-2013, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK, Digging up an old thread here with a similar problem.

I have an Oppo 103AU (region 2 Australian version)

Bought the .dk pro mod in late December of 2012, installed and it all worked fine.

Updated the Oppo firmware about a month ago and this forced a change to the way the Mod works

Updated the Mod as per the .dk instructions and all seems to work correctly ... powers down when X X 2 or X X 3 or X X 1 is pressed

When powered back up it is locked to region A, although it is a region B machine, no matter what region code is applied by remote.

I contacted bluraychip.dk and Sofie Angelstrom was very helpful asking a number questions and getting me to try various things (re install, double check settings, clear persistent storage, factory reset, etc.), but none of them have worked.

More than a week ago Sophie said she would get an engineer to look into the emails to see if he can spot anything - I have not heard anything back, despite another three emails form me reporting other things I had tried and asking for an update.

I have a feeling the chip has died, but if they are ignoring my emails I guess I don't have much chance of getting a replacement.

Has anyone had a similar experience and know how to fix the Mod?

Has anyone else managed to get a replacement out of bluraychip.dk?

Cheers

Chopsus
Chopsus is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-10-2013, 05:19 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,255
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Instead of digging up a two year old thread, why not use the current 103 thread?

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-10-2013, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Because it will likely be buried in other 103 discussion ... This thread seemed more appropriate, after having done a search ... Either way you probably would have criticized.
Chopsus is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 04:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
aragno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore (but from US)
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I was having a problem in 2011, Casper sent me a replacement chip/kit. Don't give up but do give them a friendly reminder of your issues. I had great service when I required it.

-Trey
aragno is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Chopsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arse End of the World: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrnambool
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes after sending them a weekly reminder for about 12 weeks they finally sent me another chip .. It won't work either .. Weird.

Ordered the standard chip, as the region change is now the same on both, and it works like a charm. ... I would not bother with the pro chip given there s little advantage anymore fr a lt more complexity.
Chopsus is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
doushijiade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Don't give up but do give them a friendly reminder of your issues. I had great service when I required it.

10.gif

doushijiade is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 95 Blu Ray Disc Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off