Yamaha BD-A1010 Universal Player - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 327 Old 08-02-2011, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
oppopioneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want a Blu-ray player capable of playing SACD and/or DVD-A through its multi-channel analog outputs, you're kind of limited to Oppo and Cambridge Audio (at a higher price point). Well, here's another choice....

Yamaha announces the new BD-A1010 universal player

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio..._u/?mode=model
oppopioneer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 327 Old 08-03-2011, 10:06 AM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice. Any idea what the Video chip is, or who it is made by? (Marvell?)
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #3 of 327 Old 08-04-2011, 04:05 PM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got one on order.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #4 of 327 Old 08-07-2011, 11:22 PM
Newbie
 
swansong86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtDaBeach View Post

Got one on order.

What's it like?
swansong86 is offline  
post #5 of 327 Old 08-08-2011, 04:57 AM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not shipped yet

Starting to wonder if it is even in stock yet.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #6 of 327 Old 08-08-2011, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtDaBeach View Post

Nice. Any idea what the Video chip is, or who it is made by? (Marvell?)

probably a mediatek chip like the a1000 and 667.
winston9332 is offline  
post #7 of 327 Old 08-08-2011, 12:52 PM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think so. Someone in the A1000 thread turned me on to it.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #8 of 327 Old 08-11-2011, 06:04 AM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should start shipping end of this week, beginning of next.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #9 of 327 Old 08-11-2011, 10:38 AM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got another emailed update, the ship time is now in Sept, so Im cancelling.

The new pioneer elite is interesting.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #10 of 327 Old 10-13-2011, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
TuenMuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe A1010 is now in stock in US, I'm still waiting for one up here in Canada, although I don't think they're going to release it, so I'm planning to import one from US.

Did you guys buy one already?

BD-A1010/CD-S1000/PF60
HTR-6290/A-S1000/KDL46V5100
NS-555/SOAVO-900C/NS-125F

BD - 242
HD - 7
TuenMuner is offline  
post #11 of 327 Old 10-14-2011, 11:12 AM
Member
 
chadje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pasadena, Ca.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am interested in picking one up, but may get the Oppo 93 as I can't see if the Yamaha has any crossover settings for the analog 7.1 outs. I looked through their manual online and it doesn't say anything about it. If anybody owns one and can shed some light it would be appreciated. Thanks.
chadje is offline  
post #12 of 327 Old 11-11-2011, 02:10 PM
Member
 
wrxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadje View Post

I am interested in picking one up, but may get the Oppo 93 as I can't see if the Yamaha has any crossover settings for the analog 7.1 outs. I looked through their manual online and it doesn't say anything about it. If anybody owns one and can shed some light it would be appreciated. Thanks.

Has anyone seen reviews for this player? I can find spec sheets but no articles of it being tested or is this thing that new?

Thanks!
wrxman is offline  
post #13 of 327 Old 11-14-2011, 11:49 AM
Member
 
wrxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxman View Post

Has anyone seen reviews for this player? I can find spec sheets but no articles of it being tested or is this thing that new?

Thanks!

Anyone, anyone?
wrxman is offline  
post #14 of 327 Old 11-14-2011, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxman View Post

Anyone, anyone?

Google links to this:
http://www.stereophile.com/content/music-round-50


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #15 of 327 Old 11-14-2011, 06:25 PM
Member
 
wrxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Google links to this:
http://www.stereophile.com/content/music-round-50


Great, Thank you!
wrxman is offline  
post #16 of 327 Old 11-26-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
When HDMI Audio is set to PCM, while playing the multi-channel area of an SACD, is the sampling frequency 88.2 KHz or 176.4 KHz? I would prefer an answer from someone who has hands-on experience.
Big C is offline  
post #17 of 327 Old 11-26-2011, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
TuenMuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

When HDMI Audio is set to PCM, while playing the multi-channel area of an SACD, is the sampling frequency 88.2 KHz or 176.4 KHz? I would prefer an answer from someone who has hands-on experience.

I may get one by next weekend, I will try to give you an update, Pioneer fan.

BD-A1010/CD-S1000/PF60
HTR-6290/A-S1000/KDL46V5100
NS-555/SOAVO-900C/NS-125F

BD - 242
HD - 7
TuenMuner is offline  
post #18 of 327 Old 11-26-2011, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuenMuner View Post

I may get one by next weekend, I will try to give you an update, Pioneer fan.

I am returning my new Pioneer Elite BDP-53FD because it has the potential of kidnapping my discs. As much as I love their PQLS, the change it provides isn't drastic enough to tolerate certain things. The Oppos either output DSD or PCM at 88.2 KHz. The Sonys have been said to output DSD or PCM at 176.4 KHz, but don't support DVD-AUDIO. The Yamaha BD-A1010 has been said to output DSD or PCM at 176.4 KHz, even though the official documentation doesn't give how SACD is decoded. B&H Photo Video has a holiday returns policy until January 18. I'm not sure when I'll be getting mine. I was getting conflicting reports on stock from the search results til placing the order. If I get mine first, I guess I'll be the guinniepig. If it says 88.2 on my receiver, I'll return it and try the Sony BDP-NS780. If the Sony says 88.2, then I'll return it and get the Oppo. Do I sound like I know what I'm doing?
Big C is offline  
post #19 of 327 Old 11-26-2011, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

When HDMI Audio is set to PCM, while playing the multi-channel area of an SACD, is the sampling frequency 88.2 KHz or 176.4 KHz? I would prefer an answer from someone who has hands-on experience.

You know
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post21220664
drSeehas is offline  
post #20 of 327 Old 11-27-2011, 03:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drSeehas View Post

You know
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post21220664

That's proof enough for me. Can't wait!
Big C is offline  
post #21 of 327 Old 11-27-2011, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

That's proof enough for me. Can't wait!

The BD-A1010 is just a rebadged and cheaper BD-A1000.
drSeehas is offline  
post #22 of 327 Old 11-27-2011, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drSeehas View Post

The BD-A1010 is just a rebadged and cheaper BD-A1000.

Besides the extra HDMI output, what else is the BD-A1010 lacking in comparison to the BD-A1000?
Big C is offline  
post #23 of 327 Old 11-27-2011, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

Besides the extra HDMI output, what else is the BD-A1010 lacking in comparison to the BD-A1000?

???
Which extra HDMI output?
The BD-A1010 is lacking nothing.
It is a BD-A1000 named BD-A1010.
drSeehas is offline  
post #24 of 327 Old 11-27-2011, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drSeehas View Post

???
Which extra HDMI output?
The BD-A1010 is lacking nothing.
It is a BD-A1000 named BD-A1010.

I believe I got that from hometheaterreviews.com. After checking the BD-A1000 manual, I guess they screwed up, huh? Then the only differences would be later firmware and iPhone compatibility. Then I don't have to worry about missing out on the BD-A1000. So far, I'm already happy with my decision.
Big C is offline  
post #25 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If this player converts DSD to PCM at 176.4 KHz like the BD-A1000 did, it would beat the Oppo as a digital transport. Mine should arive today.
Big C is offline  
post #26 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

... it would beat the Oppo as a digital transport ...

No.
The Yamahas have no "source direct". The OPPOs do.
drSeehas is offline  
post #27 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 46
One other advantage of the Oppo over the Yamaha is HDCD decoding. I don't see it as an option for the Yamaha. Not truly universal.I have a lot of HDCDs where I'd like to get the full 20 bit decoding.
glangford is offline  
post #28 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post

One other advantage of the Oppo over the Yamaha is HDCD decoding. I don't see it as an option for the Yamaha. Not truly universal.http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/editp...ost&p=21273553 I have a lot of HDCDs where I'd like to get the full 20 bit decoding.

Do you still connect your player analog to your AVR?
Otherwise a decoder in the player is useless.
I have also a lot of HDCDs and an AVR with integrated HDCD decoder, so...

Oh, by the way: Your link doesn't work.
drSeehas is offline  
post #29 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I have a Denon 3311ci, so it doesn't have a HDCD decoder. I use hdmi from an oppo bdp-83, letting the Oppo decode.

Most AVRs do not have HDCD decoding, at least Denon. You have to get to their upper echelon AVRs for that feature. I also use the stereo analog outs to a headphone amp which also requires that the player do the decoding.
glangford is offline  
post #30 of 327 Old 11-29-2011, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
drSeehas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post

I have a Denon 3311ci, so it doesn't have a HDCD decoder. I use hdmi from an oppo bdp-83, letting the Oppo decode.

If you use a HDMI connection HDCDs won't be decoded in the player.
Again: You can hear decoded by the player only with analog connections.
drSeehas is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Yamaha , Yamaha Bd A1010bl Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Yamaha Rx A1000 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V667 Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off